DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed August 7, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mori et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0080494).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, 8, 12-17, Mori et al. disclose (Figs.) a method and an optical system comprising: one or more optical components (lens 12); an occlusion-detection camera (16) configured to capture images (P1) of the one or more optical components; and a controller comprising at least one processor (CPU 30) and a memory (46 or memory inherent in CPU), wherein the at least one processor executes instructions stored in the memory so as to perform operations, the operations comprising: adjusting, based on information indicative of a light intensity ([0051]) of a field of view of the one or more optical components, at least one operating parameter (exposure time) of the occlusion- detection camera; and causing the occlusion-detection camera to capture at least one image ([0051]) of the one or more optical components according to the at least one adjusted operating parameter. Mori et al. also disclose (S10) determining based on the at least one image, a presence or location of at least one imperfection (foreign object) associated with the one or more optical components. Since the same structure is disclosed by Mori et al., the camera has a low dynamic range relative to a range of light intensities and is a vehicle as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. in view of Nikitin et al. (U.S. Patent 9,970,884).
Regarding claims 4-6, Mori et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Mori et al. further disclose ([0005]-[0006]) the imperfection being a debris or impurity (dirt/dust). Mori et al. do not specifically disclose determining a size or type of imperfection. Nikitin et al. teach (col. 6, lines 25-28) determining a size or type of imperfection associated with an optical component. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to determine a size or type of imperfection in the apparatus of Mori et al. in view of Nikitin et al. to more completely determine the severity of the imperfection as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. in view of Kemmochi et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0133953).
Regarding claims 9, 18, Mori et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Mori et al. do not specifically disclose a brightness map. Kemmochi et al. teach ([0063]-[0065]) capturing a bright field image and determining a brightness map. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a brightness map in the apparatus and method of Mori et al. in view of Kemmochi et al. to provide a more quantitative analysis for improved detection as taught, known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878