DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 3/11/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/11/26.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites: “…the light includes comprises a wavelength….”; the adjacent recitation of “includes comprises” appears to be a redundant grammatical error for one of “includes” or “comprises”.
Claim 13 recites: “wherein the monomer comprising at least one of…” the use of “comprising” appears to be a grammatical error for “comprises”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "or on the intervening layer.". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 1 (from which claim 8 depends) fails to recite “an intervening layer”. “an intervening layer” is only previously recited in claim 6. For purposes of examination "or on the intervening layer." will be interpreted as at least inclusive of “or on an intervening layer.”.
The other dependent claims do not cure the defects of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng et al (CN 117393637; citations directed to machine translation provided herein; hereafter Peng).
Claim 1: Peng teaches a method comprising, in order:
applying a liquid (photoresist) to a first surface of a perovskite layer (10) (See, for example, Fig 5-7, [0011-0012] [0058-59]
the perovskite layer having an average thickness defined by a distance between the first surface and a second surface (See, for example, [0019], Fig 6);
and irradiating the second surface with a light (see, for example, [0012], [0058], Fig 6).
wherein: the perovskite layer includes a void (such as etch line P1 / scribing lines) that penetrates into the first surface and at least a portion of the thickness (see, for example, Fig 5-7),
the applying results in at least a portion of the liquid at least partially filling the void, and the irradiating results in the liquid in the void reacting to form a solid (see, for example, [0012], [0058], Fig 5-7).
Claim 2: Peng further teaches wherein the void is completely filled by the solid (See, for example, [0012], [0058], Fig 5-6).
Claim 3: Peng further teaches wherein the average thickness of the perovskite layer, without voids, results in essentially zero transmission of the light between the wavelengths of 200 nm and 400 nm from the second surface to the first surface (see, for example, [0012], [0019], [0058], Fig 5-7 only the photoresist within the void is cured /exposed / developed, thus given the direction of incident light, no transmission through the perovskite layer occured).
Claim 4: Peng further teaches wherein the light the light is UV light, thus light at a range of a wavelength of ~100-400nm (see, for example, [0058]).
Claim 6: Peng further teaches before the applying, depositing an intervening layer (hole transport layer (11) onto the first surface of the perovskite layer (10) (see, for example, Fig 5-6, [0010], [0053]).
Claim 7: Peng further teaches wherein the intervening layer (hole transport layer) comprises at least one of an organic, an oxide, a carbonaceous material, or a combination thereof (See, for example, [0056]).
Claim 8: Peng further teaches after the irradiating, removing (via developing) unreacted liquid remaining on at least one of the first surface of the perovskite layer or on the intervening layer (see, for example, Fig 5-6, [0058]).
Claim 9: Peng further teaches wherein the removing is performed by use of a removal liquid (developer) (See, for example, [0058]).
Claim 10: Peng further teaches wherein at least one of the applying, irradiating, or removing is performed at room temperature (25° C) (See, for example, [0058], as no additional temperature is recited in conjunction with the application, exposure and development of the photoresist, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume naturally occurring room temperature (~25C)).
Claim 11: Peng further teaches wherein the void comprises a scribe (See, for example, [0025], [0057], Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng.
Claim 5: Peng further teaches wherein the average thickness is between 100 nm and 1000 nm (See, for example, [0019]). Although such a range is not explicitly 400-1000 nm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a thickness within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 10: Peng further teaches the applying, irradiating, or removing (coating, UV exposure, development) of the photoresist. (See, for example, [0058]). If room temperature would not already be inherent (refer to rejection of claim 10 above), Peng not explicitly providing a temperature for such steps would at least suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that standard atmospheric conditions of room temperature (~25C) would be suitable, further such a naturally occurring condition would not require any additional expenditure of energy / infrastructure. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated performing at least one of applying, irradiating, or removing at a temperature between 10C and 100 C, further room temperature since one of ordinary skill in the art would readily assume that if no alternative / specific temperature was disclosed, that standard atmospheric conditions of room temperature (~25C) would be suitable, further such a naturally occurring condition would not require any additional expenditure of energy / infrastructure, and generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.(MPEP 2144.05 II A)
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ying et al (US 6,183,901; hereafter Ying).
