DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on June 12, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2025 and November 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 16, the term “non-critical” is unclear because there is no description of what makes a harvester be in a no-critical state, nor of what would make it not be in a state different than non-critical (such as a critical state), rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim has been interpreted as a non-critical state as merely being a state of the machine, as its unclear what makes the state non-critical.
In regards to claim 12, the claim recites “the digital field map being based on each of the following… one or both of satellite images or yield forecasts determined using satellite images; or GPS data”, however it is unclear if only one of the one or both of satellite images or yield forecasts determined using satellite images or the GPS data is required, or if the claim was intended to recite --and GPS data-- due to the claim starting with “each of the following”. For examination purposes, the claim has been interpreted as though only one of these options are required.
In regards to claims 2-11, 13-15, and 17-20, the claims are dependent upon a rejected claim and are therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilken et al. (US 20140019017; hereinafter Wilken; already of record from IDS).
In regards to claim 1, Wilken teaches of a combine harvester (“FIG. 1 shows an agricultural working machine 1. The machine 1 is designed as a combine harvester 2 and comprises a grain-cutting device 3 in the front region thereof, which is connected in a manner known per se to the feed rake 4 of the combine harvester 2. The crop flow 5 passing through the feed rake 4 is transferred in the upper, rear region of the feed rake 4 to the threshing parts 7 of the combine harvester 2, which are at least partially enclosed on the underside by the concave 6. A guide drum 8 disposed downstream of the threshing parts 7 redirects the crop flow 5 emerging from the threshing parts 7 in the rear region of these threshing parts such that the crop flow is transferred directly to a separating device 10 designed as a separating rotor 9. The crop flow 5 is conveyed in the rotating separating rotor 9 such that any unencumbered grains 11 contained in the crop flow 5 are separated out in the region underneath the separating rotor 9.” (Para 0020)) comprising:
at least one control and regulation device (“The agricultural working machine 1 also comprises a driver's cab 21, in which at least one control/regulating unit 23 equipped with a display device 22 is disposed. The control/regulating unit 23 is used to control a plurality of processes, wherein the processes are initiated automatically or by the operator 24 of the agricultural working machine 1. The control/regulating unit 23 communicates via a bus system 25 in a manner known per se with a large number of sensor systems 26. The structure of the sensor systems 26 is described in detail in DE 101 47 733, the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated in the disclosure of this patent application.” (Para 0022)) including:
at least one memory configured to store one or more characteristic curve fields for automatable setting and monitoring of one or both of working parameters or quality parameters of the combine harvester which affect a harvesting process (“FIGS. 3a-c describe the display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating device 23 and the available automatic settings 45. FIG. 3a shows a schematic structure of the available automatic settings 45 to better illustrate the mode of operation thereof. The automatic separation setting 46 and the automatic cleaning setting 47 are defined by families of characteristics 48, as is the case for every automatic setting 45 provided for adjusting the working parts 20 of the agricultural working machine 1. The characteristic curves 49 forming a family of characteristics 48 describe various weighting variables 51 of the agricultural working machine 1 as a function of influencing variables 50. In the present case, the weighting variable 51 is the above-described quality parameter 40. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the influencing variables 50 include, at the least, the rotational speed of a separating device 10 designed as a separating rotor 9, the rotational speed of the fan 16 assigned to the cleaning device 17 and the opening width of the sieve levels 14, 15.” (Para 0029), “During operation of the agricultural working machine 1 (i.e. use of the combine harvester 2 for harvesting in this case), the operating points 52 that are ascertained are added directly to the family of characteristics 48. According to the illustration at the bottom of FIG. 3a, the agricultural working machine 1 often operates only in a small range 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 that is stored. In order to ensure that the family of characteristics 48 stored in the control/regulating device 23 accurately depicts the particular separating or cleaning process to be modeled in the entire predefined range of values, measurement points 54 that are not located in the currently occupied region 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 or, are not located in the boundary regions thereof (or both) are actuated at regular intervals. The effect thereof is that the separating or cleaning models stored in the automatic settings 45 also depict the particular process with sufficient accuracy in the boundary region of the families of characteristics 48 and in currently non-occupied regions of the particular family of characteristics 48.” (Para 0030)), wherein the one or more characteristic curve fields are formed by one or more characteristic curves, wherein the one or more characteristic curves are indicative of a plurality of evaluation variables of the combine harvester as a function of influencing variables (“FIGS. 3a-c describe the display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating device 23 and the available automatic settings 45. FIG. 3a shows a schematic structure of the available automatic settings 45 to better illustrate the mode of operation thereof. The automatic separation setting 46 and the automatic cleaning setting 47 are defined by families of characteristics 48, as is the case for every automatic setting 45 provided for adjusting the working parts 20 of the agricultural working machine 1. The characteristic curves 49 forming a family of characteristics 48 describe various weighting variables 51 of the agricultural working machine 1 as a function of influencing variables 50. In the present case, the weighting variable 51 is the above-described quality parameter 40. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the influencing variables 50 include, at the least, the rotational speed of a separating device 10 designed as a separating rotor 9, the rotational speed of the fan 16 assigned to the cleaning device 17 and the opening width of the sieve levels 14, 15.” (Para 0029)), wherein the plurality of evaluation variables are based on quality parameters, and the influencing variables are formed by work parameters (“FIGS. 3a-c describe the display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating device 23 and the available automatic settings 45. FIG. 3a shows a schematic structure of the available automatic settings 45 to better illustrate the mode of operation thereof. The automatic separation setting 46 and the automatic cleaning setting 47 are defined by families of characteristics 48, as is the case for every automatic setting 45 provided for adjusting the working parts 20 of the agricultural working machine 1. The characteristic curves 49 forming a family of characteristics 48 describe various weighting variables 51 of the agricultural working machine 1 as a function of influencing variables 50. In the present case, the weighting variable 51 is the above-described quality parameter 40. In the exemplary embodiment shown, the influencing variables 50 include, at the least, the rotational speed of a separating device 10 designed as a separating rotor 9, the rotational speed of the fan 16 assigned to the cleaning device 17 and the opening width of the sieve levels 14, 15.” (Para 0029), “In an embodiment, and agricultural working machine is equipped with at least one control/regulating unit that adjusts and monitors working parameters, quality parameters (or both) of the harvesting machine, which parameters influence a harvesting process, in an automatable manner using stored families of characteristics. The machine is further equipped with at least one display device for depicting setpoint values and actual values of the working parameters, the quality parameters or both. The control/regulating unit actuates defined measurement points in the stored families of characteristics and, specifically actuated measurement points are located in the boundary regions of the family of characteristics, outside the active working region of the particular family of characteristics or both. This arrangement ensures that high-quality regulation of the agricultural working machine is made possible and has the effect, in particular, that the stored family of characteristics in the entire stored range of values enables the agricultural working machine to achieve a good working result, even in the presence of greatly fluctuating working conditions.” (Para 0007)), and the one or more characteristic curve fields comprise operating points located in an active operating region and measuring points located in one or both of edge regions or outside the active operating region, wherein the active operating region comprises a region of the one or more characteristic curve fields in which the combine harvester operates (“During operation of the agricultural working machine 1 (i.e. use of the combine harvester 2 for harvesting in this case), the operating points 52 that are ascertained are added directly to the family of characteristics 48. According to the illustration at the bottom of FIG. 3a, the agricultural working machine 1 often operates only in a small range 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 that is stored. In order to ensure that the family of characteristics 48 stored in the control/regulating device 23 accurately depicts the particular separating or cleaning process to be modeled in the entire predefined range of values, measurement points 54 that are not located in the currently occupied region 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 or, are not located in the boundary regions thereof (or both) are actuated at regular intervals. The effect thereof is that the separating or cleaning models stored in the automatic settings 45 also depict the particular process with sufficient accuracy in the boundary region of the families of characteristics 48 and in currently non-occupied regions of the particular family of characteristics 48.” (Para 0030), “If a defined measurement point 54 must be actuated by the automatic settings 45, two activation states 56, 57 results for the exemplary embodiment described, as shown in FIGS. 3c and 3d. In one activation state 56 (FIG. 3c), the automatic separation setting 46 automatically actuates a measurement point 54, which is located outside of the currently occupied region 53 or in the boundary region of the family of characteristics 48 describing the grain separation at the separating device 10.” (Para 0032), see also Fig 3a);
