DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to correspondence
This office action is in response to correspondence filed on 02/09/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 06/16/2025, 07/23/2025, 11/04/2025 and 01/27/2026 were filed before the first action on the merits. This submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, they have been fully considered by the Office.
Election/Restriction
It is acknowledged that applicant has elected without traverse Group II, claims 15-28 drawn to “A method of producing hydrogen from steam “ and added new apparatus claims 29-42 drawn to “ A system for producing hydrogen from steam”, in a required election-restriction correspondence received 02/09/2026.
Abstract
The abstract filed 06/16/2025 appears to be acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29, 15, 30, 16, 37, 23, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Publication 2022/0228271 A1 to ASHOK et al. (ASHOK).
Re: Claim 29:
ASHOK discloses:
A system for producing hydrogen from steam using renewable electricity and for recovering waste heat, the system including:
a heat generation system (See Figs.1-2: ¶0050-¶0051: electric heater 30.2 may be supplied with electrical energy from a renewable source as well) configured to convert electricity derived from a renewable energy source into heat;
a thermal energy storage medium (See Figs.1-2: ¶0048: thermal energy storage medium 13) configured to receive and store the heat;
a heat extraction system (See Figs.1-2: heat extraction system as explained in ¶0051-¶0055: the heat storage medium in the instant case air exchanges heat in heat exchangers 50.2 and 50.1 the steam cycle B.3-B.4 extracts heat) , configured to extract heat from the thermal energy storage medium (See Figs.1-2: ¶0051-¶0055) and to transfer the extracted heat to a fluid (See Figs.1-2: ¶0053: a fluid being water/steam is heated in a range to a temperature suitable/selected for application to a solid oxide electrolysis system 20.2 for operability of SOEC) to heat the fluid to a temperature selected for application to a solid oxide electrolysis system (See Figs.1-2: ¶0053: steam via circuit B3-B4 is heated for application to solid oxide electrolysis system 20.2) ;
the solid oxide electrolysis system (See Figs.1-2: ¶0053: 20.2 produces hydrogen D.2) configured to produce hydrogen from steam (See Figs.1-2: ¶0053: from steam B.3) and to discharge the heated fluid (See Figs.1-2: ¶0053: the heated fluid is discharged via steam line entering turbine 70.1 as a product fluid after electrolysis) as a product fluid; and
a heat exchanger (See Figs.1-2: heat exchanger 50.3 configured to receive the product fluid via turbines 70.1, 70.2) configured to receive the product fluid and recover waste heat from the product fluid (See Figs.1-2: ¶0053: waste heat is recovered via heat exchanger 50.3 , such waste heat is extracted by a cooling tower).
ASHOK discloses all the limitations of method claim 15.
Re: Claims 30 and 16:
ASHOK discloses:
The system of claim 29, ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 29, and further including a steam delivery system (See Figs.1-2: steam delivery system via B.3-B.4 outputs steam to industrial process via turbine 70.1, 70.2) configured to output steam to an industrial process and/or to a steam turbine configured to generate electricity.
ASHOK discloses all the limitations of method claim 16.
Re: Claims 37 and 23:
ASHOK discloses:
The system of claim 29, ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 29, and
wherein the renewable energy source includes a thermophotovoltaic generation system configured to convert thermal radiation into electrical energy, a wind turbine configured to generate electricity, and/or a solar energy source configured to convert solar energy into electricity (ASHOK: See Figs. 1-2: ¶0050: discloses renewable energy being a wind turbine configured to generate electricity).
ASHOK discloses all the limitations of method claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32, 18, 33, 19, 34, 20, 38, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication 2022/0228271 A1 to ASHOK et al. (ASHOK) in view of U.S Patent number 4028884 to MARTZ et al. (MARTZ).
Re: Claims 32 and 18:
ASHOK discloses:
The system of claim 30, further including a steam generator (See Figs.1-2:¶0053: in the steam line B.4, water is condensed and transported by means of the pump 60 and typically steam is generated in steam generator 50.2) and a fluid movement system (See Figs.1-2:¶0053: discloses pump 60.2) configured to circulate the fluid through the steam generator (See Figs.1-2:¶0053: steam generator 50.2) , ASHOK is silent regarding: at a selected rate.
However it is well known in the art that control valves are employed to control the flow of condensate to a steam generator, such a system is explicitly taught by U.S Patent number 4028884 to MARTZ et al., because MARTZ teaches a control valve to regulate the flow of condensate to steam generator (MARTZ: See Fig.1: col. 8 lines 3-20: explains control valves 35 and 32 to control the flow rate), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ flow control valves to deliver condensate at a selected rate to steam generators to extract heat efficiently from and to use the extracted heat to convert a fluid such as water into superheated steam (MARTZ: col. 2 lines 30-33).
ASHOK and MARTZ disclose all the limitations of method claim 18.
Re: Claims 33 and 19:
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses:
The system of claim 32, modified ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 32, and further including at least one sensor configured to measure a parameter of the output steam (MARTZ: See Figs. 6A, 17:col. 30: lines 40-64, col. 54 lines 7-21: discloses temperature sensor 589 for sensing temperature of steam outputted by steam generator).
ASHOK and MARTZ disclose all the limitations of method claim 19.
Re: Claims 34 and 20:
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses:
The system of claim 33, modified ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 33, further including a controller configured to select the selected rate based on the parameter (MARTZ: See Figs. 6A, 17 : See Fig. 17:col. 30: lines 40-64, col. 54 lines 7-21: col. 54 lines 1-52: discloses a bypass valve to regulate flow rate of steam using bypass valve 588 based on setpoint value of temperature).
ASHOK and MARTZ disclose all the limitations of method claim 20.
