DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-22, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-20, 22, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12360614 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are a simple reorganization of claim dependencies.
App No. 19243024
US Patent No. 12360614
1. A system comprising:
a wrist-wearable apparatus comprising:
a mounting component,
a controller comprising a processing core, at least one memory including computer program code; and
a wrist-wearable IMU configured to measure a user, wherein the system is configured to:
receive data from the wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
receive data from at least one head sensor configured to measure the user, said data comprising a head orientation for the user,
compute, based on the gravity information and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch component is based at least in part on the gravity information, and
compute the directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to:
compute, based at least in part on the gravity information, a normalized gravity vector,
compute, based on the normalized gravity vector and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, the yaw component of the directive ray, and
compute the pitch component of the directive ray based at least in part on the computed normalized gravity vector.
1. A system comprising:
a wrist-wearable apparatus comprising:
a mounting component,
a controller comprising a processing core, at least one memory including computer program code; and
a wrist-wearable IMU configured to measure a user, wherein the system is configured to:
receive data from the wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
compute, based at least in part on the gravity information, a normalized gravity vector,
receive data from at least one head sensor configured to measure the user, said data comprising a head orientation for the user,
compute, based on the computed normalized gravity vector and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch component is based at least in part on the computed normalized gravity vector, and
compute the directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
1. A system comprising:
a wrist-wearable apparatus comprising:
a mounting component,
a controller comprising a processing core, at least one memory including computer program code; and
a wrist-wearable IMU configured to measure a user, wherein the system is configured to:
receive data from the wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
receive data from at least one head sensor configured to measure the user, said data comprising a head orientation for the user,
compute, based on the gravity information and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch component is based at least in part on the gravity information, and
compute the directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to:
compute the pitch component of the directive ray using a Madgwick filter configured to bias angular velocity correctness over orientation correctness.
23. A system comprising:
a wrist-wearable apparatus comprising:
a mounting component,
a controller comprising a processing core, at least one memory including computer program code; and
a wrist-wearable IMU configured to measure a user, wherein the system is configured to:
receive data from the wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
receive data from at least one head sensor configured to measure the user, said data comprising a head orientation for the user,
compute, based on the gravity information and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
compute a pitch component of the directive ray using a Madgwick filter configured to bias angular velocity correctness over orientation correctness, and compute the directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a head apparatus comprising:
a mounting component,
a display unit, and
a head apparatus controller, and wherein at least one of the head apparatus controller or the wrist-wearable apparatus controller is configured to receive the wrist-wearable IMU data and the head sensor data and to compute the yaw component, the pitch component and the directive ray.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a head apparatus comprising:
a mounting component,
a display unit, and
a head apparatus controller, and wherein at least one of the head apparatus controller or the wrist-wearable apparatus controller is configured to receive the wrist-wearable IMU data and the head sensor data and to compute the yaw component, the pitch component and the directive ray.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein at least one of the head apparatus controller or the wrist-wearable apparatus controller is configured to provide a data stream representing the directive ray a head apparatus and/or a computing device.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein at least one of the head apparatus controller or the wrist-wearable apparatus controller is configured to provide a data stream representing the directive ray to a head apparatus and/or a computing device.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the computation of the directive ray is further based on contextual information received from a scene.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the computation of the directive ray is further based on contextual information received from a scene.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to:
receive optical sensor data from the wrist-wearable apparatus, and
identify a selection gesture based on at least one of: the received optical data or the received IMU data,
wherein said identification is performed at least in part by a machine learning model, wherein the system comprises the machine learning model.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to:
receive optical sensor data from the wrist-wearable apparatus, and
identify a selection gesture based on at least one of: the received optical data or the received IMU data,
wherein said identification is performed at least in part by a machine learning model, wherein the system comprises the machine learning model.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the system is further configured to: enable or disable the gesture identification responsive to a classification of the hand's trajectory, wherein the classification of the hand trajectory is done by a ballistic/corrective phase classifier.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the system is further configured to: enable or disable the gesture identification responsive to a classification of the hand's trajectory, wherein the classification of the hand trajectory is done by a ballistic/corrective phase classifier.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of the gesture identification based on received contextual information which comprises location information of an interactive element and/or proximity information with respect to the end-point of the directive ray and the location of the interactive element, wherein adjusting the sensitivity comprises adjusting a confidence value threshold using in the gesture identification.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of the gesture identification based on received contextual information which comprises location information of an interactive element and/or proximity information with respect to the end-point of the directive ray and the location of the interactive element, wherein adjusting the sensitivity comprises adjusting a confidence value threshold using in the gesture identification.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of the gesture identification based on the trajectory of the directive ray, wherein adjusting the sensitivity comprises adjusting a confidence value threshold using the gesture identification.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of the gesture identification based on the trajectory of the directive ray, wherein adjusting the sensitivity comprises adjusting a confidence value threshold using the gesture identification.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to align the directive ray to an origin point, wherein the coordinates of the origin point are determined by the orientation of the user's head or gaze (POV center) where the origin point equals the center of the user's field of view.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to align the directive ray to an origin point, wherein the coordinates of the origin point are determined by the orientation of the user's head or gaze (POV center) where the origin point equals the center of the user's field of view.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to reduce disturbance caused by measurement errors of a user's pointing posture by implementing a filter to improve the accuracy of the directive ray.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to reduce disturbance caused by measurement errors of a user's pointing posture by implementing a filter to improve the accuracy of the directive ray.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of a machine learning model based on a previous selection history of the user.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of a machine learning model based on a previous selection history of the user.
