In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Claim(s) 1-17 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 13, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190065717 in view of ordinary skill.
Consider claim 1, Won teaches a display device comprising: a display panel having an image display area comprising image display pixels (see Won figure 4A, element 411, 412, 413, figure 4B, element 411, 412, 413 and paragraph 0070-0071 where first sub pixel 411 to third sub pixel 413 may emit light to express a color corresponding to a data value provided by a data driver 420),
infrared (IR) light-emitting pixels (see Won figure 4B, element 414 and paragraph 0070-0071 where light emitting timing of the infrared ray sensor 414 may be identified by the gate driver 430, and a light emitting intensity of the infrared ray sensor 414 may be identified by the data driver 420), and
light-sensing pixels (see Won figure 4B, element 415 and paragraph 0072 where light receiving module 415 may collect light that is introduced from the external or is reflected from an external object (e.g., a finger, or the like) approaching and/or contacting the display device 400.);
a display scan driver configured to drive the image display pixels and the IR light-emitting pixels to emit light (see Won figure 4B, element 430 and paragraphs 0070-0071);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the light-sensing pixels to sense light (see Won figure 4B, element 430 and paragraph 0077 where display device 400 may independently control each of a first sub pixel 411 to third sub pixel 413 and infrared ray sensor 414 of each pixel 410 through a gate driver 430 and a data driver 420. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4F, the display device 400 may drive the first sub pixel 411, the infrared ray sensor 414, and a light receiving module 415, to obtain biometric information (e.g., an oxygen saturation, or the like). For example, the display device 400 may apply a power source through the data driver 420 and the gate driver 430, to output red light through the first sub pixel 411 and the infrared ray sensor 414. The display device 400 may collect a light quantity reflected from the human body using the light receiving module 414); and
a main driver circuit (see Won figure 2, element 220 processor and paragraph 0077 where processor 220 may analyze the reflected light quantity collected from the display device 400, to obtain an oxygen saturation of a user) configured to receive first and second light-sensing signals through first and second light-sensing lines connected to the light-sensing pixels (see Won figure 4D element 415 where for example a first light sensing signal may correspond to PD1(IR) and a second light sensing signal may correspond to PD1(R)),
wherein each of the light-sensing pixels comprises at least two photo-detecting elements spaced from each other (see Won figure 4D, element 415, PD1(R), PD1(G), PD1(B), PD1(IR) where the photo detecting elements are not overlapping therefore they are spaced from each other), and
wherein the first and second light-sensing lines are configured to transmit the first and second light-sensing signals generated from the at least two photo-detecting elements (see Won paragraph 0074 where a light receiving region of the light receiving module 415 may be separated to collect light of a mutually different wavelength. For example, the light receiving module 415 may include, for example, and without limitation, a plurality of photo diodes, or the like, configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. For example, each photo diode may include a mutually different light converting member which filters light of a mutually different wavelength band).
Won does not specifically illustrate separate light sensing lines for each of the different photo diodes configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. One of ordinary skill, without inventive inspiration, would be motivated to provide each mutually different sensed signal separately so as to more easily separately process each signal using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 2, Won as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the display panel comprises: a plurality of first pixel groups, each comprising first to fourth display pixels among the image display pixels (see Won figure 4C, reproduced below, element A row of pixels including only light emitting elements and paragraph 0068 where a pixel disposed in the display device 300 may include a sub pixel of red green blue green (RGBG), red green blue yellow (RGBY) or red green blue white (RGBW) as well);
a plurality of second pixel groups, each comprising first to third display pixels among the image display pixels, and an IR light-emitting pixel among the IR light- emitting pixels (see Won figure 4C, reproduced above, element B row of pixels including IR pixels and paragraph 0068); and
a plurality of third pixel groups, each comprising first to third display pixels among the image display pixels, and a light-sensing pixel among the light-sensing pixels (see Won figure 4C, reproduced above, element C row of pixels including a light-sensing pixel).
Consider claim 3, Won as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the IR light-emitting pixel comprises: an infrared light-emitting element configured to emit light in an infrared wavelength range (see Won figure 4B, element 414); and
an infrared pixel driver configured to apply a driving current to the infrared light- emitting element (see Won figure 4B, element 430), and
wherein the light-sensing pixel comprises: first and second photo-detecting elements as the at least two photo- detecting elements configured to detect light incident from a front side (see Won figure 4D, element 415, PD1(R), PD1(G), PD1(B), PD1(IR)); and
a detection driver configured to apply a driving current to the first and second photo-detecting elements (see Won figure 4B, element 430, 420).
