Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the opening sentence is an impliable phrase. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, “comprised of used tissue compartment” is ungrammatical. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. In claim 12, the Markush group is improper, and should be --one of an adhesive strip, a bracket and a hook--.
Claims 1, 5, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laney (20100200439)(Figure 2). Laney discloses a tissue box device (tissue box of Figure 2) comprising an outer box (six-sided outer box) comprising a fresh tissue compartment (upper part of the box excluding the drawer), the fresh tissue compartment comprised of a dispensing slot (in the top wall) dimensioned to dispense a tissue, an inner box (shown drawer) nested within the outer box, the inner box comprising a used tissue compartment (as shown and disclosed), wherein the inner box is horizontally slidable relative to the outer box and configured to wrap around a left, a right and a bottom side of a side wall of the outer box when fully inserted into the outer box, and further wherein the inner box is comprised of a bottom door (including the drawer handle) configured to open outward to release a used tissue from the used tissue compartment.
As to claim 5, since the “tissue” is never positively included as a component of the tissue box device, its composition does not distinguish the claimed empty device. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 17, the method as claimed is practiced by the use of Laney in its intended manner.
As to claim 18, the inner box (the drawer) is attached to the outer box (six-sided outer box).
As to claim 20, Laney discloses a handle on the inner box (drawer).
Claims 9-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laney in view of Morena (3,201,008). Laney as explained above discloses all the claim limitations except the inner box comprised of a bottom door attached to the inner box via a fold or hinge and configured to open outward to allow removal of content. However, Morena discloses an outer box (10) provided with an inner box (21) comprised of a bottom door (30) attached to the inner box via a fold or hinge (31) and configured to open outward to allow removal of content.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide device of Laney with an inner box with an inner box in the manner of Morena as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide an easier access to the inner box to remove content.
As to claims 10 and 20, Laney discloses a handle on the inner box (drawer).
Claims 2-3, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Everett (9,475,605). Laney does not disclose its inner box (drawer) having a tether arrangement. However, Everett discloses providing a drawer structure with a tether arrangement (employing flaps 125 and 555 tethering the drawer (100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drawer of Laney with a tether between the inner box and outer box of Laney in the manner of Everett as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a prevention of the complete separation of the two boxes in use.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laney in view of Enloe et al. (3,369,699). Laney does not disclose its dispensing slot comprised of a plastic film. However, Enloe et al. disclose it was known to provide a tissue dispensing slot (13) comprising plastic film (15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tissue box device of Laney with its tissue dispensing slot comprising plastic film in the manner of Enloe et al. as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide improved dispensing of the tissue from the device.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Judson (2,565,969). Laney does not disclose its inner box (the drawer) including a fastener. However, Judson discloses an inner drawer (‘c’) including a fastener (f and g) including a bracket (g). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Laney with a fastener in the manner of Judson as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide s lockable securement of the inner box (drawer) to the outer box.
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Sellars et al. (7,992,745). The previous art does not disclose the tissue box device comprised of its portions comprised of a water-resistant coating. However, Sellars et al. disclose it was known to provide a paper dispenser from paperboard material provided with a water-resistant coating (see column 8, lines 3-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tissue box device of Laney alone or modified from material comprised of a water-resistant coating in the manner of Sellars et al. as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide protection of the paper content from moisture.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the art as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Schoolhouse (528,035). Laney discloses a drawer handle but not comprised of an elastic loop. However, Schoolhouse discloses a drawer handle (D’) comprised of an elastic (wire is elastic) loop. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Laney with a drawer handle comprised of an elastic loop in the manner of Schoolhouse as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a known drawer handle of known ability.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the additional references listed on the attached PTO-892, which, while not relied upon for the claim rejection, these references are deemed relevant to the claimed invention as a whole. The cited but unemployed references pertain to tissue box devices which include both fresh tissue dispensing and used tissue storage in the same device.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
Bryon P. Gehman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG