Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 20, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification recites in [0071] the following: “An adhesion layer, such as an optical clear adhesive OCA may couple the window 60 to a component therebelow, such as the optical functional section 50.” However, that is not described in such a way to enable a skilled artisan as to how to make or use a display device “wherein the component is below the lower surface of the substrate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2017/0162637) in view of Kwak et al (US 2017/0287992).
As per claim 1 Cho et al discloses: A display device comprising:
two pixels PX {figure 2} spaced apart from each other and a first area TA between the two pixels PX;
an pixels PX and comprising
a metal layer 135 {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16} on the two pixels PX, the metal layer 135 comprising at least one compound selected from molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and an alloy of these materials {[0128] The first inorganic layer 131 and the second inorganic layer 135 may include a metallic oxide, a metallic nitride, a metallic carbide, and a compound thereof. For example, the first inorganic layer 131 and the second inorganic layer 135 may include at least one inorganic material from among Al2O3, TiO2, Ta2O5, HfO2, ZnO2, SiOx, AlON, AlN, SiON, and/or Si3N4.}, the metal layer 135 being disposed between the two pixels PX and surrounding the first area TA, the metal layer 135 comprising a first hole TH located in the first area TA {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
Regarding claim 1 Cho et al is silent as to: an input sensing section on the two pixels and comprising sensing electrodes and trace lines electrically connected to the sensing electrodes. With respect to claim 1 Kwak et al discloses: [0184] As shown in FIG. 10A (at (i)), the electronic device may have a structure in which the touchscreen panel 720 and the display panel 709 are separated. At one end of the touchscreen panel 720 disposed at an upper portion of the display panel 709, electrodes P1 and PAD of the touchscreen panel 720 may be disposed, and at one end of the display panel 709, an electrode P2 and PAD of the display panel 709 may be disposed. & [0175] The touchscreen panel 720 may include a first area 803a that does not overlap with the camera device 800 and a second area 803b that overlaps with the camera device 800. The touchscreen panel 720 may include a gate wiring 1710 and a data wiring 1720. By transferring a first signal to a pixel RGB, the gate wiring 1710 may control a gate of the pixel. The gate wiring 1710 may include a first gate wiring 1701 disposed at the first area 803a and a second gate wiring 1703 that crosses the second area 803b. By transferring a second signal to the pixel, the data wiring 1720 may control an image to display on the touchscreen panel 720. The data wiring 1720 may include a first data wiring 1705 disposed at the first area 803a and a second gate wiring 1707 that crosses the second area 803b.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Cho et al with an input sensing section on the two pixels and comprising sensing electrodes and trace lines electrically connected to the sensing electrodes as taught by Kwak et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device with an input sensing section on the two pixels and comprising sensing electrodes and trace lines electrically connected to the sensing electrodes so as to allow a user to interact and select objects, buttons and items on a display.
Regarding claim 2 Cho et al is silent as to: The display device of claim 1, further comprising an optical functional section that covers only a partial portion of the metal layer 135, wherein the optical functional section comprises at least one selected from a polarizer and a retarder and has a hole overlapping the first hole TH, and the hole of the optical functional section has a width that is greater than a width of the first hole TH. With respect to claim 2 Kwak et al discloses: an optical functional section 725 {figure 6A} that covers only a partial portion of the metal layer 728 {Note: a partial portion lacks specificity. A partial portion is seen to be disclosed and depicted by Cho et al as modified by Kwak et al},, wherein the optical functional section 725 {figure 6A} comprises at least one selected from a polarizer and a retarder { [0137] A polarization layer (PCL) 725 may be further included between the second adhesive layer 730 and the touchscreen panel 720. The polarization layer 725 may polarize incident light applied to the touchscreen panel 720 side and reflected light in which the incident light is reflected by the touchscreen panel 720. The polarization layer 725 may be attached to the transparent layer 600 through the second adhesive layer 730 to perform a function of preventing the transparent layer 600 from being scattered when the transparent layer 600 is damaged.} and has a hole 810 {figure 6B} overlapping the first hole 810 {figure 6B}, and the hole 810 {figure 6B} of the optical functional section 725 {figure 6A} has a width that is greater than a width of the first hole 810 {figure 6B} {Note: a width of the holes is set forth and lacks specificity. A width being greater than a second width is seen to be disclosed and depicted by Cho et al as modified by Kwak et al}.
