CTNF 19/240,726 CTNF 90395 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites: “the control section”, “the operation speed for the predetermined time in the future” . There is lack of antecedent basis for these limitations. Claim 3 recites: “ the control section” . There is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OJIMA; Yosuke et al. (US 20220306163 A1) in view of Salter; Stuart C. et al. (US 20150375677 A1), and further in view of ZHU; Fan et al. (US 20180186403 A1) . In regards to claim 1, Ojima teaches, A control device, comprising: processing circuitry configured to: (See paragraph fig. 1, control device 15, paragraph 30, 38, CPU) at a time of transitioning from autonomous driving to manual driving, control a display portion to display grasping positions of a steering wheel that should be grasped by a user, (See paragraph 52, The steering wheel 6 is provided with an indicator 36 . The indicator 36 is constituted of a light emitting member (for example, multiple LEDs) that is disposed at a position that can be viewed by the driver. In the present embodiment, the indicator 36 is formed in an annular shape over the entire circumference of the steering wheel 6 . In another embodiment, multiple LEDs may be arranged annularly at intervals…paragraph 49, The steering wheel 6 has recommended grip positions GP set thereon as positions to be gripped by the driver…paragraph 53, the control device 15 controls the indicator 36 to display the recommended grip positions GP…paragraph 58, When the automatic driving control device 4 detects steering of the steering wheel 6 by an external force (override operation) while making the vehicle 1 autonomously travel in the automatic driving mode, the automatic driving control device 4 switches the driving mode from the automatic driving mode to the manual driving mode.) determine the grasping position based on the information regarding the steering angle (See paragraph 53, The control device 15 is configured to control the light emitting operation of the indicator 36 . Specifically, the control device 15 decides the recommended grip positions GP, which are the positions on the steering wheel 6 to be gripped, according to the steering angle β of the steering wheel 6 …paragraph 51, The recommended grip positions GP may be set so as to change depending on the steering angle β of the steering wheel 6 .) Ojima does not specifically teach, …and a flashing display that indicates a turning direction along a circumferential direction from the grasping position, wherein, in the control, the processor is configured to estimate information regarding a steering angle of the steering wheel based on a planned travel route of a vehicle, determine the grasping position based on the information regarding … a vehicle speed, and determine a propagation amount, a propagation direction, and a flashing speed of the flashing display based on the information regarding the steering angle. However, Salter further teaches, …and a flashing display that indicates a turning direction along a circumferential direction from the grasping position, (See paragraph 64, each portion 54 a , 54 b , 54 c , 54 d , 54 e may illuminate sequentially to provide a directional notification… portion 54 a may illuminate first, followed by portion 54 b , portion 54 c , portion 54 d , and ending with portion 54 e … , the sequential illumination of the lighting system 10 may be continuously repeated) …determine a propagation amount, a propagation direction, and a flashing speed of the flashing display based on the information regarding the steering angle. (See paragraph 65, may represent a recommended magnitude of rotation to the occupant based on the number or portions and/or intensity of illuminated portions around the rim 24 . More specifically, if a driver should rotate the steering wheel 16 ninety degrees clockwise, a quarter of the rim 24 may illuminate thereby representing the amount of rotation. Further, each portion may become unilluminated as the steering wheel 16 rotates thereby representing the decreasing amount of rotation necessary to accumulate to the original desired angle. The “quarter of the rim” for “ninety degrees” is a propagation amount determined by the steering angle and the “clockwise” is propagation direction . Also see paragraph 64, the sequential illumination of the lighting system 10 may be continuously repeated. Flashing speed of zero indicates “off” state and any illumination indicates presence of flashing speed) Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Ojima to further comprise device taught by Salter because guiding the driver not only where to grip the steering wheel but also which way and how far to turn can further improve driver experience and safety. Ojima-Salter does not specifically teach, wherein, in the control, the processor is configured to estimate information regarding a steering angle of the steering wheel based on a planned travel route of a vehicle, determine the grasping position based on the information regarding … a vehicle speed, Zhu further teaches, wherein, in the control, the processor is configured to estimate information regarding a steering angle of the steering wheel based on a planned travel route of a vehicle, (See paragraph 22, a control module of a perception and planning system determines how much and when to apply a steering command in a form of a steering angle of a steering control of an autonomous driving vehicle (ADV) to turn or maneuver around and/or avoid an obstacle of a planned route…paragraph 56, The ADV 501 heads in a direction 502 on a planned route 505 . The ADV 501 makes a subsequent turn with turning angle 506 to stay on route with a subsequent target directional angle 510) determine the grasping position based on the information regarding … a vehicle speed, (See paragraph 22, The planned route may have different factors influencing the steering control sensitivity such as the vehicle speed, the turning radius of the vehicle, and the turning or maneuver being carried out…paragraph 24, a proportional coefficient of the first PID controller is adjusted dynamically based on the current speed of the ADV.) Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Ojima-Salter to further comprise device taught by Zhu because Zhu teaches deriving the steering angle from the planned route in view of vehicle speed and turning radius (paragraph 22-24) to apply steering “how much and when”. Incorporating this lets the Ojima-Salter display guide the driver predictively improving handover accuracy and timeliness. In regards to claim 3, Ojima-Salter-Zhu teaches the control device of claim 1, wherein the control section controls the display portion, which is provided along a peripheral direction of the steering wheel. (See Ojima paragraph 52, indicator 36 is formed in an annular shape over the entire circumference of the steering wheel 6 . In another embodiment, multiple LEDs may be arranged annularly at intervals…Salter paragraph 61, configured to attach to the rim 24 of the steering wheel 16 ,..paragraph 65, partially or fully surround the circumference of the rim 24 , ) Claims 4-7 are similar in scope to claim 1, therefore, they are rejected under similar rationale as set forth above . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN S LEE whose telephone number is (571)272-2674. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JAMES J LEE can be reached at (571)270-5965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/240,726 Page 2 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/240,726 Page 3 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/240,726 Page 4 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/240,726 Page 5 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/240,726 Page 6 Art Unit: 3668 Application/Control Number: 19/240,726 Page 7 Art Unit: 3668