DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of Claim 1 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent. In particular, Claim 1 of the instant application is merely a broader representation of Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. 12,333,999
A display device comprising:
a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel disposed along a first direction;
light emitting elements located in first to third pixels;
a color conversion layer located on the light emitting elements;
a light blocking layer located on the color conversion layer; and
a planarization layer located between the color conversion layer and the light blocking layer,
wherein a thickness of the planarization layer of the first pixel in a second direction intersecting the first direction is thicker than a thickness of the planarization layer of the second pixel in the second direction,
wherein a first separation distance between an upper surface of the color conversion layer of the first pixel and the light blocking layer of the first pixel in the second direction is greater than a second separation distance between an upper surface of the color conversion layer of the second pixel and the light blocking layer of the second pixel in the second direction, and
wherein the second separation distance is greater than a third separation distance between an upper surface of the color conversion layer of the third pixel and the light blocking layer of the third pixel in the second direction.
A display device comprising:
a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel disposed along a first direction;
light emitting elements located in first to third pixels;
a color conversion layer located on the light emitting elements;
a light blocking layer located on the color conversion layer;
a planarization layer located between the color conversion layer and the light blocking layer; and
an optical layer between the color conversion layer and the light blocking layer,
wherein a thickness of the planarization layer of the first pixel in a second direction intersecting the first direction is thicker than a thickness of the planarization layer of the second pixel in the second direction,
a thickness of the optical layer of each of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel in the second direction is different than a thickness of the optical layer of each of others of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel in the second direction,
a first separation distance between an upper surface of the color conversion layer of the first pixel and the light blocking layer of the first pixel in the second direction is greater than a second separation distance between an upper surface of the color conversion layer of the second pixel and the light blocking layer of the second pixel in the second direction, and
the second separation distance is greater than a third separation distance between an upper surface of the color conversion layer of the third pixel and the light blocking layer of the third pixel in the second direction.
As can be seen in comparing Claim 1 of the instant application with Claim 1 of U.S. 12,333,999, Claim 1 of the instant application recites the same structural and/or functional features as Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent. The only difference between Claim 1 of the instant application and Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent is that Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent additionally recites the claimed “optical layer between the color conversion layer and the light blocking layer” wherein “a thickness of the optical layer of each of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel in the second direction is different than a thickness of the optical layer of each of others of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel in the second direction.” However, Claim 1 of the instant application does not necessarily exclude additional, unrecited elements and/or features. In this regard, there is no patentable distinction between Claim 1 of the instant application and Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent, as the scope of Claim 1 of the instant application is entirely encompassed by the scope of Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent.
Claims 2-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim” US 2021 / 0109400).
(It should be noted that the Kim reference was submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement on 13 June 2025).
The scope of Claim 1 of the instant application is entirely overlapped by Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 (see above rejection).
Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent does not recite the features of Claim 2 of the instant application wherein “the thickness of the planarization layer of the second pixel is thicker than a thickness of the planarization of the third pixel.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 9) a display device (10; see Page 3, Para. [0049]-[0052] and Page 6, Para. [0096]) comprising: a first pixel (see (PA3) in Fig. 2 and (PX3) in Fig. 9), a second pixel (see (PA1) in Fig. 2 and (PX1) in Fig. 9), and a third pixel (see (PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX2) in Fig. 9) disposed along a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction); light emitting elements (see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9) located in first to third pixels (again, see (PA3, PA1, PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX3, PX1, PX2) in Fig. 9); a color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b) in Fig. 2) located on the light emitting elements (again, see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9); a light blocking layer (see (152) in Fig. 2) located on the color conversion layer (again, see (140c, 140a, 140b)); and a planarization layer (see (170) in Fig. 2) located between the color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b)) and the light blocking layer (see (152)), wherein a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the first pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA3) and (140c) in Fig. 2) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction) intersecting the first direction (i.e., the horizontal direction) is thicker (i.e., in the vertical direction at an arbitrary point) than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2) in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and the thickness of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2) is thicker (i.e., in the vertical direction at an arbitrary point) than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization (see (170)) of the third pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA2) and (140b) in Fig. 2; and see Page 3, Para. [0052], [0054], [0056], and [0060]). It is a general goal of Kim to provide a display device structure, analogous to that of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999, that allows for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device (see Page 9, Para. [0059]) and further improves light emission efficiency (see Page 5, Para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 with the teachings of Kim, such that “the thickness of the planarization layer of the second pixel is thicker than a thickness of the planarization of the third pixel,” in order to allow for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device.
Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent does not recite the features of Claim 3 of the instant application wherein “the color conversion layer includes: a first color conversion layer located in the first pixel; a second color conversion layer located in the second pixel; and a light scattering layer located in the third pixel.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 9) a display device (10; see Page 3, Para. [0049]-[0052] and Page 6, Para. [0096]) comprising: a first pixel (see (PA3) in Fig. 2 and (PX3) in Fig. 9), a second pixel (see (PA1) in Fig. 2 and (PX1) in Fig. 9), and a third pixel (see (PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX2) in Fig. 9) disposed along a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction); light emitting elements (see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9) located in first to third pixels (again, see (PA3, PA1, PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX3, PX1, PX2) in Fig. 9); a color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b) in Fig. 2) located on the light emitting elements (again, see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9); a light blocking layer (see (152) in Fig. 2) located on the color conversion layer (again, see (140c, 140a, 140b)); and a planarization layer (see (170) in Fig. 2) located between the color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b)) and the light blocking layer (see (152)), wherein a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the first pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA3) and (140c) in Fig. 2) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction) intersecting the first direction (i.e., the horizontal direction) is thicker (i.e., in the vertical direction at an arbitrary point) than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2) in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and wherein the color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b)) includes: a first color conversion layer (140c) located in the first pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA3) and (140c) in Fig. 2); a second color conversion layer (140a) located in the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2); and a light scattering layer (140b) located in the third pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA2) and (140b) in Fig. 2; and see Page 3, Para. [0052], [0054], [0056], and [0060]; and see Fig. 3 with Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0063]-[0067]). It is a general goal of Kim to provide a display device structure, analogous to that of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999, that allows for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device (see Page 9, Para. [0059]) and further improves light emission efficiency (see Page 5, Para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 with the teachings of Kim, such that “the color conversion layer includes: a first color conversion layer located in the first pixel; a second color conversion layer located in the second pixel; and a light scattering layer located in the third pixel,” in order to allow for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device.
Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent does not recite the features of Claim 4 of the instant application wherein “each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer include a quantum dot.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 9) a display device (10; see Page 3, Para. [0049]-[0052] and Page 6, Para. [0096]) comprising: a first pixel (see (PA3) in Fig. 2 and (PX3) in Fig. 9), a second pixel (see (PA1) in Fig. 2 and (PX1) in Fig. 9), and a third pixel (see (PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX2) in Fig. 9) disposed along a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction); light emitting elements (see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9) located in first to third pixels (again, see (PA3, PA1, PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX3, PX1, PX2) in Fig. 9); a color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b) in Fig. 2) located on the light emitting elements (again, see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9); a light blocking layer (see (152) in Fig. 2) located on the color conversion layer (again, see (140c, 140a, 140b)); and a planarization layer (see (170) in Fig. 2) located between the color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b)) and the light blocking layer (see (152)), wherein a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the first pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA3) and (140c) in Fig. 2) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction) intersecting the first direction (i.e., the horizontal direction) is thicker (i.e., in the vertical direction at an arbitrary point) than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2) in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and wherein each of the first color conversion layer (140c) and the second color conversion layer (140a) include a quantum dot (see (72, 52) in Fig. 3; and see Page 3, Para. [0052], [0054], [0056], and [0060]; and Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0063]-[0067]). It is a general goal of Kim to provide a display device structure, analogous to that of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999, that allows for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device (see Page 9, Para. [0059]) and further improves light emission efficiency (see Page 5, Para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 with the teachings of Kim, such that “each of the first color conversion layer and the second color conversion layer include a quantum dot,” in order to allow for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device.
Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent does not recite the features of Claim 5 of the instant application wherein “the light scattering layer includes a light scattering particle.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 9) a display device (10; see Page 3, Para. [0049]-[0052] and Page 6, Para. [0096]) comprising: a first pixel (see (PA3) in Fig. 2 and (PX3) in Fig. 9), a second pixel (see (PA1) in Fig. 2 and (PX1) in Fig. 9), and a third pixel (see (PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX2) in Fig. 9) disposed along a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction); light emitting elements (see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9) located in first to third pixels (again, see (PA3, PA1, PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX3, PX1, PX2) in Fig. 9); a color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b) in Fig. 2) located on the light emitting elements (again, see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9); a light blocking layer (see (152) in Fig. 2) located on the color conversion layer (again, see (140c, 140a, 140b)); and a planarization layer (see (170) in Fig. 2) located between the color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b)) and the light blocking layer (see (152)), wherein a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the first pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA3) and (140c) in Fig. 2) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction) intersecting the first direction (i.e., the horizontal direction) is thicker (i.e., in the vertical direction at an arbitrary point) than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2) in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and wherein the light scattering layer (140b) includes a light scattering particle (see (63) in Fig. 3; and see Page 3, Para. [0052], [0054], [0056], and [0060]; and Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0063]-[0067]). It is a general goal of Kim to provide a display device structure, analogous to that of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999, that allows for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device (see Page 9, Para. [0059]) and further improves light emission efficiency (see Page 5, Para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 with the teachings of Kim, such that “the light scattering layer includes a light scattering particle,” in order to allow for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device.
Claim 1 of the cited U.S. Patent does not recite the features of Claim 6 of the instant application wherein “the light scattering particle includes at least one of titanium oxide (TiO2), barium sulfate (BaSO4), calcium carbonate (CaCO3), silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), aluminum oxide (A12O3), zirconium oxide (ZrO2), or zinc oxide (ZnO).”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 9) a display device (10; see Page 3, Para. [0049]-[0052] and Page 6, Para. [0096]) comprising: a first pixel (see (PA3) in Fig. 2 and (PX3) in Fig. 9), a second pixel (see (PA1) in Fig. 2 and (PX1) in Fig. 9), and a third pixel (see (PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX2) in Fig. 9) disposed along a first direction (i.e., a horizontal direction); light emitting elements (see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9) located in first to third pixels (again, see (PA3, PA1, PA2) in Fig. 2 and (PX3, PX1, PX2) in Fig. 9); a color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b) in Fig. 2) located on the light emitting elements (again, see (200) in Fig. 2 corresponding to (230) in Fig. 9); a light blocking layer (see (152) in Fig. 2) located on the color conversion layer (again, see (140c, 140a, 140b)); and a planarization layer (see (170) in Fig. 2) located between the color conversion layer (see (140c, 140a, 140b)) and the light blocking layer (see (152)), wherein a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the first pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA3) and (140c) in Fig. 2) in a second direction (i.e., a vertical direction) intersecting the first direction (i.e., the horizontal direction) is thicker (i.e., in the vertical direction at an arbitrary point) than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness at an arbitrary point) of the planarization layer (see (170)) of the second pixel (see the pixel corresponding to (PA1) and (140a) in Fig. 2) in the second direction (i.e., the vertical direction), and wherein the light scattering particle (see (63) in Fig. 3) includes at least one of titanium oxide (TiO2), barium sulfate (BaSO4), calcium carbonate (CaCO3), silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), aluminum oxide (A12O3), zirconium oxide (ZrO2), or zinc oxide (ZnO; see Page 3, Para. [0052], [0054], [0056], and [0060]; and Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0063]-[0067]). It is a general goal of Kim to provide a display device structure, analogous to that of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999, that allows for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device (see Page 9, Para. [0059]) and further improves light emission efficiency (see Page 5, Para. [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,333,999 with the teachings of Kim, such that “the light scattering particle includes at least one of titanium oxide (TiO2), barium sulfate (BaSO4), calcium carbonate (CaCO3), silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (Si3N4), aluminum oxide (A12O3), zirconium oxide (ZrO2), or zinc oxide (ZnO),” in order to allow for improved efficiency of manufacturing while compensating for errors in the formation of the various layers of the display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (hereinafter “Kang” US 2018 / 0052362).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) a display device (see Page 3, Para. [0045]-[0047] and [0052]-[0056]) comprising:
a first pixel (PX1), a second pixel (PX2), and a third pixel (PX3);
light emitting elements (510, 520, 530) located in the first to third pixels (PX1, PX2, PX3);
a color conversion layer (253a, 253b, 255, 255’) located on the light emitting elements (510, 520, 530); and
a light blocking layer (270) located on the color conversion layer (253a, 253b, 255, 255’),
wherein a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness) of the light blocking layer (270) of the first pixel (PX1; see a highest portion of (270) at (PX1) in Fig. 4B) is thicker than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness) of the light blocking layer (270) of the second pixel (PX2; see a middle portion of (270) under (251) at (PX2) in Fig. 4B; see Page 5, Para. [0089]-[0094]; Page 6, Para. [0102]-[0107]; and Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0113]-[0115] with Page 7, Para. [0128]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Kang discloses (see Fig. 4B and Fig. 5A) that the thickness (i.e., the vertical thickness) of the light blocking layer (270) of the second pixel (PX2; see a middle portion of (270) under (251) at (PX2) in Fig. 4B) is thicker than a thickness (i.e., a vertical thickness) of the light blocking layer (270) of the third pixel (PX3; see any portion of (270) at a right side of (255) and/or (255’) in Fig. 5A; again, see Page 6 through Page 7, Para. [0113]-[0115] with Page 7, Para. [0128]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) that the color conversion layer (253a, 253b, 255, 255’) includes:
a first color conversion layer (253a) located in the first pixel (PX1);
a second color conversion layer (253b) located in the second pixel (PX2); and
a light scattering layer (255) located in the third pixel (PX3; again, see Page 5, Para. [0089]-[0094]; and Page 6, Para. [0102]-[0107]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) that each of the first color conversion layer (253a) and the second color conversion layer (253b) include a quantum dot (again, see Page 5, Para. [0089]-[0094]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) that the light scattering layer (255) includes a light scattering particle (again, see Page 6, Para. [0103]-[0105] and note that the light scattering layer (255) is a patterned layer implicitly comprising arbitrary particles that scatter light).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) a color filter layer (see (251) and any portion of (255’)) between the color conversion layer (253a, 253b, 255, 255’) and the light blocking layer (270; see Page 5, Para. [0089] and Page 7, Para. [0128]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) that the color filter layer (see (251) and any portion of (255’)) further includes:
a first color filter (see any portion of (251)) located in the first pixel (PX1);
a second color filter (see any portion of (251)) located in the second pixel (PX2); and
a third color filter (see any portion of (255’)) located in the third pixel (PX3; and again, see Page 5, Para. [0089] and Page 7, Para. [0128]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) that a thickness (i.e., an arbitrary horizontal thickness) of the first color filter (see any portion of (251) at (PX1)) is thicker (i.e., arbitrarily) than a thickness (i.e., an arbitrary horizontal thickness) of the second color filter (see any portion of (251) at (PX2); again, see Page 5, Para. [0089] and Page 7, Para. [0128]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Kang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4B in combination with Fig. 5A) that the thickness (i.e., the arbitrary horizontal thickness) of the second color filter (see any portion of (251) at (PX2)) is thicker (i.e., arbitrarily) than a thickness (i.e., an arbitrary horizontal thickness) of the third color filter (see any portion of any (255’) at (PX3); again, see Page 5, Para. [0089] and Page 7, Para. [0128]).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Kang discloses (see Fig. 4A) that each of the light emitting elements (510, 520, 530) includes:
a first semiconductor layer (i.e., a right side portion of (SM1));
a second semiconductor layer (i.e., a left side portion of (SM1)) located on (i.e., overlapping and/or coupled via intervening elements) the first semiconductor layer (i.e., the right side portion of (SM1)); and
an active layer (i.e., an area between (SE1) and (DE1) in Fig. 4A) located between the first semiconductor layer (i.e., the right side portion of (SM1)) and the second semiconductor layer (i.e., the left side portion of (SM1)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugitani et al. (US 2018 / 0341147), submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement on 13 June 2025, discloses (see Fig. 1) a display device utilizing a planarization layer (261) having different thicknesses between pixels (PX) to accommodate different separation distances between a surface of a color conversion layer (240) and a light blocking layer (215).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623