DETAILED ACTION
This Final action is in response to an amendment filed 6/12/2026. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,373,072 (hereinafter ‘072). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent ‘072 are more specific and therefore anticipate the instant claims as follows:
Instant
‘072
1. An electronic device, comprising: a display layer including a display area and a non-display area adjacent to the display area, wherein the display area comprises a first area having a first light transmittance and a second area having a second light transmittance that is lower than the first light transmittance; and a sensor layer disposed on the display layer,
wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes arranged along a first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes groups arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction; a plurality of first trace lines electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes; and
a plurality of second trace lines electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes,
wherein the plurality of second electrodes comprise a first-type electrode adjacent to the first area and a second-type electrode spaced apart from the first area,
wherein the first-type electrode comprises a first sub-electrode and a second sub-electrode spaced apart from each other in the first direction with the first area interposed therebetween, and
wherein the plurality of second trace lines comprise a second-first trace line contacting the first sub-electrode through a first contact and overlapping the display area, and a second-second trace line contacting the second sub-electrode through a second contact and overlapping the display area.
1. An electronic device, comprising: a display layer including a display area and a non-display area adjacent to the display area, wherein the display area includes a first area having a first light transmittance and a second area having a second light transmittance that is lower than the first light transmittance; and a sensor layer including a sensing area and a peripheral area adjacent to the sensing area, wherein the sensor layer includes: a plurality of first electrodes disposed in the sensing area and arranged along a first direction;
a plurality of first trace lines electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes;
a plurality of second electrode groups disposed in the sensing area, arranged along a second direction intersecting the first direction, and intersects with the plurality of first electrodes; and a plurality of second trace lines electrically connected to the plurality of second electrode groups and overlapping the sensing area, wherein the plurality of second electrode groups includes a first-second electrode adjacent to the first area and a second-second electrode spaced apart from the first area,
wherein the plurality of second trace lines includes a plurality of first-second trace lines electrically connected to the first-second electrode and a second-second trace line electrically connected to the second-second electrode, and wherein the first-second electrode is divided by the first area into distinct sections that are connected by the first-second trace lines on a one-to-one correspondence.
Claim 1 also recites “contacts” which map to the pads of patent ‘072 claims 3-4. And the sensor layer overlapping the display layer which is inherent to patent ‘072 claim 12 where the display’s first area overlaps the sensor layer driving area.
Instant claim 6 maps to patent’072 claim 9 when the instant first and second sensing units are interpreted respectively as the second and first sensing units of patent’072 claims 6+9.
Instant claim 9 maps to patent’072 claims 3 and 4. The office takes official notice that it is conventional in the art for contact pads to be located outside the display area. Therefore, the rest of the instant claim 9 is obvious over conventional art.
The remaining claims map as follows:
Instant
2
3
4
5
7
8
10
11
12
13
14
19
‘072
5
6
7
8
10
11
3-4
15
2
2
15
2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in US 2022/0005878 (hereinafter Lee) in view of Jeong et al. in US 2020/0167041 (hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 1, Lee disclose an electronic device (Lee’s Fig. 1A), comprising:
a display layer (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 51: see 210) including a display area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 47: see AA) and a non-display area adjacent to the display area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 47: see NAA), wherein the display area comprises a first area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 41: see HA) and a second area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 41: see TA); and
a sensor layer disposed on the display layer (Lee’s Figs. 1B and par. 51: see 220), wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 97: see SE2) arranged along a first direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 101: DR1);
a plurality of second electrodes groups (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 97: see SE1) arranged along a second direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 101: DR2) intersecting the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C);
a plurality of first trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 8B and par. 103-104, 150: see TL2, TL3 and BL2) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2); and
a plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 7B and par. 103, 150: see TL1 and BL1) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1)
wherein the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1) comprise a first-type electrode adjacent to the first area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see SE1 adjacent to HA) and a second-type electrode spaced apart from the first area (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1 spaced apart from HA),
wherein the first-type electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SE1 adjacent to HA) comprises a first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SP11) and a second sub-electrode spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SP12) with the first area interposed therebetween (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see HA), and
wherein the plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see TL1 and BL1) comprise a second-first trace line (Lee’s Fig. 7B and par. 182: see BL1_B1) contacting the first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 7B: see SP11) through a first contact (Lee’s Fig. 7B and par. 183: CT11_B1) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 7B), and a second-second trace line (Lee’s Fig. 7B and par. 182: see BL1_B2) contacting the second sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 7B: see SP12) through a second contact (Lee’s Fig. 7B and par. 183: CT12_B1) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 7B).
