DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 13, 15, 16, & 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, & 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,076,862. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims
Claims
Claims
19/244,199
1, 13, 15, 16, 18-20
2
3
11,076,862
1
6
13
Claims 2 & 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17, 19, & 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims
19/244,199
2, 19
12,357,318
1, 17, 19, 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites ‘the engaging surface extends along the longitudinal direction and along the radial direction’ – it is unclear if this was meant to say of the capsule, since the ‘longitudinal direction’ and ‘radial direction’ are both positively introduced in the lines above it, or if it is intended to be a newly defined longitudinal/radial direction associated with the sheath since the engaging surface is part of the sheath element. For the purpose of examination, examiner will read the directions to be associated with the capsule until further clarification is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, 14, 15, 18, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al. (WO 2018/235402 – English translation relied on in US Pub. No. 2020/0100791 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchiya et al. disclose a medical instrument, comprising: an arm 114A,B (Figs. 1, 2, 9-12); a capsule 18 (Figs. 1, 2, 9-12) configured to hold the arm 114A,B, the capsule 18 including an engaged surface 44 (best seen in Fig. 11); and a sheath 82 (Figs. 1, 2, 9-12) configured to engage with the capsule 18, the sheath 82 including an engaging surface 90 (Figs. 8 & 11), wherein the engaged surface 44 is configured to receive a rotation force from the engaging surface 90 toward a circumferential direction of the capsule 18 (when members 92A-C are spring engaged with the first surface 44 of capsule 18, the two elements rotate with each other).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuchiya et al. further disclose wherein: the sheath 82 has a first concave structure and a first convex structure (see annotated Fig. 11 below), the capsule 18 has a second concave structure and a second convex structure (see annotated Fig. 11 below), the first concave structure and the second convex structure are configured to be engaged with each other, and the second concave structure and the first convex structure are configured to be engaged with each other (as shown engaged in Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuchiya et al. further disclose wherein: the first concave structure and the first convex structure are provided at a distal end side of the sheath 82 and distally extend in a longitudinal direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above), and the second concave structure and the second convex structure are provided at a proximal end side of the capsule 18 and proximally extend in a longitudinal direction (see annotated Fig. 11 above).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuchiya et al. further disclose wherein: the engaged surface is provided at an inner circumferential surface of the capsule 18 (Fig. 11), and the engaging surface is provided at an outer circumferential surface of the sheath 82 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuchiya et al. further disclose wherein the engaged surface 44 extends along a longitudinal direction of the capsule 18 and along a radial direction of the capsule 18 (groove 44 has a height which is considered to extend in a longitudinal direction of the capsule, and the groove 44 also is circumferential so it is considered to extend along a radial direction), and the engaging surface 90 extends along the longitudinal direction and along the radial direction (see engagement with capsule 18 in Fig. 9). (See 35 USC 112 section above regarding the interpretation of this claim)
Regarding claim 15, Tsuchiya et al. further disclose wherein the engaging surface 90 is configured to transmit a rotational force around a longitudinal axis to the engaged surface of the capsule 18 (when members 92A-C are spring engaged with the first surface 44 of capsule 18, the two elements rotate with each other).
Regarding claim 18, Tsuchiya et al. disclose a medical instrument, comprising: an arm 114A,B (Figs. 1, 2, 9-12); and a capsule 18 (Figs. 1, 2, 9-12) configured to accommodate the arm 114A,B; the capsule 18 including an engaged surface 44 (best seen in Fig. 11), the engaged surface 44 being configured to engage with an engaging surface (NOTE: the engaging surface is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention); and wherein the engaged surface 44 is configured to receive a rotation force from the engaging surface toward a circumferential direction of the capsule 18 (when members 92A-C are spring engaged with the first surface 44 of capsule 18, the two elements rotate with each other).
