DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action regarding application number 19/238,353, filed on 06/14/2025, which is a CON of PCT/JP2023/044526, filed on 12/12/2023, and which claims foreign priority to JP 2022-211763, filed on 12/28/2022.
This action is in response to the Applicant’s Response received 06/24/2026.
Election of Restricted Inventions
The Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I and Species A1 (Fig. 1A) in the reply is acknowledged. The restriction requirement is withdrawn because prior art was located supporting a conclusion of obviousness of all claims including non-elected claims.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
No claim is allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 each recite without proper antecedent basis first and second electrodes and transport layers, while claim 1 already previously recited a single electrode and transport layer. Thus, the examiner cannot determine the scope of the claimed invention because it is not determinable whether and/or how these additionally recited first and second electrodes and transport layers relate to the already introduced electrode and transport layer of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BI (CN 114792704 A; US 2024/0244853 A1 is an English equivalent publication used for paragraph citation) in view of LI (“Room-temperature processed high-quality SnO2 films by oxygen plasma activated e-beam evaporation”) and KOUSHIK (“Plasma-assisted atomic layer deposition of nickel oxide as hole transport layer for hybrid perovskite solar cells”).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, BI teaches a manufacturing method for a solar cell including a photoelectric conversion layer that absorbs light and converts the light into electrical energy, an electrode that extracts the electrical energy generated in the photoelectric conversion layer, and a transport layer that transports electrons or holes from the photoelectric conversion layer (BI teaches all the layers, see Fig. 1), the manufacturing method comprising:
a transport layer forming step of forming the transport layer,
wherein, in the transport layer forming step, a metal oxide layer is formed.
BI does not disclose expressly that, in the transport layer forming step, the metal oxide layer is formed by an ion plating method using plasma containing oxygen.
Both LI and KOUSHIK teaches manufacturing methods for a solar cell where, in the transport layer forming step, a metal oxide layer is formed by an ion plating method using plasma containing oxygen. LI teaches superior morphology for SnO2 metal oxide layer (uniform, compact, transparent and high mobility SnO2 thin films without annealing) and KOUSHIK teaches superior morphology for NiO (“ultrathin, pinhole-free, low-temperature processed NiO films with excellent conformality”).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BI and combine in the method step of forming the metal oxide transport layers with an ion plating method using plasma containing oxygen as taught by both LI and KOUSHIK because this specific process was already well-known for forming excellent metal oxide layers in solar cells.
The manufacturing method taught by the prior art references therefore also produces the solar cell of claim 20 and is similarly rejected as obvious for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, modified BI teaches the manufacturing method for a solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the photoelectric conversion layer contains an organic/inorganic semiconductor having a perovskite structure (perovskite absorber layer 9, BI, para. 43).
Regarding claim 5, modified BI teaches the manufacturing method for a solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the photoelectric conversion layer contains an organic semiconductor (perovskite preferably includes one or more of MA of FA which is organic, BI, para. 75).
Regarding claim 8, modified BI teaches the manufacturing method for a solar cell according to claim 1, further comprising: a first electrode forming step of forming a first electrode on an upper side of a substrate (ITO, BI, para. 78);
a first metal oxide layer forming step of forming a first metal oxide layer as a first transport layer for transporting one of the electrons and the holes on an upper side of the first electrode (SnO2 formed then on/above ITO, while claims do not require direct contact, BI, para. 79);
a first organic semiconductor layer forming step of forming a first organic semiconductor layer as the first transport layer on an upper side of the first metal oxide layer with coating (C60 film, BI, para. 79);
a photoelectric conversion layer forming step of forming the photoelectric conversion layer on an upper side of the first organic semiconductor layer with coating (MAPbI3 film, BI, para. 79);
a second organic semiconductor layer forming step of forming a second organic semiconductor layer as a second transport layer for transporting the other of the electrons and the holes on an upper side of the photoelectric conversion layer with coating (PTAA, BI, para. 79);
a second metal oxide layer forming step of forming a second metal oxide layer as the second transport layer on an upper side of the second organic semiconductor layer (NiO, BI, para. 79); and
a second electrode forming step of forming a second electrode on an upper side of the second metal oxide layer (silver electrode, BI, para. 79).