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the system further incorporates a feature extraction module configured to analyze the sensor data stream and identify additional user actions beyond selection gestures.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the system further incorporates a feature extraction module configured to analyze the sensor data stream and identify additional user actions beyond selection gestures.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the directive ray is visualized as a bended curve at least between an interactive element and the wrist-wearable IMU.
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the directive ray is visualized as a bended curve at least between an interactive element and the wrist-wearable IMU.
19. The system of claim 1, wherein elbow location of the arm is estimated, and wherein the directive ray is aligned with the estimated elbow location and the location of the wrist-wearable IMU.
17. The system of claim 1, wherein elbow location of the arm is estimated, and wherein the directive ray is aligned with the estimated elbow location and the location of the wrist-wearable IMU.
20. The system of claim 1, wherein the orientation of the directive ray is corrected using eye-tracking information.
18. The system of claim 1, wherein the orientation of the directive ray is corrected using eye-tracking information.
21. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to re-compute, based at least in part on the normalized gravity vector and based at least in part on the data obtained from the at least one wrist-wearable IMU, a yaw component of the directive ray if the directive ray is substantially parallel or antiparallel with respect to the normalized gravity vector.
19. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to re-compute, based at least in part on the normalized gravity vector and based at least in part on the data obtained from the at least one wrist-wearable IMU, a yaw component of the directive ray if the directive ray is substantially parallel or antiparallel with respect to the normalized gravity vector.
22. A method for computing a directive ray, the method comprising:
receiving data from at least one wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
receiving data from at least one head sensor, configured to measure the user, in particular a head orientation for the user,
computing, based on the gravity information, and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
computing a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch is based at least in part on the received gravity information, and
computing a directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
20. A method for computing a directive ray, the method comprising:
receiving data from at least one wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
computing, based at least in part on the gravity information, a normalized gravity vector,
receiving data from at least one head sensor, configured to measure the user, in particular a head orientation for the user,
computing, based on the normalized gravity vector, and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
computing a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch is based at least in part on the computed normalized gravity vector, and
computing a directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
25. A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a set of computer readable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a system to at least:
receive data from at least one wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
receiving data from at least one head sensor, configured to measure the user, in particular a head orientation for the user,
compute, based at least in part on the received gravity information and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch is based at least in part on the received gravity information, and
compute a directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
22. A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a set of computer readable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a system to at least:
receive data from at least one wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information,
receiving data from at least one head sensor, configured to measure the user, in particular a head orientation for the user,
compute, based at least in part on the gravity information, a normalized gravity vector,
compute, based at least in part on the normalized gravity vector and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray,
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch is based at least in part on the computed normalized gravity vector, and
compute a directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11-13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khan et al. (US 11327630 B1, hereafter Khan).
Regarding claim 1, Khan teaches a system comprising:
a wrist-wearable apparatus comprising:
a mounting component (Fig. 1, Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where there is a smart watch 114),
a controller comprising a processing core, at least one memory including computer program code (Fig. 1, Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where the smart watch has a IMU with the necessary processor and memory to perform processing and transmission of movement information); and
a wrist-wearable IMU configured to measure a user (Fig. 1, Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where the smart watch has a IMU measuring user hand information),
wherein the system is configured to:
receive data from the wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information (Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where three dimensions of angular acceleration information are detected and transmitted, including pitch which necessarily includes gravity information),
receive data from at least one head sensor configured to measure the user, said data comprising a head orientation for the user (Fig. 1, Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where the HMD unit 116 includes an HMD unit IMU that generates similar movement information of the user),
compute, based on the gravity information and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU),
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch component is based at least in part on the gravity information (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU), and
compute the directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where the viewing and/or pointing direction are calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU).
