DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (1) (a) as being anticipated by DeGrave et al. (USP-2008/0169144).
As Per Claim 1, DeGrave et al. (DeGrave) discloses, a method for autonomously controlling torque output of a trailer pulled by a tow vehicle,( via “a system and method for towing a trailer, including but not limited to a semi-trailer”, [0009], and "The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration";[0033]), the method comprising: during a first time period: detecting a first deceleration of the trailer; (via a three-axis accelerometer system is detecting acceleration/ deceleration, [0011], [0031]) and detecting a first incline angle of the trailer; ( via “A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's inclination, [0011], claim 13); estimating a first passive deceleration component of the first deceleration based on the first incline angle; ( via “Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions, [0029], and "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking." [0031]); calculating a first difference between the first passive deceleration component and the first deceleration; (via "Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions.";[0029]), and "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking." [0031]); and modulating torque output of a motor, arranged in a drive system of the trailer, proportional to the first difference. ( via "the present system has a multiple-axis sensor system. A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration (x-axis), inclination With wheel sensors, load sensors, and proportional control of the brakes and motor power to the axles and wheels, superior load stabilization can be achieved.";[0011], and "The motor or motors 2 can ease this load by providing power to the trailer wheels, easing the load on the pulling vehicle and causing the pulling vehicle engine to be more efficient. Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions.";[0029], and "The electronic controller controls the application of power depending on input from various sensors or accelerometers 14, 15, wheel speed, trailer connector inputs, and various other sources of input The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill, hitting a bump or pothole, turning a corner, accelerating, or braking”, [0031], also see [0033], see Claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 2, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to the first deceleration approximating the first passive deceleration component: interpreting an intent at the tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, to coast;( via "Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions.";[0029], [0031]-[0034]; claim 8,) and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to coast: decreasing torque output of the motor toward null torque output and null regenerative braking, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie; (via “ [0011];[0025], [0029], [0031], [0033], claim 8);and further comprising during a second time period: detecting a second deceleration of the trailer; ([0011], [0031-0032], claim 13); and detecting a second incline angle of the trailer; [0011], [0032], claim 13) estimating a second passive deceleration component of the second deceleration based on the second incline angle; ([0029], [0031-0033]); in response to the second deceleration exceeding the second passive deceleration component: interpreting an intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate; ([0029], [0031-0034], claim 8); and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate: increasing regenerative braking of the motor proportional to a second difference between the second passive deceleration component and the second deceleration ([0011], ([0029], [0031-0033], claim 8, Fig. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 3, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 2. However, DeGrave further teaches, the method further comprising during the first time period: detecting absence of a first change in brake line pressure in a brake line of the trailer; (“By monitoring signal lines 36 and the pneumatic brake lines 38, the system of the present invention can obtain an indication of what the driver (and the towed vehicle) is doing”, [0034]); wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to coast and in response to detecting absence of the first change in brake line pressure: decreasing torque output of the motor toward null torque output and null regenerative braking; ( detecting acceleration via 3-axis accelerometer, motor providing power to the trailer wheels, and the controller is determining if the trailer is going up or down a hill, hitting a bump or pothole, turning a corner, accelerating, or braking. By applying an incremental torque and watching the wheel speed the controller can calculate the mass of the trailer load. The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration without pushing the vehicle.[0011], [0029], [0031], [0033-0034], claim 8);
further comprising during the second time period: detecting a second change in brake line pressure in the brake line of the trailer;( via "By monitoring signal lines 36 and the pneumatic brake lines 38, the system of the present invention can obtain an indication of what the driver (and the towed vehicle) is doing."[0034]); and wherein increasing regenerative braking of the motor proportional to the second difference between the second passive deceleration component and the second deceleration comprises: in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate and in response to detecting the second change in brake line pressure:
increasing regenerative braking of the motor proportional to the second change in brake line pressure. ([0011], [0029], [0031], [0033-0034], claim 8), Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 4, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to the first deceleration exceeding the first passive deceleration component: interpreting an intent at a tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, to decelerate; ( via "A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration (x-axis)" [0011]; "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is accelerating, or braking." [0031]; "Accelerometers 70, 72, 74 on two or three (or more) axes may be used. In the three axis configuration, this provides three axes of acceleration and angle to effectively monitor the trailer's status. The x-axis 70 monitors acceleration and deceleration of the trailer (i.e., along its length)" [0032]; "By monitoring signal lines 36 and the pneumatic brake lines 38, the system of the present invention can obtain an indication of what the driver (and the towed vehicle) is doing."[0034]); claim 13); and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate: detecting a first charge state of a battery arranged on the trailer and electrically coupled to the motor; ( "Regenerated energy would be stored in the energy storage system 4, which may include one or more batteries or capacitors 20 as described above, until the energy storage system is fully charged. Regenerative braking thus may occur until the energy storage system is fully charged, or until the wheel speed has dropped to a minimum level."; [0035])and
increasing regenerative braking of the motor inversely proportional to the first charge state, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie.( "Regenerated energy would be stored in the energy storage system 4, which may include one or more batteries or capacitors 20 as described above, until the energy storage system is fully charged. Regenerative braking thus may occur until the energy storage system is fully charged, or until the wheel speed has dropped to a minimum level.";[0035], Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 5, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, during a calibration period: triggering the motor to output a calibration torque while the trailer travels at a constant speed on flat ground;( "the system monitors wheel speeds and accelerometer direction and magnitude for indication of acceleration. Wheel speed can be measured in a variety of ways, including, but not limited to, wheel speed sensors 24. By applying an incremental torque and watching the wheel speed the controller can calculate the mass of the trailer load. The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration without pushing the vehicle.";[0033]); detecting an acceleration of the trailer responsive to output of the calibration torque by the drive system of the trailer; ([0033]); and estimating a weight of the tow vehicle and the trailer based on the calibration torque; and the acceleration of the trailer;("the system monitors wheel speeds and accelerometer direction and magnitude for indication of acceleration. Wheel speed can be measured in a variety of ways, including, but not limited to, wheel speed sensors 24. By applying an incremental torque and watching the wheel speed the controller can calculate the mass of the trailer load. The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration without pushing the vehicle." [0033]); and wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference and proportional to the weight of the tow vehicle and the trailer, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie. ([0011], [0025], [0029], [0031], [0033], claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 6, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, detecting an air pressure within a pneumatic suspension system supporting the drive system of the trailer based a signal output by a pressure sensor coupled to the drive system of the trailer; ("on-scale or load sensors 98 may be used to gauge the mass of the trailer load. The sensors may be in either load cells, the air suspension systems, or another suitable location. This will help the system calculate how much torque to apply through the motors to help assist the trailer in forward motion (but not too much so as to push the trailer). Similarly, this method can be used to help the brakes provide the right amount of deceleration."; [0043]); and estimating a weight of the trailer based on ([0043]): the air pressure; ([0043]) and a weight distribution scalar representing a proportion of weight of the trailer supported by the pneumatic suspension system; ([0043]) and wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: calculating a target torque output of the motor based on the weight of the trailer;( [0043], claim 20); and modulating torque output of the motor according to the target torque output, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie ( via "on-scale or load sensors 98 may be used to gauge the mass of the trailer load. The sensors may be in either load cells, the air suspension systems, or another suitable location. This will help the system calculate how much torque to apply through the motors to help assist the trailer in forward motion (but not too much so as to push the trailer). Similarly, this method can be used to help the brakes provide the right amount of deceleration.";[0043] also see claim 20, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 7, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to the first passive deceleration component exceeding the first deceleration: interpreting an intent at the tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, to accelerate; ([0029], [0031], [0032]); and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to accelerate: increasing torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie. ([0011], [0025]], [0029], [0031], [0033], claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 8, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, during a second time period: detecting a second acceleration of the trailer; and detecting a second decline angle of the trailer;([0011]) [0031], [0032], claim 13); estimating a second passive acceleration component of the second acceleration based on the second decline angle; ([0029]); calculating a second difference between the second passive acceleration component and the second acceleration; ([0029]), [0031]-[0033]); and modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the second difference, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie ([0011], [0029], [0031], [0033], claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 9, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 8. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the second difference comprises: in response to the second acceleration exceeding the second passive acceleration component: interpreting an intent at the tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, to accelerate;([0029], [0031-0034], claim 8) ; and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to accelerate: increasing torque output of the motor proportional to the second difference ([0011], [00029],[0031], [0033], claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 10, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 8. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the second difference comprises: in response to the second acceleration approximating the second passive acceleration component: interpreting an intent at a tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, to coast; ([0029], [0031-0034], claim 8); and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to coast: decreasing torque output of the motor toward null torque output and null regenerative braking, ([0011], [0029], [0031], [0033], claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 11, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to the first deceleration exceeding the first passive deceleration component: interpreting an intent at a tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, to decelerate; ([0029], [0031], -0032-0034], claim 8); and in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate: setting a first regenerative braking limit for the motor based on a target slip ratio limit for regenerative braking; ([0006],[0011], [0035], [0039], claim 8); and modulating torque output of the motor toward the first regenerative braking limit, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie. ( via "Some semi-trailers are equipped with ABS (anti-lock braking system) as a part of their braking systems to help stabilize the trailer. ABS only helps the trailer wheels get better traction during deceleration" ([0006], [0011], [0025],[0035], [0039], See claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 12, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, DeGrave further teaches, during a second time period succeeding the first time period: detecting a linear speed of the trailer; ([0035]); and detecting a wheel speed of a wheel of the trailer; ([0011])[0035], [0039]); calculating a real slip ratio of the trailer based on the linear speed of the trailer and the wheel speed of the wheel;[0006]),[0011], [0035], [0039], claim 8) and in response to the real slip ratio falling below the target slip ratio limit: setting a second regenerative braking limit, less than the first regenerative braking limit, based on the target slip ratio limit; ([0006], [0011], [0035],[0039]); and decreasing regenerative braking of the motor toward the second regenerative braking limit.([0006], [0011], [0025], [0035], [0039], claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 13, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, DeGrave further teaches, during the first time period: detecting a first yaw rate of the trailer; ([0011], [0028], [0032],claim 13); and detecting a first lateral acceleration of the trailer; (via 3-axis accelerometer,[0011], [0028], [0032]), claim 13); and in response to the first yaw rate exceeding a range defined for the first lateral acceleration, detecting a slip event at the trailer; ([0028],[0035], claim 13) and wherein modulating output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to detecting the slip event: estimating a target regenerative braking output by the drive system to maintain a coupler between the trailer and the tow vehicle in tension; ([0028], [0035], [0043]); and increasing a regenerative braking output of the motor toward the target regenerative braking output, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie ([0025],[0028],[0035],[0043], Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 14, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein modulating torque output of the motor proportional to the first difference comprises: in response to the first passive deceleration component exceeding the first deceleration: interpreting an intent at the tow vehicle to accelerate; [0029],[0031],[0032], [0033], [0034], claim 8) and in response to detecting the slip event: overriding the intent at the tow vehicle to accelerate ([0028],[0035]); and increasing regenerative braking of the motor toward the target regenerative braking output [0028], [0035],[0043], Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As