DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0235016 (hereinafter Seo).
Consider claim 1, Seo teaches a power circuit comprising: a first power supply comprising a first power output terminal configured to provide a first power supply voltage (Figure 3, elements 110, 130-140, ELVDD), a first abnormal output terminal configured to provide a first abnormal signal based on the occurrence of an abnormality (Figure 3 and [0064], Out1), and a first reset input terminal (Figure 3, Fst); and a second power supply comprising a second power output terminal which outputs a second power supply voltage (Figure 3, 120, 130 and 150, ELVSS), a second abnormal output terminal configured to provide a second abnormal signal based on the occurrence of an abnormality (Figure 3 and [0065], Out2), and a second reset input terminal (Figure 3, Fst), wherein the first power supply is configured to stop providing the first power supply voltage and provide the first abnormal signal based on the first reset input terminal receiving the second abnormal signal ([0063], when a short circuit is sensed by the first short sensing unit 140 or the second short sensing unit 150, the controller 130 supplies a driving stop signal Fst to the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120 to stop the driving of the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120), and wherein the second power supply is configured to stop providing the second power supply voltage and provide the second abnormal signal based on the second reset input terminal receiving the first abnormal signal ([0063], when a short circuit is sensed by the first short sensing unit 140 or the second short sensing unit 150, the controller 130 supplies a driving stop signal Fst to the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120 to stop the driving of the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120).
Consider claim 2, Seo teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Seo teaches wherein the first power supply further comprises a first enable input terminal configured to receive a first enable signal (Figure 3, En1), wherein the second power supply further comprises a second enable input terminal configured to receive a second enable signal (Figure 3, En2), wherein the first power supply is further configured to stop providing the first abnormal signal based on the reception of the first enable signal being stopped ([0063-0064], the first short sensing unit 140 may operate, for example, to correspond to a first operation signal En1 supplied from the controller 130), and wherein the second power supply is further configured to stop providing the second abnormal signal based on the reception of the second enable signal being stopped ([0063] and [0065], the second short sensing unit 150 may operate, for example, to correspond to a second operation signal En2 supplied from the controller 130).
Consider claim 11, Seo teaches a display device comprising (Figure 1): a first power supply comprising a first power output terminal configured to provide a first power supply voltage (Figure 3, elements 110, 130-140, ELVDD), a first abnormal output terminal configured to provide a first abnormal signal based on the occurrence of an abnormality (Figure 3, Out1), and a first reset input terminal (Figure 3, Fst); a second power supply comprising a second power output terminal configured to provide a second power supply voltage (Figure 3, 120, 130 and 150, ELVSS), a second abnormal output terminal configured to provide a second abnormal signal when an abnormality occurs (Figure 3, Out2), and a second reset input terminal (Figure 3, Fst); and a display panel connected to the first power output terminal and the second power output terminal (Figure 1, ELVDD and ELVSS and 60-70 (see also figure 3)), wherein the first power supply is configured to stop providing the first power supply voltage and provide the first abnormal signal based on the first reset input terminal receiving the second abnormal signal ([0063], when a short circuit is sensed by the first short sensing unit 140 or the second short sensing unit 150, the controller 130 supplies a driving stop signal Fst to the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120 to stop the driving of the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120), and wherein the second power supply is configured to stop providing the second power supply voltage and provides the second abnormal signal based on the second reset input terminal receiving the first abnormal signal ([0063], when a short circuit is sensed by the first short sensing unit 140 or the second short sensing unit 150, the controller 130 supplies a driving stop signal Fst to the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120 to stop the driving of the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120).
Consider claim 12, it includes the limitations of claim 2 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 20, Seo teaches an electronic device comprising: a display device configured to display an image (Figure 1 and [0045-0046]); and a power circuit configured to provide power to the display device (Figure 1, elements 60-70), and comprising: a first power supply comprising a first power output terminal configured to provide a first power supply voltage(Figure 3, elements 110, 130-140, ELVDD), a first abnormal output terminal configured to provide a first abnormal signal based on the occurrence of an abnormality (Figure 3, Out1), and a first reset input terminal (Figure 3, Fst); and a second power supply comprising a second power output terminal which outputs a second power supply voltage (Figure 3, 120, 130 and 150, ELVSS), a second abnormal output terminal configured to provide a second abnormal signal based on the occurrence of an abnormality (Figure 3, Out2), and a second reset input terminal (Figure 3, Fst), wherein the first power supply is configured to stop providing the first power supply voltage and provide the first abnormal signal based on the first reset input terminal receiving the second abnormal signal ([0063], when a short circuit is sensed by the first short sensing unit 140 or the second short sensing unit 150, the controller 130 supplies a driving stop signal Fst to the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120 to stop the driving of the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120), and wherein the second power supply is configured to stop providing the second power supply voltage and provide the second abnormal signal based on the second reset input terminal receiving the first abnormal signal ([0063], when a short circuit is sensed by the first short sensing unit 140 or the second short sensing unit 150, the controller 130 supplies a driving stop signal Fst to the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120 to stop the driving of the first power source generating unit 110 and/or the second power source generating unit 120).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior arts do not appear to disclose the limitations in claim 3 (or claim 13) in combination to other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621