CTNF 19/238,961 CTNF 90844 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Status of the Application Claims 2-21 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. – see MPEP 606. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: “System and method for determining user status relative to a vehicle” . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 2 is directed towards a system, thus meeting the Step 1 eligibility criterion. Claim 2 does recite the abstract concept of a method of organizing human activity – commercial interaction and fundamental economic practice, which has been identified as an abstract idea by the MPEP. The relevant claimed limitations include: determine relative location information about the first portable device relative to the object / obtain absolute location information about the first portable device / compare the relative location information and the absolute location information / based on the comparison between the relative location information and the absolute location information, to determine the status of the first user corresponds to one of the following: the first user entered the object at or proximal to a first location relative to the object; the first user exited the object at or proximal to a second location relative to the object; the first user is at a third location different from the first location and the second location for exit / initiate a notification to the first user based on the status of the first user , wherein the notification is operable to prompt the first user to take corrective action based on the first user being at the third location different from the first location for entry and the second location for exit relative to the object . Applicant’s Spec. provides further context to the claimed invention as pertaining to the commercial interaction realm: “ n one embodiment, a method is provided for booking a resource of an object. The method may include reserving the resource for the user, wirelessly communicating with a portable device associated with the user via a communication link, and determining location information about the portable device, relative to the object, based on a signal characteristic of wireless communications of the communication link. The method may also include identifying the resource as being in-use by the user based on the location information being consistent with usage of the resource, and after identifying the resource as in-use, identifying the resource as not in in-use by the user based on the location information being consistent with the user having discontinued usage of the resource.”, “A system and method for determining location information of a portable device relative to an object is provided. In one embodiment, a booking control system is provided for booking a resource or service associated with the object.”, “The booking control system may be configured to store a booking associated with the user, and to determine a status of the user is checked-in for the booking based on the location information being indicative that the user is at a first position relative to the object. The booking control system may be configured to determine the status of the user is checked-out for the booking based on the location information being indicative that the user is at a second position relative to the object.”, “The secondary system 200 in one embodiment is a booking service or booking control system, such as for a ride sharing service, an autonomous taxi, or other automotive services, or other non-automotive services, such as rental properties, office spaces, office desks, and so on (anything where a service provider would want to interact with customers based upon their presence and booking state of a service [booked, not booked, wrong booking, etc.]). The localization service in one embodiment may enhance system performance, operation, and/or user experience of the secondary system 200.” This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 2 recites the additional elements of a fixed position device disposed in a fixed position relative to the object , said fixed position device including an antenna and configured to communicate wirelessly with a first portable device via a first communication link / a location processor / transmitting data wirelessly / an absolute location system /a tracking processor disposed on the object. The fixed device / first portable device/ communication link/processor /system represent generic computing elements. Transmitting data wirelessly does no more than apply or link the use of the recited judicial exception to particular technological environment/field of use. The additional elements do not, alone or in combination, improve the functioning of the computing device or another technology/technical field, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Claim 2 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because as noted above, the claimed computing elements represent generic computing elements; they are recited at a high level of generality. Transmitting data wirelessly does no more than apply or link the use of the recited judicial exception to particular technological environment/field of use. The additional elements do not, alone or in combination, improve the functioning of the computing device or another technology/technical field, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. Therefore, Claim 2 does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is not patent eligible. Independent claim 12 is directed to a method for performing similar claimed limitations to those of claim 2. Claim 12 performs the claimed limitations using only generic components of a networked computer system. Therefore, claim 12 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more for the reasons given in the discussion of claim 2. Remaining dependent claims 3-11, 13-21 further recite and narrow the abstract idea of claims 2/12. The claims further recite the additional elements of using a GPS, remotely distributed processors, the object being a vehicle, an object controller , a second portable device. The controller/second portable