Lee fails to explicitly disclose the first area having a first light transmittance and the second area having a second light transmittance that is lower than the first light transmittance.
However, in the same field of endeavor of displays with holes, Jeong discloses that the light transmittance of the hole area is higher than the transmittance of the display active area (Jeong’s par. 311).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the that the first area (Lee’s Fig. 1B: see HA equivalent to MA in Jeong’s Fig. 15A per par. 311) having a first light transmittance (Jeong’s par. 311: MA with higher transmittance than AA) and the second area (Lee’s Fig. 1B: see TA outside of HA equivalent to AA outside of MA in Jeong’s Fig. 15A) having a second light transmittance that is lower than the first light transmittance (Jeong’s par. 311: MA with higher transmittance than AA).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the sensor layer further comprises a plurality of sensing units (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C below), and each of the plurality of sensing units corresponds to an area where one of the plurality of first electrodes and one of the plurality of second electrodes intersect each other (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see intersections of S1E and SE2).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the plurality of sensing units comprise
a first sensing unit having a first size (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see 1st sensing units) and a second sensing unit having a second size that is greater than the first size (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see 2nd sensing units).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the second sensing unit is disposed in
an area adjacent to the first area (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see 2nd sensing unit overlapping hole), and the first sensing unit (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see 1st sensing units) is spaced apart from the second sensing unit in the second direction (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: DR2 is the vertical).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein a width in the first direction of the first sensing unit is equal to a width in the first direction of the second sensing unit (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C: the two top left adjacent quadrilateral sensing units have the same width in the horizontal DR1), and
wherein a width in the second direction of the first sensing unit is smaller than a width in the second direction of the second sensing unit (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C: the leftmost rectangular 1st sensing unit has a shorter width in the vertical DR2 than the adjacent square 2nd sensing unit overlapping the hole).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the first sensing unit is disposed in an area adjacent to the first area (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see top left rectangular 1st sensing unit adjacent to hole), and the first sensing unit is spaced apart from the second sensing unit in the first direction (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see top left rectangular 1st sensing unit spaced apart in the horizontal DR1 from the rightmost square 2nd sensing unit).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein a width in the first direction of the first sensing unit is smaller than a width in the first direction of the second sensing unit (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see top left rectangular 1st sensing unit with a smaller width in the horizontal DR1 than the rightmost square 2nd sensing unit), and
wherein a width in the second direction of the first sensing unit is smaller than a width in
the second direction of the second sensing unit (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see top left rectangular 1st sensing unit with a smaller width in the vertical DR2 than the rightmost square 2nd sensing unit).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the plurality of sensing units comprise a first sensing unit having a first shape (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see rectangular leftmost 1st sensing unit) and a second sensing unit having a second shape that is different from the first shape (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see rightmost square 2nd sensing unit), and the first sensing unit is disposed in an area that is closer to the first area than the second sensing unit (see annotated Lee’s Fig. 3C above: see rectangular leftmost 1st sensing unit closer to hole than the rightmost square 2nd sensing unit).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Jeong disclose:
[please note that this rejection interprets the electrodes and traces differently than claim 1 above and therefore, the limitations of claim 1 are included with the different interpretation]
[Claim 1]
Lee disclose an electronic device (Lee’s Fig. 1A), comprising:
a display layer (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 51: see 210) including a display area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 47: see AA) and a non-display area adjacent to the display area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 47: see NAA), wherein the display area comprises a first area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 41: see HA) having a first light transmittance (upon combination with Jeong’s par. 311: MA with higher transmittance than AA) and a second area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 41: see TA) having a second light transmittance that is lower than the first light transmittance (upon combination with Jeong’s par. 311: MA with higher transmittance than AA); and
a sensor layer disposed on the display layer (Lee’s Figs. 1B and par. 51: see 220), wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1) arranged along a first direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C: DR2);
a plurality of second electrodes groups (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2) arranged along a second direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C: DR1) intersecting the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C);
a plurality of first trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 7B: see TL1 and BL1) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1); and
a plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 8B: see TL2, TL3 and BL2) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2)
wherein the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2) comprise a first-type electrode adjacent to the first area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see SE2 adjacent to HA) and a second-type electrode spaced apart from the first area (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2 spaced apart from HA),
wherein the first-type electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SE2 adjacent to HA) comprises a first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SP21) and a second sub-electrode spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SP22) with the first area interposed therebetween (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see HA), and
