DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application is a divisional of application 18/356650, now abandoned.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species E drawn to Figs. 7A-7B in the reply filed on 01/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7, 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/26/2026.
Claims 1-5, 8-15 and 18-20 are currently being examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 12, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 8 and 18, in line 3 of each claim, “the rectangular void” should read as – the at least one rectangular void --.
Claim 12: in line 2, “a first face” should read as – the first face--; and in line 3, “a second face” should read – the second face --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDavid 20180291754.
Regarding independent claim 1, McDavid discloses a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1) comprising:
a case (60 Fig. 2) having a wall (71 Fig. 2-3) that provides a manifold cavity (72 Fig. 2-3), the wall including an aperture (70 Fig. 2-3) and a bore (79 Fig. 2-3);
a tube assembly (74 Fig. 2-3) with a flange (76 Fig. 2-3) that provides a fluid passage (fluid passage radially outward of 70 in Fig. 3) aligned with the aperture (fluid passage is aligned with 70 in Fig. 3 and per para. 0038);
a mixing feature (80 Fig. 2-3) arranged in the manifold cavity (80 is arranged in 72 in Fig. 2) and including a plate (82 Fig. 3) with a hole (90 Fig. 3); and
an insert (92 Fig. 3) having a body (94 Fig. 3) and a head (96 Fig. 3), the body received in the hole (as shown in Fig. 3, 94 is received in 90) and sealed in the bore (per para. 0044, 92 is pressed fit into bore 79 such that the body 94 is in an interference relationship with the outer case 60, i.e., 92 is sealed in the bore), the head capturing the plate against the wall (per para. 0044, head 96 captures the plate 82 against wall 71),
wherein the mixing feature is configured to divert a flow of a cooling fluid (a flow of cooling fluid from a compressor stage 124 flows to heat exchanger 78 and then into tube assembly 74 and then into 80 as shown in Fig. 2 and described in para. 0038) in at least a counterclockwise direction (per para. 0041 mixing feature 80 diverts the cooling fluid in a circumferential direction in the cavity 72 which may be in a counterclockwise direction depending on the viewing reference) thereby improving jet mixing and placement of the cooling fluid (per para. 0041: in order to evenly distribute the cooling fluid, a flow diverter 80 is arranged in the cavity 72 and secured to the outer case 60 and at least partially blocks the cooling flow through the aperture 70 into the cavity 72, block arrow in FIG. 3, to circulate the cooling fluid in a circumferential direction to avoid hot spots, since without mixing feature 80 the cooling fluid supplied by the heat exchanger 78 may not be evenly distributed around the diffuser case 66, creating hot and cold portions on the diffuser case 66 in an alternating pattern, which could lead to durability issues).
Regarding claim 3, McDavid further discloses:
a combustor section (26 Fig. 1) arranged between a compressor section (24 Fig. 1) and a turbine section (28 Fig. 1), the mixing feature arranged upstream of the combustor section and radially outward from a vane (61 Fig. 2) in the compressor section (80 is arranged upstream of combustor section 26 and radially outward of 61 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, McDavid further discloses wherein the vane is supported by an outside wall (65 Fig. 2), the case is an outer case (60 is an outer case as shown in Fig. 2), and the manifold cavity is arranged radially between the outer case and the outside wall (72 is arranged radially between 60 and 65 in Fig. 2), the mixing feature configured to move the cooling fluid circumferentially about the manifold cavity (80 diverts the cooling fluid to move circumferentially about 72 per para. 0041).
Regarding claim 5, McDavid further discloses a heat exchanger (78 Fig. 2) fluidly connected to the tube assembly (as shown by flow arrow in Fig. 2 and as described in para. 0038, 78 is fluidly connected to 74), wherein the heat exchanger is arranged fluidly between a compressor stage (124 Fig. 2 para. 0038) in the compressor section and the manifold cavity (78 is arranged fluidly between 124 and 72 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, McDavid further discloses the wall includes an unmachined inner surface (inner surface 102 in Fig. 5 is not machined per para. 0045) and wherein a gasket (gasket 110 in Fig. 5 para. 0045) is provided between the unmachined inner surface and the plate (110 is provided between 102 and plate 82 in Fig. 5 per para. 0045).
Regarding claim 12, McDavid further discloses the plate includes first and second faces (104, 106 in Fig. 3) spaced apart from one another (104 is spaced from 106 in Fig. 3), and the wall includes an inner surface (102 Fig. 3), a first face and the inner surface adjacent to one another (104 is adjacent 102 in Fig. 3), and the head abutting a second face (96 abuts 106 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, McDavid further discloses: a fastener (100 Fig. 3) securing the flange to the insert and clamping the mixing feature to the case (100 secures 76 to 92 and clamps 80 to 60 in Fig. 3 and per para. 0044), wherein the body includes a threaded hole (95 Fig. 3 para. 0044) and wherein the fastener is a bolt received in the threaded hole (100 is a bolt per para. 0013).