at least one display device configured to display one or more target values and one or more actual values of the one or both of the working parameters or the quality parameters (“The lower, right-hand display element 39 visualizes the so-called "losses due to cleaning" 43, wherein the grain losses are displayed here that leave the agricultural working machine 1 via the cleaning device 17 in a manner similar to that of the separating device 10, and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19. Each of the display elements 39 also comprises a setpoint-value display mechanism 44, which is designed as a horizontal line and defines the maximum permissible loss of the particular quality parameter 40 previously defined by the operator 24. The setpoint-value display mechanism 44 permits the operator 24 to quickly recognize whether the quality of work being performed by the agricultural working machine 1 is sufficient.” (Para 0027), “In order to ensure that the operator of the agricultural working machine also is informed about the currently active operating mode of the control/regulating unit, at least one characteristic symbol that visualizes the automated adjustment and monitoring of a working parameter or a quality parameter (or both) appears at the point in the display of the setpoint value or an actual value (or both), of the working parameter or the quality parameter (or both), upon activation of the specific actuation of a defined measurement point.” (Para 0008)); and
at least one processor (“To that end, the present invention provides a control/regulating unit of an agricultural working machine that implements high-quality regulation of the agricultural working machine and signals the currently active operating mode of the control unit to an operator.” (Para 0006)) configured to:
determine the operating points (“During operation of the agricultural working machine 1 (i.e. use of the combine harvester 2 for harvesting in this case), the operating points 52 that are ascertained are added directly to the family of characteristics 48. According to the illustration at the bottom of FIG. 3a, the agricultural working machine 1 often operates only in a small range 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 that is stored. In order to ensure that the family of characteristics 48 stored in the control/regulating device 23 accurately depicts the particular separating or cleaning process to be modeled in the entire predefined range of values, measurement points 54 that are not located in the currently occupied region 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 or, are not located in the boundary regions thereof (or both) are actuated at regular intervals. The effect thereof is that the separating or cleaning models stored in the automatic settings 45 also depict the particular process with sufficient accuracy in the boundary region of the families of characteristics 48 and in currently non-occupied regions of the particular family of characteristics 48.” (Para 0030));
determine, based on the operating points, the active operating region of a respective characteristic field curve of the one or more characteristic field curves (“During operation of the agricultural working machine 1 (i.e. use of the combine harvester 2 for harvesting in this case), the operating points 52 that are ascertained are added directly to the family of characteristics 48. According to the illustration at the bottom of FIG. 3a, the agricultural working machine 1 often operates only in a small range 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 that is stored. In order to ensure that the family of characteristics 48 stored in the control/regulating device 23 accurately depicts the particular separating or cleaning process to be modeled in the entire predefined range of values, measurement points 54 that are not located in the currently occupied region 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 or, are not located in the boundary regions thereof (or both) are actuated at regular intervals. The effect thereof is that the separating or cleaning models stored in the automatic settings 45 also depict the particular process with sufficient accuracy in the boundary region of the families of characteristics 48 and in currently non-occupied regions of the particular family of characteristics 48.” (Para 0030), “If a defined measurement point 54 must be actuated by the automatic settings 45, two activation states 56, 57 results for the exemplary embodiment described, as shown in FIGS. 3c and 3d. In one activation state 56 (FIG. 3c), the automatic separation setting 46 automatically actuates a measurement point 54, which is located outside of the currently occupied region 53 or in the boundary region of the family of characteristics 48 describing the grain separation at the separating device 10.” (Para 0032), see also Fig 3a);
determine whether the combine harvester is in a non-critical state (“In order to ensure that the agricultural working machine always makes optimal use of the resources available for making adjustments, the control/regulating unit can also be automatically activated upon start-up of the working machine.” (Para 0014); where the non-critical state is when the control/regulating unit is active; additionally/alternatively the non-critical state is when the working machine is started); and responsive to determining that the combine harvester is in the non-critical state, activate respective measuring points in the respective characteristic curve field, wherein respective measuring points lie in one or both of the edge regions of the respective characteristic curve field or outside the active operating region of the respective characteristic curve field (“During operation of the agricultural working machine 1 (i.e. use of the combine harvester 2 for harvesting in this case), the operating points 52 that are ascertained are added directly to the family of characteristics 48. According to the illustration at the bottom of FIG. 3a, the agricultural working machine 1 often operates only in a small range 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 that is stored. In order to ensure that the family of characteristics 48 stored in the control/regulating device 23 accurately depicts the particular separating or cleaning process to be modeled in the entire predefined range of values, measurement points 54 that are not located in the currently occupied region 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 or, are not located in the boundary regions thereof (or both) are actuated at regular intervals. The effect thereof is that the separating or cleaning models stored in the automatic settings 45 also depict the particular process with sufficient accuracy in the boundary region of the families of characteristics 48 and in currently non-occupied regions of the particular family of characteristics 48.” (Para 0030), “If a defined measurement point 54 must be actuated by the automatic settings 45, two activation states 56, 57 results for the exemplary embodiment described, as shown in FIGS. 3c and 3d. In one activation state 56 (FIG. 3c), the automatic separation setting 46 automatically actuates a measurement point 54, which is located outside of the currently occupied region 53 or in the boundary region of the family of characteristics 48 describing the grain separation at the separating device 10.” (Para 0032), see also Fig 3a).
In regards to claim 2, Wilken teaches of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the operating points form the active operating region of the characteristic curve field (“During operation of the agricultural working machine 1 (i.e. use of the combine harvester 2 for harvesting in this case), the operating points 52 that are ascertained are added directly to the family of characteristics 48. According to the illustration at the bottom of FIG. 3a, the agricultural working machine 1 often operates only in a small range 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 that is stored. In order to ensure that the family of characteristics 48 stored in the control/regulating device 23 accurately depicts the particular separating or cleaning process to be modeled in the entire predefined range of values, measurement points 54 that are not located in the currently occupied region 53 of the particular family of characteristics 48 or, are not located in the boundary regions thereof (or both) are actuated at regular intervals. The effect thereof is that the separating or cleaning models stored in the automatic settings 45 also depict the particular process with sufficient accuracy in the boundary region of the families of characteristics 48 and in currently non-occupied regions of the particular family of characteristics 48.” (Para 0030), “If a defined measurement point 54 must be actuated by the automatic settings 45, two activation states 56, 57 results for the exemplary embodiment described, as shown in FIGS. 3c and 3d. In one activation state 56 (FIG. 3c), the automatic separation setting 46 automatically actuates a measurement point 54, which is located outside of the currently occupied region 53 or in the boundary region of the family of characteristics 48 describing the grain separation at the separating device 10.” (Para 0032), see also Fig 3a).
