DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on August 12th, 2026 for application no. 19/239,567 filed on June 16th, 2025. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10 and 12-16 are pending. In the present amendment, claims 1, 10 and 12-13 are amended, and claims 6, 9, 11 and 17-19 are canceled.
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 13 (lines 11-12), please change the recitation of “the first rotating structure about the axis a second sun gear” to - - the first rotating structure about the axis; a second sun gear - - to correct a minor informality.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 10 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,135,076. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because conflicting claims 1-3, 10 and 14 in the instant application are rendered obvious by claims 1, 13 and 15 of U.S. Patent 12,135,076, in view of Bagnall (US 4,964,844).
Regarding Claim 1, claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 teach an engine assembly, comprising:
a sun gear rotatable about an axis (claim 1, col. 16, lines 49-51);
a ring gear rotatable about the axis and circumscribing the sun gear (claim 1, col. 16, lines 51-52);
a plurality of intermediate gears arranged circumferentially about the axis in an array, each of the plurality of intermediate gears radially between and meshed with the sun gear and the ring gear (claim 1, col. 16, lines 52-56);
a carrier rotatable about the axis, each of the plurality of intermediate gears rotatably mounted to the carrier (claim 1, col. 16, lines 50 and 56-58);
a first rotating structure comprising the carrier (claim 1, col. 16, line 59);
a second sun gear (claim 15, col. 18, line 6);
a second ring gear circumscribing the second sun gear, the second ring gear rotatable about the axis (claim 15, col. 18, lines 7-8);
a plurality of second intermediate gears arranged circumferentially about the axis in an array, each of the plurality of second intermediate gears radially between and meshed with the second sun gear and the second ring gear (claim 15, col. 18, lines 9-13);
a second carrier rotatable about the axis, each of the plurality of second intermediate gears rotatably mounted to the second carrier (claim 15, col. 18, lines 14-16); and
a second rotating structure comprising the second carrier (claim 15, col. 18, lines 16-17).
Claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 do not teach “a plurality of bearings arranged axially along the first rotating structure, each of the plurality of bearings configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure about the axis”.
Bagnall teaches a plurality of bearings (Fig. 7, at least “bearing” 100 and “bearing” 98; “planet gears” 282 are mounted on bearings as well) arranged axially along an intermediate gear carrier (“carrier” 286), each of the plurality of bearings (at least 100, 98) configured to support rotation of the intermediate gear carrier (286) about an axis (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the engine assembly taught by claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 with the plurality of bearings taught by Bagnall, such that “a plurality of bearings arranged axially along the first rotating structure, each of the plurality of bearings configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure about the axis”, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized there was a reasonable expectation of success in combining known elements, and have the obvious advantage of rotationally supporting the intermediate gear carrier taught by claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076.
Regarding Claim 2, claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 and Bagnall teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
Bagnall teaches wherein the plurality of bearings (Fig. 7, 100, 98) are arranged to a common axial side of the array of the plurality of intermediate gears (taught in combination with claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076).
Regarding Claim 3, claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 and Bagnall teach the engine assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
Claim 1 of US 12,135,076 teaches a gear system including the sun gear, the ring gear, the plurality of intermediate gears and the carrier (claim 1, col. 16, lines 49-50);
Bagnall teaches the plurality of bearings comprising a first bearing and a second bearing (Fig. 7, 100, 98); and
the first bearing (Fig. 7, 100) disposed axially between the second bearing (98) and the gear system (taught in combination with claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076).
Regarding Claim 10, claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 and Bagnall teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
Claim 15 of US 12,135,076 teaches wherein the second sun gear is rotatable about the axis (claim 15, col. 18, line 6).
Regarding Claim 14, claims 1, 13 and 15 of US 12,135,076 and Bagnall teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
Bagnall teaches wherein a first (Fig. 7, 100) of the plurality of bearings (100, 98) comprises a rolling element bearing (see Fig. 7 of Bagnall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 14, in the recitation of “wherein a first of the plurality of bearings comprises a rolling element bearing” the difference between the “first” recited in claim 14 and the “rolling element bearing” recited in claim 14 is unclear. The lack of clarity renders the claim indefinite. Applicant could recite “wherein a first of the plurality of bearings is a rolling element bearing” to clarify the recitation and Examiner will interpret the recitation as such during examination. See MPEP 2173.05(o) – Double Inclusion.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 10, 12 and 14-16 are rejected based upon their dependency to a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moroto (US 5,876,300).