Regarding claims 7 and 17 Cho et al is silent as to: The display device of claim 1, wherein the input sensing section comprises a touch insulating layer including a second hole TH overlapping the first hole TH in the first area TA, and a width of the second hole TH of the touch insulating layer is less than a width of the first hole TH of the metal layer. With respect to claims 7 and 17 Kwak et al discloses: The display device of claim 1, wherein the input sensing section comprises a touch insulating layer including a second hole 810 overlapping the first hole 810 in the first area, and a width of the second hole 810 of the touch insulating layer is less than a width of the first hole 810 of the metal layer 135 { [0211] The TFT array 724 may be a buffer layer. The buffer layer may prevent an impure element from penetrating into the polymer layer 722 and provide a flat surface to an upper portion of the polymer layer 722. The TFT array 724, which is a buffer layer, may be made of various materials that may provide a flat surface. For example, the buffer layer may contain an inorganic material such as glass, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride, titanium oxide, and titanium nitride or an organic material such as polyimide, polyester, and polyacrylonitrile, or other suitable materials. The buffer layer may be deposited by various deposition methods such as a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) method, an atmospheric pressure CVD (APCVD) method, and a low pressure CVD (LPCVD) method. Note: a width of the holes is set forth and lacks specificity. A width being greater than a second width is seen to be disclosed and depicted by Cho et al as modified by Kwak et al}.
Regarding claim 11 Cho et al is silent as to: The display device of claim 10, wherein the optical functional section covers only a partial portion of the metal layer, and the optical functional section comprises at least one selected from a polarizer. With respect to claim 11 Kwak et al discloses: the optical functional section covers only a partial portion of the metal layer {Note: a partial portion lacks specificity. A partial portion is seen to be disclosed and depicted by Cho et al as modified by Kwak et al}, and the optical functional section comprises at least one selected from a polarizer. {[0137] A polarization layer (PCL) 725 may be further included between the second adhesive layer 730 and the touchscreen panel 720. The polarization layer 725 may polarize incident light applied to the touchscreen panel 720 side and reflected light in which the incident light is reflected by the touchscreen panel 720. The polarization layer 725 may be attached to the transparent layer 600 through the second adhesive layer 730 to perform a function of preventing the transparent layer 600 from being scattered when the transparent layer 600 is damaged. }
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Cho et al with an optical functional section that covers only a partial portion of the metal layer, wherein the optical functional section comprises at least one selected from a polarizer and a retarder and has a hole overlapping the first hole, and the hole of the optical functional section has a width that is greater than a width of the first hole as taught by Kwak et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device with an optical functional section that covers only a partial portion of the metal layer, wherein the optical functional section comprises at least one selected from a polarizer and a retarder and has a hole overlapping the first hole, and the hole of the optical functional section has a width that is greater than a width of the first hole to provide an optical functional layer that “may polarize incident light applied to the touchscreen panel 720 side and reflected light in which the incident light is reflected by the touchscreen panel 720.” See [0137] of Kwak et al.
As per claim 3 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 1, further comprising a substrate 100 and an encapsulation section 130 facing the substrate 100 with the two pixels PX therebetween, wherein the metal layer 135 is disposed on the encapsulation section 130 {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
As per claim 4 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 3, further comprising an organic insulation layer 109 {[0095] The planarization layer 109 includes an organic material.} and an inorganic insulation layer 101 { [0107] The buffer layer 101 may include an inorganic material, such as an oxide or a nitride, and may include a single layer or multi layers including an inorganic material.} interposed between the substrate 100 and the encapsulation section 130, wherein each of the organic insulation layer 109 and the inorganic insulation layer 101 has a hole corresponding to the first area TA {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
As per claims 5 and 15 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 3, wherein the encapsulation section 130 comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer, a second inorganic encapsulation layer over the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and an organic encapsulation layer between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the { [0127] The thin film encapsulation layer 130 may entirely cover the substrate 100, and may have a structure in which an inorganic layer and an organic layer are alternately stacked. According to an embodiment, the thin film encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer 131, an organic layer 133, and a second inorganic layer 135 sequentially stacked.}.
