DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 10-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Boteler (US 4,062,470).
Regarding claim 1, Boteler discloses a junction box (10) comprising: a housing (see figure 1) including: a base, sidewalls extending from the base (see figure 1), and an interior cavity defined at least in part by the base and the sidewalls (see figure 1); a slot (22a; defined by boss 22) formed at least in part by one sidewall of the sidewalls (see figure 1), the slot (22a) being offset in a direction away from the interior cavity (see figure 1); a DIN rail (not shown; but well known in the art) disposable within the interior cavity, the DIN rail for mounting electrical components of one or more solar panel modules (well known in the art): a lid (not shown but well known in the art) positionable on the housing (see figure 1); and at least one bracket (28) to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3) on which the one or more solar panel modules are disposed, the at least one bracket (28) including: a first portion (28a) at least partially disposable within the slot (22a), and a second portion (28b) engageable with the solar array rail structure (see figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), wherein the first portion (28a) is parallel to the one sidewall of the sidewalls (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), further comprising a fastener to secure the lid to the housing (well known in the art).
Regarding claim 5, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), further comprising one or more markings or indicators (see figure 1; knockouts; well known in the art) associated with penetrations into the interior cavity.
Regarding claim 6, Boteler discloses the junction box (10) , wherein the second portion (28b) is perpendicular to the first portion (28a, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Boteler discloses a junction box (10) comprising: a housing including: an interior cavity (see figure 1) in which electrical connection of one or more solar panels are disposable, a sidewall (see figure 1), and a slot (22a) defined between the sidewalls and a flange (22) space apart from the sidewall (see figure 1); a lid (well known in the art) to connect to the housing (see figure 1); and a connector (28) to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3), the connector (28) including: a first portion (28a) disposable within the slot (22a), and a second portion (28b) engageable with the solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), wherein the lid (well known in the art) connects to the housing to enclose the interior cavity (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), further comprising a fastener (28e; column 4 line 37-44) to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), further comprising one or more holes disposed through the housing (see figure 1; knockouts).
Regarding claim 12, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), wherein: the first portion (28a) is arranged parallel to the sidewall (see figure 1); and the second portion (28b) is arranged perpendicular to the sidewall (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), wherein: the housing further includes a second sidewall, a third sidewall, and a fourth sidewall (see figure 1); and the interior cavity is defined at least in part by the sidewall, the second sidewall, the third sidewall, and the fourth sidewall (see figure 1 ).
Regarding claim 14, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), further comprising a DIN rail (not show but well known in the art) disposable within the interior cavity (see figure 1) wherein at least one of the electrical connections is mounted to the DIN Rail (well known in the art).
Regarding claim 15, Boteler discloses an assembly (see figure 1) attachable to a solar array rail structure (40), the assembly (see figure 1) comprising: a junction box (10) including: a housing having: a bottom, sidewalls (see figure 1) extending upwardly from a periphery of the bottom, an interior cavity to receive electrical connection from one or more solar panel module (see figure 1), and a receptacle (22) extending beyond a surface of at least one sidewall of the sidewalls (see figure 1), the receptacle (22) being located external to the interior cavity (see figure 1), and a lid (not shown; but well known in the art) attachable to the housing; and a connector (28) engageable with the receptacle to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure (40; see figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Boteler discloses the assembly (10), wherein the connector (28) includes: a first portion (28a) disposable within the receptacle (22); and a second portion (28b) engageable with the solar array rail structure (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Boteler discloses the assembly (10), wherein: the first portion (28a) is arranged parallel to the at least one sidewall; and the second portion (28b) is arranged perpendicular to the at least one sidewall (see figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Boteler discloses the assembly (10), further comprising a fastener (28e; column 4 lines 37-44) that is actuatable to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Boteler discloses the assembly (10), further comprising a DIN rail (not shown; but well known in the art) disposable within the interior cavity (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Boteler discloses the assembly (10), wherein: the housing defines an aperture (see figure 1; mounting bosses); the lid (not shown) defines an aperture; and a fastener is disposed through the aperture of the housing and the aperture of the lid to secure the lid to the housing (well known in the art).