Re: Claims 38 and 24:
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses:
The system of claim 32, modified ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 32, and
wherein the fluid movement system is configured to circulate the fluid, after passing through the steam generator, back to the thermal energy storage medium (ASHOK: See Fig.2: fluid movement system via A.1, 40.1, 30.1, recirculates the fluid via thermal energy storage medium) .
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses all the limitations of method claim 24.
Claim(s) 35, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication 2022/0228271 A1 to ASHOK et al. (ASHOK) in view of U.S Patent number 4028884 to MARTZ et al. (MARTZ) as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of U.S Patent number 4123909 to FRENCH (FRENCH).
Re: Claims 35 and 21:
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses:
The system of claim 33, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to measure a velocity of the output steam.
However, U.S Patent number 4123909 to FRENCH teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor is configured to measure a velocity of the output steam (FRENCH: See Fig.1: col. 3 lines 1-21: circuit 44 receives the output of steam-generator level indicator 12, typically a differential pressure sensor, and it uses this output, as does the prior art, to determine whether or not to generate a turbine trip signal. However, unlike the prior art, trip circuit 44 also receives an indication of steam velocity from flowmeter 30) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further configure the modified ASHOK as explicitly taught by FRENCH, because FRENCH teaches that this configuration provides the benefit of improved high-water-level trip control for a steam turbine.
ASHOK and MARTZ disclose all the limitations of method claim 21.
Claim(s) 36, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication 2022/0228271 A1 to ASHOK et al. (ASHOK) in view of U.S Patent number 4028884 to MARTZ et al. (MARTZ) as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of U.S Publication number 2009/0125152 A1 to SKOWRONSKI et al. (SKOWRONSKI).
Re: Claims 36 and 22:
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses:
The system of claim 32, modified ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 32, the modified ASHOK is silent regarding:
further including a controller configured to select the selected rate based on a weather forecast and/or a forecast difference in electricity cost at different times.
However, using a controller configured to select the selected rate based on a weather forecast and/or a forecast difference in electricity cost at different times, such a system is explicitly taught by U.S Publication number 2009/0125152 A1 to SKOWRONSKI et al. (SKOWRONSKI: See Figs. 11-12:¶0073-¶0077, ¶0099 and throughout the disclosure: discloses predetermined flow rate based on weather forecast and or system cost). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further configure the modified ASHOK as explicitly taught by SKOWRONSKI, because SKOWRONSKI teaches it would be advantageous to operate power generation systems which integrate solar heating differently under different conditions in order to meet specific power generation needs (SKOWRONSKI: ¶0009).
ASHOK , MARTZ and SKOWNSKI disclose all the limitations of method claim 22.
Claim(s) 42, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Publication 2022/0228271 A1 to ASHOK et al. (ASHOK) in view of U.S Patent number 4028884 to MARTZ et al. (MARTZ) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of “Non- Patent Literature” (NPL) titled “On the reduction of electric energy consumption in electrolysis: A thermodynamic study” to DEEPINDER JOT SINGH et al. (DEEPINDER).
Re: Claims 42 and 28:
ASHOK modified by MARTZ discloses:
The system of claim 30, modified ASHOK discloses all the limitations of claim 30, and
wherein the system is configured to heat the solid oxide electrolysis system using the output steam to decrease an amount of electric power required by the solid oxide electrolysis system to produce the hydrogen (ASHOK: discloses use of heated output of thermal storage 10 to heat the steam decrease the consumption of electrical energy in heater 30.3 is typically reduced) , such a system is explicitly taught in an “Non- Patent Literature” (NPL) titled “On the reduction of electric energy consumption in electrolysis: A thermodynamic study” to DEEPINDER JOT SINGH et al. which discloses using a low cost thermal energy reduces the consumption of electricity (DEEPINDER: See abstract).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that thermal energy of thermal storage medium is employed to thermally provide heat energy to steam therefore consumption of electricity is reduced.
ASHOK, MARTZ and DEEPINDER disclose all the limitations of method claim 28.
Examiner’s Note
It is noted regarding the method claims 15-28 (rejected as above). Further when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process (See MPEP 2112.02).
Allowable Subject Matter and Prior Art
Claims 17, 25-27, 31, 39-41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 contains an allowable subject matter because the prior art of record failed to disclose or teach further including the step of outputting the steam to an industrial process and/or a steam turbine that is configured to generate electricity.
Claim 26 contains an allowable subject matter because the prior art of record failed to disclose or teach wherein the step of measuring further includes: measuring a liquid phase and a vapor phase of the output steam; calculating a measured steam quality based on the vapor phase measurement divided by a combined measurement of the vapor phase plus the liquid phase; and providing the measured steam quality as feedback to a fluid movement system to adjust a specified temperature range and/or a flow rate of the fluid to maintain the output steam within a specified steam quality range.
Claims 25-27 are is objected by virtue of being dependent on allowable claims 17 and 16 .
Claim 31 contains an allowable subject matter because the prior art of record failed to disclose or teach a phase separator configured to separate the output steam into a liquid phase and a vapor phase; and a steam quality measurement system configured to measure a quality of the output steam based on heat of the liquid phase and the vapor phase.
Claim 39 is objected by virtue of being dependent on allowable claim 31.
Claim 40 contains an allowable subject matter because the prior art of record failed to disclose or teach further including a steam quality determination system configured to: measure a velocity of the output steam, a temperature of the output steam, and/or a velocity of input feed water to determine a steam quality of the output steam; and use the steam quality to adjust a temperature range and/or a flow rate of the fluid to maintain the output steam within a specified steam quality range.
Claim 41 is objected by virtue of being dependent on allowable claim 40.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQ MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
February 24, 2026