Per Claim 15, DeGrave et al. ( DeGrave) discloses, a method for autonomously controlling torque output of a trailer pulled by a tow vehicle, ( via “a system and method for towing a trailer, including but not limited to a semi-trailer”, [0009], and "The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration";[0033]), the method comprising: detecting an acceleration (via a three-axis accelerometer system is detecting acceleration/ deceleration, [0011], [0031]) of the trailer traveling at a decline angle; ( via “A three-axis accelerometer system detecting the vehicle's inclination, [0011], claim 13);” The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill, hitting a bump or pothole, turning a corner, accelerating, or braking”, [0031]); estimating a passive acceleration component of the acceleration based on the decline angle; ( via “Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions, [0029], and "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking." [0031]);
calculating a difference between the passive acceleration component and the acceleration; ( via "Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions.";[0029]), and "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking." [0031]);
interpreting an intent at a tow vehicle, coupled to the trailer, based on the difference; ([0029]), [0031]-[0033]); and modulating torque output of a motor, arranged in a drive system of the trailer of the trailer, according to the intent at the tow vehicle and proportional to the difference ( via "the present system has a multiple-axis sensor system. A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration (x-axis), inclination With wheel sensors, load sensors, and proportional control of the brakes and motor power to the axles and wheels, superior load stabilization can be achieved.";[0011], and "The motor or motors 2 can ease this load by providing power to the trailer wheels, easing the load on the pulling vehicle and causing the pulling vehicle engine to be more efficient. Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions.";[0029], and "The electronic controller controls the application of power depending on input from various sensors or accelerometers 14, 15, wheel speed, trailer connector inputs, and various other sources of input The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill, hitting a bump or pothole, turning a corner, accelerating, or braking”, [0031], also see [0033], see Claim 8, Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 16, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 15. However, DeGrave further teaches, wherein interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle comprises: in response to the passive acceleration component exceeding the acceleration, interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate; (via “Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions, [0029], and "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking." [0031]); and wherein modulating torque output of the motor comprises: in response to interpreting the intent at the tow vehicle to decelerate: (via "A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration (x-axis)" [0011]; "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is accelerating, or braking." [0031]; "Accelerometers 70, 72, 74 on two or three (or more) axes may be used. In the three axis configuration, this provides three axes of acceleration and angle to effectively monitor the trailer's status. The x-axis 70 monitors acceleration and deceleration of the trailer (i.e., along its length)" [0032]; "By monitoring signal lines 36 and the pneumatic brake lines 38, the system of the present invention can obtain an indication of what the driver (and the towed vehicle) is doing."[0034]); claim 13) ; detecting a charge state of a battery arranged on the trailer and electrically coupled to the motor; ("Regenerated energy would be stored in the energy storage system 4, which may include one or more batteries or capacitors 20 as described above, until the energy storage system is fully charged. Regenerative braking thus may occur until the energy storage system is fully charged, or until the wheel speed has dropped to a minimum level."; [0035]) and in response to the charge state of the battery exceeding a threshold charge state, decreasing regenerative braking of the motor toward null torque output and null regenerative braking, the motor coupled to a driven axle of a bogie of the trailer, the drive system of the trailer comprising the motor, the driven axle, and the bogie (via "Regenerated energy would be stored in the energy storage system 4, which may include one or more batteries or capacitors 20 as described above, until the energy storage system is fully charged. Regenerative braking thus may occur until the energy storage system is fully charged, or until the wheel speed has dropped to a minimum level.";[0035], Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As per Claim 17, DeGrave teaches the limitation of Claim 16. However, DeGrave further teaches, detecting a yaw rate of the trailer; ([0011], [0028], [0032],claim 13); detecting a lateral acceleration of the trailer; (via 3-axis accelerometer,[0011], [0028], [0032]), claim 13); in response to the yaw rate exceeding a range defined for the lateral acceleration, detecting a slip event; ([0028],[0035],claim 13); and in response to detecting the slip event: estimating a target regenerative braking output to maintain tension between the trailer and a tow vehicle coupled to the trailer; and increasing regenerative braking of the motor toward the target regenerative braking output ([0025],[0028],[0035],[0043], Figs. 1-3, 5-7).