As per claim 6 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 3, wherein the encapsulation section 130 comprises an encapsulation substrate 131 including a lower surface facing an upper surface of the substrate 100 and an upper surface opposite to the lower surface {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
As per claim 8 Cho et al discloses, insofar as the claim is definite and understood: An electronic apparatus comprising: a display device of claim 1; and a component disposed below the display device and comprising a sensor or a camera { [0173] Referring to FIG. 17A, a display device according to the above embodiments may be provided to a mobile phone 1000. A pixel array of the display device according to the above embodiments may form a display 1100 of the mobile phone 1000, and a part 1200, such as a camera, may be located inside the through hole TH.}.
As per claim 9 Cho et al discloses: The electronic apparatus of claim 8, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a mobile phone, a tablet personal computer, a notebook computer, or a smartwatch { [0173] Referring to FIG. 17A, a display device according to the above embodiments may be provided to a mobile phone 1000. A pixel array of the display device according to the above embodiments may form a display 1100 of the mobile phone 1000, and a part 1200, such as a camera, may be located inside the through hole TH.}.
As per claim 10 Cho et al discloses: A display device comprising: a plurality of pixels PX {figure 2} each comprising a light emitting diode { [0067] Each pixel PX includes a pixel circuit, and an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) connected to the pixel circuit. };
a first area TA between two adjacent pixels PX arranged in a second area DA, the first area TA including a transmission area and a component disposed in the first area TA { figure 4 & [0173] Referring to FIG. 17A, a display device according to the above embodiments may be provided to a mobile phone 1000. A pixel array of the display device according to the above embodiments may form a display 1100 of the mobile phone 1000, and a part 1200, such as a camera, may be located inside the through hole TH.};
a third area NA1 between the second area DA and the first area TA {figure 4};
a metal layer 135 disposed in the third area NA1, the metal layer 135 having a first hole TH located in the transmission area, the first hole TH having a first width {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}
Regarding claim 10 Cho et al is silent as to: a touch sensor section disposed on the plurality of pixels PX in the second area DA, the touch sensor section comprising:
a plurality of touch sensor electrodes; and
a plurality of connection lines each connecting two adjacent touch sensor electrodes; and an optical functional section disposed on the metal layer, the optical functional section comprising a hole that overlaps the first hole, the hole of the optical functional section having a width greater than the first width, wherein the metal layer comprises a metal material that is a same as a metal material of the touch sensor section. With respect to claim 10 Kwak et al discloses: a touch sensor section disposed on the plurality of pixels PX in the second area DA, the touch sensor section comprising: a plurality of touch sensor electrodes; and a plurality of connection lines each connecting two adjacent touch sensor electrodes {[0184] As shown in FIG. 10A (at (i)), the electronic device may have a structure in which the touchscreen panel 720 and the display panel 709 are separated. At one end of the touchscreen panel 720 disposed at an upper portion of the display panel 709, electrodes P1 and PAD of the touchscreen panel 720 may be disposed, and at one end of the display panel 709, an electrode P2 and PAD of the display panel 709 may be disposed. & [0175] The touchscreen panel 720 may include a first area 803a that does not overlap with the camera device 800 and a second area 803b that overlaps with the camera device 800. The touchscreen panel 720 may include a gate wiring 1710 and a data wiring 1720. By transferring a first signal to a pixel RGB, the gate wiring 1710 may control a gate of the pixel. The gate wiring 1710 may include a first gate wiring 1701 disposed at the first area 803a and a second gate wiring 1703 that crosses the second area 803b. By transferring a second signal to the pixel, the data wiring 1720 may control an image to display on the touchscreen panel 720. The data wiring 1720 may include a first data wiring 1705 disposed at the first area 803a and a second gate wiring 1707 that crosses the second area 803b.}; and