Regarding claim 4, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a head apparatus comprising: a mounting component, a display unit, and a head apparatus controller (Fig. 1, Col. 8 lines 28-64, where the head apparatus is a head-mounted display), and wherein at least one of the head apparatus controller or the wrist-wearable apparatus controller is configured to receive the wrist-wearable IMU data and the head sensor data and to compute the yaw component, the pitch component and the directive ray (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU and wrist unit IMU).
Regarding claim 5, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the head apparatus controller or the wrist-wearable apparatus controller is configured to provide a data stream representing the directive ray to a head apparatus and/or a computing device (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where the viewing and/or pointing direction are calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU, where the transmission of data is reasonably interpreted as a data stream).
Regarding claim 7, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the computation of the directive ray is further based on contextual information received from a scene (Col. 12, ln. 19-51, where the context is an extended reality environment and this is used to inform the virtual object selection tasks performed by the pointing ray).
Regarding claim 8, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to: receive optical sensor data from the wrist-wearable apparatus, and identify a selection gesture based on at least one of: the received optical data or the received IMU data, wherein said identification is performed at least in part by a machine learning model, wherein the system comprises the machine learning model (Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where the system includes cameras for sensing; Col. 13 ln. 25-45, where machine learning is used to determine intent of the user hand gesture).
Regarding claim 11, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of the gesture identification based on received contextual information which comprises location information of an interactive element and/or proximity information with respect to the end-point of the directive ray and the location of the interactive element, wherein adjusting the sensitivity comprises adjusting a confidence value threshold used in the gesture identification (Col. 20 ln. 21-53, where virtual objects in the extended reality environment are tracked according to the pointing or destination location of the hand, the intent prediction system evaluating predictions using a confidence value).
Regarding claim 12, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of the gesture identification based on the trajectory of the directive ray, wherein adjusting the sensitivity comprises adjusting a confidence value threshold used in the gesture identification (Col. 20 ln. 21-53, where virtual objects in the extended reality environment are variably adjusted according to the pointing or destination location of the hand, the intent prediction system evaluating predictions using a confidence value).
Regarding claim 13, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to align the directive ray to an origin point, wherein the coordinates of the origin point are determined by the orientation of the user's head or gaze (POV center) where the origin point equals the center of the user's field of view (Figs. 7A and 7B, Col. 12 ln. 1-51, where a forward facing vector originating from a point between the eyes is defined as the origin).
Regarding claim 16, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured to adjust the sensitivity of a machine learning model based on a previous selection history of the user (Fig. 3, Col. 11 ln. 32-47, where stored previous hand/head movement information is used to adjust a trajectory of a user input).
Regarding claim 17, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the system further incorporates a feature extraction module configured to analyze the sensor data stream and identify additional user actions beyond selection gestures (Col. 13, lines 34-63, where ongoing evaluation of the sensor data allows for the use of selection or other types of manipulation).
Regarding claim 19, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein elbow location of the arm is estimated, and wherein the directive ray is aligned with the estimated elbow location and the location of the wrist-wearable IMU (Col. 11 ln. 48-67, where vector from the hand is determined based on the vector from the elbow joint to the tip of the index finger).
Regarding claim 20, Khan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the orientation of the directive ray is corrected using eye-tracking information (Col. 11 ln. 48-67, where eye gaze information is used for the vector from the head).
Regarding claim 22, Khan teaches a method for computing a directive ray, the method comprising:
receiving data from at least one wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information (Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where three dimensions of angular acceleration information are detected and transmitted, including pitch which necessarily includes gravity information),
receiving data from at least one head sensor, configured to measure the user, in particular a head orientation for the user (Fig. 1, Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where the HMD unit 116 includes an HMD unit IMU that generates similar movement information of the user),
computing, based on the gravity information, and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU),
computing a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch is based at least in part on the received gravity information (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU), and
computing a directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where the viewing and/or pointing direction are calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU).
