DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first Office Action in response to application no. 19/236,951 filed on June 12, 2025 in which claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent no. 11,743,469 to Hendry et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 7 and 9 of the instant application and claims 1, 4, 7, 10 and 13 of Patent no. 11,743,469 are drawn to the same invention. A close look at the instant application will show that, for example, independent claim 1 of the instant application call for an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: acquiring size information indicating a size of a current slice corresponding to at least a portion of a current picture from a bitstream; and determining the size of the current slice based on the size information, wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows, wherein the acquiring the size information is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture, wherein the height information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on whether a top left tile of the current slice belongs to a last tile row of the current picture, and wherein the width information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on whether a top left tile of the current slice belongs to a last tile column of the current picture.
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 10 of Patent no. 11,743,469 calls for similar limitations. In fact, independent claim 1 of the cited Patent call for an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: acquiring size information indicating a size of a current slice corresponding to at least a portion of a current picture from a bitstream; and determining the size of the current slice based on the size information, wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows, and wherein the acquiring the size information is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture, wherein the height information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to the last tile row of the current picture.
Claim 2 of the instant application is similar to claim 2 Patent no. 11,743,469.
Claim 3 of the instant application is similar to claim 3 of Patent no. 11,743,469.
Claim 4 of the instant application is similar to claim 4 of Patent no. 11.743,469.
Claim 5 of the instant application is similar to claim 5 of Patent no. 11,743,469.
Claim 6 of the instant application is similar to claim 6 of Patent no. 11,743,469.
Claim 7 is of the instant application similar to claim 7 of Patent no. 11,743,469.
Claim 8 of the instant application is similar to claim 8 of Patent no. 11,743,469.
Claim 9 of the instant application is similar to claim 9 of Patent no. 11,743,469.
Therefore, when comparing the claims of the instant application and the claims of the cited Patent. Patent no. 11,743,469, it is clear that the cited Patent anticipates the claims of the instant application since all the limitations of the cited patent are included in the claims of the published patent. To the examiner, it is clear that the differences between the claims do not rise to a patentability level.
The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
4. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent no. 12,355,973 to Hendry et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 7 and 9 of the instant application and claims 1, 5 and 6 of Patent no. 12,355,973 are drawn to the same invention. A close look at the instant application will show that, for example, independent claim 1 of the instant application call for an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus, the image decoding method comprising: acquiring size information indicating a size of a current slice corresponding to at least a portion of a current picture from a bitstream; and determining the size of the current slice based on the size information, wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows, wherein the acquiring the size information is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture, wherein the height information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on whether a top left tile of the current slice belongs to a last tile row of the current picture, and wherein the width information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on whether a top left tile of the current slice belongs to a last tile column of the current picture.
Claims 1, 5 and 6 of Patent no. 12,355,973 calls for similar limitations. In fact, independent claim 1 of the cited Patent call for an image decoding apparatus comprising: a memory; and at least one processor connected to the memory, the at least one processor configured to: acquire size information indicating a size of a current slice corresponding to at least a portion of a current picture from a bitstream, determine the size of the current slice based on the size information, wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows, wherein the acquiring the size information is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture, wherein the height information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to the last tile row of the current picture, and wherein the current slice is a rectangular slice.
Claim 2 of the instant application is similar to claim 2 Patent no. 12,355,973.
Claim 3 of the instant application is similar to claim 3 of Patent no. 12,355,973.
Claim 4 of the instant application is similar to claim 4 of Patent no. 12,355,973.
Claim 7 of the instant application is similar to claim 5 of Patent no. 12,355,973.
Claim 9 of the instant application is similar to claim 6 of Patent no. 12,355,973.
Therefore, when comparing the claims of the instant application and the claims of the cited Patent. Patent no. 12,355,973. it is clear that the cited Patent anticipates the claims of the instant application since all the limitations of the cited patent are included in the claims of the published patent. To the examiner, it is clear that the differences between the claims do not rise to a patentability level.
The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being (a)(2) anticipated by Esenlik et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2023/0007270).
Regarding claim 1, Esenlik discloses an image decoding method performed by an image decoding apparatus (See Esenlik’s Abstract, Fig. 1A, item 14 with decoder 30), the image decoding method comprising: acquiring size information indicating a size of a current slice corresponding to at least a portion of a current picture from a bitstream (See Esenlik [0007]-[0008]); and determining the size of the current slice based on the size information (See Esenlik [0011]), wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows (See Esenlik [0011], [0308]), wherein the acquiring the size information is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0298], [0319]-[0321]), wherein the height information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on whether a top left tile of the current slice belongs to a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0346]-[0347]), and wherein the width information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream based on whether a top left tile of the current slice belongs to a last tile column of the current picture (See Esenlik [0065]-[0066], [0087]).
As per claim 7, Esenlik discloses an image encoding method performed by an image encoding apparatus (See Esenlik’s Abstract, [0003]), the image encoding method comprising: determining a current slice corresponding to at least one a portion of a current picture (See Esenlik [0007]), and generating a bitstream including size information of the current slice (See Esenlik [0007]-[0008]), wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows (See Esenlik [0011], [0308]), wherein the generating the bitstream is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0298], [0319]-[0321]), wherein the height information of the current slice is not encoded in the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0346]-[0347]), and wherein the width information of the current slice is not encoded in the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to a last tile column of the current picture (See Esenlik [0065]-[0066], [0087]).
As per claim 9, Esenlik discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream (See Esenlik [0133] and [0136]), the method comprising: generating a bitstream based on an image encoding method, transmitting the bitstream (See Esenlik [0133] and [0136]), wherein the image encoding method comprising determining a current slice corresponding to at least one a portion of a current picture (See Esenlik [0007]), and generating a bitstream including size information of the current slice (See Esenlik [0007]-[0008]), wherein the size information includes width information indicating a width of the current slice in units of tile columns and height information indicating a height of the current slice in units of tile rows (See Esenlik [0011], [0308]), wherein the generating the bitstream is performed based on whether the current slice belongs to a last tile column or a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0298], [0319]-[0321]), wherein the height information of the current slice is not encoded in the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0346]-[0347]), and wherein the width information of the current slice is not encoded in the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to a last tile column of the current picture (See Esenlik [0065]-[0066], [0087]).
As per claim 2, Esenlik further discloses wherein the height information of the current slice is acquired from the bitstream based on a top left tile of the current slice not belonging to a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0256]-[258] and [0346]-[0347]).
As per claims 5 and 8, Esenlik further discloses wherein the current slice is a rectangular slice. (See Esenlik [0272]-[0273]).
As per claim 3, Esenlik further discloses wherein the height information of the current slice is not acquired from the bitstream and is determined to be a predetermined value based on a top left tile of the current slice belonging to a last tile row of the current picture (See Esenlik [0034], [0346]-[0347], [0353]).
As per claim 4, Esenlik further discloses wherein the predetermined value indicates one tile row (See Esenlik [0011], [0015]).
8. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form that would overcome the obvious-type double patenting, including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424