Regarding claim 21, Boteler discloses the junction box (10), wherein the lid hingedly connects to the housing (well known in the art).
Regarding claim 22, Boteler discloses the assembly (10), wherein at least one electrical connection of the electrical connections is mounted to the DIN rail (well known in the art).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 10-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 8,471,145) in view of Boteler (US 4,062,470).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a junction box (200) comprising: a housing (40) including: a base (40a), sidewalls (40b-40e) extending from the base (40a), and an interior cavity (see figure 1) defined at least in part by the base (40a) and the sidewalls (40b-40e, see figure 1); a DIN rail (60) disposable within the interior cavity, the DIN rail (60) for mounting electrical components of one or more solar panel modules (see figure 1): a lid (20) positionable on the housing (40; see figure 9); but Suzuki lacks a slot formed at least in part by one sidewall of the sidewalls, the slot being offset in a direction away from the interior cavity and at least one bracket to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure on which the one or more solar panel modules are disposed and the at least one bracket including: a first portion at least partially disposable within the slot, and a second portion engageable with the solar array rail structure. Boteler teaches a junction box (10) comprising: a housing (see figure 1) including: a base, sidewalls extending from the base (see figure 1), and an interior cavity defined at least in part by the base and the sidewalls (see figure 1); a slot (22a; defined by boss 22) formed at least in part by one sidewall of the sidewalls (see figure 1), the slot (22a) being offset in a direction away from the interior cavity (see figure 1); and at least one bracket (28) to attach the housing to a rail structure (40; see figure 3; such as a solar rail structure) on which the one or more solar panel modules are disposed, the at least one bracket (28) including: a first portion (28a) at least partially disposable within the slot (22a), and a second portion (28b) engageable with the solar array rail structure (see figures 1 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to make Suzuki's junction box with a slot formed at least in part by one sidewall of the sidewalls, the slot being offset in a direction away from the interior cavity and at least one bracket to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure, wherein the at least one bracket includes: a first portion at least partially disposable within the slot, and a second portion engageable with the solar array rail structure as taught by Boteler to provide alternative means for mounting the junction box to a mounting structure, such as a solar array rail structure.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), wherein the first portion (28a; as taught by Boteler) is parallel to the one sidewall of the sidewalls (as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), further comprising a fastener to secure the lid (20) to the housing (40; column 4 lines 57-60).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), further comprising one or more markings or indicators (49; knockouts) associated with penetrations into the interior cavity. .
Regarding claim 6, the modified Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), wherein the second portion (28b; as taught by Boteler) is perpendicular to the first portion (28a, see figure 1; as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses a junction box (200) comprising: a housing (40) including: an interior cavity (see figure 1) in which electrical connection (60) of one of more solar panels are disposable, and a sidewall (40b-40e); a lid (20) to connect to the housing (40); but Suzuki lacks a slot defined between the sidewall and a flange spaced apart from the sidewall and a connector to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure, the connector including: a first portion disposable within the slot, and a second portion engageable with the solar array rail structure. Boteler teaches a junction box (10) comprising: a housing including: an interior cavity (see figure 1) in which electrical connection of one or more solar panels are disposable, a sidewall (see figure 1), and a slot (22a) defined between the sidewalls and a flange (22) space apart from the sidewall (see figure 1); and a connector (28) to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3), the connector (28) including: a first portion (28a) disposable within the slot (22a), and a second portion (28b) engageable with the solar array rail structure (40; see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to make Suzuki's junction box with a slot defined between the sidewall and a flange spaced apart from the sidewall and a connector to attach the housing to a solar array rail structure, the connector including: a first portion disposable within the slot, and a second portion engageable with the solar array rail structure as taught by Boteler to provide alternative means for mounting the junction box to a mounting structure, such as solar array rail structure. .