device represent generic computing elements that are recited at a high level of generality. Using a GPS to gather data does no more than apply or link the use of the recited judicial exception to a particular technological environment/field of use. Using distributed computing system does no more than apply or link the use of the recited judicial exception to a particular technological environment/field of use. The object being a vehicle does no more than apply or link the use of the recited judicial exception to a particular technological environment/field of use. The additional elements do not, alone or in combination with the other additional elements, improve the functioning of the computing device or another technology/technical field, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claims above do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are not patent eligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 18, 19, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Menard (10311661) in further view of Li (20200004341). As per Claims 2 , 12, Menard teaches a system and method comprising: a fixed position device disposed in a fixed position relative to the object, said fixed position device including an antenna and configured to communicate wirelessly with a first portable device via a first communication link; (the device/portable device/link represent generic computing elements that perform the claimed limitations. vehicle [object] comprising a device disposed in a fixed position relative to the vehicle, the device including an antenna – at least: abstract, col2, lines 35-65; device communicates wirelessly with a portable device via a communication link – at least: abstract, col1, lines 20-65) a locator processor configured to determine relative location information about the first portable device relative to the object, (the processor represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitations. At least: col1, lines 40-60) said locator processor configured to determine said relative location information about the first portable device based on a signal characteristic of communications wirelessly transmitted from the first portable device; (at least col1, lines 40-60, abstract) the locator processor configured to obtain absolute location information about the first portable device based on output from an absolute location system; (the processor represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitations. At least: col5, lines 15-35) a tracking processor disposed on the object, the tracking processor configured to compare the relative location information and the absolute location information, (the processor represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitations. At least: abstract, col2, lines 35-65; col1, lines 20-65; col5, lines 15-35) the tracking processor operable, based on the comparison between the relative location information and the absolute location information, to determine the status of the first user corresponds to one of the following:1) the first user entered the object at or proximal to a first location relative to the object;2) the first user exited the object at or proximal to a second location relative to the object; 3)the first user is at a third location different from the first location for entry and the second location for exit; (at least: col5, lines 15-30: “In fact, the propagation time is translated into a distance between the communication module U 2 of the mobile apparatus SP and the communication module U 1 of the vehicle V, making it possible to define the area containing the mobile apparatus SP as being approximately the circle, with a radius equal to the distance d, centered on the antenna A 1 of the communication module U 1 of the vehicle V. The positioning calculations according to this method may be performed either at the vehicle V or, preferably, at the mobile apparatus SP”, col1, lines 40-60) Li further teaches: the tracking processor operable to initiate a notification to the first user based on the status of the first user, wherein the notification is operable to prompt the first user to take corrective action based on the first user being at the third location different from the first location for entry and the second location for exit relative to the object. (at least para 67) It would have been obvious for someone skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Menard’s existing features, with Li’s feature of the tracking processor operable to initiate a notification to the first user based on the status of the first user, wherein the notification is operable to prompt the first user to take corrective action based on the first user being at the third location different from the first location for entry and the second location for exit relative to the object , to send messages to vehicle users – Li, para 67. Furthermore, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As per Claims 3 , 13, Menard in view of Li teach: The absolute location system corresponds toa Global Positioning System (GPS). (Li, at least: para 33) As per Claims 8 , 18, Menard in view of Li teach: Simultaneously utilizing the object by the first user and a second user. (Li, at least: para 37: “ Sometimes, e.g., during the rush hour, more than one user may wave at a vehicle at the same time. Thus certain rules may be made for cases when multiple users waves simultaneously. For instance, if a user and a vehicle are on the same side of a road while the other user is on the other side, the user on the same side prevails. When multiple users are on the same side of a road, the user who is closer or the closest to the vehicle prevails. For such a purpose, a vehicle may be arranged to monitor and analyze multiple users at the same time.” As per Claims 9 , 19, Menard in view of Li teach: The object includes a first transport location and a second transport location respectively for the first and second users. (Li, at least para 37) As per Claims 10 , 20, Menard in view of Li teach: The first location of the object corresponds to a first route location; the second location of the object corresponds to second route