As Per Claim 20, DeGrave et al. ( DeGrave) discloses, a system ( via "the present invention comprises a system and method for towing a trailer, including but not limited to a semi-trailer"; [0009], see, also, Abstract, Fig. 1-3, 5-7) comprising: a driven axle configured to install on a trailer ("a motor 2 can be placed on each axle 18 of the trailer, or a motor 2 can be used in conjunction with each wheel 12. Alternatively, a single motor 2 can be used for a trailer regardless of numbers of axles or wheels."[0025]); a motor coupled to the driven axle (via "a motor 2 can be placed on each axle 18 of the trailer, or a motor 2 can be used in conjunction with each wheel 12. Alternatively, a single motor 2 can be used for a trailer regardless of numbers of axles or wheels." [0025]; see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7) and configured to: output torque to the driven axle; ( via "the controller determines the amount of torque the motor or motors need to generate to assist in the acceleration or deceleration of the towed vehicle based on input from the load sensor." Ref. Claim 20, ; see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7); and regeneratively brake the driven axle (via "system and related method for a regenerative braking system on a towed vehicle, such as a trailer or semi-trailer. The system provides power and braking to the respective trailer wheels" Abstract); a battery assembly (via “batteries may be used to store the energy", Abstract); configured to: install on the trailer; ( via "a regenerative braking system on a towed vehicle, such as a trailer or semi-trailer" Abstract); supply electrical energy to the motor to drive the driven axle; (via "a regenerative braking system on a towed vehicle, such as a trailer or semi-trailer. The system provides power and braking to the respective trailer wheels”, Abstract) ; and receive electrical energy from the motor during regenerative braking of the driven axle by the motor; (via "a regenerative braking system on a towed vehicle, such as a trailer or semi-trailer. The system provides power and braking to the respective trailer wheels"; Abstract, see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7); and a controller configured to: (via electronic controller 8, [0021], Fig.1) detect a deceleration of the trailer; (via a three-axis accelerometer detecting acceleration/ deceleration, [0011], [0031-0032], claim 13); detect an incline angle of the trailer; (via "A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's inclination ..."; [0011]; "Accelerometers 70, 72, 74 on two or three (or more) axes may be used. In the three axis configuration, this provides three axes of acceleration and angle to effectively monitor the trailer's status. The x-axis 70 monitors acceleration and deceleration of the trailer (i.e., along its length), and the angle of inclination of the trailer."; [0032];.. "multiple-axis sensor comprises three axes: an x-axis adapted to monitor the angle of inclination of the trailer"; claim 13, see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7 ); predict a passive deceleration component of the deceleration based on the incline angle; ( via "Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions."; [0029]; "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking." [0031]; "Accelerometers 70, 72, 74 on two or three (or more) axes may be used. In the three axis configuration, this provides three axes of acceleration and angle to effectively monitor the trailer's status. The x-axis 70 monitors acceleration and deceleration of the trailer (i.e., along its length), and the angle of inclination of the trailer.” [0032]; "the system monitors wheel speeds and accelerometer direction and magnitude for indication of acceleration By applying an incremental torque and watching the wheel speed the controller can calculate the mass of the trailer load. The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration without pushing the vehicle.";[0033]; see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7); calculate a difference between the passive deceleration component and the deceleration; (via "Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions." [0029]; "The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill or braking”. [0031]; "Accelerometers 70, 72, 74 on two or three (or more) axes may be used. In the three axis configuration, this provides three axes of acceleration and angle to effectively monitor the trailer's status. The x-axis 70 monitors acceleration and deceleration of the trailer (i.e., along its length), and the angle of inclination of the trailer." [0032]; "the system monitors wheel speeds and accelerometer direction and magnitude for indication of acceleration By applying an incremental torque and watching the wheel speed the controller can calculate the mass of the trailer load. The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration without pushing the vehicle." [0033], see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7); and modulate torque output of the motor proportional to the difference (via "the present system has a multiple-axis sensor system. A three-axis accelerometer system can detect the vehicle's acceleration and deceleration (x-axis), inclination With wheel sensors, load sensors, and proportional control of the brakes and motor power to the axles and wheels, superior load stabilization can be achieved."; [0011]; "The motor or motors 2 can case this load by providing power to the trailer wheels, casing the load on the pulling vehicle and causing the pulling vehicle engine to be more efficient. Power may also be provided during conditions where the towing load on the pulling vehicle is increased, such as when the trailer is being towed in hilly conditions."[0029]; "The electronic controller controls the application of power depending on input from various sensors or accelerometers 14, 15, wheel speed, trailer connector inputs, and various other sources of input The vector mathematics of the two accelerometers, along with wheel speed and other inputs, enables the electronic controller to determine if the trailer is going up or down a hill, hitting a bump or pothole, turning a corner, accelerating, or braking." [0031]; "the system monitors wheel speeds and accelerometer direction and magnitude for indication of acceleration. Wheel speed can be measured in a variety of ways, including, but not limited to, wheel speed sensors 24. By applying an incremental torque and watching the wheel speed the controller can calculate the mass of the trailer load. The controller can then apply the proper amounts of torque to assist in acceleration without pushing the vehicle." [0033]; "the electronic controller controls the application of power from the motor or motors based on data from one or more of the following: the multiple-axis sensor" -Ref. Claim 8; see, also, Fig. 1-3, 5-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666 C