DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 5-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for producing a structure, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of a base material (claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamano et al (US 20160194524).
Yamano teaches phase separation layer containing a block copolymer (see 0004) having the following blocks Nx-1 and Ny-1-1:
in formula (Nx-1), R represents a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group of 1 to 5 carbon atoms or a halogenated alkyl group of 1 to 5 carbon atoms; R1 represents a halogen atom, or a linear, branched or cyclic hydrocarbon group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms optionally containing an oxygen atom, a halogen atom or a silicon atom, or a combination of the linear, branched or cyclic hydrocarbon group; and n represents an integer of 0 to 5;
in formula Ny-1-1 R represents a hydrogen atom, an alkyl group of 1 to 5 carbon atoms or a halogenated alkyl group of 1 to 5 carbon atoms and
wherein the amount of the structural unit (Ny) within the resin component (N) is 5 mol % or less. (see claims 4, 5 and 6).
Regarding limitation of claim 1, where no alkyl methacrylate units are present, Yamano discloses acrylic acid or acrylate ester as monomers for block NY-1-1 (see 0055-0056).
Thus, all limitations of claims 1-4 are met.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senzaki et al. (US 20130243958).
Yamano teaches phase separation layer containing a polystyrene-polyacrylic acid block copolymer (see claim 19), where an amount of the structural unit having an aromatic ring (i.e. polystyrene, PS ), based on the combined total of all structural units constituting the resin component is 10 to 95 mol% copolymer (see claim 7).
Yamano discloses that PS constitutes 85-92% mol and polymethacrylic acid present at 3-15% mol (see Table 1 , Examples 1, 3-6 and 8-9).
Note that Examples above disclose PS- PMMA block copolymer. However, Yamano teaches that polymethacrylic and polyacrylic acid blocks are totally interchangeable (see 0026).
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765