wherein the plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see TL2, TL3 and BL2) comprise a second-first trace line (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see BL2_BB1) contacting the first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see SP21) through a first contact (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see contact at P22B) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 8B), and a second-second trace line (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see BL2_BB2) contacting the second sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see SP22) through a second contact (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see contact at P22B) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 8B),
[claim 9]:
wherein the sensor layer (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see 220) further comprises a first pad electrically (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 105: see T3) connected to the second-first trace line (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 8B: see TP3 connecting to BL2_BB1 at the top of electrodes SE2 through TL3) and overlapping the non-display area (Lee’s Fig. 3C: T3 in NAA), and a second pad (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 105: see T2) electrically connected to the second-second trace line (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 8B: see TP3 connecting to BL2_BB2 at the bottom of electrodes SE2 through TL3) and overlapping the non-display area (Lee’s Fig. 3C: T3 in NAA).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the sensor layer (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see 220) further comprises a pad (Lee’s Fig. 3C and par. 105: see TP1 connecting to SE1) electrically connected to both the second-first trace line (Lee’s Fig. 7B and par. 182: see BL1_B1 connecting SE1) and the second-second trace line (Lee’s Fig. 7B and par. 182: see BL1_B2 connecting SE1) and overlapping the non-display area (Lee’s Fig. 3C: TP1 in NAA).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein a plurality of first areas are provided (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see two hole areas MH1 and MH2), and
wherein the plurality of first areas comprise a first-first area (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see MH1) and a first-second area spaced apart from the first-first area in the first direction (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see MH2 spaced apart from MH1 in DR1).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the first-type electrode (Lee’s Figs. 5A, 7B, 11B: see SE1 adjacent to HA) further comprises a third sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP13),
wherein the first-first area is disposed between the first sub-electrode and the second sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see MH1 between SP11 and SP12), and
wherein the first-second area is disposed between the second sub-electrode and the third sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see MH2 between SP12 and SP13).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 7B, 11B: see TL1 and BL1) further comprise a second-third trace line (Lee’s Fig. 11B and par. 241: see BL1_B) contacting the third sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B and par. 243: SP13) through a third contact (Lee’s Fig. 11B and par. 243: overlap of BL1-B and SP13 forms the third contact) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Fig. 11A-11B).
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Jeong disclose:
[please note that this rejection interprets the electrodes and traces differently than claim 1 above and therefore, the limitations of claims 1 and 11 are included with the different interpretation]
[claim 1]
An electronic device (Lee’s Fig. 1A), comprising:
a display layer (Lee’s Fig. 1B: see 210) including a display area (Lee’s Fig. 1B: see AA) and a non-display area adjacent to the display area (Lee’s Fig. 1B: see NAA), wherein the display area a first area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 41: see HA) having a first light transmittance (upon combination with Jeong’s par. 311: MA with higher transmittance than AA) and a second area (Lee’s Fig. 1B and par. 41: see TA) having a second light transmittance that is lower than the first light transmittance (upon combination with Jeong’s par. 311: MA with higher transmittance than AA); and
a sensor layer disposed on the display layer (Lee’s Figs. 1B: see 220), wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2) arranged along a first direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C: DR1);
a plurality of second electrodes groups (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1) arranged along a second direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C: DR2) intersecting the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 3C);
a plurality of first trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 8B: see TL2, TL3 and BL2) electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2); and
a plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A, 7B: see TL1 and BL1) electrically connected to the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1)
wherein the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1) comprise a first-type electrode adjacent to the first area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see SE1 adjacent to HA) and a second-type electrode spaced apart from the first area (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1 spaced apart from HA),
wherein the first-type electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SE1 adjacent to HA) comprises a first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP12) and a second sub-electrode spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP13) with the first area interposed therebetween (Lee’s Fig. 5A, 11B: see HA or MH1/MH2), and
wherein the plurality of second trace lines (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see TL1 and BL1) comprise a second-first trace line (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see BL1-A) contacting the first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP12) through a first contact (Lee’s Fig. 11B: overlap of BL1-A and SP12) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 11B), and a second-second trace line (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see BL1-B) contacting the second sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP12) through a second contact (Lee’s Fig. 11B: overlap of BL1-B and SP13) and overlapping the display area (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 11B),
[claim 11]:
wherein a plurality of first areas are provided (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see two hole areas MH1 and MH2), and
wherein the plurality of first areas comprise a first-first area (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see MH1) and a first-second area spaced apart from the first-first area in the first direction (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see MH2 spaced apart from MH1 in DR1).
