DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagashima et al. (U.S. 20200041992).
In re claim 1, Nagashima teaches a steering control method for a vehicle (fig. 1; vehicle S; [0046]), comprising:
displaying a first virtual vehicle (the terminal control unit causes the touch panel to display an overhead image which is an image of a bird's eye view of the vehicle as the image based on the imaging data when it is detected by the housing state detection unit that an orientation of the housing is placed in a first orientation, and causes the touch panel to display an outside-of-vehicle image which is an image of an outside of the vehicle imaged by the camera as the image based on the imaging data when it is detected by the housing state detection unit that the orientation of the housing is placed in a second orientation that is different than the first orientation; [0013]) on a display terminal (fig. 2; mobile terminal 3 includes a housing 8. The housing 8 is a plate-like member having a rectangular front face 8a, and a touch panel 9 (display panel); [0048]); and
when a motion trajectory of the first virtual vehicle is obtained,
determining first steering information based on the motion trajectory (fig. 8; vehicle drive control device 5 is capable of causing the vehicle S to automatically move from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position to which the vehicle S having moved from the stop position should be stopped and stop there on the basis of automatic driving route information and without involving driving of the vehicle S by the user. As will be described later, the information processing device 4 outputs the automatic driving route information to the vehicle drive control device 5 in the automatic vehicle movement; [0118-0119]; also see fig. 15-16 and fig. 19-22; note: Since vehicle control device 5 causes the vehicle to move along a trajectory from the stop position to the target position, then steering information is necessarily based upon the vehicle trajectory from the stop position to the target position.), and
sending the first steering information to an execution controller of the vehicle (vehicle drive control device control unit 50 of the vehicle drive control device 5 outputs control signals to the engine ECU 60, the transmission ECU 61, the brake ECU 62, and the steering ECU 63 on the basis of the automatic driving route information and the inputs from the vehicle-to-vehicle communication unit 52, the radar device 53, the vehicle speed sensor 54, and the yaw rate sensor 55; [0122]), wherein
the execution controller is configured to control steering of the vehicle based on the first steering information (the vehicle drive control device control unit 50 of the vehicle drive control device 5 causes the vehicle S to move along the path indicated by the path information on the basis of the path information included in the automatic driving route information while the drive instruction signal is being input from the information processing device 4; [0173]).
In re claim 2, Nagashima teaches the steering control method according to claim 1, wherein
the first steering information comprises a steering angle and a steering direction (vehicle drive control device 5 is capable of causing the vehicle S to automatically move from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position…on the basis of automatic driving route information and without involving driving of the vehicle S by the user; [0118]; vehicle drive control device control unit 50 of the vehicle drive control device 5 outputs control signals to…the steering ECU 63 on the basis of the automatic driving route information; [0122]; As indicated above and in in [0118; 0122], the steering information necessarily includes a steering angle and a steering direction, otherwise the vehicle could not be automatically moved (autonomously driven) without involving driving of the vehicle by the user.).
In re claim 3, see claim 1 above.
In re claim 4, Nagashima teaches the steering control method according to claim 1, wherein
the control method further comprises:
when the motion trajectory of the first virtual vehicle is not obtained,
obtaining second steering information (the information processing system 1 makes it possible for the user to move, to the parking position, the vehicle S which is stopped at a before-parking position near the parking position and park it there by operating the mobile terminal 3 without driving the vehicle S; [0051]; the user can perform parking and exiting of the vehicle S by using the information processing system 1 in a state where the user is not on board the vehicle S; [0052]; the stopped vehicle S moving to another position and than stopping at the other position by the information processing system 1 without involving driving of the vehicle S by the user will be hereinafter expressed as “automatic vehicle movement.”; [0055]; As indicated in at least [0051-0052; 0055], there are 3 different driving modes, 1) normal driving mode via. the user; remotely controlled driving mode via. the user, who is not onboard the vehicle, and automatic/autonomous driving mode that does not involve the user. The automatic/autonomous driving mode (as explained above) determines a route from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position, and necessarily involves first steering information. However, in the other driving modes, the user determines the path/trajectory, which necessarily involves second steering information, input via. the user and obtained by the vehicle), and
sending the second steering information to the execution controller (as explained above), wherein
the execution controller is configured to control steering of the vehicle based on
the second steering information (as explained above), and
the second steering information comprises a steering direction (as explained above).
In re claim 5, Nagashima teaches the control method according to claim 1, wherein
the control method further comprises:
displaying environmental information of a position at which the vehicle is located on the display terminal (As illustrated in FIG. 15, the composite image G has an overhead image G1 and an outside-of-vehicle image G2; [0185]; Here, a limited amount of environmental information (such as rain, snow accumulation, day/night, etc.) is displayed from the vehicle surroundings, since the composite image includes an outside-of-vehicle image, which necessarily includes visual indicates of the environment outside of the vehicle).
In re claim 7, Nagashima teaches the control method according to claim 1, wherein
before displaying the first virtual vehicle on the display terminal (J1 as shown in fig. 12; state J1 of FIG. 12 indicates the lock screen GM1 in a state where the user is not performing the touch operation; [0156]; When the lock screen GM1 is in the state J1, the terminal control unit 20 masks the overhead image display screen GM2a displayed as the background by a dark black mask image that covers the entire background; [0157]; note: screen is locked, and thus first virtual vehicle is not on the display terminal, as further indicated in fig. 12 and [0157]),
the control method further comprises:
obtaining a control instruction (fig. 12; When the state J3 continues for a predetermined period of time, the input of the instruction on the transition to the vehicle propulsion control mode is completed; [0158]), and
entering an on-the-spot steering mode based on the control instruction (as indicated in fig. 12 and fig. 19-22, [0275-0277, 0284, 0286 and 0320-0327]).
In re claim 8, Nagashima teaches the control method according to claim 7, wherein
before entering the on-the-spot steering mode based on the control instruction,
the control method further comprises:
determining that the control instruction is a driver instruction (as explained above and indicated in fig. 12 and in [0145-0147], the user/driver has to first unlock the lock screen, and thus any subsequent control instruction would be a driver/user instruction).
In re claim 9, Nagashima teaches the control method according to claim 1, comprising:
displaying a second virtual vehicle on the display terminal, wherein
a position of the second virtual vehicle represents a real-time position status of the vehicle (as indicated in fig. 12, fig. 15 and fig. 21; radar device 53 emits, for example, a radio wave of a millimeter wave radar, a laser radar, etc., a sound wave of a ultrasonic radar, etc., and the like to the outside of the vehicle. The radar device 53 detects objects existing around the vehicle S by receiving a reflected wave that is reflected from the objects existing around the vehicle S (for example, another vehicle and a person). The radar device 53 outputs the information on the objects that have been detected to the vehicle drive control device control unit 50; [0109]; the order of priority is an order of priority according to which a camera that can image the object close to the vehicle S will occupy a higher place. The object close to the vehicle S is, for example, a vehicle that has already been parked at the parking area adjacent to the parking area in which parking should be made by the automatic vehicle movement and, for example, a person other than the user. In a case where the object exists at a position close to the vehicle S, it is expected that the user in many cases wants to recognize the object and recognize the positional relationship between the object and the vehicle S; [0204]; note: as indicated above and shown in the figures, the real time position of other vehicles, such as a second virtual vehicle can be seen in the images).
In re claim 10, Nagashima teaches the control method according to claim 1, wherein
the control method further comprises:
obtaining a braking instruction (as explained above; note: the automatic/autonomous driving mode (as explained above) determines a route from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position, and necessarily involves a braking instruction), and
sending the braking instruction to the execution controller (vehicle drive control device control unit 50 of the vehicle drive control device 5 outputs control signals to…the brake ECU 62…on the basis of the automatic driving route information and the inputs from the vehicle-to-vehicle communication unit 52, the radar device 53, the vehicle speed sensor 54, and the yaw rate sensor 55; [0122]), wherein
the execution controller is configured to brake the vehicle based on the braking instruction (as explained above).