In regards to claim 10, Wilken discloses of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the non-critical state based on at least one of the following:
a topology map;
data recorded using one or more on-board environmental sensors (“FIG. 2 depicts the display unit 22 of the control/regulating unit 23 and the arithmetic logic unit 30, which is assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 and is coupled to the display unit 22. The arithmetic logic unit 30 is designed to process internal information 31 generated by the sensor systems 26, as well as external information 32 and information 33 stored in the arithmetic logic unit 30 itself (such as expert knowledge), in order to generate a plurality of output signals 34. The output signals 34 include, at the least, display control signals 35 and working part signals 36, wherein the former determine the contents of the display unit 22 and the latter initiate the change of the highly diverse working parameters 37 of the working parts 20 of the agricultural working machine 1. Please note that arrow 37 symbolizes the cylinder speed.” (Para 0024), “In addition, the control/regulating unit 23 is coupled to a driver assistance system 28, as described above. The driver assistance system 28 is integrated in the agricultural working machine 1 such that this agricultural working machine can exchange data 38 with the control/regulating unit 23 and with the display unit 22 assigned thereto. The content of the display units 22, 27 depicted in FIG. 2 is provided as an example, where the invention is not limited to the specific example. The display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 comprises, in the central region thereof, a hotkey window 38. The hotkey window 38 is freely definable by the operator 24. Important machine information such as the fill level of the fuel tank 38a, machine parameter settings 38b, and the ground speed 38c are visualized in the hotkey window 8.” (Para 0025), “The agricultural working machine 1 also comprises a driver's cab 21, in which at least one control/regulating unit 23 equipped with a display device 22 is disposed. The control/regulating unit 23 is used to control a plurality of processes, wherein the processes are initiated automatically or by the operator 24 of the agricultural working machine 1. The control/regulating unit 23 communicates via a bus system 25 in a manner known per se with a large number of sensor systems 26. The structure of the sensor systems 26 is described in detail in DE 101 47 733, the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated in the disclosure of this patent application.” (Para 0022));
data based on current harvest conditions (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Wilken Para 0026), “If the agricultural working machine 1 (e.g., the combine harvester 2) is operated with the automatic separation setting 46 activated and the automatic cleaning setting 47 activated, the display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 has the above-described structure shown in FIG. 3b. The value of each quality parameter 40, specifically the "volume of tailings" 41a, the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b, the "loss due to separation" 42 and the "loss due to cleaning" 43 in this case, is visualized qualitatively in the form of color-enhanced surface areas 55. The expansion of each of the surface areas 55 changes depending on the values for "loss due to separation" 42, "grain loss" 43 and "tailings composition" 41a, 41b ascertained by the control/regulating unit 23. The purpose of the automatic settings 45 is to maintain the quality criteria 40 at an optimal level and below the particular setpoint-value display mechanism 44.” (Wilken Para 0031));
one or both of satellite images or yield forecasts determined using the satellite images; or
GPS data.
In regards to claim 13, Wilken discloses of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein, responsive to determining that the combine harvester is in the non-critical state, the at least one processor is configured to generate, using the at least one display device, a notice indicative that the combine harvester in the non-critical state (“In addition, the control/regulating unit 23 is coupled to a driver assistance system 28, as described above. The driver assistance system 28 is integrated in the agricultural working machine 1 such that this agricultural working machine can exchange data 38 with the control/regulating unit 23 and with the display unit 22 assigned thereto. The content of the display units 22, 27 depicted in FIG. 2 is provided as an example, where the invention is not limited to the specific example. The display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 comprises, in the central region thereof, a hotkey window 38. The hotkey window 38 is freely definable by the operator 24. Important machine information such as the fill level of the fuel tank 38a, machine parameter settings 38b, and the ground speed 38c are visualized in the hotkey window 8.” (Para 0025), “In order to ensure that the operator of the agricultural working machine also is informed about the currently active operating mode of the control/regulating unit, at least one characteristic symbol that visualizes the automated adjustment and monitoring of a working parameter or a quality parameter (or both) appears at the point in the display of the setpoint value or an actual value (or both), of the working parameter or the quality parameter (or both), upon activation of the specific actuation of a defined measurement point.” (Para 0008), see also Fig 2).
In regards to claim 14, Wilken discloses of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the work parameters comprise one or both of machine parameter setting or harvested material parameters (“A complex optimization of the agricultural working machine is achieved when the working parameters include machine parameter settings and crop parameters and when the quality parameters include the parameters "loss due to separation", "loss due to cleaning", "tailings", "volume of tailings" and "portion of grain in the tailings".” (Para 0012)); or
wherein the quality parameters comprise one or more of: separation loss (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026)); cleaning loss (“The lower, right-hand display element 39 visualizes the so-called "losses due to cleaning" 43, wherein the grain losses are displayed here that leave the agricultural working machine 1 via the cleaning device 17 in a manner similar to that of the separating device 10, and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19. Each of the display elements 39 also comprises a setpoint-value display mechanism 44, which is designed as a horizontal line and defines the maximum permissible loss of the particular quality parameter 40 previously defined by the operator 24. The setpoint-value display mechanism 44 permits the operator 24 to quickly recognize whether the quality of work being performed by the agricultural working machine 1 is sufficient.” (Para 0027)); returns (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026)); returns volume (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026), see also Para 0031); or grain content in the returns (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026) see also Para 0031).
In regards to claim 15, Wilken discloses of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the work parameters comprise one or both of machine parameter setting or harvested material parameters (“A complex optimization of the agricultural working machine is achieved when the working parameters include machine parameter settings and crop parameters and when the quality parameters include the parameters "loss due to separation", "loss due to cleaning", "tailings", "volume of tailings" and "portion of grain in the tailings".” (Para 0012)); or
wherein the quality parameters comprise: separation loss (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026)); cleaning loss (“The lower, right-hand display element 39 visualizes the so-called "losses due to cleaning" 43, wherein the grain losses are displayed here that leave the agricultural working machine 1 via the cleaning device 17 in a manner similar to that of the separating device 10, and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19. Each of the display elements 39 also comprises a setpoint-value display mechanism 44, which is designed as a horizontal line and defines the maximum permissible loss of the particular quality parameter 40 previously defined by the operator 24. The setpoint-value display mechanism 44 permits the operator 24 to quickly recognize whether the quality of work being performed by the agricultural working machine 1 is sufficient.” (Para 0027)); returns (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026)); returns volume (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026), see also Para 0031); and grain content in the returns (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Para 0026) see also Para 0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilken in view of Diekhans et al. (US 7502678; hereinafter Diekhans).
In regards to claim 3, Wilken teaches of the combine harvester of claim 1.
However, Wilken does not specifically disclose of wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the non-critical state based on a digital field map; and
wherein the digital field map comprises an obstacle region and a non-critical region.
Diekhans, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the non-critical state based on a digital field map (“Both methods can be used effectively when the turning maneuvers between two working tracks are always the same, i.e., when the headland tracks to be driven are always the same. It cannot be assumed, however, that the optimal route for working a field means that the headland tracks between the individual working tracks are always the same. For example, it can be highly advantageous to choose a working strategy with which the sequence of working tracks to be traveled on the field does not require that the path length between the working tracks always be the same. If there are obstacles in the headland area, it may not be possible to travel along the headland track as planned.” (Column 3 lines 4-15), “In order to be able to react to all events in a flexible manner, it is possible with control system 2--as described above--to reorganize a route R at any time, particularly by spontaneously changing the sequence in which individual working tracks F.sub.N are to be entered. In this case, new headland tracks F.sub.V must be planned accordingly, so that individual working tracks F.sub.N can be entered in the desired sequence. As shown in FIG. 5, this requires that control system 2, i.e., turning maneuver planning module 10, know headland area VB that is available. Headland area VB is defined, e.g., for a harvesting machine, by outer edge AK of field S and field edge BK. The data for headland area VB are stored, e.g., in a map in memory device 7. Further information that is required about headland area VB includes information about obstacles such as telephone poles or hedges or the like, specified blocked areas and safety areas in which automatic driving is not allowed. Safety areas of this type can be headland areas adjacent to public roads, and areas in which a GPS signal cannot be received well, due, e.g., to a thick woods, and the position system is therefore unable to function with sufficient accuracy or reliability. Based on these data--as will be described below in greater detail--a headland track F.sub.V can be determined in order to travel reliably through the headland area in a direction of travel FR from an "old" working track F.sub.N,1 that is currently being driven along, into the next, "new" working track F.sub.N,2 to be driven along.” (Column 11 line 65 - Column 12 line 24), see Figs 4-5); and
wherein the digital field map comprises an obstacle region and a non-critical region (“Both methods can be used effectively when the turning maneuvers between two working tracks are always the same, i.e., when the headland tracks to be driven are always the same. It cannot be assumed, however, that the optimal route for working a field means that the headland tracks between the individual working tracks are always the same. For example, it can be highly advantageous to choose a working strategy with which the sequence of working tracks to be traveled on the field does not require that the path length between the working tracks always be the same. If there are obstacles in the headland area, it may not be possible to travel along the headland track as planned.” (Column 3 lines 4-15), “In order to be able to react to all events in a flexible manner, it is possible with control system 2--as described above--to reorganize a route R at any time, particularly by spontaneously changing the sequence in which individual working tracks F.sub.N are to be entered. In this case, new headland tracks F.sub.V must be planned accordingly, so that individual working tracks F.sub.N can be entered in the desired sequence. As shown in FIG. 5, this requires that control system 2, i.e., turning maneuver planning module 10, know headland area VB that is available. Headland area VB is defined, e.g., for a harvesting machine, by outer edge AK of field S and field edge BK. The data for headland area VB are stored, e.g., in a map in memory device 7. Further information that is required about headland area VB includes information about obstacles such as telephone poles or hedges or the like, specified blocked areas and safety areas in which automatic driving is not allowed. Safety areas of this type can be headland areas adjacent to public roads, and areas in which a GPS signal cannot be received well, due, e.g., to a thick woods, and the position system is therefore unable to function with sufficient accuracy or reliability. Based on these data--as will be described below in greater detail--a headland track F.sub.V can be determined in order to travel reliably through the headland area in a direction of travel FR from an "old" working track F.sub.N,1 that is currently being driven along, into the next, "new" working track F.sub.N,2 to be driven along.” (Column 11 line 65 - Column 12 line 24), see Figs 4-5; where the non-critical region is the area within the field or without obstacles).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-critical mode, as taught by Wilkens, to include being based on a digital field map of an obstacle region and a non-critical region, as taught by Diekhans, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine if there are obstacles in the area that make the not possible to travel along the planned route (Diekhans Column 3 lines 4-15).
