DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 describes a coating film and its properties. This limitation is not given any patentable weight because: (1) claim 1 is directed to a composition rather than a coating; (2) the coating is not recited in a manner where its formation is required by the claim; and (3) the coating is recited as “comprising” the composition rather than consisting only of the composition, so the properties of the film can not reasonably be understood to further described the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0241415).
Claims 1, 2 and 5: Lee teaches a composition (Abst.), comprising: a carbo-based resin binder (¶ 0040); a reactive unsaturated compound (¶ 0063), a photoinitiator (¶ 0074), a colorant (¶ 0072) and a solvent (¶ 0079).
Claim 4: Lee teaches that the carbo-based resin is present in an amount of 1-30 wt% (¶ 0061).
Claims 7-8: Lee teaches that the colorant is an organic pigment (¶ 0066) and is pretreated with a dispersant (¶ 0068).
Claim 9: Lee teaches that the composition further comprises an acryl-based binder resin (¶ 0062).
Claim 11: Lee teaches that the reacted compound is present in an amount of 1-40 wt% (¶ 0065).
Claim 12: Lee teaches that the photoinitiator is present in an amount of 0.01-10 wt% (¶ 0078).
Claims 13-15: Lee further teaches using the composition to form a pixel defining layer in an OLED which includes a control unit (¶¶ 0088-0096).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Claim 6: Lee teaches that the colorant is present in an amount of 1-40 wt% (¶ 0072). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected an amount of 17-35 wt% with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in light of Tanigaki et al. (US 2018/0259852).
Claim 10: Lee fails to teach the MW of the acryl-based binder. Tanigaki, like Lee, teaches a composition used for forming a pixel defining region, the composition based on a cardo-based resin (Abst.) and explains that a suitable MW for the acryl-based binder is 3,000-100,000 (¶ 0307). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected an acryl-based binder with a MW of 3,000-100,000 in the composition of Lee with the predictable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Lee teaches that the cardo-based binder resin has the following formula:
(¶ 0040), which corresponds to the claimed Formula (1) when A1 and A2 are each claimed formula 2, Y1 and Y2 are each claimed formula 6 (¶ 0051), the ratio of A1 to A2 is 1:1, X1 is, e.g., O (¶ 0046), X2 is, e.g., a C6-30 aryl group (¶ 0048) and each of the R groups have the same definition (¶¶ 0041-0054).
Lee, however, teaches that A1 and A2 both correspond to formula 2 and therefore fails to teach the claimed ratio of formula 2 to formula 3.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712