Since modified BI is combined with the ion plating method techniques of the known prior art, the first and second metal oxide layers consequently are formed by the recited method.
Claims 2, 3, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BI (CN 114792704 A) in view of LI (“Room-temperature processed high-quality SnO2 films by oxygen plasma activated e-beam evaporation”) and KOUSHIK (“Plasma-assisted atomic layer deposition of nickel oxide as hole transport layer for hybrid perovskite solar cells”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KITAMI (CN 107849690 A; English machine translation provided).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, modified BI teaches the manufacturing method for a solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose expressly that the plasma is generated using a pressure gradient type plasma gun, in the transport layer forming step (claim 2), that the plasma is guided to a vaporized material using a magnetic field generating unit, in the transport layer forming step (claim 3)
KITAMI teaches a film forming apparatus and production method for manufacturing metal oxide layers using ion plating deposition with oxygen plasma. KITAMI teaches that the plasma source is a pressure gradient plasma gun (para. 54), and the plasma is guided to a vaporized material using a magnetic field generating unit, in the transport layer forming step (magnet used to converge plasma onto firm-forming material Ma, para. 60).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BI and combine its teachings with the apparatus and manufacturing method steps taught by KITAMI because its teachings provide for improved metal oxide layer quality when using oxygen (KITAMI, paras. 10, 12, and 14).
Regarding claim 9 and 19, BI teaches a manufacturing method apparatus for a solar cell including a photoelectric conversion layer that absorbs light and converts the light into electrical energy, an electrode that extracts the electrical energy generated in the photoelectric conversion layer, and a transport layer that transports at least one of electrons and holes from the photoelectric conversion layer (BI teaches all the layers, see Fig. 1), the manufacturing apparatus comprising: a transport layer forming device for forming the transport layer,
wherein the transport layer forming device includes a film forming device that forms a metal oxide layer.
BI does not disclose expressly that, in the transport layer forming step, a metal oxide layer is formed by an ion plating method using plasma containing oxygen, or the apparatus to form said solar cell (although the prior art examples clearly indicate the use of CVD and other deposition equipment and corresponding apparatuses). BI does not mention a specific apparatus or part for manufacture.
Both LI and KOUSHIK teaches manufacturing methods for a solar cell where, in the transport layer forming step, a metal oxide layer is formed by an ion plating method using plasma containing oxygen. LI teaches superior morphology for SnO2 metal oxide layer (uniform, compact, transparent and high mobility SnO2 thin films without annealing) and KOUSHIK teaches superior morphology for NiO (“ultrathin, pinhole-free, low-temperature processed NiO films with excellent conformality”).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BI and combine in the method step of forming the metal oxide transport layers with an ion plating method using plasma containing oxygen as taught by both LI and KOUSHIK because this specific process was already well-known for forming excellent metal oxide layers in solar cells.
KITAMI teaches a film forming apparatus, part, and production method for manufacturing metal oxide layers using ion plating deposition with oxygen plasma, using a plasma gun that includes a cathode, a main hearth with anode, an auxiliary hearth with anode (KITAMI expressly describes this specific process and components).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BI and combine its teachings with the apparatus and manufacturing method steps taught by KITAMI because its teachings provide for improved metal oxide layer quality when using oxygen (KITAMI, paras. 10, 12, and 14).
Regarding claim 10, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 9, wherein the film forming device includes a vacuum chamber, a transport mechanism, and a film forming mechanism. KITAMI teaches that the apparatus film forming device includes a vacuum chamber (10), a transport mechanism (conveying/transfer chamber 10a), and a film forming mechanism (film forming chamber 10b and plasma source 7).
Regarding claim 11, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 10, wherein the vacuum chamber is made of a conductive material and is connected to a ground potential (”vacuum chamber 10 is made of conductive material and connected with the ground potential”, KITAMI).
