DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 & 16-18 are amended. Claims 12 & 20 are canceled. Claims 21-22 are newly added. Claims 1-11, 13-19 & 21-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-16 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashima (US 2023/0216022 A1) in view of Ryu (US 2025/0070414 A1) and Senoo (US 2014/0162134 A1).
Regarding claims 1-11, 13-16 & 18-19, Iwashima teaches an electrical apparatus such as an electric vehicle comprising a battery comprising a battery cell comprising a negative electrode plate and an electrolyte, wherein the electrolyte comprises a solid electrolyte or a liquid electrolyte and the ratio of a difference between the thickness of the negative electrode plate that is fully charged and a thickness of the negative electrode plate that is uncharged to the thickness of the negative electrode plate that is uncharged, defined by x, is from 20% and 80% (Table 1: Examples 1-2 & 7-8) or less than 20% (Table 1: Examples 4-6) (Table 1; [0177]-[0180], [0188], [0192]-[0197], [0200] & [0221]) but is silent as to the electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte. Ryu teaches a battery comprising an electrolyte comprising a gel electrolyte (i.e corresponding to the claimed solid electrolyte) and a liquid electrolyte at a volume ratio of 25:100, wherein the solid electrolyte is a heat-curable electrolyte which is cured at 30°C-100°C (with a specific embodiment using 60°C) for 5 hours to 24 hours (with a specific embodiment using 5 hours) and the liquid electrolyte comprises a lithium salt such as LiPF6 and an organic solvent ([0091]-[0113], [0167] & [0192]). Ryu further teaches forming the solid electrolyte by injecting a raw material comprising 5 wt% to 7 wt% of a polymerizable monomer (with a specific embodiment using 5 wt%) such as trimethylolpropane triacrylate (i.e reading on an ester monomer having an unsaturated double bond); 0.1 wt% to 10 wt% of an initiator such as azobisisobutyronitrile; and the liquid electrolyte (with a specific embodiment using 94 wt%) into a case comprising an electrode assembly ([0097], [0113], [0190] & [0192]); and further injecting the liquid electrolyte into the case and sealing the case ([0189] & [0192]). Assuming an arbitrary 25 L of the solid electrolyte and 100 L of the liquid electrolyte (based on the cited volume ratio of 25:100 [0192]) and using the known densities and/or molar mass of the various components of the solid electrolyte (i.e trimethylolpropane triacrylate (1,100 g/L), EC (1,321 g/L), EMC (1,006 g/L) and LiPF6 (151.9 g/mol)) and the liquid electrolyte (i.e EC (1,321 g/L), EMC (1,006 g/L) and LiPF6 (151.9 g/mol)), the masses of the solid electrolyte and the liquid electrolyte are respectively 34.6 kg and 121.4 kg such that y is about 21%. It is noted that while the content of the gel electrolyte (corresponding the claimed solid electrolyte) defined for y is calculated to be 21%, the real value of y would be expected to be less than 10.5% since the gel electrolyte is mostly a liquid material by weight ratio and may partially include a solid material ([0078]). Accordingly, the content of the solid electrolyte would be expected to be less than 10.5% when the gel electrolyte mostly includes the liquid portion with the solid only forming a partial portion of the gel electrolyte. It would have been obvious to use an electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte, as described in Ryu above, in view of producing a battery cell in which battery durability and battery lifetime are improved by disposing a gel electrolyte with low fluidity around an electrode tab to prevent disconnection due to movement and deformation of the electrode tab and by disposing a liquid electrolyte with high wettability around an electrode assembly except for a periphery of the electrode tab to increase wettability of an electrolyte solution with respect to the electrode assembly as taught by Ryu ([0013]). Senoo teaches a battery comprising an electrolyte including a gel electrolyte comprising a liquid electrolyte (i.e electrolyte salt and non-aqueous solvent) and a solid electrolyte comprising a polymer, wherein a polymerizable monomer of the polymer includes acrylonitrile which can optionally be copolymerized with acrylate monomers ([0042], [0049] & [0053]-[0054]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to employ an acrylonitrile monomer to form Ryu’s polymer because polyacrylonitrile has a good gelated state and superior combustion-retarding properties while increasing viscosity of the electrolyte solution and inhibiting liquid leakage as taught by Senoo ([0053] & [0055]-[0056]).