location different from the first location. (Li, at least para 37, 33, 34) As per Claims 11 , 21, Menard in view of Li teach: determine the first portable device is located proximal or at the first transport location, and wherein the locator processor is operable to determine a second portable device is located proximal to or at the second transport location. (Li, at least para 37, 33, 34) Claims 4, 5, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Menard (10311661) in further view of Li (20200004341), in even further view of Khoo (9348381). As per Claims 4 , 14, Menard in view of Li teach: Storing tracking data for the first and second locations relative to the object; storing information associated with the first user for a set of locations of the object that includes the first and second locations. (Li, at least: para 29 , 44) Khoo further teaches: Storing …data…in at least one of a plurality of remotely distributed processors. (at least: col 38, lines 30-50) It would have been obvious for someone skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Menard’s existing features, combined with Li’s existing feature , with Khoo’s feature of storing …data…in at least one of a plurality of remotely distributed processors, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As per Claims 5 , 15, Menard in view of Li in further view of Khoo teach: The object is a vehicle; the first location corresponds to a first geographical location of the vehicle; the second location corresponds to second geographical location of the vehicle. (Menard, at least: abstract, Li: abstract – vehicle; Li- at least: fig 13, para 41, 49, 62, 63 – first vehicle location and second vehicle location) Claims 6, 7, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Menard (10311661) in further view of Li (20200004341), in further view of Khoo (9348381), in even further view of Buttolo (DE 102017117296 A1). As per Claims 6 , 16, Menard in view of Li in further view of Khoo teach: A controller disposed on the object is configured to detect an object status of the object indicating whether the object is moving or not (the controller represents a generic computing element that performs the claimed limitations. Li, at least: para 33 – vehicle sensor is construed as the controller) Buttolo further teaches: maintaining a first association between the first user and the object based on the determination that the first user entered the object at or proximal to the first location and the object is moving after the first association is made; and automatically changing the first association between the first user and the object based on the determination that the first user exited the object at or proximal to the second location when the object is not moving. (at least: page 4/14: “System outputs can include a visual display104 and speakers130 or other stereo system outputs. In various embodiments, a visual indication may be provided 104 can be provided for each passenger seat or area and can be used to indicate passenger identification (name) and route information for passengers entering the vehicle. Alternatively or in combination, another visual indicator, such as vehicle lighting associated with a particular seating position, may be lit in a particular color (eg, green) or in a particular pattern to indicate a reserved or assigned seat or area for a particular seat to identify the incoming passenger.”, page 7/14: “The system or method may include discontinuing the ride-sharing passenger as in 406 generally shown. As the vehicle approaches a destination associated with a particular vehicle seating area or location, as in FIG 440 a passenger message or alert may be provided as in 442 shown. This may include sending a message to a personal device of the passenger, changing the ambient lighting, providing an audible alarm, displaying a message on a vehicle-mounted display, etc., depending on the particular vehicle and implementation. The vehicle can detect the exit of the passenger, as at 444 and determine if any associated lane-checked baggage has been removed, as in FIG 446 shown. In response to the passenger exiting, the vehicle may communicate the occupancy status of the seat area or position to the remote server as available, as in 448 specified.”) It would have been obvious for someone skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Menard’s existing features, combined with Li’s existing feature , combined with Khoo’s existing feature, with Buttolo’s feature of maintaining a first association between the first user and the object based on the determination that the first user entered the object at or proximal to the first location and the object is moving after the first association is made; and automatically changing the first association between the first user and the object based on the determination that the first user exited the object at or proximal to the second location when the object is not moving, to provide a vehicle sharing system – Buttolo, abstract. Furthermore, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. As per Claims 7 , 17, Menard in view of Li in view of Khoo in further view of Buttolo teach: The determination that the first user entered the object at or proximal to the first location is based on the relative location information being indicative of the first portable device being at or proximal to a transport location inside the vehicle; and the determination that the first user exited the object at or proximal to the second location is based on the relative location information being indicative of the first portable device being at or proximal to an exterior of the vehicle. (Buttolo, at least: page 1/14: “ The system of claim 1, wherein the VCS is programmed to check passenger identity for a reserved seat area based on communication with a passenger's mobile device, and to control at least one of a vehicle lock and a vehicle door in response to checking the passenger identity , The system of claim 1, wherein the VCS is programmed to communicate an available occupancy status for a passenger seat area to the remote server in response to detecting that a passenger is leaving