Regarding Claim 1, Moroto teaches an engine assembly (see Figs. 1 and 16), comprising:
a sun gear (“sun gear” s3) rotatable about an axis (see Fig. 16);
a ring gear (“ring gear” r3) rotatable about the axis and circumscribing the sun gear (s3);
a plurality of intermediate gears (“pinion gears” p3) arranged circumferentially about the axis in an array, each of the plurality of intermediate gears (p3) radially between and meshed with the sun gear (s3) and the ring gear (r3);
a carrier (“carrier” c3) rotatable about the axis, each of the plurality of intermediate gears (p3) rotatably mounted to the carrier (c3);
a first rotating structure (c3 and “counter drive gear” 19) comprising the carrier (c3); and
a plurality of bearings (“bearings” 76 and/or 24, 25) arranged axially along the first rotating structure (c3, 19), each of the plurality of bearings (76, 24, 25) configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure (c3, 19) about the axis (see Fig. 16);
a second sun gear (s1);
a second ring gear (r1) circumscribing the second sun gear (s1), the second ring gear (r1) rotatable about the axis;
a plurality of second intermediate gears (p1) arranged circumferentially about the axis in an array, each of the plurality of second intermediate gears (p1) radially between and meshed with the second sun gear (s1) and the second ring gear (r1);
a second carrier (c1) rotatable about the axis, each of the plurality of second intermediate gears (p1) rotatably mounted to the second carrier (c1); and
a second rotating structure (c1 and “carrier shaft” 17) comprising the second carrier (c1).
Regarding Claim 2, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of bearings (Fig. 16; 24, 25) are arranged to a common axial side of the array of the plurality of intermediate gears (p3; see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 3, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a gear system (Fig. 16, m3) including the sun gear (s3), the ring gear (r3), the plurality of intermediate gears (p3) and the carrier (c3);
the plurality of bearings (24, 25) comprising a first bearing (24) and a second bearing (25); and
the first bearing (24) disposed axially between the second bearing (25) and the gear system (m3; see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 4, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a stationary structure (“transmission case” 10) circumscribing the first rotating structure (c3, 19);
the plurality of bearings (Fig. 16; 24, 25) comprising a first bearing (24), the first bearing (24) radially between and engaged with the first rotating structure (c3, 19) and the stationary structure (10; see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 5, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 4,
wherein the plurality of bearings (Fig. 16; 24, 25) further comprise a second bearing (25); and
the second bearing (25) is radially between and engaged with the first rotating structure (c3, 19) and the stationary structure (10).
Regarding Claim 10, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 1,
wherein the second sun gear (Fig. 16, s1) is rotatable about the axis (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 12, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
a geartrain (Fig. 16; m3, m1) including the sun gear (s3), the ring gear (r3), the plurality of intermediate gears (p3), the carrier (c3), the second sun gear (s1), the second ring gear (r1), the plurality of second intermediate gears (p1) and the second carrier (c1); and
a rotating assembly (Fig. 1, 12) comprising a turbine rotor (turbine portion of 12), the rotating assembly (12) coupled to the geartrain (m3, m1) through at least one of the sun gear (s3) or the second sun gear (s1).
Regarding Claim 14, Moroto teaches the engine assembly of claim 1,
wherein a first (Fig. 16, 24) of the plurality of bearings (24, 25) comprises a rolling element bearing (24; see 112(b) rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto (US 10,041,498), in view of Okamoto (US 9,683,636).