Claim 12: Peng teaches the method of claim 1 above, and further teaches wherein the liquid is photocurable (see, for example, [0012]), but is silent as to its composition, so it does not explicitly teach wherein the liquid comprises a monomer. Like Peng, Ying teaches a method of forming battery cells (See, for example, abstract). Ying similarly has relied upon a UV-curable composition for separation and filling / penetration of cracks and recessive features underlying surfaces (See, for example, abstract, col 20 lines 50-57, and col 21 lines 19-30, col 22 lines 31-37, Example 1). Ying further teaches wherein such liquid formulations are commonly and predictably comprised of monomers (See, for example, col 21 lines 39-53). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated monomers in the liquid since monomers are common and predictable components in photo-curable compositions usable for separation structures and filling / penetration of cracks and recessive features within battery applications, and since when a primary reference is silent as to a certain detail, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to consult a secondary reference which satisfies the deficiencies of the primary reference.
Claim 13: Peng in view of Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the monomer comprising at least one of an alkene, an epoxide, an ester, an acrylate, phenol, a phenoloic, azides, an isoprene, an oxetane, a coumarin, an anthracene, a maleimide, a furan, styrene, or a combination thereof (See, for example, col 11 lines 49-55, col 21 lines 39-52).
Claims 14-15: Peng in view of Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the liquid further comprises a polymerizing agent, further a radical initiator (photosensitizer) (See, for example, col 16 lines 21-33, Example 1).
Claim 16-17: Peng in view of Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the solid comprises a cured form of the monomer, further at least one of a polyether, a polyacrylate, a polyalkene, a phenolic resin, a polyester, polystyrene, or a combination thereof (see, for example, col 11 lines 49-55, col 21 lines 19-52, example 1, claim 4).
Claim 18: Peng in view of Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the liquid viscosity is tailorable to control penetrative properties and is commonly implemented at a viscosity between 15 cP and 5000cP (See, for example, col 22 lines 9-37; as the conversion from cP to cSt is 1:1 for densities ~1 (cSt = (cP/Density))). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a liquid viscosity within the claimed range of 1 cSt and 10,000 cSt or between 1,000 cSt and 5,000 cSt since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), and / or since discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner et al (US 2011/0312120; hereafter Weiner) in view of Lincot (US 2019/0035964; hereafter Lincot).
Claim 1: Weiner teaches a method comprising, in order:
applying a liquid (photoresist / 618) to a first surface of an absorber layer (615) (See, for example, Fig 6B-D [0008-0009], [0065]).
the absorber layer having an average thickness defined by a distance between the first surface and a second surface (See, for example, [0048], Fig 6A-D);
and irradiating the second surface with a light (see, for example, [0076-78], Fig 6C).
wherein: the absorber layer includes a void (void defects 650) that penetrates into the first surface and at least a portion of the thickness (see, for example, Fig 6A),
the applying results in at least a portion of the liquid at least partially filling the void, and the irradiating results in the liquid in the void reacting to form a solid (see, for example, abstract, [0076-0079], Fig 6C-D).
Weiner teaches wherein the layer is an absorber layer in electronic stack materials, such as solar or photovoltaic cells , further such as a CdTe or CIGS absorber layer (See, for example, abstract, [0002-0003], [0008], [0073]), but it does not explicitly describe the absorber layer as a perovskite layer. Lincot is similarly directed to the field of electronic stack materials, such as photovoltaic / solar cells (See, for example, abstract, [0002-0003]). Lincot similarly is concerned with filling void features (P2) through absorber layers with electrically insulating polymer type material (90) (see, for example, [0162-165], Fig 3). Lincot further teaches wherein common absorber layers comprise CIGS, CdTE, and perovskite types (See, for example, [0011], [0014], [0047], [0108], [0165]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a perovskite absorber layer since such a layer is common and predictably used in the art as an absorber layer, and since where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297,301 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 372 F.2d 566, 568 (CCPA 1967).
Claim 2: Weiner further teaches wherein the void is completely filled by the solid (See, for example, [0079]).
Claim 3: Weiner further teaches wherein the average thickness of the perovskite layer, without voids, results in essentially zero transmission of the light between the wavelengths of 200 nm and 400 nm from the second surface to the first surface (see, for example, [0077], Fig 6C-D only the photoresist within the void is cured /exposed / developed, thus essentially zero transmission of the light at the above wavelength had occurred, otherwise the volume above the perovskite layer would have similarly been cured).
Claim 4: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above and Weiner explicitly teaches the use of photoresist, which by convention would involve curing with UV light, thus light at a range of a wavelength of ~100-400nm (see, for example, [0059]).
Claim 5: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above and Weiner further teaches wherein the average thickness of the absorber is result effective depending on the material, but is commonly between about 500-2000 nm (See, for example, [0048]). Although such a range is not explicitly 400-1000 nm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a thickness within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 6: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above, and Lincot has further taught wherein before the applying a filling liquid (Such as to P1), depositing an intervening layer (such as layer (26) (see, for example, Fig 3, [0162]).
