Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. Pub. No. US 2023/0298494 A1 [Kim] in view of LI et al. Pub. No. US 2024/0221629 A1 [Li].
1. Kim discloses a display device [Fig. 1] comprising:
pixels [P & ¶ 48 multiple pixels P];
a sensing unit configured to sense mobilities of the pixels during a sensing frame period [Fig. 4 and ¶¶ 22 & 60-66, for instance, wherein data is applied in frame and mobilities and bad pixels are determined]; and
an abnormality detector configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the mobilities and configured to power off the display device based on an abnormality being detected [¶ 71 in case that the number of the bad pixels BP is greater than or equal to the first reference value…the panel protection operation may be an operation of powering off the display device].
Kim is silent on a temperature sensor configured to measure a current temperature; wherein the abnormality detector is configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the current temperature and the mobilities during a first sensing frame period after a power-on sequence.
However, Li teaches a temperature sensor configured to measure a current temperature [Fig. 1 & ¶ 24]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Li to use a temperature sensor in a display, since such a modification prevents pixel damage.
Kim in view Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector is configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the current temperature [Li ¶ 24 where threshold value is used to determine power state after power on] and the mobilities during a first sensing frame period after a power-on sequence [where mobilities would be used as taught by Kim in the modified invention].
2. Kim in view of Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector is configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on difference values of the mobilities of a current sensing frame period and the mobilities of a previous sensing frame period, during sensing frame periods after the first sensing frame period [Kim Fig. 4 & ¶ 68].
3. Kim in view of Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector comprises a mode determiner configured to determine whether the current sensing frame period corresponds to the first sensing frame period or a sensing frame period after the first sensing frame period [Kim Fig. 5 as shown by inputs to 210 and 250, for instance].
4. Kim in view of Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector further comprises a first threshold determiner configured to determine a first threshold based on a reference mobility, a reference temperature, and the current temperature, based on the current sensing frame period corresponding to the first sensing frame period [Li ¶ 68 where the modified invention functions identically].
5. Kim in view of Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector further comprises an abnormal pixel determiner configured to determine abnormal pixels among the pixels based on the first threshold and the mobilities of the first sensing frame period [where the modified invention functions identically].
6. Kim in view of Li is silent on wherein the abnormality detector further comprises a power-off determiner configured to determine power-off of the display device based on a number of the abnormal pixels being greater than a reference number. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Li to meet this requirement, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Moreover, in the absence of any criticality (i.e., unobvious and/or unexpected result(s)), the parameter set forth above would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
11. Kim discloses a method of driving a display device [Fig. 1 & see ¶ 2, for instance], the method comprising:
sensing mobilities of pixels during a sensing frame period [Fig. 4 and ¶¶ 22 & 60-66, for instance, wherein data is applied in frame and mobilities and bad pixels are determined];
determining whether the display device is abnormal based on the mobilities [¶¶ 60-62 by means of reference]; and
powering off the display device based on an abnormality of the display device being detected [¶ 71 in case that the number of the bad pixels BP is greater than or equal to the first reference value…the panel protection operation may be an operation of powering off the display device],
wherein whether the display device is determined to be abnormal is based on the mobilities during a first sensing frame period after a power-on sequence of the display device [id. some frame period after power on].
Kim is silent on measuring a current temperature and the current temperature used in abnormality detection.
However, Li teaches a temperature sensor configured to measure a current temperature [Fig. 1 & ¶ 24]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Li to use a temperature sensor in a display, since such a modification prevents pixel damage.
Kim in view of Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector is configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the current temperature [Li ¶ 24 where threshold value is used to determine power state after power on] and the mobilities during a first sensing frame period after a power-on sequence [where mobilities would be used as taught by Kim in the modified invention].
12. Kim in view of Li teaches wherein whether the display device is determined to be abnormal is based on difference values of the mobilities of a current sensing frame period and the mobilities of a previous sensing frame period during sensing frame periods after the first sensing frame period [Kim Fig. 4 & ¶ 68].
13. Kim in view of Li teaches determining whether the current sensing frame period corresponds to the first sensing frame period or a sensing frame period after the first sensing frame period [Kim Fig. 5 by means of 210 and 250, for instance].
14. Kim in view of Li teaches determining a first threshold based on a reference mobility, a reference temperature, and the current temperature, based on the current sensing frame period corresponding to the first sensing frame period [Li ¶ 68 where the modified invention functions identically].
15. Kim in view of Li teaches determining abnormal pixels among the pixels based on the first threshold and the mobilities of the first sensing frame period [where the modified invention functions identically].
16. Kim in view of Li is silent on determining power- off of the display device based on a number of the abnormal pixels being greater than a reference number. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Li to meet this requirement, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
20. Kim discloses an electronic device [Fig. 1] comprising:
a processor configured to provide an image data [¶ 43]; and
a display device configured to display an image based on the image data [¶ 47 display panel 100 may have a display region AA on which an image is displayed], wherein the display device comprises:
pixels [Fig. 1, P & ¶ 48 multiple pixels P];
a sensing unit configured to sense mobilities of the pixels during a sensing frame period [Fig. 4 and ¶¶ 22 & 60-66, for instance, wherein data is applied in frame and mobilities and bad pixels are determined]; and
an abnormality detector configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the mobilities and configured to power off the display device based on an abnormality being detected [¶ 71 in case that the number of the bad pixels BP is greater than or equal to the first reference value…the panel protection operation may be an operation of powering off the display device], and
wherein the abnormality detector is configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the mobilities during a first sensing frame period after a power-on sequence [id. some frame period after power on].
Kim is silent on a temperature sensor configured to measure a current temperature.
However, Li teaches a temperature sensor configured to measure a current temperature [Fig. 1 & ¶ 24]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Li to use a temperature sensor in a display, since such a modification prevents pixel damage.
Kim in view of Li teaches wherein the abnormality detector is configured to determine whether the display device is abnormal based on the current temperature [Li ¶ 24 where threshold value is used to determine power state after power on] and the mobilities during a first sensing frame period after a power-on sequence [where mobilities would be used as taught by Kim in the modified invention].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
When claim 7 is rewritten as detailed above and when taken as whole including each and every limitation of claims 1-6, the claim is allowable over the prior art of record. It is not obvious to further modify. Claim 17 is indicated allowable for the same reason.
Conclusion
/Gustavo Polo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622