[claim 14]:
wherein the first-second area (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see MH2) is disposed between the first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP12) and the second sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP13), and
wherein the first sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 11B: see SP12) overlaps the first-first area (Lee’s Figs. 11A-11B: see HA1 shown as a dashed circle inclusive of a left portion of SP12).
Regarding claim 15, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein one first electrode among the plurality of first electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE2) comprises a third sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SP21) and a fourth sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SP22) spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Lee’s Fig. 5A: vertical DR2) with the first area interposed therebetween (Lee’s Fig. 5A: HA).
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Jeong further disclose wherein the plurality of first trace lines (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see TL2 and TL3, Fig. 5A: see BL2) comprise a first-first trace line (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see BL2_B1) connected to an end of the third sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see BL2_B1 connected to SP21_B) and a first-second trace line (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see BL2_B2) connected to an end of the fourth sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 8B: see BL2_B2 connected to SP22_B). It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that the configuration of two traces connecting two adjacent electrodes SE1 (Lee’s Fig. 7B) also includes two traces connecting two adjacent electrodes SE2 (Lee’s Fig. 8B), in order to obtain the benefit of making the connections between adjacent sensing patterns easy (Lee’s par. 199).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein a hole where a portion of the display layer is omitted is defined in the first area of the display layer (Lee’s Figs. 3C-4B), and
wherein the sensor layer further comprises a connection portion (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 150, 158: see BL2, CT21 and CT22) disposed adjacent to the hole when viewed in a plan view (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 152) and electrically connecting the third sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 157: see SP21) and the fourth sub-electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 157: see SP22).
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the connection portion comprises an auxiliary pattern (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 158: CT21 and CT22) and connection lines (Lee’s Fig. 5A, 8B and par. 150, 196: see BL2),
wherein the auxiliary pattern is disposed to face a second electrode adjacent to the first
area among the plurality of second electrodes (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 158: see CT21/CT22 facing the SE2), and
wherein the connection lines (Lee’s Fig. 5A, 8B and par. 150, 196: see BL2) are configured to electrically connect the auxiliary pattern, the third sub-electrode, and the fourth sub-electrode to one another (Lee’s Fig. 5A, 8B and par. 150, 196: see BL2 connecting patterns CT21, CT22, SP21 and SP22).
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the first contact (Lee’s Fig. 7B: CT11_B1) and the second contact (Lee’s Fig. 7B: CT12_B1) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Lee’s Fig. 7B: spaced apart in the horizontal DR1), and
wherein the first area is disposed between the first contact and the second contact (Lee’s Fig. 7B: see HA).
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Jeong disclose wherein the first-type electrode (Lee’s Fig. 5A: see SE1 adjacent to HA) is electrically connected to at least one second trace line (Lee’s Figs. 3C, 5A: see TL1 and BL1) among the plurality of second trace lines through at least two contacts (Lee’s Fig. 5A and par. 154: see SE1 connected to BL1 at contacts CT11 and CT12), and
wherein the second-type electrode (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see SE1 spaced apart from HA) is electrically connected to one second trace line among the plurality of second trace lines through one contact (Lee’s Fig. 3C: see contact of SE1 to TL1 at left side).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILIANA CERULLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621