DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the amendments or remarks filed on 6/30/2026. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-14, 16 and 18 have been amended. Claims 15, 17 have been canceled. Claims 21-22 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-14, 16 and 18-22 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14, 16 and 18-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0012711).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a display device (abstract, see ¶34-¶37, Figs 1 and 13-15); a pixel unit comprising pixels connected to data lines (pixels 22 connected to data lines 26, see ¶34-¶37, Figs 1,14);
a data driver (column driver 1408, ¶48, fig 14) configured to selectively apply a data voltage and a park voltage to the data lines (see ¶78);
a voltage provider configured to provide the park voltage (¶78 explained DDIC 1408 outputs park voltage Vp); and
a park voltage determiner configured to determine the park voltage based on grayscales for the pixels (¶66, ¶69-¶80, ¶89 explained the park voltage unit 1410 identifies the parking voltage Vp based on the grayscale (DBVn) from 0 to 255 applied to pixel 22 in panel 1412);
a timing controller configured to provide the grayscale for the pixels to the park voltage determiner (¶77-78 explained a processor in SOC 1404 provides the grayscale DBV for pixel 1412 to the park voltage unit 1410).
As to claim 11, Huang teaches an electronic device (abstract, see ¶34-¶37, Figs 1 and 13-15); a processor (¶77-78 explained a processor in SOC 1404) configured to provide image data (processing for each frame of image data may start at the top of the array of display pixels, see ¶ 39);
a display device configured to display an image based on grayscales of the image data (See ¶40 for a column driver circuitry 20 outputs data line signals that contain grayscale information. See ¶ 78 for DDIC 1408 may receive data and control signals from SOC 1404 and use the data and control signals to drive the one or more pixels 22. The data signals may include grayscale red, green, and/or blue data signals. The control signals include a value of DBV (e.g., for the frame) used to determine an optimal display supply voltage VDDEL and parking voltage Vp by which to drive pixels of panel 1412);
a pixel unit comprising pixels connected to data lines (pixels 22 connected to data lines 26, see ¶34-¶37, Figs 1,14);
a data driver (column driver 1408, ¶48, Fig 14) configured to selectively apply a data voltage and a park voltage to the data lines (see ¶78);
a voltage provider configured to provide the park voltage (¶78 explained DDIC 1408 outputs park voltage Vp); and
a park voltage determiner configured to determine the park voltage based on grayscales for the pixels (¶66, ¶69-¶80, ¶89 explained the park voltage unit 1410 identifies the parking voltage Vp based on the grayscale (DBVn) from 0 to 255 applied to pixel 22 in panel 1412);
a timing controller configured to provide the grayscale for the pixels to the park voltage determiner (¶77-78 explained a processor in SOC 1404 provides the grayscale DBV for pixel 1412 to the park voltage unit 1410).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 12-14 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Baek (US 2025/0148982).
As to claims 2-5 and 12-14, Huang fails to teach the display device is configured to display an image at a first frequency in a first mode, and at a second frequency in a second mode, a first park voltage is configured to be provided to the data lines in the first mode for a first period, a second park voltage is configured to be provided to the data lines in the second mode for a second period; the second frequency is less than the first frequency, and the second period is longer than the first period; the park voltage determiner comprises a target area setter configured to set a part of the pixel unit as a target area.
As to claims 21-22, Huang fails to teach wherein the park voltage comprising a first park voltage having a first voltage level applied continuously for a first period, and a second park voltage having a second voltage level, which is different than the first voltage level, applied continuously for a second period.
Baek teaches the current park voltage Current Vpark in the driving mode in which the driving frequency is 60 Hz is 2.0V, and the target park voltage Target Vpark is changed to 3.5V at the time of being changed to the driving mode in which the driving frequency is 20 Hz, the park voltage Vpark is instantly changed from 2.0V to 3.5V. See Baek ¶221-¶224, and Fig 14.
Baek teaches the display device 100 is driven in the normal driving mode of 120 Hz refresh frames, the same image data is displayed in the refresh frame, the luminance of each refresh frame is the same, the display device 100 is driven in the low-speed driving mode of 24 Hz, after one refresh frame is output, four anode reset frames continuously proceed. See Baek ¶153-¶157, Figs 7-9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the driving mode in which the driving frequency is 60 Hz is 2.0V, and the target park voltage Target Vpark is changed to 3.5V at the time of being changed to the driving mode in which the driving frequency is 20 Hz, four 24Hz frames are longer than one 120Hz frame, as Baek teaches, to modify the teaching of Huang. The motivation for doing so would improve the high quality of the image being displayed, while reducing power consumption. Baek ¶ 61, ¶73.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are allowed.
Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 Telephone: (571) 272-7697
Email: kevin.nguyen2@uspto.gov