DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments that the newly amended limitations define over Hutton are not persuasive as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 11, 17, 18, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hutton (US 20200063497 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hutton discloses a steering actuator comprising: a stationary piston (265); a cylinder (240) encircling a portion of the stationary piston and moving relative to the stationary piston (pgph. 66); and an inner surface of the cylinder which faces the stationary piston (shown in fig. 3C); and wherein the cylinder moves away from the stationary piston when mud flows out of the stationary piston to contact the inner surface of the cylinder (pgph. 54), wherein the mud flows around an outer diameter of the cylinder (mud will flow around the outer diameter and along an outside surface of the cylinder when exiting ports 278).
With respect to claim 2, Hutton discloses wherein the cylinder contacts a wall of a borehole when actuated by hydraulic pressure (pgph. 66).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Hutton discloses a cutout (249)in the cylinder; and a stopper pin (242) positioned within the cutout, wherein the stopper pin controls a stroke length of the cylinder (pgph. 69).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Hutton discloses a skirt of the cylinder having an inner surface; and a sleeve (270) positioned on the inner surface wherein the cylinder contacts the sleeve as the cylinder moves (pgph. 58).
With respect to claim 8, Hutton discloses wherein mud is permitted to flow between the cylinder and the sleeve (until reaching 299).
With respect to claim 10, Hutton discloses a steering actuator comprising: a stationary piston; a cylinder positioned above the stationary piston and moving relative to the stationary piston; and an inner surface of the cylinder which faces the stationary piston (discussed supra); and a valley (283 or valley above element 610 shown in figs. 6, 3C) positioned at a bottom of the cylinder; and wherein mud enters the cylinder through the stationary piston, flows between the inner surface of the cylinder and the stationary piston (until reaching member 299) and connecting directly with the valley (pgph. 62 teaches mud connecting directly with the valley, while the fluid does not reach the valley directly from the piston and the flow between the members, this is not required by the claims since the exact flow path with a linear progression from one area to the next is not claimed).
With respect to claim 11, Hutton discloses wherein the cylinder directly contacts a wall of a borehole (pgph. 66).
With respect to claim 17, Hutton discloses a method for operating a steering actuator comprising: pumping a fluid through a stationary piston; contacting an interior surface of a cylinder with said fluid to cause the cylinder to move away from the stationary piston (discussed supra); and allowing said fluid to flow between the stationary piston and the interior surface of the cylinder until exiting by flowing around the cylinder (via 278, flowing around the cylinder does not require the fluid to flow through a gap between the interior surface of the cylinder and an exterior surface of the piston and then flow around the outer diameter of the cylinder, “around” is a very broad term and does not require the fluid passing along an outer diameter of the cylinder to exit).
The limitations of claims 18, 21, 24, and 25 are substantially similar to those of claims 1-6, 8, and 10, rejected supra.
With respect to claims 22 and 23, Hutton discloses wherein the valley allows for mud to move around sleeve and an outer surface of the skirt (via 283, shown in fig. 3C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutton in light of Crowley (US 20240376783 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Hutton fails to disclose a metal to metal seal between the piston and cylinder as claimed.
Nevertheless, Crowley discloses using a tight fit between the piston and cylinder to seal the interface while allowing a slow but predictable leak between the two members (pgph. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided a tight sealing metal to metal interface between the cylinder and piston (240 and 265 of Hutton) with a slow but predictable leak rate as taught by Crowley (pgph. 15) since this is the simple substitution of one prior art sealing method (elastomeric seals) for another (metal to metal interface with slow leak rate) with predictable results and a reasonable expectation for success and since Hutton teaches that elastomeric seals have a limited life when drilling fluid is used to actuate the pistons (pgph. 14).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 08/25/2026