Consider claim 4, Won as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the light-sensing pixel comprises: the at least two photo-detecting elements configured to detect light incident from a front side (see Won figure 4D, element 415, PD1(R), PD1(G), PD1(B), PD1(IR)); and
a detection driver configured to control a light-sensing timing of the at least two photo-detecting elements (see Won figure 4B, element 430, 420),
wherein the at least two photo-detecting elements comprise: a first photo-detecting element configured to generate the first light-sensing signal corresponding to an amount of light incident from the front side, and output the first light-sensing signal to the first light-sensing line (see Won paragraph 0074 where a light receiving region of the light receiving module 415 may be separated to collect light of a mutually different wavelength. For example, the light receiving module 415 may include, for example, and without limitation, a plurality of photo diodes, or the like, configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. For example, each photo diode may include a mutually different light converting member which filters light of a mutually different wavelength band); and
a second photo-detecting element configured to generate the second light-sensing signal corresponding to an amount of light incident from the front side, and output the second light-sensing signal to the second light-sensing line (see Won paragraph 0074 where a light receiving region of the light receiving module 415 may be separated to collect light of a mutually different wavelength. For example, the light receiving module 415 may include, for example, and without limitation, a plurality of photo diodes, or the like, configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. For example, each photo diode may include a mutually different light converting member which filters light of a mutually different wavelength band).
Consider claim 10, Won teaches display device comprising: display pixels in a display area of a display panel (see Won figure 4A, element 411, 412, 413, figure 4B, element 411, 412, 413 and paragraph 0070-0071 where first sub pixel 411 to third sub pixel 413 may emit light to express a color corresponding to a data value provided by a data driver 420);
infrared (IR) light-emitting pixels in the display area (see Won figure 4B, element 414 and paragraph 0070-0071 where light emitting timing of the infrared ray sensor 414 may be identified by the gate driver 430, and a light emitting intensity of the infrared ray sensor 414 may be identified by the data driver 420);
light-sensing pixels in the display area (see Won figure 4B, element 415 and paragraph 0072 where light receiving module 415 may collect light that is introduced from the external or is reflected from an external object (e.g., a finger, or the like) approaching and/or contacting the display device 400.);
a display scan driver configured to drive the display pixels to emit light (see Won figure 4B, element 430 and paragraphs 0070-0071);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the light-sensing pixels to sense light (see Won figure 4B, element 430 and paragraph 0077 where display device 400 may independently control each of a first sub pixel 411 to third sub pixel 413 and infrared ray sensor 414 of each pixel 410 through a gate driver 430 and a data driver 420. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4F, the display device 400 may drive the first sub pixel 411, the infrared ray sensor 414, and a light receiving module 415, to obtain biometric information (e.g., an oxygen saturation, or the like). For example, the display device 400 may apply a power source through the data driver 420 and the gate driver 430, to output red light through the first sub pixel 411 and the infrared ray sensor 414. The display device 400 may collect a light quantity reflected from the human body using the light receiving module 414); and
a main driver circuit (see Won figure 2, element 220 processor and paragraph 0077 where processor 220 may analyze the reflected light quantity collected from the display device 400, to obtain an oxygen saturation of a user) configured to receive first and second light-sensing signals through first and second light sensing lines connected to the light-sensing pixels (see Won figure 4D element 415 where for example a first light sensing signal may correspond to PD1(IR) and a second light sensing signal may correspond to PD1(R)),
wherein each of the light-sensing pixels comprises at least two photo-detecting elements spaced from each other (see Won figure 4D, element 415, PD1(R), PD1(G), PD1(B), PD1(IR) where the photo detecting elements are not overlapping therefore they are spaced from each other) , and
wherein the first and second light-sensing lines are configured to transmit the first and second light-sensing signals generated from the at least two photo-detecting elements (see Won paragraph 0074 where a light receiving region of the light receiving module 415 may be separated to collect light of a mutually different wavelength. For example, the light receiving module 415 may include, for example, and without limitation, a plurality of photo diodes, or the like, configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. For example, each photo diode may include a mutually different light converting member which filters light of a mutually different wavelength band).
Won does not specifically illustrate separate light sensing lines for each of the different photo diodes configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. One of ordinary skill, without inventive inspiration, would be motivated to provide each mutually different sensed signal separately so as to more easily separately process each signal using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 11, Won as modified by ordinary skill teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the at least two photo-detecting elements comprise: a first photo-detecting element electrically connected to the first light-sensing line; and a second photo-detecting element electrically connected to the second light- sensing line see Won figure 4D, element 415, PD1(R), PD1(G), PD1(B), PD1(IR) and paragraph 0074 where a light receiving region of the light receiving module 415 may be separated to collect light of a mutually different wavelength. For example, the light receiving module 415 may include, for example, and without limitation, a plurality of photo diodes, or the like, configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. For example, each photo diode may include a mutually different light converting member which filters light of a mutually different wavelength band).