Regarding Claim 1, Otto teaches an engine assembly (Fig. 2, “gas turbofan engine” 20B), comprising:
a sun gear (“sun gear” 72) rotatable about an axis (“axis” A);
a ring gear (“ring gear” 76) rotatable about the axis (A) and circumscribing the sun gear (72);
a plurality of intermediate gears (“gears” 74) arranged circumferentially about the axis (A) in an array, each of the plurality of intermediate gears (74) radially between and meshed with the sun gear (72) and the ring gear (76);
a carrier (“carrier” 78) rotatable about the axis (A), each of the plurality of intermediate gears (74) rotatably mounted to the carrier (78);
a first rotating structure (78 and input portion of “gear controller” 84) comprising the carrier (78);
a second sun gear (“sun gear” 64);
a second ring gear (“ring gear” 68) circumscribing the second sun gear (64), the second ring gear (68) rotatable about the axis (A);
a plurality of second intermediate gears (“gears” 66) arranged circumferentially about the axis (A) in an array, each of the plurality of second intermediate gears (66) radially between and meshed with the second sun gear (64) and the second ring gear (68);
a second carrier (“carrier” 70) rotatable about the axis (A), each of the plurality of second intermediate gears (66) rotatably mounted to the second carrier (70); and
a second rotating structure (70 and “coupling” 82) comprising the second carrier (70).
Otto does not teach “a plurality of bearings arranged axially along the first rotating structure, each of the plurality of bearings configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure about the axis”.
Okamoto teaches a plurality of bearings (Fig. 1, “bearing members” 16) arranged axially along a first rotating structure (“supporting axis” 15 and “carriers” 19 and 20), each of the plurality of bearings (16) configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure (15, 19, 20) about an axis (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first rotating structure taught by Otto with the bearings taught by Okamoto, such that “a plurality of bearings arranged axially along the first rotating structure, each of the plurality of bearings configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure about the axis”, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized there was a reasonable expectation of success in combining known elements, and have the obvious advantage of rotatably supporting the first rotating structure taught by Otto.
Regarding Claim 7, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
Otto teaches a first propulsor rotor (Fig. 2, “fan” 42);
a geartrain (“compressor drive gear system” 62) including the sun gear (72), the ring gear (76), the plurality of intermediate gears (74) and the carrier (78); and
a rotating assembly (“turbine section” 28) comprising a turbine rotor (one of HT, IT or LT), the rotating assembly (28) configured to drive the first propulsor rotor (42) through the geartrain (62; see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 7, further comprising:
Otto teaches a second propulsor rotor (Fig. 2, “low pressure compressor” 44);
the rotating assembly (28) configured to drive rotation of the second propulsor rotor (44).
Regarding Claim 10, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
wherein the second sun gear (Fig. 2, 64) is rotatable about the axis (A).
Regarding Claim 12, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
Otto teaches a geartrain (Fig. 2, “fan drive gear system” 48 and 62) including the sun gear (72), the ring gear (76), the plurality of intermediate gears (74), the carrier (78), the second sun gear (64), the second ring gear (68), the plurality of second intermediate gears (66) and the second carrier (70); and
a rotating assembly (28) comprising a turbine rotor (one of HT, IT, LT), the rotating assembly (28) coupled to the geartrain (48, 62) through at least one of the sun gear (72) or the second sun gear (64; see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Otto teaches an engine assembly (Fig. 2, 20B), comprising:
a sun gear (72) rotatable about an axis (A);
a ring gear (76) rotatable about the axis (A) and circumscribing the sun gear (72);
a plurality of intermediate gears (74) arranged circumferentially about the axis (A) in an array, each of the plurality of intermediate gears (74) radially between and meshed with the sun gear (72) and the ring gear (76);
a carrier (78) rotatable about the axis (A), each of the plurality of intermediate gears (74) rotatably mounted to the carrier (78);
a first rotating structure (78 and input portion of 84) comprising the carrier (78);
a second sun gear (64);
a second ring gear (68) circumscribing the second sun gear (64);
a plurality of second intermediate gears (66) arranged circumferentially about the axis (A) in an array, each of the plurality of second intermediate gears (66) radially between and meshed with the second sun gear (64) and the second ring gear (68);
a second carrier (70) rotatable about the axis (A), each of the plurality of second intermediate gears (66) rotatably mounted to the second carrier (70);
a second rotating structure (70, 82) comprising the second carrier (70);
a geartrain (48, 62) including the sun gear (72), the ring gear (76), the plurality of intermediate gears (74), the carrier (78), the second sun gear (64), the second ring gear (68), the plurality of second intermediate gears (66) and the second carrier (70);
a rotating assembly (28) comprising a turbine rotor (one of HT, IT or LT), the rotating assembly (28) coupled to the geartrain (48, 62) through at least one (both) of the sun gear (72) or the second sun gear (64); and
a first propulsor rotor (44) coupled to the geartrain (48, 62) through the second ring gear (68);
the rotating assembly (28) configured to drive the first propulsor rotor (44) through the geartrain (48, 62).