Regarding claim 12, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 11, wherein the vacuum chamber is a member in which an object is accommodated and film forming treatment is performed, and
the vacuum chamber includes a transport chamber in which the object on which a film made of a film forming material is to be formed is transported, a film forming chamber in which the film forming material is diffused, and a plasma port through which plasma emitted in a form of a beam from a pressure gradient type plasma gun is received to the vacuum chamber (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Regarding claim 13, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 12, wherein the transport mechanism transports a substrate holding member, which holds the object in a state of facing the film forming material, in a transport direction (B), and includes a plurality of transport rollers (plurality of conveying rollers 15) (see also Fig. 4) installed in the transport chamber (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Regarding claim 14, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 13, wherein the plurality of transport rollers are arranged at regular intervals in the transport direction, and transport the substrate holding member in the transport direction while supporting the substrate holding member (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Regarding claim 15, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 10, wherein the film forming mechanism causes particles, which are generated as a result of sublimation of a film forming material, to adhere to an object using the ion plating method (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Regarding claim 16, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 15, wherein the film forming mechanism includes a plasma gun, a steering coil (steering coil 5), a hearth mechanism (main hearth 17), and a ring hearth (ring hearth 6) (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Regarding claim 17, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 16, wherein a main body portion of the plasma gun is connected to a film forming chamber via a plasma port provided in a side wall of the film forming chamber, and the plasma gun generates plasma in the vacuum chamber (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Regarding claim 18, modified BI teaches the manufacturing apparatus for a solar cell according to claim 17, wherein the steering coil is provided around the plasma port on which the plasma gun is mounted, and guides the plasma into a film forming chamber (KITAMI’s apparatus in Fig. 1 illustrates each of the claimed elements).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BI (CN 114792704 A) in view of LI (“Room-temperature processed high-quality SnO2 films by oxygen plasma activated e-beam evaporation”) and KOUSHIK (“Plasma-assisted atomic layer deposition of nickel oxide as hole transport layer for hybrid perovskite solar cells”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SUTO (US 2022/0029117 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified BI teaches the manufacturing method for a solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose expressly comprising: an electrode forming step of forming the electrode on an upper side of a resin substrate; and the transport layer forming step of forming the metal oxide layer on an upper side of the electrode with the ion plating method. SUTO teaches forming electrodes on an upper side of transparent substrate such as a glass substrate or a resin film (para. 23).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BI and dispose an ITO electrode on a glass or resin substrate because this is only a simple combination of known layer materials expected to produce ordinary results and solar cell performance, because an important element of the substrate is that it be transparent as taught by SUTO. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 7, modified BI teaches the manufacturing method for a solar cell according to claim 1, further comprising: a first electrode forming step of forming a first electrode on an upper side of a substrate (ITO, BI, para. 78);
a first transport layer forming step of forming a first transport layer for transporting one of the electrons and the holes on an upper side of the first electrode (SnO2 formed then on/above ITO, while claims do not require direct contact, BI, para. 79);
a photoelectric conversion layer forming step of forming the photoelectric conversion layer containing an organic substance on an upper side of the first transport layer (MAPbI3 film, BI, para. 79);
a metal oxide layer forming step of forming the metal oxide layer as a second transport layer for transporting the other of the electrons and the holes on an upper side of the photoelectric conversion layer with the ion plating method (NiO, BI, para. 79; BI is already modified above to combine with the ion plating method); and
a second electrode forming step of forming a second electrode on an upper side of the metal oxide layer (silver electrode, BI, para. 79).
Modified BI does not disclose that the substrate is a glass substrate.
SUTO teaches forming electrodes on an upper side of transparent substrate such as a glass substrate or a resin film (para. 23).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify BI and dispose an ITO electrode on a glass or resin substrate because this is only a simple combination of known layer materials expected to produce ordinary results and solar cell performance, because an important element of the substrate is that it be transparent as taught by SUTO. MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
/ANGELO TRIVISONNO/
Primary Examiner