DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7 and 26-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (US 20050123391 A1; also US 7,217,098 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches a fan (Fig.1-11) comprising:
a base (12/26/58) configured to rest on a support surface (via 20);
a top housing (16) disposed above the base;
a body (52/152) positioned vertically between the base and the top housing, where the body comprises a blower (50/150) in operation with a motor (66/166) for generating airflow, where the body is configured to move relative to the base and the top housing (via 58/96, ¶31; via equivalents 158/196, ¶39);
a connecting member (54/154 & 56/156, ¶38) having a first end secured to the base (end secured via 26/42, ¶30; equivalent secured via 126/138, ¶40) and a second end secured to the top housing (end secured via 88, ¶33), where the connecting member remains stationary during movement of the body (¶40, note “grill shells 154 will not oscillate with the blower 150 if the bottom edges of the grill shells 54 are fixedly secured to the flange 138 of the fixed base 126”).
Regarding claim 2, Lim further teaches the connecting member extends along the vertical height of the body (Fig.1/2/6).
Regarding claim 3, Lim further teaches the connecting member is positioned rearward of the body (Fig.2, note at least one connecting member 54/56 will be positioned rearward of 52).
Regarding claim 4, Lim further teaches the body is configured to oscillate relative to the base and the top housing (¶40, note “grill shells 154 will not oscillate with the blower 150 if the bottom edges of the grill shells 54 are fixedly secured to the flange 138 of the fixed base 126”; note top housing is also fixed to grill shells, i.e., connecting member, therefore, top housing will remain static with the base and connecting member while the body oscillates).
Regarding claim 5, Lim further teaches an oscillation mechanism (Fig.9) comprising of a drive gear (162), oscillation gear (170) and motor (160) is disposed in the base (¶37, note base in Fig.9 is similar to base portion 12 of Fig.1-5) and configured to cause the body to oscillate (¶40, note “grill shells 154 will not oscillate with the blower 150 if the bottom edges of the grill shells 54 are fixedly secured to the flange 138 of the fixed base 126”).
Regarding claim 21, Lim further teaches a fan (Fig.1-11) comprising:
a base (12/26/58);
a top housing (16);
an elongate body (52/152) extending between the base and the top housing along a vertical axis, the elongate body comprising a centrifugal blower (50/150) disposed within the elongate body and configured to generate an airflow;
a connecting member (54/154 & 56/156, ¶38) having a first end secured to the base (end secured via 26/42, ¶30; equivalent secured via 126/138, ¶40) and a second end secured to the top housing (end secured via 88, ¶33), the connecting member being positioned external to the elongate body (Fig.1/2/6).
Regarding claim 22, Lim further teaches the elongate body further comprises an elongate air outlet extending along a height of the elongate body (Fig.2, opening of 52 shown or opposite opening; Fig.6, one of the two openings of 152 shown).
Regarding claim 23, Lim further teaches the elongate body is configured to move relative to the base and the top housing (¶40, note “grill shells 154 will not oscillate with the blower 150 if the bottom edges of the grill shells 54 are fixedly secured to the flange 138 of the fixed base 126”; note top housing is also fixed to grill shells, i.e., connecting member, therefore, top housing will remain static with the base and connecting member while the body oscillates).
Regarding claim 24, Lim further teaches the elongate body is configured to oscillate relative to the base and the top housing (¶40, note “grill shells 154 will not oscillate with the blower 150 if the bottom edges of the grill shells 54 are fixedly secured to the flange 138 of the fixed base 126”; note top housing is also fixed to grill shells, i.e., connecting member, therefore, top housing will remain static with the base and connecting member while the body oscillates).
Regarding claim 25, Lim further teaches an oscillation mechanism (Fig.9) having a drive gear (162), oscillation gear (170) and motor (160) positioned in the base and configured to oscillate the elongate body about the vertical axis relative to the base and the top housing (¶37, note base in Fig.9 is similar to base portion 12 of Fig.1-5) and configured to cause the body to oscillate (¶40, note “grill shells 154 will not oscillate with the blower 150 if the bottom edges of the grill shells 54 are fixedly secured to the flange 138 of the fixed base 126”).
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745