Otto does not teach “a plurality of bearings arranged axially along the first rotating structure, each of the plurality of bearings configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure about the axis”.
Okamoto teaches a plurality of bearings (Fig. 1, 16) arranged axially along a first rotating structure (15, 19, 20), each of the plurality of bearings (16) configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure (15, 19, 20) about an axis (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first rotating structure taught by Otto with the bearings taught by Okamoto, such that “a plurality of bearings arranged axially along the first rotating structure, each of the plurality of bearings configured to support rotation of the first rotating structure about the axis”, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized there was a reasonable expectation of success in combining known elements, and have the obvious advantage of rotatably supporting the first rotating structure taught by Otto.
Regarding Claim 14, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
Okamoto teaches wherein a first of the plurality of bearings (Fig. 1, 16) comprises a rolling element bearing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
Otto teaches further comprising a lock device (Fig. 2, “gear controller” 84) configured to lock rotation of the first rotating structure (78 and input portion of 84) about the axis (A; col. 7, lines 23-29 – “Because the gear controller 84 is coupled to the carrier 78, it can vary resistance and thereby rotation of the carrier 78 between a fixed position that provides a speed reduction according to the gear system ratio and a substantially open position where the carrier is free to rotate closer to the speed of the intermediate shaft 5”).
Regarding Claim 16, Otto and Okamoto teach the engine assembly of claim 1,
Otto teaches further comprising a brake (Fig. 2, 84) configured to brake rotation of the first rotating structure (78 and input portion of 84) about the axis (A).
Response to Arguments
The Applicant's arguments filed August 12th, 2026 are in response to the Office Action mailed May 12th, 2026. The Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Response to Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 17, Applicant’s amendment addresses a minor informality indicated in the previous Office Action. As such, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Response to Nonstatutory Double Patenting Rejections
Regarding Claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 14-17, Applicant’s argument that “Independent claim 1 has been amended to include the features from its dependent claim 11, which features of claim 11 are not rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting. Applicants respectfully submit therefore this rejection of claim 1 and, thus, the rejections of its dependent claims are now moot and should be withdrawn. Claims 6 and 17 have been cancelled and, thus, these rejections thereof are now moot and should be withdrawn” (p. 6) is persuasive. As such, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1, 4, 6-8 and 14-17 mentioned in the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn; however, see new nonstatutory double patenting rejections above.
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding Claim 6, claim 6 has been canceled. As such, the 112(d) rejection indicated in the previous Office Action is withdrawn.
Response to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 103
Regarding Claims 1 and 13, Applicant’s argument that “Independent claim 1 has been amended to include the features from its dependent claim 11, which features of claim 11 are identified on page 17 of the Office Action as including patentable subject matter. Applicant respectfully submits therefore this rejection of claim 1 and, thus, the rejections of its dependent claims are now moot and should be withdrawn. Claims 6 and 17-19 have been cancelled and, thus, these rejections thereof are now moot and should be withdrawn” (p. 6-7) is not persuasive. In light of newly discovered prior art, Examiner does not believe original claim 11 contains allowable subject matter. See new rejection necessitated by newly disclosed prior art.
In conclusion, amended claims 1-5, 7-8, 10 and 12-16 are rejected. See detailed and relevant rejections set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The prior art of Sheridan (US 11,015,533), Geidal (US 4,887,424), Hrubec (US 11,408,355), Rudolph (US 4,817,382), Adamson (US 4,251,987), Nowakowski (US 11,421,603), Kamat (US 11,428,160) and Pankaj (US 11,725,590) listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited" disclose similar engine assemblies comprising geartrains and bearings related to various aspects of the claimed invention.
JAMES J. TAYLOR II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/JAMES J TAYLOR II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655