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), wherein the lid (20) connects to the housing (40) to enclose the interior cavity (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), further comprising a fastener (28e; column 4 lines 37-44; as taught by Boteler) to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure (40; as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), further comprising one or more holes (49) disposed through the housing (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Suzuki discloses the junction box (200) , wherein: the first portion (28a; as taught by Boteler) is arranged parallel to the sidewall; and the second portion (28b; as taught by Boteler) is arranged perpendicular to the sidewall (see figures 1 and 2; as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki discloses the junction box (200) , wherein: the housing (40) further includes a second sidewall, a third sidewall, and a fourth sidewall (40b-40e) and the interior cavity is defined at least in part by the sidewall, the second sidewall, the third sidewall, and the fourth sidewall (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses the junction box (200), further comprising a DIN rail (60; see figure 1) disposable within the interior cavity (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki discloses an assembly (200) attachable to a solar array rail structure, the assembly (200) comprising: a junction box (see figure 1) including: a housing (40) having: a bottom (40a), sidewalls (40b-40e) extending upwardly from a periphery of the bottom (40a), an interior cavity to receive electrical connection (60) from one or more solar panel modules (see figure 1), and a lid (20) attachable to the housing (40); but Suzuki lack a receptacle extending beyond a surface of at least one sidewall of the sidewalls, the receptacle being located external to the interior and a connector engageable with the receptacle to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure. Boteler teaches an assembly (see figure 1) attachable to a solar array rail structure (40), the assembly (see figure 1) comprising: a junction box (10) including: a housing having: a bottom, sidewalls (see figure 1) extending upwardly from a periphery of the bottom, an interior cavity to receive electrical connection from one or more solar panel module (see figure 1), and a receptacle (22) extending beyond a surface of at least one sidewall of the sidewalls (see figure 1), the receptacle (22) being located external to the interior cavity (see figure 1), and a connector (28) engageable with the receptacle to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure (40; see figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to make Suzuki's junction box with a receptacle extending beyond a surface of at least one sidewall of the sidewalls, the receptacle being located external to the interior and a connector engageable with the receptacle to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure as taught by Boteler to provide alternative means for mounting the junction box to a mounting structure, such as solar array rail structure.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Suzuki discloses the assembly (see figure 1), wherein the connector (28; as taught by Boteler) includes a first portion (28a) disposable within the receptacle (22) ; and a second portion (28b) engageble with the solar array rail structure (40; see figures1-3; as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Suzuki discloses the assembly (see figure 1), wherein: the first portion (28a; as taught by Boteler) is arranged parallel to the at least one sidewall; and the second portion (28b) is arranged perpendicular to the at least one sidewall (see figures 1 and 2; as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Suzuki discloses the assembly (see figure 1), further comprising a fastener (28e; column 4 lines 37-44; as taught by Boteler) that is actuatable to attach the junction box to the solar array rail structure (40; see figures 1-3; as taught by Boteler).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses the assembly (see figure 1), further comprising a DIN rail (60) disposable within the interior cavity (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki discloses the assembly (see figure 1), wherein: the housing (40) defines an aperture (42); the lid (20) defines an aperture (22); and a fastener is disposed through the aperture (42) of the housing (40) and the aperture (22) of the lid (20) to secure the lid to the housing (column 4 lines 57-60).
Regarding claim 21, Suzuki discloses the junction box (see figure 1), wherein the lid (20) hingedly connects to the housing (40, see figure 1; see abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Suzuki discloses the assembly (see figure 1), wherein at least one electrical connection of the electrical connections (60) is mounted to the DIN Rail (see figure 1).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 10-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heitmeyer et al (US 12,586,998), Wade (US 12, 255, 445) , Plankell (US 7,709,733), Byrne (US 5,259,787) and Assal (US 4,984,705) disclose an electrical box mounting apparatus.
March 28, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841