DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show element [262] in fig. 3A or fig. 3B as described in the specification [par. 0021-0022] and element [213] in fig. 3A or fig. 3B as described in the specification [par. 0021].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: [261 in fig. 3B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 2015/0380556) in view of Paak et al. (US 2023/0378356 and Paak hereinafter) further in view of Ishibashi et al (US 2022/0173001 and Ishibashi hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Ching discloses a method of operating a fuse structure [fig. 17B], comprising: providing the fuse structure comprising: first and second transistors [302/304], wherein each of the first and the second transistors have an epitaxial source/drain structure [1502]; a first source/drain contact [110, fig. 1] disposed on the epitaxial source/drain structure of the first transistor; a second source/drain contact [110 on 304] disposed on the epitaxial source/drain structure of the second transistor; an insulator [1602] disposed laterally between each of the first and the second source/drain contacts; and a source/drain contact [112] via disposed on the first source/drain contact; and applying a potential across the source/drain contact via and the epitaxial source/drain structure of the second transistor [par. 0014]. Ching does not explicitly disclose providing a program line connected to the source/drain contact via and wherein the providing the potential causes the insulator to break down.
However, Paak discloses a program line [fig. 31-32] connected to the source/drain contact via [180F, fig. 3A]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ching as taught in Paak in order to provide a program line connected to the source/drain contact via. Ching in view of Paak does not explicitly disclose providing the potential causes the insulator to break down.
However, Ishibashi discloses SiC epitaxial wafers has an insulation breakdown [par. 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ching by incorporating a program line connected to source/drain as taught in Paak in order to utilize known use of SiC epitaxial provide insulator breakdown.
Regarding claim 2, Ching in view of Paak further in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the applying the potential electrically shorts [connect] the epitaxial source/drain structure of the first transistor to the epitaxial source/drain structure of the second transistor [par. 0014].
Regarding claim 3, Ching in view of Paak further in view of Ishibashi discloses [fig. 3A] wherein the applying the potential uses the program line [fig. 31-32].
Regarding claim 4, Ching in view of Paak further in view of Ishibashi discloses [fig. 17B] wherein prior to applying the potential, the insulator insulates the epitaxial source/drain structure of the first transistor and the epitaxial source/drain structure of the second transistor.
Regarding claim 5, Ching in view of Paak further in view of Ishibashi discloses providing an operating voltage to a gate terminal of the first transistor and a gate terminal of the second transistor [114, par. 0050].
Regarding claim 6, Ching in view of Paak further in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the first transistor is an n- type transistor [302, NMOS, par. 0019].
Regarding claim 7, Ching in view of Paak further in view of Ishibashi discloses wherein the second transistor is p- type transistor [304, PMOS, par. 0019].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836