Regarding claim 25, Khan teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon a set of computer readable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a system to at least:
receive data from at least one wrist-wearable IMU, the data comprising gravity information (Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where three dimensions of angular acceleration information are detected and transmitted, including pitch which necessarily includes gravity information), receiving data from at least one head sensor, configured to measure the user, in particular a head orientation for the user (Fig. 1, Col. 8 ln. 28-64, where the HMD unit 116 includes an HMD unit IMU that generates similar movement information of the user),
compute, based at least in part on the received gravity information and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, a yaw component of a directive ray (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU),
compute a pitch component of the directive ray, wherein computing the pitch is based at least in part on the received gravity information (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where a viewing direction is calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU), and
compute a directive ray, wherein the directive ray is based on a combination of the computed yaw component and computed pitch component (Fig. 1, Col. 8 line 65 to Col. 9 line 21, where the viewing and/or pointing direction are calculated based on angular information from the head unit IMU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (US 11327630 B1, hereafter Khan) in view of Vogel et al. (US 20180088675 A1, hereafter Vogel).
Regarding claim 2, Khan would show the system of claim 1. But Khan does not explicitly teach the system wherein the system is configured to: compute, based at least in part on the gravity information, a normalized gravity vector, compute, based on the normalized gravity vector and based at least in part on the data received from the head sensor, the yaw component of the directive ray, and compute the pitch component of the directive ray based at least in part on the computed normalized gravity vector. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Vogel ([0036]-[0040], where a normalized gravity vector is used when determining the directive ray based on information from a wearable device, the information including 3-axis gyroscope and 3-axis accelerometer inputs). Both Khan and Vogel teach wearable devices comprising acceleration sensors for determining a directive ray. Khan is silent with respect to the use of a normalized gravity vector in calculations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use normalization of a vector as taught by Vogel to simplify calculations.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. (US 11327630 B1, hereafter Khan) in view of Hu et al. (US 20230297167 A1, hereafter Hu).
Regarding claim 3, Khan teaches the system of claim 1. But, Khan does not explicitly teach the system wherein the system is configured to: compute the pitch component of the directive ray using a Madgwick filter configured to bias angular velocity correctness over orientation correctness. However, this was well known in the art as evidenced by Hu ([0051]-[0052], where input data received from movement sensors is processed using a Madgwick orientation filter). Both Khan and Hu teach devices which detection orientation information wearable devices. Khan is silent with respect to the use of a Madgwick orientation filter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a Madgwick orientation filter as taught by Hu into the processing of Khan so as to improve sensor data determinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-10 of Applicant’s arguments/remarks, Applicant asserts that Khan does not disclose “the use of yaw and pitch components in the claimed manner to obtain a directive ray” and instead that Khan teaches that “trajectory data is interpreted with four velocity profiles” or that “the trajectory data does not include head movement data at all” and so therefore “head movement information is not used to generate a yaw component of a directive ray.” However, the cited portion of Khan clearly states that, after generating “hand movement information indicating a linear velocity and angular velocity of the hand, such as three dimensions of linear acceleration (x, y, z) detected by an accelerometer of the IMU and three dimensions of angular acceleration (roll, pitch, yaw) detected by a gyroscope of the IMU” there is then generated, “[s]imilarly, the HMD unit 116 includes an HMD unit IMU configured to generate… head movement information indicating a linear velocity and angular velocity of the head.” Khan explicitly teaches the HMD generating information including yaw and pitch components.
Applicant argues further on pages 9 and 10 that “[n]othing in Khan appears to suggest that a single directive ray (or its yaw component) is generated based on the combination of the hand and head data.” The Office Action cites a portion of the Khan reference that teaches “the pointing directions 26, 28, and/or view directions 16, 18, may be used to perform ray casting.” Further in Khan it is explicitly stated that “Hand movement information 302 is obtained from the IMU of the smart watch 114 from time T to time T+1 (indicating hand movement 34) and used by the trajectory data generation subsystem 310 (along with head movement information 304 from the IMU of the HMD unit 116, not shown) to generate trajectory data 314” (Khan Col. 16. Lines 55-65) and that “in some embodiments the direction and/or speed of movement of the selected virtual object, and/or the predicted third position 502 of the hand 20, will change over time in response to changes in the actual movement of the hand 20 and head 10.” The ray cast by the hand factors in head movement information.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Applicant asserts that Khan does not teach receiving optical data from a wrist-wearable apparatus and using said data to identify a selection gesture, stating that the cited portion disclosing cameras in Khan is only a general recitation. Khan explicitly teaches that the cameras may included in the system “in addition to, or instead of, the IMUs” where Fig. 1 shows the IMUs are installed in the smart watch 114 and HMD unit 116. It follows that Khan teaches the placement of cameras in the wearable devices.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER D MCLOONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621