In regards to claim 4, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine one or both of the non-critical region or the obstacle region based on at least one of the following: a field region of the combine harvester (“For the turning maneuver, it is possible to realize a turning maneuver planning module, preferably in the form of a software module, e.g., in the control device. In order for this turning maneuver planning module to generate a headland track based on the method described above, it requires at least the following parameters at one data input: Turn start point with track end orientation; Turn end point with track end orientation; Minimum possible turning radius of the machine system that can be driven along automatically; Shape of the field edge between the turn start point and the turn end point; Shape of the outer edge of the field.” Column 7 lines 15-27)); a working direction of the combine harvester (“To define an entire headland track, the turn start point and the turn end point--with orientation, i.e, the direction of travel--are also required. The next step is to combine the individual turning curves--from the turn start point to the turn end point--with the intermediate paths, in order to generate the entire headland track.” (Column 7 lines 9-14)); a turning region (“A headland track between two driving tracks can be generated preferably relatively easily using individual turning curves, each of which is defined by the following parameters: A turning curve center; A turning radius, with which, e.g., the minimum possible turning radius of the machine system is assumed; A radian measure, which can be defined, e.g., by a start value and an end value, and by an angular direction or a start value and an angular difference calculated based on a start value and an end value; A direction of travel along the turning curve; Information about subsequent turning curves (including the straight intermediate paths that connect the turning curves). To define an entire headland track, the turn start point and the turn end point--with orientation, i.e, the direction of travel--are also required. The next step is to combine the individual turning curves--from the turn start point to the turn end point--with the intermediate paths, in order to generate the entire headland track.” (Column 6 line 62 - Column 7 line 14)); at least one static obstacle (“Further information that is required about headland area VB includes information about obstacles such as telephone poles or hedges or the like, specified blocked areas and safety areas in which automatic driving is not allowed. Safety areas of this type can be headland areas adjacent to public roads, and areas in which a GPS signal cannot be received well, due, e.g., to a thick woods, and the position system is therefore unable to function with sufficient accuracy or reliability. Based on these data--as will be described below in greater detail--a headland track F.sub.V can be determined in order to travel reliably through the headland area in a direction of travel FR from an "old" working track F.sub.N,1 that is currently being driven along, into the next, "new" working track F.sub.N,2 to be driven along.” (Column 12 lines 11-24)); at least one detected partial width (“Particularly preferably, when the route for the machine system is created, the selection and layout of the working tracks and the sequence in which the working tracks will be driven along are carried out depending on certain parameters of the machine system, particularly its working width and/or turning radius. Particularly preferably, the working tracks are selected and laid out, and their sequence is selected depending on the course of possible headland tracks between the working tracks.” (Column 6 lines 40-48)); at least one field enclosure (“For the turning maneuver, it is possible to realize a turning maneuver planning module, preferably in the form of a software module, e.g., in the control device. In order for this turning maneuver planning module to generate a headland track based on the method described above, it requires at least the following parameters at one data input: Turn start point with track end orientation; Turn end point with track end orientation; Minimum possible turning radius of the machine system that can be driven along automatically; Shape of the field edge between the turn start point and the turn end point; Shape of the outer edge of the field.” (Column 7 lines 15-27)); at least one storage grain (“The control method therefore ultimately functions independently of which working tracks are entered in succession. As such, it is always possible--as it is with most classical working strategies--to select the closest adjacent driving track. It is also possible to enter any other optimal driving track that was selected within the framework of route planning. In particular, it is also possible at any time for the driver to specify which driving track he wants to enter next, e.g., a driving track with special properties or a driving track on which stored crop material can be unloaded, or a driving track with a certain crop quality. The driver can also select a certain driving track with a path marking that was put in place in advance. Via the dynamic updating of the headland track, the driver can select a different driving track--while driving along a track ahead of it or while driving along the planned headland track--thereby enabling him to react flexibly to any event and subsequently continue driving down a newly calculated, optimized route.” (Column 6 lines 22-39)); a straw moisture; a yield forecast determined using satellite images; or a field quality (“The control method therefore ultimately functions independently of which working tracks are entered in succession. As such, it is always possible--as it is with most classical working strategies--to select the closest adjacent driving track. It is also possible to enter any other optimal driving track that was selected within the framework of route planning. In particular, it is also possible at any time for the driver to specify which driving track he wants to enter next, e.g., a driving track with special properties or a driving track on which stored crop material can be unloaded, or a driving track with a certain crop quality. The driver can also select a certain driving track with a path marking that was put in place in advance. Via the dynamic updating of the headland track, the driver can select a different driving track--while driving along a track ahead of it or while driving along the planned headland track--thereby enabling him to react flexibly to any event and subsequently continue driving down a newly calculated, optimized route.” (Column 6 lines 22-39)), wherein the field quality is determined based on one or both of drone images or growth models.