an optical functional section 725 {figure 6A} disposed on the metal layer 728, the optical functional section 725 {figure 6A} comprising a hole 810 {figure 6B} that overlaps the first hole 810, the hole 810 of the optical functional section 725 {figure 6A} having a width greater than the first width {Note: a width of the holes is set forth and lacks specificity. A width being greater than a second width is seen to be disclosed and depicted by Cho et al as modified by Kwak et al}, wherein the metal layer 728 comprises a metal material that is a same as a metal material of the touch sensor section { [0185] As shown in FIG. 10A (at (ii)), the electronic device may have a structure in which the in-touchscreen panel 723 including the touch pattern 729 and the TFE layer 728 is disposed on the display panel 709. At one end of the in-touchscreen panel 723 disposed at an upper portion of the display panel 709, an electrode P3 of the in-touchscreen panel 723 may be disposed. & [0215] The TFE layer 728 includes at least one of an organic layer, inorganic layer, organic metal layer, and/or silicate and may cover the organic light emitting layer 726.}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Cho et al with a touch sensor section disposed on the plurality of pixels in the second area, the touch sensor section comprising: a plurality of touch sensor electrodes; and a plurality of connection lines each connecting two adjacent touch sensor electrodes as taught by Kwak et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display with a touch sensor section disposed on the plurality of pixels in the second area, the touch sensor section comprising: a plurality of touch sensor electrodes; and a plurality of connection lines each connecting two adjacent touch sensor electrodes so as to allow a user to interact and select objects, buttons and items on a display.
It also would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display device of Cho et al with an optical functional section disposed on the metal layer, the optical functional section comprising a hole that overlaps the first hole, the hole of the optical functional section having a width greater than the first width, wherein the metal layer comprises a metal material that is a same as a metal material of the touch sensor section as taught by Kwak et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display device an optical functional section disposed on the metal layer, the optical functional section comprising a hole that overlaps the first hole, the hole of the optical functional section having a width greater than the first width, wherein the metal layer comprises a metal material that is a same as a metal material of the touch sensor section to reduce the necessity to procure multiple metals, thereby reducing the overall cost of the display device.
As per claim 12 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 10, further comprising: a substrate 100 having an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface; and an encapsulation section 130 having a lower surface facing the upper surface of the substrate 100 and a lower surface opposite to the lower surface of the encapsulation section 130, wherein the metal layer 135 is disposed over the upper surface of the encapsulation section 130 {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
As per claim 13 Cho et al discloses insofar as the claim is definite and understood: The display device of claim 12, wherein the component is below the lower surface of the substrate 100 { [0173] Referring to FIG. 17A, a display device according to the above embodiments may be provided to a mobile phone 1000. A pixel array of the display device according to the above embodiments may form a display 1100 of the mobile phone 1000, and a part 1200, such as a camera, may be located inside the through hole TH.}.
As per claim 14 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 12, further comprising an organic insulation layer 109 and an inorganic insulation layer 101 interposed between the upper surface of the substrate 100 and the lower surface of the encapsulation section 130, wherein each of the organic insulation layer 109 and the inorganic insulation layer 101 has a hole corresponding to the first area TA {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
As per claim 16 Cho et al discloses: The display device of claim 14, wherein the encapsulation section 130 comprises an encapsulation substrate 131 {figures 6, 8-10, 12-14 & 16}.
As per claim 18 Cho et al discloses: An electronic apparatus comprising: a display device of claim 10, wherein the component is disposed below the display device and comprises a sensor or a camera { [0173] Referring to FIG. 17A, a display device according to the above embodiments may be provided to a mobile phone 1000. A pixel array of the display device according to the above embodiments may form a display 1100 of the mobile phone 1000, and a part 1200, such as a camera, may be located inside the through hole TH.}.
As per claim 19 Cho et al discloses: The electronic apparatus of claim 18, wherein the electronic apparatus comprises a mobile phone, a tablet personal computer, a notebook computer, or a smartwatch smartwatch { [0173] Referring to FIG. 17A, a display device according to the above embodiments may be provided to a mobile phone 1000. A pixel array of the display device according to the above embodiments may form a display 1100 of the mobile phone 1000, and a part 1200, such as a camera, may be located inside the through hole TH.}.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD