DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on U.S. Application No. 18/610,916 filed on 20 March 2024, which is a continuation of 18/105,088 filed on 20 March 2024, which is continuation of 17/840,464 filed on 14 June 2022, which is a continuation of 17/550,032 filed on 14 December 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,392,715 B1 (hereinafter referred to as the “’715 patent”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 1, 8, and 15 represent overlapping and broader limitations than those found in the ’715 patent (more specifically, the ’715 patent having additional limitations concerning generating a “limited consumer view definition” based on the certification results and shared view definition, whereas the present claims are silent on this feature).
Additionally, the ’715 patent “determines first rules associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database”, whereas the present independent claims implicitly “obtains” this information, e.g., obtaining certification results that are “based on one or more first rules that specify criteria, associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform, that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database”.
However, both the ’715 patent’s independent claims and the present independent claims provide access to a first portion of the records in compliance with the criteria of the first rules and exclude a second portion of the records not in compliance with the criteria of the first rules, and cause a first virtual warehouse to execute a query on the first portion of the records in compliance with the criteria of the one or more first rules.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the present application recite substantially similar limitations to dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the ’664 patent, with the exception of claims 3, 10, and 17 in both sets of claims, in which the present application’s claims 3, 10, and 17 recite “cause, based on the second certification results, the first virtual warehouse to provide access to a third portion of the records”. The ’715 patent instead recites the limitation “generate, based on the second table of certification results, a [sic] updated limited consumer view definition”, and thus represents a narrower claim than that of the present application. However, given that providing access to a “third portion of the records” is another manner of stating the limitation of providing access to certain portions of the records (e.g., as already seen in the independent claims of the ’715 patent), thus, dependent claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting in view of claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 of the ’715 patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,599,664 B1 (hereinafter referred to as the “’664 patent”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 1, 8, and 15 represent overlapping and broader limitations than those found in the ’664 patent (more specifically, the ’664 patent having additional limitations concerning generating a “limited consumer view definition” based on those certification results, whereas the present claims are silent on this feature).
Additionally, the ’664 patent “determines first rules associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database”, whereas the present independent claims implicitly “obtains” this information, e.g., obtaining certification results that are “based on one or more first rules that specify criteria, associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform, that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database”.
However, both the ’664 patent’s independent claims and the present independent claims provide access to a first portion of the records in compliance with the criteria of the first rules and exclude a second portion of the records not in compliance with the criteria of the first rules, and cause a first virtual warehouse to execute a query on the first portion of the records in compliance with the criteria of the one or more first rules.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the present application recite substantially similar limitations to dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the ’664 patent, with the exception of claims 3, 10, and 17 in both sets of claims, in which the present application’s claims 3, 10, and 17 recite “cause, based on the second certification results, the first virtual warehouse to provide access to a third portion of the records”. The ’664 patent instead recites the limitation “generate, based on the second table of certification results, a [sic] updated limited consumer view definition”, and thus represents a narrower claim than that of the present application. However, given that providing access to a “third portion of the records” is another manner of stating the limitation of providing access to certain portions of the records (e.g., as already seen in the independent claims of the ’664 patent), thus, dependent claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting in view of claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 of the ’664 patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,361,156 B2 (hereinafter referred to as the “’156 patent”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 1, 8, and 15 represent overlapping and broader limitations than those found in the ’156 patent’s independent claims. In particular, the ’156 patent is narrower in that a table of certification results is generated for the data certification results. The present application does not mention the use of a table.
Additionally, the ’156 patent “determines first rules associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database”, whereas the present independent claims implicitly “obtains” this information, e.g., obtaining certification results that are “based on one or more first rules that specify criteria, associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform, that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database”.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the present application recite substantially similar limitations to dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 of the ’156 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vahlis et al. (“Vahlis”) (US 2015/0150075 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Vahlis teaches A data sharing platform configured to provide access to records of a database stored on a database server (Vahlis, [0029-0033], where the disclosed system includes database 145 provided by a third-party server and/or network 140 not directly controlled by a data owner 105 who uploaded the secured data to the third party network 140 to create the secured third-party database 145, and data may be requested to be accessed by a requesting entity 110 who may not be trusted by (or otherwise be beyond the control of) the data owner), the data sharing platform comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the data sharing platform to (Vahlis, [Claim 10], where the disclosed system includes a processor and memory coupled to the processor that comprises computer readable program code embodied in the memory that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the disclosed operations):
obtain, based on one or more first rules that specify criteria, associated with consumer permissions to access the database via a cloud database platform, that limit consumer access to the records stored by the database, certification results by causing the data sharing platform to: generate a data certification result for each record stored by the database based on determining, for each record, whether a given record satisfies the criteria of the one or more first rules based on one or more fields of the given record, wherein the data certification result indicates, for each record, whether the record satisfies the criteria of the one or more first rules (Vahlis, [0037] and [0041-0042], where the query result delivery control module 231 obtains from the data access policy verification module 224, the query result containing indications of which record(s) the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access under the applicable access policy, and which do not correspond to record(s) the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access. The data access policy verification module 224 verifies whether a requesting entity 110 is permitted to access data included in the query result based on the representation of the data access policy, e.g., list of otherwise identifying the particular records in the database 145 to which the requesting entity 110 is authorized to access by performing a comparison of the data d included in the query result R with the data records indicated by the received access policy representation (i.e., “based on one or more first rules that specify criteria”) that identifies one or more records in the database 145 that are accessible to the requesting entity 110 in compliance with the access policy (i.e., “associated with consumer permissions to access the database”). See Vahlis, [0062-0063] and [0066], where the verification/check is performed against attributes/columns of the record (i.e., “based on one or more fields of the given record”).
See Vahlis, [0068-0069], where a data owner may store data on a cloud storage solution (e.g., such that the database 145 is a “database via a cloud database platform”, as claimed).
Note that because Vahlis discloses that certain record(s) are permitted to be accessed and other records are not, this implies “the data certification result indicates, for each record, whether the record satisfies the criteria of the one or more first rules”)); and
cause, based on a query, based on the certification results, and without modifying the records stored by the database, … by the cloud database platform to provide access to a first portion of the records in compliance with the criteria of the one or more first rules and exclude a second portion of the records not in compliance with the criteria of the one or more first rules (Vahlis, [0042], where a data access policy verification module 224 indicates that some of the data included in the query result matches database record(s) to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access, while others do not correspond to database record(s) to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access. The query result delivery control module 231 may then allow transmission of the matching data (which complies with the access policy) while preventing transmission of the other data (which does not comply with the access policy).
Note that because the disclosure is concerned with transmitting data to a possibly untrusted third party, and does not mention the data within the stored third-party database 145 being edited/modified by the third-party user/client that is requesting for the data, this implies the limitation “without modifying the records stored by the database” as claimed).
Although Vahlis does not appear to explicitly state that “a first virtual warehouse provided [by the cloud database platform]” is what provides access, Vahlis discloses in [0068] that “a cloud storage solution…can ensure that the requesting entity doesn’t receive data beyond that which it is entitled to under the corresponding access policy”. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been suggested by Vahlis’ disclosure to modify Vahlis such that a first virtual warehouse is provided on top of Vahlis’ disclosed cloud database platform, with the motivation of scalability, high reliability, and high availability, and an ability to support multiple disparate/independent workloads1,2,3, thereby supporting high parallel operations, i.e., an increased ability to handle large workloads, and completing operations faster.
Regarding claim 2: Vahlis teaches The data sharing platform of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the data sharing platform to:
cause output of a result of the query to a consumer authorized to access the database (Vahlis, [0042], where a data access policy verification module 224 indicates that some of the data included in the query result matches database record(s) to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access, while others do not correspond to database record(s) to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access. The query result delivery control module 231 may then allow transmission of the matching data (which complies with the access policy) while preventing transmission of the other data (which does not comply with the access policy.
Additionally, the query result delivery control module 231 allows transmission of the data to the requesting entity 110 when the query result matches record(s) in the secure database 145 to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access (based on the comparison with the access policy representation). Note that because an entity is permitted to access records in a database, this discloses the claimed limitation of “a consumer authorized to access the database”).
Regarding claim 5: Vahlis teaches The data sharing platform of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more first rules prevent one or more of: output of invalid values; output of values outside of a predefined range; or output of values that do not match a regular expression pattern (Vahlis, [0037], where the access policy representation identifies particular records stored in the database to which the requesting entity 110 is authorized to access).
Although Vahlis does not appear to explicitly state that the type of information prevented from being outputted pertain to “one or more of: output of invalid values; output of values outside of a predefined range; or output of values that do not match a regular expression pattern”, the claimed invention does not distinguish over the prior art because the differences in the claim limitations and the prior art’s disclosure are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. The prevention of data transmission would have been performed the same regardless of the specific data involved (i.e., the claimed data, Vahlis’ access authorization, or some other data). Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability. See In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ2d 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have referred to Vahlis’ teachings in making the claimed invention, because such data does not functionally relate to the steps in the method claimed and because the subjective interpretation of the data does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
Regarding claim 8: Claim 8 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9: Claim 9 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15: Claim 9 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Note that Vahlis teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a data sharing platform, cause the data sharing platform to provide access to records of a database stored on a database server by causing the data sharing platform to [implement the claimed steps] (Vahlis, [0026] and [Claim 10], where the disclosed system may be embodied as a computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code embodied in the medium. The medium may be, for example, magnetic, optical, a read-only memory (ROM), an erasable programmable read-only memory (EPROM or Flash memory), and CD-ROM (all examples of “non-transitory” media), where the memory (e.g., medium) may be executed by a processor to implement the disclosed steps).
Regarding claim 16: Claim 16 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 2, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19: Claim 19 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 5, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vahlis et al. (“Vahlis”) (US 2015/0150075 A1), in view of McGovern et al. (“McGovern”) (US 2016/0352739 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Vahlis teaches The data sharing platform of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the data sharing platform to: receive an update to the one or more first rules; obtain, based on the update to the one or more first rules, second certification results; and cause, based on the second certification results, the first virtual warehouse to provide access to a third portion of the records.
McGovern teaches receive an update to the one or more first rules (McGovern, [0031] and [0044], where policies and/or their associated rules may be modified/updated, e.g., by an administrator who updates the previously committed policy, which defines an access action such as expressly permitting access, expressly denying access, permitting or denying access to a subset of the data, etc.);
obtain, based on the update to the one or more first rules, second certification results; and cause, based on the second certification results, the first virtual warehouse to provide access to a third portion of the records (Vahlis, [0042], where a data access policy verification module 224 indicates that some of the data included in the query result matches database record(s) to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access, while others do not correspond to database record(s) to which the requesting entity 110 is permitted to access. The query result delivery control module 231 may then allow transmission of the matching data (which complies with the access policy) while preventing transmission of the other data (which does not comply with the access policy. See, e.g., McGovern, [0044], where modified policies/rules may be distributed, resulting in future access requests being evaluated against those updated policies/rule sets (see, e.g., McGovern, [0035], [0039], etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Vahlis and McGovern with the motivation of enabling an authorization server to stay current with system changes, allowing up to date policies and rule sets (McGovern, [0042]), as well as increased flexibility in how policies are applied, and making it more convenient for such policies to be automatically propagated without requiring manual intervention.
Regarding claim 6: Vahlis teaches The data sharing platform of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly teach wherein at least one rule of the one or more first rules prevent output of data outside a time period specified by the at least one rule.
McGovern teaches wherein at least one rule of the one or more first rules prevent output of data outside a time period specified by the at least one rule (McGovern, [0037], where an access policy may define time based conditions such as a time range when the policy is enforced, e.g., developing a policy based on time to control access at certain times. See, e.g., McGovern, [0052], where a rule set based policy restricts data access by a Device A between 10:00PM and 4:00AM EST, where a broker determines that the data request from Device A at 11:00PM EST violates the logic provided in the rule set and accordingly denies the data request, preventing the endpoint device 430 from receiving the requested data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Vahlis and McGovern with the motivation of enhancing security, e.g., preventing malicious activity that is likely to occur within certain time frames/windows.