the vehicle based on signals received from the modules. The system of claim 1, wherein the modules comprise BLUETOOTH LOW ENERGY (BLE) modules. The system of claim 1, wherein the VCS is programmed to position the vehicle to set a reserved passenger seat area to one for pickup and outside in response to the triangulation of signals received by the modules from a passenger's mobile device align the passenger located in the vehicle.”, page 2/14: “The VCS may be configured to transmit, in response to approaching a delivery location associated with the occupied passenger seat area, a message for receipt by a mobile device of a passenger associated with an occupied passenger seat area. The VCS may be configured to receive from the remote server passenger preference settings associated with a passenger pick-up reservation for a particular passenger seat area. Embodiments may also include a VCS that is programmed to control at least one vehicle accessory associated with the pickup reservation for the particular passenger seating area based on the received passenger preference settings. The VCS may control a vehicle accessory associated with a reserved seating area prior to arrival at a scheduled pick-up location in response to the received passenger preference settings for the reserved seating area. The VCS may be programmed to check passenger identity for a reserved seating area based on communication with a passenger's mobile device, and to control at least one of a vehicle lock and a vehicle door in response to checking the passenger identity. In at least one embodiment, the VCS is programmed to communicate to the remote server, in response to detection that a passenger is leaving the vehicle, an available occupancy status for a passenger seat area based on signals received from the modules. The vehicle modules may be implemented using BLUETOOTH LOW ENERGY (BLE) modules or transceivers that employ similar communication strategies to determine or identify occupied or vacant status for a passenger seat. In one or more embodiments, a vehicle may include a VCS programmed to position the vehicle to respond in response to the triangulation of signals transmitted through at least one of the VCSs two BLE modules associated with one or more passenger seats have been received by a passenger's mobile device to align a reserved passenger seating area with a passenger scheduled for pickup and located outside the vehicle. The VCS may be programmed to unlock a cargo area in response to the arrival at a passenger destination based on the detection of baggage in the baggage area using the modules if the baggage is associated with the passenger destination. The VCS may also be programmed to unlock the cargo area upon arrival at a passenger pickup location in response to the detection of an encrypted handshake with a passenger’s personal device. Embodiments may also include a method of controlling a ride-sharing vehicle that includes controlling, by a vehicle processor, a vehicle accessory in conjunction with a separately reservable passenger seat in response to receiving a seat reservation with associated accessory setup preferences and a scheduled passenger pickup location, so that the settings of the vehicle accessories may be changed according to the preferences before the vehicle arrives at the pickup point. The vehicle accessory may include at least one of vehicle heating, interior lighting, seat heating, seat cooling, and a seat positioner. The vehicle may include a plurality of BLE modules, wherein at least one module is associated with each reservable passenger seat and is configured to communicate with a passenger's mobile device. The method may include transmitting an availability signal for a reservable passenger seat to a remote server in response to a passenger leaving the vehicle as detected based on signals received by at least two of the modules from the passenger's mobile device.”) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Bradley (20160332535) teaches a fixed position device disposed in a fixed position relative to an object, the device having an antenna configured to communicate wirelessly with a portable device via a communication link; a locator configured to determine location information about the device relative to the object, the locator configured to determine the information based on a signal characteristic of communications wirelessly transmitted from the device; a system configured to store a booking associated with the user, the system configured to determine a status of the user is checked-in for the booking based on the location information being indicative that the user is at a first position relative to the object; the system is configured to determine that the user status is checked-out for the booking based on the location formation being indicative that the user is at a second position relative to the object; the object is a vehicle. However, it lacks the combination of claimed elements as claimed by the independent claims. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alexandru Cirnu whose telephone number is (571) 272-7775. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ilana Spar can be reached on (571) 270-7537. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /Alexandru Cirnu/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622 6/1/2026 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 2 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 3 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 4 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 5 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 6 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 7 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 8 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 9 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 10 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 11 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 12 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 13 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 14 Art Unit: 3622 Application/Control Number: 19/238,961 Page 15 Art Unit: 3622