In re claim 11, Nagashima teaches a steering control method for a vehicle (fig. 1; vehicle S; [0046]), comprising:
in response to
first steering information (as explained in claim 1 above) or
second steering information (as explained in claim 4 above)
sent by a display terminal (fig. 2; mobile terminal 3 includes a housing 8. The housing 8 is a plate-like member having a rectangular front face 8a, and a touch panel 9 (display panel); [0048]),
controlling steering of the vehicle based on
the first steering information (the vehicle drive control device control unit 50 of the vehicle drive control device 5 causes the vehicle S to move along the path indicated by the path information on the basis of the path information included in the automatic driving route information while the drive instruction signal is being input from the information processing device 4; [0173]) or
the second steering information, wherein
the first steering information is determined by the display terminal based on a motion trajectory of a first virtual vehicle on the display terminal (fig. 8; vehicle drive control device 5 is capable of causing the vehicle S to automatically move from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position to which the vehicle S having moved from the stop position should be stopped and stop there on the basis of automatic driving route information and without involving driving of the vehicle S by the user. As will be described later, the information processing device 4 outputs the automatic driving route information to the vehicle drive control device 5 in the automatic vehicle movement; [0118-0119]; also see fig. 15-16 and fig. 19-22; note: Since vehicle control device 5 causes the vehicle to move along a trajectory from the stop position to the target position, then steering information is necessarily based upon the vehicle trajectory from the stop position to the target position.);
the second steering information is input information obtained by the display terminal (the information processing system 1 makes it possible for the user to move, to the parking position, the vehicle S which is stopped at a before-parking position near the parking position and park it there by operating the mobile terminal 3 without driving the vehicle S; [0051]; the user can perform parking and exiting of the vehicle S by using the information processing system 1 in a state where the user is not on board the vehicle S; [0052]; the stopped vehicle S moving to another position and than stopping at the other position by the information processing system 1 without involving driving of the vehicle S by the user will be hereinafter expressed as “automatic vehicle movement.”; [0055]; As indicated in at least [0051-0052; 0055], there are 3 different driving modes, 1) normal driving mode via. the user; remotely controlled driving mode via. the user, who is not onboard the vehicle, and automatic/autonomous driving mode that does not involve the user. The automatic/autonomous driving mode (as explained above) determines a route from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position, and necessarily involves first steering information. However, in the other driving modes, the user determines the path/trajectory, which necessarily involves second steering information, input via. the user and obtained by the vehicle); and
the first steering information comprises
a steering angle and a steering direction (vehicle drive control device 5 is capable of causing the vehicle S to automatically move from the stop position in which the vehicle S is stopped to the target position that is an objective position…on the basis of automatic driving route information and without involving driving of the vehicle S by the user; [0118]; vehicle drive control device control unit 50 of the vehicle drive control device 5 outputs control signals to…the steering ECU 63 on the basis of the automatic driving route information; [0122]; As indicated above and in in [0118; 0122], the steering information necessarily includes a steering angle and a steering direction, otherwise the vehicle could not be automatically moved (autonomously driven) without involving driving of the vehicle by the user.), and
the second steering information comprises
a steering direction (as explained above).
In re claim 12, Nagashima teaches the steering control method according to claim 11, wherein
the control method further comprises:
obtaining acceleration information (fig. 7; yaw rate sensor 55 detects a yaw rate acting upon the vehicle S and outputs the information on the yaw rate that has been detected to the vehicle drive control device control unit 50; [0111]), and
controlling, based on the acceleration information, the vehicle to rotate (Each of the overhead cameras performs imaging in synchronization with each other and outputs the captured image data based on the result of the synchronized imaging to the information processing device control unit 30. Each of the overhead cameras performs the execution of the imaging and the output of the captured image data at a predetermined cycle (for example, 10 milliseconds); [0189]; each of the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras performs the imaging at a predetermined cycle and outputs the captured image data based on this result of the imaging to the information processing device control unit 30. The information processing device control unit 30 selects one outside-of-vehicle imaging camera from among the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras, acquires the captured image data input from the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera that has been selected, and generates the image data of the outside-of-vehicle image G2 (hereinafter referred to as “outside-of-vehicle image data”) on the basis of the captured image data; [0190]; The information processing device control unit 30 combines, at a predetermined cycle, the overhead image data that has been generated and the outside-of-vehicle image data that has been generated corresponding to the positional relationship between the overhead image G1 and the outside-of-vehicle image G2 and generates composite image data of the composite image G. The information processing device control unit 30 controls the display device 32 on the basis of the composite image data that has been generated and causes the display device 32 to display the composite image G based on the composite image data; [0191]; the terminal control unit 20 selects one outside-of-vehicle imaging camera from among the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras in accordance with the first order according to the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging; [0225]; the first order is the order according to which the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging changes clockwise; [0226]; the second order is the order according to which the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging changes counterclockwise; [0233]; Here, as indicated in fig. 6, fig. 13 and [0189-0191 and 0223-0234], one of the outside-of-vehicle cameras is selected to perform imaging in a clockwise/counterclockwise manner, which is effectively rotating the outside-of-vehicle view in the clockwise/counterclockwise direction, and changes as the vehicle moves, resulting in a new and different composite image and is responsive to both vehicle movement (i.e. the view in the captured images changes with respect to a change in vehicle position) or lack thereof; note: the rotation of the vehicle is in regard to the “virtual vehicle” as opposed to an actual physical vehicle).
In re claim 13, Nagashima teaches the steering control method according to claim 11, wherein
the control method further comprises:
obtaining braking information (brake ECU 62 controls a brake device provided on a wheel of the vehicle S and performs braking of the vehicle S on the basis of the control signal input from the vehicle drive control device control unit 50; [0116]), and
controlling, based on the braking information, the vehicle to stop rotating (Each of the overhead cameras performs imaging in synchronization with each other and outputs the captured image data based on the result of the synchronized imaging to the information processing device control unit 30. Each of the overhead cameras performs the execution of the imaging and the output of the captured image data at a predetermined cycle (for example, 10 milliseconds); [0189]; each of the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras performs the imaging at a predetermined cycle and outputs the captured image data based on this result of the imaging to the information processing device control unit 30. The information processing device control unit 30 selects one outside-of-vehicle imaging camera from among the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras, acquires the captured image data input from the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera that has been selected, and generates the image data of the outside-of-vehicle image G2 (hereinafter referred to as “outside-of-vehicle image data”) on the basis of the captured image data; [0190]; The information processing device control unit 30 combines, at a predetermined cycle, the overhead image data that has been generated and the outside-of-vehicle image data that has been generated corresponding to the positional relationship between the overhead image G1 and the outside-of-vehicle image G2 and generates composite image data of the composite image G. The information processing device control unit 30 controls the display device 32 on the basis of the composite image data that has been generated and causes the display device 32 to display the composite image G based on the composite image data; [0191]; the terminal control unit 20 selects one outside-of-vehicle imaging camera from among the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras in accordance with the first order according to the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging; the terminal control unit 20 selects one outside-of-vehicle imaging camera from among the outside-of-vehicle imaging cameras in accordance with the first order according to the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging; [0225]; the first order is the order according to which the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging changes clockwise; [0226]; the second order is the order according to which the direction in which the outside-of-vehicle imaging camera performs imaging changes counterclockwise; [0233]; Here, as indicated in fig. 6, fig. 13 and [0189-0191 and 0223-0234], one of the outside-of-vehicle cameras is selected to perform imaging in a clockwise/counterclockwise manner, which is effectively rotating the outside-of-vehicle view in the clockwise/counterclockwise direction, and changes as the vehicle moves, resulting in a new and different composite image and is responsive to both vehicle movement or lack thereof (i.e. the view in the captured images are static, since the vehicle is static, while different views may be selected (via. the different cameras), these captured images are of the same scenes); note: the rotation of the vehicle is in regard to the “virtual vehicle” as opposed to an actual physical vehicle).
In re claim 15, Nagashima teaches a non-volatile storage medium (terminal storage unit 22 includes a non-volatile memory such as EEPROM and rewritably stores in a non-volatile manner various pieces of data; [0062]) having a computer program stored thereon (The feature of the individual devices can also be classified into more constituent elements in accordance with the content of the processing. Also, one constituent element can also be classified so that it performs more processes. Also, the processing of each constituent element may be performed by one unit of hardware or may be performed by multiple units of hardware. Also, the processing of each constituent element may be implemented by one program or may be implemented by multiple programs; [0433]), wherein
when the computer program is executed by a processor, a vehicle equipped with the storage medium is caused to implement the steering control method according to claim 1 (terminal storage unit 22 stores a dedicated application AP. The dedicated application AP is an application used when a user performs automatic vehicle movement using the information processing system 1 as will be described later; [0063]; and as explained above in claim 1).