Regarding claim 10: Claim 10 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13: Claim 13 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17: Claim 17 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 3, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20: Claim 20 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 6, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vahlis et al. (“Vahlis”) (US 2015/0150075 A1), in view of Ho et al. (“Ho”) (US 2013/0144901 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Vahlis teaches The data sharing platform of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the data sharing platform to obtain the certification results by further causing the data sharing platform to: add, to the certification results and based on at least one of the one or more first rules, an indication that a first value in a first field should be replaced with a second value.
Ho teaches add, to the certification results and based on at least one of the one or more first rules, an indication that a first value in a first field should be replaced with a second value (Ho, [0037], where when a redaction policy is established, the redaction policy is analyzed to determine all of the columns to which the redaction policy potentially applies, where each column to which a redaction policy applies has a bit or flag associated with that column responsively set to “true” to indicate that some redaction policy applies to that column (i.e., “add…an indication that a first value in a first field should be replaced with a second value”). See Ho, [0034], where a redaction policy may be applied only to users having certain specified user identities, or to all users except those having certain specified user identities (i.e., “based on at least one of the one or more first rules”). See Ho, [0042-0044], where data redacted from each row may be replaced by a different random value (i.e., “a first value in a first field should be replaced with a second value”). See Vahlis in claim 1 above with respect to “the certification results”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Vahlis and Ho with the motivation of masking or redacting potentially security sensitive data (Ho, [0008]), allowing greater customization in terms of authorized users and unauthorized users, and reducing slowdowns in attempting to perform database operations on redacted data (see, e.g., Ho, [0008], [0013], and [0042-0044]).
Regarding claim 11: Claim 11 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18: Claim 18 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 4, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vahlis et al. (“Vahlis”) (US 2015/0150075 A1), in view of Brannon et al. (“Brannon”) (US 2022/0043935 A1).
Regarding claim 7: Vahlis teaches The data sharing platform of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the one or more first rules is configured to cause output of an alert based on a determination that more than a predetermined percentage of the records is not output based on the one or more first rules.
Brannon teaches wherein at least one of the one or more first rules is configured to cause output of an alert based on a determination that more than a predetermined percentage of the records is not output based on the one or more first rules (Brannon, [0004] and [0064], where the system generates notifications when a particular outlier or unusual events occur in analyzing a request, e.g., the system determines the redacted portion of data in a request exceeds a certain threshold percentage of the total amount of data or total amount of request content, the system may not process that request at all. The system may inform the user submitting the request that the redacted data represents a portion of the data greater than a threshold, and that the request was not processed. See Vahlis in claim 1 above with respect to the “one or more first rules”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Vahlis and Brannon with the motivation of avoiding devoting resources to processing extraneous data, which can degrade system performance through the wasteful expenditure of resources, the provision of an inaccurate or incomplete request to the response, or both (Brannon, [0002]).
Regarding claim 14: Claim 14 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 7, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See the enclosed 892 form. Vittal (“Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Consider Snowflake for Data Warehousing”), Parker (“Introducing Snowflake: Cloud-Based Data Warehousing”), and Stitch (“5 steps for choosing a cloud data warehouse”) are cited to show why one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have incorporated a virtual data warehouse into the primary reference's disclosure (see Vittal, [bullet points 2 and 3]; Parker, [“Snowflake Explained”], [“Such Scalability. Wow”], and [“Testing the Waters”]; and Stitch, [“Cloud data warehouses: What they have in common”]).
The prior art should be considered to define the claims over the art of record.
/IRENE BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154
9 June 2026
1 Vittal. “Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Consider Snowflake for Data Warehousing”, at [bullet points 2 and 3].
2 Parker. “Introducing Snowflake: Cloud-Based Data Warehousing”, at [“Snowflake Explained”], [“Such Scalability. Wow”], and [“Testing the Waters”].
3 Stitch. “5 steps for choosing a cloud data warehouse”, at [“Cloud data warehouses: What they have in common”].