Regarding claim 14, McDavid further discloses the hole is larger than an outer diameter of the body (per para. 0044, hole 90 is larger than the outside diameter of body 94).
Regarding independent claim 15, McDavid discloses: a case assembly (case assembly shown in Fig. 2) for a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1), comprising:
a wall (71 Fig. 2-3) including an aperture (70 Fig. 2-3) and a bore (79 Fig. 2-3);
a mixing feature (80 Fig. 2-3) including a plate (82 Fig. 3) with a hole (90 Fig. 3); and
an insert (92 Fig. 3) having a body (94 Fig. 3) and a head (96 Fig. 3), the body received in the hole (as shown in Fig. 3, 94 is received in 90) and sealed in the bore (per para. 0044, 92 is pressed fit into bore 79 such that the body 94 is in an interference relationship with the outer case 60, i.e., 92 is sealed in the bore), the head capturing the plate against the wall (per para. 0044, head 96 captures the plate 82 against wall 71),
wherein the mixing feature is configured to divert a flow of a cooling fluid (a flow of cooling fluid from a compressor stage 124 flows to heat exchanger 78 and then into tube assembly 74 and into 80 as shown in Fig. 2 and described in para. 0038) in at least one of a counterclockwise direction or a clockwise direction (per para. 0041 mixing feature 80 diverts the cooling fluid in a circumferential direction in the cavity 72 which is at least one of a counterclockwise direction or a clockwise direction) improving jet mixing and placement of the cooling fluid (per para. 0041: in order to evenly distribute the cooling fluid, a flow diverter 80 is arranged in the cavity 72 and secured to the outer case 60 and at least partially blocks the cooling flow through the aperture 70 into the cavity 72 (block arrow in FIG. 3) to circulate the cooling fluid in a circumferential direction to avoid hot spots, since without mixing feature 80 the cooling fluid supplied by the heat exchanger 78 may not be evenly distributed around the diffuser case 66, creating hot and cold portions on the diffuser case 66 in an alternating pattern, which could lead to durability issues).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8-9, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDavid 20180291754 in view of Tu et al. 20210246832.
Regarding claim 2, McDavid teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding the mixing feature is further configured to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in a clockwise direction thereby generating circumferential swirl.
Tu teaches a flow diverter for a gas turbine engine per [0007]. Flow diverter 318 is connected to casing 320 and supplied with cooling air via cooling air conduit 310 per [0050], and flow diverter 318 is arranged and positioned within manifold cavity 312, e.g., between the vane platform 316 and the frame 320, to prevent direct impingement of a cooling flow upon the vane platform 316 and to direct a substantial, e.g., all or at least more than half of the cooling flow in an aftward direction per [0051] but other embodiments may include one or more diversion slots configured to allow a portion of the flow through the flow diverter to be directed in a non-aft direction, e.g., forward or circumferentially/tangentially, relative to an engine axis per [0057]. Flow diverter (k) shown in Fig. 8 has a plurality of rectangular diversion slots 856 which allow portions of a flow of cooling air to be directed in opposite directions such as counterclockwise and clockwise circumferential directions with respect to the engine axis.
Although Tu teaches the flow diverter is connected to a mid-turbine frame case of the gas turbine engine as shown in Fig. 3 of Tu, the flow diverter is analogous to the mixing feature 80 of McDavid which is connected to a case upstream of a combustion section 26 in Fig. 2 of McDavid since each of the flow diverter of Tu and the mixing feature of McDavid receive cooling air and each directs the cooling air to a manifold cavity which contains air hotter than the cooling air, such that mixing of the cooling air and hotter air takes place in the manifold cavity. Therefore, the flow diverter of Tu is also a mixing feature. The mixing feature of Tu circulates cooling air to promote uniform cooling around the circumference of the manifold cavity per Tu [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mixing feature in the invention of McDavid to be configured like the mixing feature (k) of Fig. 8 of Tu to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in a clockwise direction, in addition to the counterclockwise direction, thereby generating circumferential swirl to promote uniform cooling around the circumference of the manifold cavity (Tu [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, McDavid in view of Tu teaches all that is claimed above in claim 2 and teaches the mixing feature includes at least one rectangular void (as discussed above in claim 2, (k) in Fig. 8 of Tu shows a plurality of rectangular diversion slots 856, i.e., rectangular voids), and
wherein the rectangular void is configured to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in at least one of the counterclockwise direction or the clockwise direction (as discussed above in claim 2, mixing feature (k) shown in Fig. 8 of Tu has a plurality of rectangular diversion slots 856 which allow portions of a flow of cooling air to be directed in opposite directions such as counterclockwise and clockwise circumferential directions with respect to the engine axis, such that some of the rectangular voids 856 of the configuration (k) direct some of the flow of cooling fluid in the counterclockwise direction and some of the rectangular voids 856 of the configuration (k) directs some of the flow of cooling fluid in the clockwise direction).
