DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Specifically, the claims suffer from a cascading lack of antecedent basis due to the disjunctive phrasing in parent Claim 3. Claim 3 recites "at least one of an emission efficiency or an emission surface area". Because Claim 3 allows for an embodiment where only the emission surface area is utilized, the subsequent recitation of "the emission efficiency" in dependent Claim 5 lacks proper antecedent basis. Similarly, Claim 6 depends on Claim 5 and recites "the emission surface area," which lacks antecedent basis if the system exclusively relied upon emission efficiency.
Claims 9, 10, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite. The mathematical formulas presented in these claims (e.g., CPG = DRd[n] x w1[n] + ELd[n] x w2[n]) introduce the bracketed variable [n]. This index variable is never defined or introduced within the claim language, rendering the exact operational scope and execution of the algorithms ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (U.S. 2023/0128265, hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of An et al. (U.S. 2013/0207117, hereinafter "An") and Nathan et al. (U.S. 2013/0027381, hereinafter "Nathan").
With respect to Claim 1, Hwang teaches a display device, comprising:
a pixel comprising a light emitting element (Hwang: Abstract, display panel with pixels and OLEDs); and
a degradation compensator configured to determine a compensation value for an input grayscale value of the pixel, based on the input grayscale value and at least one of a cumulative usage time or a cumulative degradation value of the light emitting element (Hwang: Abstract, degradation compensator utilizing degradation data to formulate a compensation amount).
Hwang fails to expressly disclose:
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine a compensation gain, based on a dynamic range of a driving transistor of the pixel and at least one of the cumulative usage time or the cumulative degradation value, and
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine an output grayscale value of the pixel, based on the compensation value and the compensation gain.
However An discloses:
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine a compensation gain, based on a dynamic range of a driving transistor of the pixel (An: Para [0121] – [0126], the driving (DR) range of the gate voltage Vgs applied to the gate electrode of the drive thin film transistor is expanded and utilized to ensure the light emitted by the OLED has sufficient grayscale).
And Nathan discloses:
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine an output grayscale value of the pixel, based on the compensation value and the compensation gain derived from dynamic effects and cumulative degradation values (Nathan: Para [0106], [0129], [0134], extracting the threshold voltage shift and dynamic effects of the pixel current based on gate-source voltages to apply accurate compensation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus, as taught by Hwang, to incorporate the determination of a compensation gain based on the dynamic (driving) range of the driving transistor as taught by An, and dynamically adjusting it based on cumulative degradation as taught by Nathan, in order to realize a high-resolution display with stable grayscale outputs over its operational lifespan and minimize degradation errors.
With respect to Claim 2, the combination of Hwang as modified by An and Nathan teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the dynamic range corresponds to a difference between a gate-source voltage of the driving transistor to flow a driving current corresponding to a minimum grayscale value and a gate-source voltage of the driving transistor to flow a driving current corresponding to a maximum grayscale value (An: Para [0121] – [0126], teaching that the driving (DR) range corresponds to the range of the gate voltage (Vgs) bounded by the states where light emitted is expressed as black, i.e., minimum grayscale, and white, i.e., maximum grayscale).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus, as taught by Hwang and Nathan, to explicitly define the dynamic range using the gate-source voltage boundaries for minimum and maximum grayscales, as taught by An, in order to properly configure the driving range to control a sufficient grayscale output.
With respect to Claims 11 and 12, these claims are directed to a method of driving a display device comprising procedural steps that correspond substantially to the structural limitations of the apparatus set forth in claims 1 and 2. Therefore, Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of An and Nathan for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1 and 10.
With respect to Claims 19 and 20, these claims are directed to an electronic device comprising the display device of claims 1 and 2, further comprising a processor configured to provide an image signal. Hwang teaches the display device integrated into a broader consumer electronic device requiring an upstream processor to provide the image signal (Hwang: Abstract). Therefore, Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of An and Nathan for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 1 and 2.
Claims 3-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of An and Nathan, as applied to claims 1-2, 7-10, and further in view of Cok et al. (U.S. 6,867,549, hereinafter "Cok").
With respect to Claim 3, the combination of Hwang as modified by An and Nathan teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Hwang, An, and Nathan fail to expressly disclose:
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine the compensation gain based on... at least one of an emission efficiency or an emission surface area of the light emitting element.
However, Cok discloses:
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine the compensation gain based on physical parameters such as an emission efficiency or an emission surface area of the light emitting element (Cok: Col. 1, lines 50-62, Col. 4, lines 8-26 resizing OLED pixels in accordance with emission efficiency to balance differing pixel aging rates).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus, as taught by Hwang, An, and Nathan, to incorporate physical parameters such as emission efficiency into the compensation gain determination, as taught by Cok, in order to accurately balance the differential aging rates of various color sub-pixels (Cok: Col. 2, lines 15-16).
With respect to Claim 4, the combination of Hwang as modified by An, Nathan, and Cok teaches the apparatus of claim 3,
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine the compensation gain to be smaller as the dynamic range increases (An: Para [0121] – [0126], a higher dynamic range allows for a larger signal swing, meaning the brightness can be adjusted over a larger range which inherently requires a less aggressive or smaller compensation gain adjustment).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus to apply a smaller gain to larger dynamic ranges, as taught by An, in order to effectively utilize the expanded signal swing without over-saturating the pixel.
With respect to Claim 5, the combination of Hwang as modified by An, Nathan, and Cok teaches the apparatus of claim 4,
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine the compensation gain to be smaller as the emission efficiency increases (Cok: Col. 1, lines 50-62, Col. 4, lines 8-26, adjusting parameters based on emission efficiency prevents less efficient pixels from failing earlier, thereby demonstrating highly efficient pixels require less aggressive compensation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus to scale the gain inversely to emission efficiency, as taught by Cok, in order to prevent over-compensation in highly efficient sub-pixels and maximize display usability over time.
With respect to Claim 6, the combination of Hwang as modified by An, Nathan, and Cok teaches the apparatus of claim 5,
wherein the degradation compensator is configured to determine the compensation gain to be smaller as the emission surface area increases (Cok: Col. 1, lines 50-62, Col. 4, lines 8-26, resizing pixels based on efficiency demonstrates that larger surface areas disperse current density and therefore require less corrective gain to prevent differential aging).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus to scale the gain inversely to emission surface area, as taught by Cok, in order to maintain a uniform brightness compensation across diverse sub-pixel geometries.
With respect to Claims 13-14, these claims are directed to a method of driving a display device comprising procedural steps that correspond substantially to the structural limitations of the apparatus set forth in claims 3-6. Therefore, Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of An, Nathan, and Cok for the same reasons set forth above regarding claims 3-6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-10 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRYAN EARLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625