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 6, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 3, wherein the non-critical state comprises a non-critical time period (“The sequence of headland working steps can even be updated when the machine system is still located in the previous working track and a need for a change results due to replanning of the headland track, e.g., because a different subsequent working track was selected. It is also possible for the update to take place at any time while the headland track is being driven along, in order to adapt appropriately when the operator exits the intended headland track, e.g., in order to avoid obstacles or because the machine system slid in mud, and the planned turning time can therefore not be maintained. Due to the inventive control method it is possible--nearly independently of the sequence of headland working steps originally planned, e.g., learned, by the headland management system--to plan an optimal route for the machine system and to travel along it fully automatically. Even when unplanned events occur, it is usually possible to carry out the sequence of headland working steps fully automatically without driver intervention.” (Column 5 lines 3-20)); and
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the non-critical time period based on at least one of the following:
the digital field map (“Particularly preferably, when the route for the machine system is created, the selection and layout of the working tracks and the sequence in which the working tracks will be driven along are carried out depending on certain parameters of the machine system, particularly its working width and/or turning radius. Particularly preferably, the working tracks are selected and laid out, and their sequence is selected depending on the course of possible headland tracks between the working tracks. By linking the optimization of the working tracks for working the territory with possible headland tracks in this manner it can be ensured that the working tracks per se as well as the time and distances required to travel along the headland tracks are taken into account in the route planning. Due to this intelligent planning of the turning maneuver, efficiency can be increased considerably. As described above, during travel along a working track, the sequence in which subsequent working tracks will be driven along is updated dynamically. For example, when it becomes clear that the grain tank of a combine harvester is full and must be unloaded, the sequence of working tracks to be driven along must be reordered such that it is possible to unload the grain tank on the next working track.” (Column 6 lines 40-61), “If, in reality, the headland track is shorter than planned and there is therefore not as much time available as required for the originally planned sequence of headland working steps, the sequence can be updated as follows: First, the header is lowered, then the engine speed is reduced when the machine system exits the old working track, and, vice versa, when the machine system enters the new working track, the engine speed is increased, then the header is lowered. The advantage of this is that, due to the higher engine speed, the oil pressure is higher when the height of the header is adjusted, thereby enabling the header to be adjusted more quickly. If there is only a very short amount of time available for turning, the sequence of headland working steps can also be updated such that the engine speed is not reduced at all, and the only tasks carried out are that the header is lifted and then lowered.” (Column 4 line 55 - Column 5 line 2));
a driving speed of the combine harvester (“The various functions typically last for an exactly defined period of time. In order to carry out a certain function, it must therefore be ensured that the hydraulic valve is actuated for a certain length of time when a certain attachment is attached. A time-dependent control of this type can also be updated dynamically, and it can be dependent on which working steps have been carried out previously or afterward. The oil pressure in the hydraulic lines is higher, e.g., if the engine speed was increased before the particular working step. An attachment can then be hydraulically displaced more quickly, and the period of time for actuating the hydraulic valve can therefore be shorter than it is when the engine speed is not increased until after the particular time-controlled working step, for instance.” (Column 4 lines 29-42), see also Column 4 line 55 - Column 5 line 2); or
a working direction of the combine harvester (“A headland track between two driving tracks can be generated preferably relatively easily using individual turning curves, each of which is defined by the following parameters: A turning curve center; A turning radius, with which, e.g., the minimum possible turning radius of the machine system is assumed; A radian measure, which can be defined, e.g., by a start value and an end value, and by an angular direction or a start value and an angular difference calculated based on a start value and an end value; A direction of travel along the turning curve; Information about subsequent turning curves (including the straight intermediate paths that connect the turning curves). To define an entire headland track, the turn start point and the turn end point--with orientation, i.e, the direction of travel--are also required. The next step is to combine the individual turning curves--from the turn start point to the turn end point--with the intermediate paths, in order to generate the entire headland track.” (Column 6 line 62 - Column 7 line 14)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 7, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 3, wherein the non-critical state comprises a non-critical time period (“The sequence of headland working steps can even be updated when the machine system is still located in the previous working track and a need for a change results due to replanning of the headland track, e.g., because a different subsequent working track was selected. It is also possible for the update to take place at any time while the headland track is being driven along, in order to adapt appropriately when the operator exits the intended headland track, e.g., in order to avoid obstacles or because the machine system slid in mud, and the planned turning time can therefore not be maintained. Due to the inventive control method it is possible--nearly independently of the sequence of headland working steps originally planned, e.g., learned, by the headland management system--to plan an optimal route for the machine system and to travel along it fully automatically. Even when unplanned events occur, it is usually possible to carry out the sequence of headland working steps fully automatically without driver intervention.” (Column 5 lines 3-20)); and
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the non-critical time period based on each of the following:
the digital field map (“Particularly preferably, when the route for the machine system is created, the selection and layout of the working tracks and the sequence in which the working tracks will be driven along are carried out depending on certain parameters of the machine system, particularly its working width and/or turning radius. Particularly preferably, the working tracks are selected and laid out, and their sequence is selected depending on the course of possible headland tracks between the working tracks. By linking the optimization of the working tracks for working the territory with possible headland tracks in this manner it can be ensured that the working tracks per se as well as the time and distances required to travel along the headland tracks are taken into account in the route planning. Due to this intelligent planning of the turning maneuver, efficiency can be increased considerably. As described above, during travel along a working track, the sequence in which subsequent working tracks will be driven along is updated dynamically. For example, when it becomes clear that the grain tank of a combine harvester is full and must be unloaded, the sequence of working tracks to be driven along must be reordered such that it is possible to unload the grain tank on the next working track.” (Column 6 lines 40-61), “If, in reality, the headland track is shorter than planned and there is therefore not as much time available as required for the originally planned sequence of headland working steps, the sequence can be updated as follows: First, the header is lowered, then the engine speed is reduced when the machine system exits the old working track, and, vice versa, when the machine system enters the new working track, the engine speed is increased, then the header is lowered. The advantage of this is that, due to the higher engine speed, the oil pressure is higher when the height of the header is adjusted, thereby enabling the header to be adjusted more quickly. If there is only a very short amount of time available for turning, the sequence of headland working steps can also be updated such that the engine speed is not reduced at all, and the only tasks carried out are that the header is lifted and then lowered.” (Column 4 line 55 - Column 5 line 2));
a driving speed of the combine harvester (“The various functions typically last for an exactly defined period of time. In order to carry out a certain function, it must therefore be ensured that the hydraulic valve is actuated for a certain length of time when a certain attachment is attached. A time-dependent control of this type can also be updated dynamically, and it can be dependent on which working steps have been carried out previously or afterward. The oil pressure in the hydraulic lines is higher, e.g., if the engine speed was increased before the particular working step. An attachment can then be hydraulically displaced more quickly, and the period of time for actuating the hydraulic valve can therefore be shorter than it is when the engine speed is not increased until after the particular time-controlled working step, for instance.” (Column 4 lines 29-42), see also Column 4 line 55 - Column 5 line 2); and
a working direction of the combine harvester (“A headland track between two driving tracks can be generated preferably relatively easily using individual turning curves, each of which is defined by the following parameters: A turning curve center; A turning radius, with which, e.g., the minimum possible turning radius of the machine system is assumed; A radian measure, which can be defined, e.g., by a start value and an end value, and by an angular direction or a start value and an angular difference calculated based on a start value and an end value; A direction of travel along the turning curve; Information about subsequent turning curves (including the straight intermediate paths that connect the turning curves). To define an entire headland track, the turn start point and the turn end point--with orientation, i.e, the direction of travel--are also required. The next step is to combine the individual turning curves--from the turn start point to the turn end point--with the intermediate paths, in order to generate the entire headland track.” (Column 6 line 62 - Column 7 line 14)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 8, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 3, wherein the digital field map is adapted using at least one of historical data or current field measurements (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Wilken Para 0026), “Headland tracks can be updated any time using turning maneuver planning module 10. That is, sequences of headland working steps that were initially specified, e.g., by headland management system 5, or that were learned with the aid of headland management system 5 can be adapted to the current headland track to be driven along. To this end, route planning system 4 and headland management system 5 are provided with current position data PD, among other data, from position determination device 6.” (Column 9 lines 45-54), “This example alone shows that a turning procedure of this type requires a great deal of practice and the driver's full concentration. To relieve the driver of this task to the greatest extent possible, "headland management systems" (also referred to as "field-end management systems") were developed and have been on the market for a few years. Using headland management systems of this type--some of which can also be retrofitted for tractors and other agricultural machine systems--sequences of headland working steps can be controlled automatically. To this end, various sequences of headland working steps can typically be "learned". The operator switches the headland management system into a learning mode and carries out a turning maneuver, during which the individual working steps are registered and stored by the headland management system.” (Column 2 lines 43-57), see also Column 11 lines 39-52)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 9, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 3, wherein the digital field map is adapted using both of historical data and current field measurements (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Wilken Para 0026), “Headland tracks can be updated any time using turning maneuver planning module 10. That is, sequences of headland working steps that were initially specified, e.g., by headland management system 5, or that were learned with the aid of headland management system 5 can be adapted to the current headland track to be driven along. To this end, route planning system 4 and headland management system 5 are provided with current position data PD, among other data, from position determination device 6.” (Column 9 lines 45-54), “This example alone shows that a turning procedure of this type requires a great deal of practice and the driver's full concentration. To relieve the driver of this task to the greatest extent possible, "headland management systems" (also referred to as "field-end management systems") were developed and have been on the market for a few years. Using headland management systems of this type--some of which can also be retrofitted for tractors and other agricultural machine systems--sequences of headland working steps can be controlled automatically. To this end, various sequences of headland working steps can typically be "learned". The operator switches the headland management system into a learning mode and carries out a turning maneuver, during which the individual working steps are registered and stored by the headland management system.” (Column 2 lines 43-57), see also Column 11 lines 39-52)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 11, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the non-critical state based on a digital map (“Both methods can be used effectively when the turning maneuvers between two working tracks are always the same, i.e., when the headland tracks to be driven are always the same. It cannot be assumed, however, that the optimal route for working a field means that the headland tracks between the individual working tracks are always the same. For example, it can be highly advantageous to choose a working strategy with which the sequence of working tracks to be traveled on the field does not require that the path length between the working tracks always be the same. If there are obstacles in the headland area, it may not be possible to travel along the headland track as planned.” (Column 3 lines 4-15), “In order to be able to react to all events in a flexible manner, it is possible with control system 2--as described above--to reorganize a route R at any time, particularly by spontaneously changing the sequence in which individual working tracks F.sub.N are to be entered. In this case, new headland tracks F.sub.V must be planned accordingly, so that individual working tracks F.sub.N can be entered in the desired sequence. As shown in FIG. 5, this requires that control system 2, i.e., turning maneuver planning module 10, know headland area VB that is available. Headland area VB is defined, e.g., for a harvesting machine, by outer edge AK of field S and field edge BK. The data for headland area VB are stored, e.g., in a map in memory device 7. Further information that is required about headland area VB includes information about obstacles such as telephone poles or hedges or the like, specified blocked areas and safety areas in which automatic driving is not allowed. Safety areas of this type can be headland areas adjacent to public roads, and areas in which a GPS signal cannot be received well, due, e.g., to a thick woods, and the position system is therefore unable to function with sufficient accuracy or reliability. Based on these data--as will be described below in greater detail--a headland track F.sub.V can be determined in order to travel reliably through the headland area in a direction of travel FR from an "old" working track F.sub.N,1 that is currently being driven along, into the next, "new" working track F.sub.N,2 to be driven along.” (Column 11 line 65 - Column 12 line 24), see Figs 4-5); and
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the digital field map based on at least one of the following:
a topology map;
data recorded using one or more on-board environmental sensors (“FIG. 2 depicts the display unit 22 of the control/regulating unit 23 and the arithmetic logic unit 30, which is assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 and is coupled to the display unit 22. The arithmetic logic unit 30 is designed to process internal information 31 generated by the sensor systems 26, as well as external information 32 and information 33 stored in the arithmetic logic unit 30 itself (such as expert knowledge), in order to generate a plurality of output signals 34. The output signals 34 include, at the least, display control signals 35 and working part signals 36, wherein the former determine the contents of the display unit 22 and the latter initiate the change of the highly diverse working parameters 37 of the working parts 20 of the agricultural working machine 1. Please note that arrow 37 symbolizes the cylinder speed.” (Para 0024), “In addition, the control/regulating unit 23 is coupled to a driver assistance system 28, as described above. The driver assistance system 28 is integrated in the agricultural working machine 1 such that this agricultural working machine can exchange data 38 with the control/regulating unit 23 and with the display unit 22 assigned thereto. The content of the display units 22, 27 depicted in FIG. 2 is provided as an example, where the invention is not limited to the specific example. The display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 comprises, in the central region thereof, a hotkey window 38. The hotkey window 38 is freely definable by the operator 24. Important machine information such as the fill level of the fuel tank 38a, machine parameter settings 38b, and the ground speed 38c are visualized in the hotkey window 8.” (Para 0025), “The agricultural working machine 1 also comprises a driver's cab 21, in which at least one control/regulating unit 23 equipped with a display device 22 is disposed. The control/regulating unit 23 is used to control a plurality of processes, wherein the processes are initiated automatically or by the operator 24 of the agricultural working machine 1. The control/regulating unit 23 communicates via a bus system 25 in a manner known per se with a large number of sensor systems 26. The structure of the sensor systems 26 is described in detail in DE 101 47 733, the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated in the disclosure of this patent application.” (Para 0022));
data based on current harvest conditions (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Wilken Para 0026), “If the agricultural working machine 1 (e.g., the combine harvester 2) is operated with the automatic separation setting 46 activated and the automatic cleaning setting 47 activated, the display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 has the above-described structure shown in FIG. 3b. The value of each quality parameter 40, specifically the "volume of tailings" 41a, the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b, the "loss due to separation" 42 and the "loss due to cleaning" 43 in this case, is visualized qualitatively in the form of color-enhanced surface areas 55. The expansion of each of the surface areas 55 changes depending on the values for "loss due to separation" 42, "grain loss" 43 and "tailings composition" 41a, 41b ascertained by the control/regulating unit 23. The purpose of the automatic settings 45 is to maintain the quality criteria 40 at an optimal level and below the particular setpoint-value display mechanism 44.” (Wilken Para 0031)) “Headland tracks can be updated any time using turning maneuver planning module 10. That is, sequences of headland working steps that were initially specified, e.g., by headland management system 5, or that were learned with the aid of headland management system 5 can be adapted to the current headland track to be driven along. To this end, route planning system 4 and headland management system 5 are provided with current position data PD, among other data, from position determination device 6.” (Column 9 lines 45-54));
one or both of satellite images or yield forecasts determined using the satellite images; or
GPS data (“Route planning systems of this type and automatic steering systems typically function using satellite-based navigation devices, e.g., GPS receivers (GPS=Global Positioning System). Various correction procedures are used to improve accuracy, such as DGPS (differential GPS) for a GPS method. An example of a route planning system of this type is described in EP 0 821 296 B1. As explained above, a planned route of this type typically includes the planned paths on the field to be worked, i.e., the individual "working tracks" on the field, as well as the driving courses for turning maneuvers in the headland areas, in order to travel from one working track to another working track that is usually directly adjacent thereto or is parallel thereto but offset at a distance.” (Column 1 line 56 - Column 2 line 2)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilken in view of Diekhans, as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Wigdahl et al. (US 20230309446; hereinafter Wigdahl).
In regards to claim 5, Wilken in view of Diekhans teaches of the combine harvester of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine one or both of the non-critical region or the obstacle region based on each of the following: a field region of the combine harvester (“For the turning maneuver, it is possible to realize a turning maneuver planning module, preferably in the form of a software module, e.g., in the control device. In order for this turning maneuver planning module to generate a headland track based on the method described above, it requires at least the following parameters at one data input: Turn start point with track end orientation; Turn end point with track end orientation; Minimum possible turning radius of the machine system that can be driven along automatically; Shape of the field edge between the turn start point and the turn end point; Shape of the outer edge of the field.” Column 7 lines 15-27)); a working direction of the combine harvester (“To define an entire headland track, the turn start point and the turn end point--with orientation, i.e, the direction of travel--are also required. The next step is to combine the individual turning curves--from the turn start point to the turn end point--with the intermediate paths, in order to generate the entire headland track.” (Column 7 lines 9-14)); a turning region (“A headland track between two driving tracks can be generated preferably relatively easily using individual turning curves, each of which is defined by the following parameters: A turning curve center; A turning radius, with which, e.g., the minimum possible turning radius of the machine system is assumed; A radian measure, which can be defined, e.g., by a start value and an end value, and by an angular direction or a start value and an angular difference calculated based on a start value and an end value; A direction of travel along the turning curve; Information about subsequent turning curves (including the straight intermediate paths that connect the turning curves). To define an entire headland track, the turn start point and the turn end point--with orientation, i.e, the direction of travel--are also required. The next step is to combine the individual turning curves--from the turn start point to the turn end point--with the intermediate paths, in order to generate the entire headland track.” (Column 6 line 62 - Column 7 line 14)); at least one static obstacle (“Further information that is required about headland area VB includes information about obstacles such as telephone poles or hedges or the like, specified blocked areas and safety areas in which automatic driving is not allowed. Safety areas of this type can be headland areas adjacent to public roads, and areas in which a GPS signal cannot be received well, due, e.g., to a thick woods, and the position system is therefore unable to function with sufficient accuracy or reliability. Based on these data--as will be described below in greater detail--a headland track F.sub.V can be determined in order to travel reliably through the headland area in a direction of travel FR from an "old" working track F.sub.N,1 that is currently being driven along, into the next, "new" working track F.sub.N,2 to be driven along.” (Column 12 lines 11-24)); at least one detected partial width (“Particularly preferably, when the route for the machine system is created, the selection and layout of the working tracks and the sequence in which the working tracks will be driven along are carried out depending on certain parameters of the machine system, particularly its working width and/or turning radius. Particularly preferably, the working tracks are selected and laid out, and their sequence is selected depending on the course of possible headland tracks between the working tracks.” (Column 6 lines 40-48)); at least one field enclosure (“For the turning maneuver, it is possible to realize a turning maneuver planning module, preferably in the form of a software module, e.g., in the control device. In order for this turning maneuver planning module to generate a headland track based on the method described above, it requires at least the following parameters at one data input: Turn start point with track end orientation; Turn end point with track end orientation; Minimum possible turning radius of the machine system that can be driven along automatically; Shape of the field edge between the turn start point and the turn end point; Shape of the outer edge of the field.” (Column 7 lines 15-27)); at least one storage grain (“The control method therefore ultimately functions independently of which working tracks are entered in succession. As such, it is always possible--as it is with most classical working strategies--to select the closest adjacent driving track. It is also possible to enter any other optimal driving track that was selected within the framework of route planning. In particular, it is also possible at any time for the driver to specify which driving track he wants to enter next, e.g., a driving track with special properties or a driving track on which stored crop material can be unloaded, or a driving track with a certain crop quality. The driver can also select a certain driving track with a path marking that was put in place in advance. Via the dynamic updating of the headland track, the driver can select a different driving track--while driving along a track ahead of it or while driving along the planned headland track--thereby enabling him to react flexibly to any event and subsequently continue driving down a newly calculated, optimized route.” (Column 6 lines 22-39)); … and a field quality (“The control method therefore ultimately functions independently of which working tracks are entered in succession. As such, it is always possible--as it is with most classical working strategies--to select the closest adjacent driving track. It is also possible to enter any other optimal driving track that was selected within the framework of route planning. In particular, it is also possible at any time for the driver to specify which driving track he wants to enter next, e.g., a driving track with special properties or a driving track on which stored crop material can be unloaded, or a driving track with a certain crop quality. The driver can also select a certain driving track with a path marking that was put in place in advance. Via the dynamic updating of the headland track, the driver can select a different driving track--while driving along a track ahead of it or while driving along the planned headland track--thereby enabling him to react flexibly to any event and subsequently continue driving down a newly calculated, optimized route.” (Column 6 lines 22-39)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
However, Wilken in view of Diekhans does not specifically teach of a straw moisture; a yield forecast determined using satellite images; wherein the field quality is determined based on one or both of drone images or growth models.