Regarding claim 18, McDavid teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding the mixing feature includes at least one rectangular void, and
wherein the rectangular void is configured to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in at least one of the counterclockwise direction or the clockwise direction.
Tu teaches a flow diverter for a gas turbine engine per [0007]. Flow diverter 318 is connected to casing 320 and supplied with cooling air via cooling air conduit 310 per [0050], and flow diverter 318 is arranged and positioned within manifold cavity 312, e.g., between the vane platform 316 and the frame 320, to prevent direct impingement of a cooling flow upon the vane platform 316 and to direct a substantial, e.g., all or at least more than half of the cooling flow in an aftward direction per [0051] but other embodiments may include one or more diversion slots configured to allow a portion of the flow through the flow diverter to be directed in a non-aft direction, e.g., forward or circumferentially/tangentially, relative to an engine axis per [0057]. Flow diverter (k) shown in Fig. 8 has a plurality of rectangular diversion slots 856, i.e., rectangular voids, which allow portions of a flow of cooling air to be directed in opposite directions such as counterclockwise and clockwise circumferential directions with respect to the engine axis.
Although Tu teaches the flow diverter is connected to a mid-turbine frame case of the gas turbine engine as shown in Fig. 3 of Tu, the flow diverter is analogous to the mixing feature 80 of McDavid which is connected to a case upstream of a combustion section 26 in Fig. 2 of McDavid since each of the flow diverter of Tu and the mixing feature of McDavid receive cooling air and each directs the cooling air to a manifold cavity which contains air hotter than the cooling air, such that mixing of the cooling air and hotter air takes place in the manifold cavity. Therefore, the flow diverter of Tu is also a mixing feature. The mixing feature of Tu circulates cooling air to promote uniform cooling around the circumference of the manifold cavity per Tu [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mixing feature in the invention of McDavid to be configured like the mixing feature (k) of Fig. 8 of Tu such that the mixing feature includes a plurality of rectangular voids which is at least one rectangular void, and wherein some of the plurality of rectangular voids are configured to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in the counterclockwise direction and some of the plurality of rectangular voids are configured to divert the flow of the cooling the fluid in the clockwise direction to promote uniform cooling around the circumference of the manifold cavity (Tu [0004]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, McDavid in view of Tu teaches all that is claimed above respectively in claims 8 and 18 and teaches the mixing feature includes at least one other rectangular void (as discussed above in claims 8 and 18, (k) in Fig. 8 of Tu has a plurality of rectangular voids 856 such that there is at least one other rectangular void), wherein the at least one rectangular void is a first rectangular void (a first rectangular void 856 on right side of (k) in Fig. 8 of Tu) and wherein the at least one other rectangular void is a second rectangular void (a second rectangular void 856 on left side of (k) in Fig. 8 of Tu),
wherein the first rectangular void is configured to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in the clockwise direction (first rectangular void 856 on right side of (k) in Fig. 8 is configured to divert cooling fluid in clockwise direction),
wherein the second rectangular void is configured to divert the flow of the cooling fluid in the counterclockwise direction (second rectangular void 856 on left side of (k) in Fig. 8 is configured to divert cooling fluid in counterclockwise direction), and
wherein the second rectangular void is located opposite the first rectangular void (second rectangular void 856 on left side is located opposite first rectangular void 856 on right side of (k) in Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Closest prior art McDavid and Tu each do not separately teach the limitations of claims 10 and 20, and it would not be obvious to modify McDavid in view of Tu to include a wedge-shaped fluid diversion member disposed within an inner circumference of the mixer feature (k) of Tu configured to direct the flow of the cooling fluid through the first rectangular void 856 and the second rectangular void 856. Although, Tu does teach a separation rib dividing the flow of cooling fluid in embodiments shown in Figs. 6 and in (i) and (j) of Fig. 8, those embodiments do not include rectangular voids, and each separation rib is not wedge-shaped.
Conclusion
/A.J.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741