Regarding claim 20, Tsuchiya et al. further disclose wherein: a part of the arm 114A,B protrudes from the capsule 18, the arm 114A,B and the capsule 18 are configured to be rotatable together about a longitudinal axis of the capsule 18 (as shown in Fig. 11, the arm and capsule are configured to operate as a single unit). With respect to the limitation ‘and the arm is configured to be rotatable relative to an operation wire about the longitudinal axis, and the operation wire is configured to operate the arm’, the ‘operation wire’ is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Therefore, a different operation wire could be used with the arm of Tsuchiya et al. that is attached to the arm in such a way that the arm is configured to be rotatable relative to the operation wire. Until the operation wire is positively recited, this will be the interpretation in view of the prior art.
Claims 1, 2, 18, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (US Pat. No. 9,510,836 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a medical instrument (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9), comprising: an arm 112 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9); a capsule 12 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9) configured to hold the arm 112, the capsule 12 including an engaged surface 117 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9); and a sheath 312 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9) configured to engage with the capsule 12, the sheath 312 including an engaging surface 313 (column 6, lines 25-40 - ‘connecting part of connecting rod 313 is disengaged from holes or grooves correspondingly under a certain pull force, so that the connecting head 312 is disengaged from the tightening tube 12’), wherein the engaged surface 117 is configured to receive a rotation force from the engaging surface 313 toward a circumferential direction of the capsule 12 (when engaged, the engaging hook surface of 313 has a circumferentially facing portion that engages with the hole edge, which is also circumferentially facing, that is configured to deliver a rotational force via engagement with the hole; engagement of 313 with 12 is described in column 6, lines 25-40).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu further discloses wherein, in a state in which the sheath 312 is engaged with the capsule 12, the engaged surface faces the engaging surface in the circumferential direction (when engaged, the engaging hook surface of 313 has a circumferentially facing portion that engages with the hole edge, which is also circumferentially facing; engagement of 313 with 12 is described in column 6, lines 25-40).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu discloses a medical instrument, comprising: an arm 112 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9); and a capsule 12 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9) configured to accommodate the arm 112; the capsule 12 including an engaged surface 117 (Figs. 6, 6A, & 9), the engaged surface being configured to engage with an engaging surface; and wherein the engaged surface is configured to receive a rotation force from the engaging surface toward a circumferential direction of the capsule 12 (when engaged, the engaging hook surface of 313 has a circumferentially facing portion that engages with the hole edge, which is also circumferentially facing, that is configured to deliver a rotational force via engagement with the hole; engagement of 313 with 12 is described in column 6, lines 25-40).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu further discloses wherein, in a state in which the engaged surface is engaged with the engaging surface, the engaged surface faces a engaging surface in the circumferential direction (when engaged, the engaging hook surface of 313 has a circumferentially facing portion that engages with the hole edge, which is also circumferentially facing; engagement of 313 with 12 is described in column 6, lines 25-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (WO 2018/235402 – English translation relied on in US Pub. No. 2020/0100791 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuchiya et al. fail to further disclose wherein: the engaged surface is provided at an outer circumferential surface of the capsule, and the engaging surface is provided at an inner circumferential surface of the sheath. Tsuchiya et al. (as discussed in the rejection of claim 11 above) discloses the opposite locations of the engaged/engaging surfaces, however, the parts cooperate with each other in an identical manner/function. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to reverse the engaged surface and the engaging surface to be on opposing surfaces of the capsule and sheath, for the purpose of providing the same connection just in a orientation, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 & 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further disclose, teach, or suggest wherein: the capsule includes an inner-groove recessed from an inner surface of the capsule, and each of the plurality of protrusions are disposed in the inner-groove [claim 4]; wherein the plurality of protrusions are dispersed on an inner surface of the capsule [claim 5]; wherein the plurality of protrusions are dispersed on an outer surface of the capsule [claim 6]; wherein: the sheath includes a bushing and a protrusion protruding in a radial direction of the capsule from the bushing, and the protrusion is configured to engage with the capsule [claim 7]; wherein: the capsule includes an inner-groove recessed from an inner surface of the capsule, and the protrusion is configured to engage with the inner-groove to prevent the sheath from removing from the capsule [claim 8]; and wherein the engaging surface is configured to be movable in a radial direction of the capsule [claim 17].
EXAMINER NOTE: Claims 3, 13, & 16 have no prior art rejection but have been rejected under Double Patenting, once the Double Patenting rejection has been overcome, these claims would be allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 September 1, 2026