Wigdahl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a straw moisture (“In some implementations, a crop receptacle 152 is coupleable to the air duct system 120. In some implementations, the crop receptacle 152 is a module builder 150 having at least one baler belt 154. As an example, a module builder can be used to build a module of the crop, such as a bale of cotton or hay/straw, etc. In other implementations, the crop may be ejected by the air duct system 120 into an internal hopper, and/or ejected from the harvester into an accompanying holding tank.” (Para 0033), “Throughput and, by extension, the available capacity of each crop processing component in the crop processing system can be affected by crop conditions (e.g., density, moisture, etc.) and/or ground conditions to unequal extents. By automatically generating a controlling load signal indicative of a controlling component, the crop feed rate control system 410 can beneficially maximize utilization of available capacity in the controlling crop processing component.” (Para 0094)); a yield forecast determined using satellite images (“In some implementations, a feedback system 462 comprises a map based farming (MBF) component comprising an MBF system monitor 464. In these implementations, the MBF system monitor 464 operably receives a MBF signal indicative of a detected MBF load and generates a load capacity feedback signal. The load capacity feedback signal can comprise data indicative of a detected MBF load amount of capacity speed, based at least upon imaging that correlates a crop to a projected yield. As an example, MBF monitor 464 can use imagery, such as aerial imagery from satellites and/or commercial drones, to observe the crop and correlate that to a yield. In some implementations, the MBF component can use thermal imaging, for example in the near-infrared (NIR) wavelength range, during the farming season to determine crop yield in advance. In some implementations, the MBF component can use data from one or more of a look-ahead camera, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) technology, and millimeter-wave (mmWave) radar technology to estimate the crop yield while harvesting. The MBF component can be very beneficial for handling abrupt changes in yield in a field.” (Para 0090)); wherein the field quality is determined based on one or both of drone images or growth models (“In some implementations, a feedback system 462 comprises a map based farming (MBF) component comprising an MBF system monitor 464. In these implementations, the MBF system monitor 464 operably receives a MBF signal indicative of a detected MBF load and generates a load capacity feedback signal. The load capacity feedback signal can comprise data indicative of a detected MBF load amount of capacity speed, based at least upon imaging that correlates a crop to a projected yield. As an example, MBF monitor 464 can use imagery, such as aerial imagery from satellites and/or commercial drones, to observe the crop and correlate that to a yield. In some implementations, the MBF component can use thermal imaging, for example in the near-infrared (NIR) wavelength range, during the farming season to determine crop yield in advance. In some implementations, the MBF component can use data from one or more of a look-ahead camera, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) technology, and millimeter-wave (mmWave) radar technology to estimate the crop yield while harvesting. The MBF component can be very beneficial for handling abrupt changes in yield in a field.” (Para 0090)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the non-critical mode or obstacle region, as taught by Wilkens in view of Diekhans, to include being based on a straw moisture, a yield forecast from satellite images and field quality from drone images, as taught by Wigdahl, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to estimate the crop yield and handle changes in the yield (Wigdahl Para 0090).
In regards to claim 12, Wilken in view of Diekhans further in view of Wigdahl teaches of the combine harvester of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the non-critical state based on a digital map (“Both methods can be used effectively when the turning maneuvers between two working tracks are always the same, i.e., when the headland tracks to be driven are always the same. It cannot be assumed, however, that the optimal route for working a field means that the headland tracks between the individual working tracks are always the same. For example, it can be highly advantageous to choose a working strategy with which the sequence of working tracks to be traveled on the field does not require that the path length between the working tracks always be the same. If there are obstacles in the headland area, it may not be possible to travel along the headland track as planned.” (Column 3 lines 4-15), “In order to be able to react to all events in a flexible manner, it is possible with control system 2--as described above--to reorganize a route R at any time, particularly by spontaneously changing the sequence in which individual working tracks F.sub.N are to be entered. In this case, new headland tracks F.sub.V must be planned accordingly, so that individual working tracks F.sub.N can be entered in the desired sequence. As shown in FIG. 5, this requires that control system 2, i.e., turning maneuver planning module 10, know headland area VB that is available. Headland area VB is defined, e.g., for a harvesting machine, by outer edge AK of field S and field edge BK. The data for headland area VB are stored, e.g., in a map in memory device 7. Further information that is required about headland area VB includes information about obstacles such as telephone poles or hedges or the like, specified blocked areas and safety areas in which automatic driving is not allowed. Safety areas of this type can be headland areas adjacent to public roads, and areas in which a GPS signal cannot be received well, due, e.g., to a thick woods, and the position system is therefore unable to function with sufficient accuracy or reliability. Based on these data--as will be described below in greater detail--a headland track F.sub.V can be determined in order to travel reliably through the headland area in a direction of travel FR from an "old" working track F.sub.N,1 that is currently being driven along, into the next, "new" working track F.sub.N,2 to be driven along.” (Column 11 line 65 - Column 12 line 24), see Figs 4-5); and
wherein the at least one processor configured to determine the digital field map based on at least one of the following:
a topology map (“A system can be devised that improves harvesting and throughput of a crop harvested by a harvester. As an example, a crop feed rate control system can be used to dynamically control a harvesting rate (e.g., vehicle speed) of a harvester vehicle in the field based on crop conditions, targeted rates, harvester processing conditions, and in situ ground conditions, such as field conditions and ground features (e.g., topographical features). As an example, the ground features can comprise topographical features such as terraces or ruts. Controlling the harvesting rate in the harvester vehicle can comprise monitoring the crop processing components of the harvester and, based on data provided in feedback signals from the crop processing components, establishing a harvesting rate (e.g., harvester vehicle speed) that loads at least one of crop processing component to maximum desired target capacity/rate, thereby mitigating an overload of one or more portions of the harvester, resulting in a downtime event. The crop feed rate control system described herein is configured to monitor crop processing components for feedback and, based on information provided by feedback signals, determine a target harvesting rate for the harvester vehicle that is different than the current harvesting rate.” (Wigdahl Para 0019));
data recorded using one or more on-board environmental sensors (“FIG. 2 depicts the display unit 22 of the control/regulating unit 23 and the arithmetic logic unit 30, which is assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 and is coupled to the display unit 22. The arithmetic logic unit 30 is designed to process internal information 31 generated by the sensor systems 26, as well as external information 32 and information 33 stored in the arithmetic logic unit 30 itself (such as expert knowledge), in order to generate a plurality of output signals 34. The output signals 34 include, at the least, display control signals 35 and working part signals 36, wherein the former determine the contents of the display unit 22 and the latter initiate the change of the highly diverse working parameters 37 of the working parts 20 of the agricultural working machine 1. Please note that arrow 37 symbolizes the cylinder speed.” (Para 0024), “In addition, the control/regulating unit 23 is coupled to a driver assistance system 28, as described above. The driver assistance system 28 is integrated in the agricultural working machine 1 such that this agricultural working machine can exchange data 38 with the control/regulating unit 23 and with the display unit 22 assigned thereto. The content of the display units 22, 27 depicted in FIG. 2 is provided as an example, where the invention is not limited to the specific example. The display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 comprises, in the central region thereof, a hotkey window 38. The hotkey window 38 is freely definable by the operator 24. Important machine information such as the fill level of the fuel tank 38a, machine parameter settings 38b, and the ground speed 38c are visualized in the hotkey window 8.” (Para 0025), “The agricultural working machine 1 also comprises a driver's cab 21, in which at least one control/regulating unit 23 equipped with a display device 22 is disposed. The control/regulating unit 23 is used to control a plurality of processes, wherein the processes are initiated automatically or by the operator 24 of the agricultural working machine 1. The control/regulating unit 23 communicates via a bus system 25 in a manner known per se with a large number of sensor systems 26. The structure of the sensor systems 26 is described in detail in DE 101 47 733, the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated in the disclosure of this patent application.” (Para 0022));