Claim 7: Lincot further teaches wherein the intervening layer (26) comprises at least one of an an oxide (such as ZnO) (See, for example, Fig 3, [0125]).
Claim 8: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above, and Weiner further teaches after the irradiating, removing (via developing) unreacted liquid remaining on at least one of the first surface of the perovskite layer or on the intervening layer (see, for example, [0009], [0078-0079]), Fig 6D).
Claim 9: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above, and Weiner further teaches wherein the removing is performed by use of a removal liquid (developer) (See, for example, [0009], [0078-0079]), Fig 6D).
Claim 10: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above, and Weiner further teaches wherein at least one of the applying, irradiating, or removing is performed at room temperature (25° C) (See, for example, [0059], wherein the process “may include baking at low temperature”, thus anticipating scenarios where it “may” not. Further as no additional temperature is recited in conjunction with the exposure and development of the photoresist, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume naturally occurring room temperature (~25C)). Alternatively, if not already inherent, the silence as to temperatures for such exposure and development would at least suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that standard atmospheric conditions of room temperature (~25C) would be suitable, further such a naturally occurring condition would not require any additional expenditure of energy / infrastructure. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated performing at least one of applying, irradiating, or removing at a temperature between 10C and 100 C, further room temperature since one of ordinary skill in the art would readily assume that if no alternative / specific temperature was disclosed, that standard atmospheric conditions of room temperature (~25C) would be suitable, further such a naturally occurring condition would not require any additional expenditure of energy / infrastructure, and generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.(MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 11: Weiner in view of Lincot teach the method of claim 1 above, and Weiner further teaches voids comprise pinholes, cracks defects (See, for example, [0059]), and Lincot has taught the void comprises a scribe (P1, groove) (See, for example, Fig 3, [0162]).
Claim(s) 4, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner in view of Lincot as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ying.
Claim 12: Weiner in view of Lincot teaches the method of claim 1 above, and Weiner further teaches wherein the liquid is photocurable (see, for example, [0073]), but is silent as to its composition, so it does not explicitly teach wherein the liquid comprises a monomer. Like Weiner, Ying teaches a method of forming electronic stacked devices / photovolataic /solar cells (See, for example, abstract). Ying similarly has relied upon a UV-curable composition for separation and filling / penetration of cracks and recessive features underlying surfaces (See, for example, abstract, col 20 lines 50-57, and col 21 lines 19-30, col 22 lines 31-37, Example 1). Ying further teaches wherein such liquid formulations are commonly and predictably comprised of monomers (See, for example, col 21 lines 39-53). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated monomers in the liquid since monomers are common and predictable components in photo-curable compositions usable for separation structures and filling / penetration of cracks and recessive features within battery applications, and since when a primary reference is silent as to a certain detail, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to consult a secondary reference which satisfies the deficiencies of the primary reference.
Claim 4: Weiner in view of Lincot and Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the light the light for curing is UV light, thus light at a range of a wavelength of ~100-400nm (see, for example, col 16 lines 21-33, and example 1).
Claim 13: Weiner in view of Lincot and Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the monomer comprising at least one of an alkene, an epoxide, an ester, an acrylate, phenol, a phenoloic, azides, an isoprene, an oxetane, a coumarin, an anthracene, a maleimide, a furan, styrene, or a combination thereof (See, for example, col 11 lines 49-55, col 21 lines 39-52).
Claims 14-15: Weiner in view of Lincot and Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the liquid further comprises a polymerizing agent, further a radical initiator (photosensitizer) (See, for example, col 16 lines 21-33, Example 1).
Claim 16-17: Weiner in view of Lincot and Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the solid comprises a cured form of the monomer, further at least one of a polyether, a polyacrylate, a polyalkene, a phenolic resin, a polyester, polystyrene, or a combination thereof (see, for example, col 11 lines 49-55, col 21 lines 19-52, example 1, claim 4).
Claim 18: Weiner in view of Lincot and Ying teach the method of claim 12 above and Ying further teaches wherein the liquid viscosity is tailorable to control penetrative properties and is commonly implemented at a viscosity between 15 cP and 5000cP (See, for example, col 22 lines 9-37; as the conversion from cP to cSt is 1:1 for densities ~1 (cSt = (cP/Density))). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a liquid viscosity within the claimed range of 1 cSt and 10,000 cSt or between 1,000 cSt and 5,000 cSt since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976), and / or since discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/NATHAN H EMPIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712