In re claim 16, Nagashima teaches a controller, comprising
a memory (terminal storage unit 22 includes a non-volatile memory such as EEPROM and rewritably stores in a non-volatile manner various pieces of data; [0062]),
a processor (information processing device control unit 30 includes a CPU, ROM, RAM, an ASIC, a signal processing circuit, etc., and controls individual units of the information processing device 4. In the information processing device control unit 30, for example, the CPU reads a program stored in the ROM onto the RAM to perform processing; [0082]), and
a computer program stored in the memory (as explained above) and can run on the processor, wherein
when the computer program is executed by the processor,
a vehicle equipped with the controller is caused to implement the steering control method according to claim 1 (terminal storage unit 22 stores a dedicated application AP. The dedicated application AP is an application used when a user performs automatic vehicle movement using the information processing system 1 as will be described later; [0063]; and as explained above in claim 1).
In re claim 17, see claims 1 and 16.
In re claim 18, see claims 1 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagashima et al. (U.S. 20200041992) in view of Ide (U.S. 20180178839).
In re claim 6, Nagashima teaches the control method according to claim 5, but lacks
when it is determined based on the environmental information that a distance between
the first virtual vehicle and
a first obstacle
is less than a first target distance,
issuing first prompt information, wherein
the environmental information comprises a position of the first obstacle.
Ide teaches an analogous steering control device/method having a driving assistance device including an ECU configured to make a warning unit issue the warning to a driver, when a first condition and a second condition are both satisfied (abstract) and electronic control unit is configured to acquire information in front of the host vehicle relating to a traveling lane, on which the host vehicle is traveling, determine a target traveling line based on the acquired information, acquire a driving state parameter of the host vehicle that changes according to at least one of a steering angle and a temporal change rate of the steering angle, execute lane keeping assistance control for changing a steering angle of the host vehicle such that the host vehicle travels along the target traveling line, and make the warning unit issue the warning ([0009]) and further teaches
when it is determined based on the environmental information (the driving assistance ECU 10 selects a following target vehicle based on the object information acquired by the surroundings sensor 16; [0052]) that a distance between
the first virtual vehicle (host vehicle VA; [0033]) and
a first obstacle (the object (n) (for example, a preceding vehicle); [0033]; the driving assistance ECU 10 determines whether or not the relative position of the object (n) specified from the azimuth H(n) of the detected object (n)… the relative position of the object is present within the following target vehicle area over a predetermined time or more, the object (n) is selected as a following target vehicle; [0052])
is less than a first target distance (the driving assistance ECU 10 selects a following target vehicle based on the object information acquired by the surroundings sensor 16. For example, the driving assistance ECU 10 determines whether or not the relative position of the object (n) specified from the azimuth H(n) of the detected object (n) and the inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is present within a prescribed following target vehicle area such that the longer the inter-vehicle distance, the smaller an absolute value of the azimuth H(n). Then, the relative position of the object is present within the following target vehicle area over a predetermined time or more, the object (n) is selected as a following target vehicle; [0052]; Here, in [0052], the inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is the distance between the vehicle and the object, and it is determined if this inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is within a prescribed following target vehicle area, meaning that this inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is less than a distance of a prescribed following target vehicle area),
issuing first prompt information ( display ECU 70 makes the buzzer 71 sound according to an instruction from the driving assistance ECU 10 to alert the driver, and makes a mark for an alert (for example, a warning lamp) light up, displays a warning image, displays a warning message, and displays an operation situation of driving assistance control on the display 72. The display 72 is a display device that displays an image according to a command of the driving assistance ECU 10. Specifically, the display 72 is a head up display, but may be other displays (for example, a multi-function display); [0043]), wherein
the environmental information comprises a position of the first obstacle (the relative position of the object; [0052]; as explained above).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Nagashima, to incorporate when it is determined based on the environmental information that a distance between the first virtual vehicle and a first obstacle is less than a first target distance, issuing first prompt information, wherein the environmental information comprises a position of the first obstacle, as clearly suggested and taught by Ide, in order to provide a driving assistance device that issues, to a driver, a warning that there is a possibility that a vehicle may deviate from a traveling lane… having an advantage of reducing a possibility that an erroneous warning may be issued ([0008]).