Won does not specifically illustrate separate light sensing lines for each of the different photo diodes configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. One of ordinary skill, without inventive inspiration, would be motivated to provide each mutually different sensed signal separately so as to more easily separately process each signal using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 17, Won teaches an electronic device including a display device, the display device comprising: a display panel having an image display area (see Won figure 1, element 100, 101) comprising image display pixels (see Won figure 4A, element 411, 412, 413, figure 4B, element 411, 412, 413 and paragraph 0070-0071 where first sub pixel 411 to third sub pixel 413 may emit light to express a color corresponding to a data value provided by a data driver 420),
infrared (IR) light-emitting pixels (see Won figure 4B, element 414 and paragraph 0070-0071 where light emitting timing of the infrared ray sensor 414 may be identified by the gate driver 430, and a light emitting intensity of the infrared ray sensor 414 may be identified by the data driver 420), and
light-sensing pixels (see Won figure 4B, element 415 and paragraph 0072 where light receiving module 415 may collect light that is introduced from the external or is reflected from an external object (e.g., a finger, or the like) approaching and/or contacting the display device 400.);
a display scan driver configured to drive the image display pixels and the IR light-emitting pixels to emit light (see Won figure 4B, element 430 and paragraphs 0070-0071);
a light-sensing scan driver configured to drive the light-sensing pixels to sense light (see Won figure 4B, element 430 and paragraph 0077 where display device 400 may independently control each of a first sub pixel 411 to third sub pixel 413 and infrared ray sensor 414 of each pixel 410 through a gate driver 430 and a data driver 420. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4F, the display device 400 may drive the first sub pixel 411, the infrared ray sensor 414, and a light receiving module 415, to obtain biometric information (e.g., an oxygen saturation, or the like). For example, the display device 400 may apply a power source through the data driver 420 and the gate driver 430, to output red light through the first sub pixel 411 and the infrared ray sensor 414. The display device 400 may collect a light quantity reflected from the human body using the light receiving module 414); and
a main driver circuit (see Won figure 2, element 220 processor and paragraph 0077 where processor 220 may analyze the reflected light quantity collected from the display device 400, to obtain an oxygen saturation of a user) configured to receive first and second light-sensing signals through first and second light-sensing lines connected to the light-sensing pixels (see Won figure 4D element 415 where for example a first light sensing signal may correspond to PD1(IR) and a second light sensing signal may correspond to PD1(R)),
wherein each of the light-sensing pixels comprises at least two photo-detecting elements spaced from each other (see Won figure 4D, element 415, PD1(R), PD1(G), PD1(B), PD1(IR) where the photo detecting elements are not overlapping therefore they are spaced from each other), and
wherein the first and second light-sensing lines are configured to transmit the first and second light-sensing signals generated from the at least two photo-detecting elements (see Won paragraph 0074 where a light receiving region of the light receiving module 415 may be separated to collect light of a mutually different wavelength. For example, the light receiving module 415 may include, for example, and without limitation, a plurality of photo diodes, or the like, configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. For example, each photo diode may include a mutually different light converting member which filters light of a mutually different wavelength band).
Won does not specifically illustrate separate light sensing lines for each of the different photo diodes configured to collect light of mutually different wavelengths. One of ordinary skill, without inventive inspiration, would be motivated to provide each mutually different sensed signal separately so as to more easily separately process each signal using known techniques with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claimed invention recites
Claim 5 “ The display device of claim 4 and further teaches wherein the first photo-detecting element has a circular shape or a polygonal shape in a plan view, and is configured to output the first light-sensing signal corresponding to the amount of light incident from the front side to the first light-sensing line, and wherein the second photo-detecting element has a circular shape or a polygonal shape having a larger area than that of the first light-sensing element in a plan view, and surrounds around the first photo-detecting element so that the first photo-detecting element is located in an opening at an inner center of the second photo-detecting element. ”
Claim 12 “ The display device of claim 11, wherein the first photo-detecting element has a circular shape or a polygonal shape in a plan view, and is configured to output the first light-sensing signal corresponding to an amount of light incident from a front side to the first light-sensing line, and wherein the second photo-detecting element has a circular shape or a polygonal shape having a larger area than that of the first light-sensing element in a plan view, and surrounds around the first photo-detecting element so that the first photo-detecting element is located in an opening at an inner center of the second photo-detecting element. ”
Claim 15 “ The display device of claim 11, wherein the display panel further comprises: a plurality of light-blocking patterns having a mesh structure, wherein the mesh structure is opened at a front side of light-emitting elements of the display pixels and a front side of the first photo-detecting elements of the light- sensing pixels, and covers an area between the display pixels and an area between the display pixels and the light-sensing pixels. ”
The following prior arts are representative of the state of the prior art:
Won et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190065717 (figure 4B)
Kuo et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100220075 (figure 3B)
Yao et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190004644 (figure 5-7B)
The prior arts cited fails to fairly teach or suggest the combined features of the invention including the features of dependent claims 5, 12 and 15. Dependent claims 6-9, 13-14, 16 are allowable by virtue of being dependent upon a claim reciting allowable subject matter.
These features find support at least at figures 8-9 of Applicant’s original specification.
As such, modification of the prior art of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior art themselves. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the necessary modifications to the prior art of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present application. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate nor render obvious the claimed inventions. Hence, claims 5-9, 12-16 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakariya et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150364107 (interactive display with IR diodes), Kusunoki et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240138169 (electronic device), Usukura et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120188207 (display device), Song et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230343289 (display device), Huang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20110043487 (OLED touch display), Yamaguchi et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20060244693 (image display), Kurokawa et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120001878 (driving LCD), Bhat et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 10931859 (light emitter and sensors), Lius et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210109636 (electronic device), Takahashi et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. , 20220350432 (display device), Yamazaki et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230251743 (display device).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625