data based on current harvest conditions (“The display unit 22 comprises, in the right-side region thereof, display elements 39 for visualizing current values of certain quality parameters 40 of the agricultural working machine 1. In the embodiment shown, the display element 39 disposed at the top visualizes the "tailings" 41. The depiction on the left visualizes the "volume of tailings" 41a and the depiction on the right visualizes the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b. The lower, left-hand display element 39 visualizes "losses due to separation" 42, i.e., the grain losses that leave the agricultural working machine 1 in the region thereof via the separating device 10 (which is designed as a separating rotor 9 or a tray-type shaker), and are not conveyed into the grain tank 19.” (Wilken Para 0026), “If the agricultural working machine 1 (e.g., the combine harvester 2) is operated with the automatic separation setting 46 activated and the automatic cleaning setting 47 activated, the display unit 22 assigned to the control/regulating unit 23 has the above-described structure shown in FIG. 3b. The value of each quality parameter 40, specifically the "volume of tailings" 41a, the "portion of grain in the tailings" 41b, the "loss due to separation" 42 and the "loss due to cleaning" 43 in this case, is visualized qualitatively in the form of color-enhanced surface areas 55. The expansion of each of the surface areas 55 changes depending on the values for "loss due to separation" 42, "grain loss" 43 and "tailings composition" 41a, 41b ascertained by the control/regulating unit 23. The purpose of the automatic settings 45 is to maintain the quality criteria 40 at an optimal level and below the particular setpoint-value display mechanism 44.” (Wilken Para 0031)) “Headland tracks can be updated any time using turning maneuver planning module 10. That is, sequences of headland working steps that were initially specified, e.g., by headland management system 5, or that were learned with the aid of headland management system 5 can be adapted to the current headland track to be driven along. To this end, route planning system 4 and headland management system 5 are provided with current position data PD, among other data, from position determination device 6.” (Column 9 lines 45-54));
one or both of satellite images or yield forecasts determined using the satellite images (“In some implementations, a feedback system 462 comprises a map based farming (MBF) component comprising an MBF system monitor 464. In these implementations, the MBF system monitor 464 operably receives a MBF signal indicative of a detected MBF load and generates a load capacity feedback signal. The load capacity feedback signal can comprise data indicative of a detected MBF load amount of capacity speed, based at least upon imaging that correlates a crop to a projected yield. As an example, MBF monitor 464 can use imagery, such as aerial imagery from satellites and/or commercial drones, to observe the crop and correlate that to a yield. In some implementations, the MBF component can use thermal imaging, for example in the near-infrared (NIR) wavelength range, during the farming season to determine crop yield in advance. In some implementations, the MBF component can use data from one or more of a look-ahead camera, light detection and ranging (LIDAR) technology, and millimeter-wave (mmWave) radar technology to estimate the crop yield while harvesting. The MBF component can be very beneficial for handling abrupt changes in yield in a field.” (Wigdahl Para 0090)); or
GPS data (“Route planning systems of this type and automatic steering systems typically function using satellite-based navigation devices, e.g., GPS receivers (GPS=Global Positioning System). Various correction procedures are used to improve accuracy, such as DGPS (differential GPS) for a GPS method. An example of a route planning system of this type is described in EP 0 821 296 B1. As explained above, a planned route of this type typically includes the planned paths on the field to be worked, i.e., the individual "working tracks" on the field, as well as the driving courses for turning maneuvers in the headland areas, in order to travel from one working track to another working track that is usually directly adjacent thereto or is parallel thereto but offset at a distance.” (Column 1 line 56 - Column 2 line 2)).
The motivation for combining Wilken and Diekhans is the same as that recited for claim 3 above.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the digital field map, as taught by Wilkens in view of Diekhans, to include being based on a yield forecast from satellite images and satellite images, as taught by Wigdahl, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to estimate the crop yield and handle changes in the yield (Wigdahl Para 0090).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the digital field map, as taught by Wilkens in view of Diekhans, to include being based on a topographical map, as taught by Wigdahl, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to dynamically adjust the harvesting rate and conditions (Wigdahl Para 0019).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilken in view of Sauder et al. (US 20170185086; hereinafter Sauder).
In regards to claim 16, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 1, except for additional elements of a plurality of combine harvesters, and wherein the plurality of combine harvesters are assigned to a common digital field map.
However, Wilken does not specifically disclose of a plurality of combine harvesters, and
wherein the plurality of combine harvesters are assigned to a common digital field map.
Sauder, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a plurality of combine harvesters (“Described herein are methods and systems for generating shared collaborative maps for planting and harvesting operations. In one embodiment, a method of generating a collaborative shared map between machines (e.g., planters, combines) includes generating a first map for a first machine based on a first set of data and generating a second map for a second machine based on a second set of data. The method further includes generating at least one shared collaborative map for at least one of the first and second machines based on the first and second maps.” (Para 0013)), and
wherein the plurality of combine harvesters are assigned to a common digital field map (“Described herein are methods and systems for generating shared collaborative maps for planting and harvesting operations. In one embodiment, a method of generating a collaborative shared map between machines (e.g., planters, combines) includes generating a first map for a first machine based on a first set of data and generating a second map for a second machine based on a second set of data. The method further includes generating at least one shared collaborative map for at least one of the first and second machines based on the first and second maps.” (Para 0013), “At block 112, processing logic provides the at least one shared collaborative map to at least one of a cab monitor of the first machine and a cab monitor of the second machine. For example, processing logic of the first machine provides a first shared collaborative map to the cab monitor of the first machine and the processing logic of the second machine provides a second shared collaborative map to the cab monitor of the second machine. The first set of data, second set of data, first map, second map, and at least one collaborative map are generated and communicated between machines and the cloud based system in “real time” or close to “real time” (e.g., every 5 to 10 seconds).” (Para 0025)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the agricultural network, as taught by Wilkens, to include having a common field map, as taught by Sauder, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow a collaborative map to be shared in real time between machines (Sauder Para 0025).
In regards to claim 17, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilken in view of Sauder, as applied to claim 16 above, further in view of Diekhans.
In regards to claim 18-19, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 3-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilken in view of Sauder further in view of Diekhans, as applied to claim 18 above, further in view of Wigdahl.
In regards to claim 20, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663