In re claim 14, Nagashima teaches the steering control method according to claim 11, but lacks wherein
the control method further comprises:
determining that there is an obstacle around the vehicle , and
issuing second prompt information when a distance between the obstacle and the vehicle is less than a second target distance.
Ide teaches an analogous steering control device/method having a driving assistance device including an ECU configured to make a warning unit issue the warning to a driver, when a first condition and a second condition are both satisfied (abstract) and electronic control unit is configured to acquire information in front of the host vehicle relating to a traveling lane, on which the host vehicle is traveling, determine a target traveling line based on the acquired information, acquire a driving state parameter of the host vehicle that changes according to at least one of a steering angle and a temporal change rate of the steering angle, execute lane keeping assistance control for changing a steering angle of the host vehicle such that the host vehicle travels along the target traveling line, and make the warning unit issue the warning ([0009]) and further teaches wherein
the control method further comprises:
determining that there is an obstacle (A surroundings sensor 16 acquires information relating to at least a road forward of the host vehicle and a solid object on the road. A solid object represents, for example, a moving object, such as a pedestrian, a bicycle, or a vehicle, and a fixed object, such as a pole, a tree, or a guardrail. Hereinafter, the solid object may be referred to as an “object”; [0030]; each detected object (n); [0032]; note: it can be seen that there are a number (n) of objects (i.e. a range of objects from 1-to-n), which are denoted as “object (n)) around the vehicle (the object (n) (for example, a preceding vehicle); [0033]; the driving assistance ECU 10 determines whether or not the relative position of the object (n) specified from the azimuth H(n) of the detected object (n)… the relative position of the object is present within the following target vehicle area over a predetermined time or more, the object (n) is selected as a following target vehicle; [0052]), and
issuing second prompt information (display ECU 70 makes the buzzer 71 sound according to an instruction from the driving assistance ECU 10 to alert the driver, and makes a mark for an alert (for example, a warning lamp) light up, displays a warning image, displays a warning message, and displays an operation situation of driving assistance control on the display 72. The display 72 is a display device that displays an image according to a command of the driving assistance ECU 10. Specifically, the display 72 is a head up display, but may be other displays (for example, a multi-function display); [0043]) when a distance between the obstacle and the vehicle is less than a second target distance (the driving assistance ECU 10 selects a following target vehicle based on the object information acquired by the surroundings sensor 16. For example, the driving assistance ECU 10 determines whether or not the relative position of the object (n) specified from the azimuth H(n) of the detected object (n) and the inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is present within a prescribed following target vehicle area such that the longer the inter-vehicle distance, the smaller an absolute value of the azimuth H(n). Then, the relative position of the object is present within the following target vehicle area over a predetermined time or more, the object (n) is selected as a following target vehicle; [0052]; The second image shown in FIG. 6B is different from the first image shown in FIG. 6A solely in that the blue wall BW is replaced with a white and blinking wall BW″. With this, visual appeal is made for the driver to the effect that there is a possibility that the lane keeping assistance control may reach the control allowable limit (there is a possibility of lane deviation), whereby it is possible to alert the driver; [0116]; Here, in [0052], the inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is the distance between the vehicle and the object, and it is determined if this inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is within a prescribed following target vehicle area, meaning that this inter-vehicle distance Dfx(n) is less than a distance of a prescribed following target vehicle area, and in [0116], visual appeal is made for the driver to the effect that there is a possibility that the lane keeping assistance control may reach the control allowable limit (there is a possibility of lane deviation), whereby it is possible to alert the driver, and is seen as a prompt/warning/alert; note: as indicated in [0102] and fig. 6a-6b, the allowable limits are BW (on both left and right sides) as well as VM, which comprise the left and right allowable limits and the front/inter-vehicle limit/distance).
Motivation to combine is given in claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747