Claims 1-11, 13-16, 18-19 & 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashima (US 2023/0216022 A1) in view of Ryu (US 2025/0070414 A1) and Ahn (US 2019/0051937 A1).
Regarding claims 1-11, 13-16, 18-19 & 21-22, Iwashima teaches an electrical apparatus such as an electric vehicle comprising a battery comprising a battery cell comprising a negative electrode plate and an electrolyte, wherein the electrolyte comprises a solid electrolyte or a liquid electrolyte and the ratio of a difference between the thickness of the negative electrode plate that is fully charged and a thickness of the negative electrode plate that is uncharged to the thickness of the negative electrode plate that is uncharged, defined by x, is from 20% and 80% (Table 1: Examples 1-2 & 7-8) or less than 20% (Table 1: Examples 4-6) (Table 1; [0177]-[0180], [0188], [0192]-[0197], [0200] & [0221]) but is silent as to the electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte. Ryu teaches a battery comprising an electrolyte comprising a gel electrolyte (i.e corresponding to the claimed solid electrolyte) and a liquid electrolyte at a volume ratio of 25:100, wherein the solid electrolyte is a heat-curable electrolyte which is cured at 30°C-100°C (with a specific embodiment using 60°C) for 5 hours to 24 hours (with a specific embodiment using 5 hours) and the liquid electrolyte comprises a lithium salt such as LiPF6 and an organic solvent ([0091]-[0113], [0167] & [0192]). Ryu further teaches forming the solid electrolyte by injecting a raw material comprising 5 wt% to 7 wt% of a polymerizable monomer (with a specific embodiment using 5 wt%) such as trimethylolpropane triacrylate (i.e reading on an ester monomer having an unsaturated double bond); 0.1 wt% to 10 wt% of an initiator such as azobisisobutyronitrile; and the liquid electrolyte (with a specific embodiment using 94 wt%) into a case comprising an electrode assembly ([0097], [0113], [0190] & [0192]); and further injecting the liquid electrolyte into the case and sealing the case ([0189] & [0192]). Assuming an arbitrary 25 L of the solid electrolyte and 100 L of the liquid electrolyte (based on the cited volume ratio of 25:100 [0192]) and using the known densities and/or molar mass of the various components of the solid electrolyte (i.e trimethylolpropane triacrylate (1,100 g/L), EC (1,321 g/L), EMC (1,006 g/L) and LiPF6 (151.9 g/mol)) and the liquid electrolyte (i.e EC (1,321 g/L), EMC (1,006 g/L) and LiPF6 (151.9 g/mol)), the masses of the solid electrolyte and the liquid electrolyte are respectively 34.6 kg and 121.4 kg such that y is about 21%. It is noted that while the content of the gel electrolyte (corresponding the claimed solid electrolyte) defined for y is calculated to be 21%, the real value of y would be expected to be less than 10.5% since the gel electrolyte is mostly a liquid material by weight ratio and may partially include a solid material ([0078]). Accordingly, the content of the solid electrolyte would be expected to be less than 10.5% when the gel electrolyte mostly includes the liquid portion with the solid only forming a partial portion of the gel electrolyte. It would have been obvious to use an electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte, as described in Ryu above, in view of producing a battery cell in which battery durability and battery lifetime are improved by disposing a gel electrolyte with low fluidity around an electrode tab to prevent disconnection due to movement and deformation of the electrode tab and by disposing a liquid electrolyte with high wettability around an electrode assembly except for a periphery of the electrode tab to increase wettability of an electrolyte solution with respect to the electrode assembly as taught by Ryu ([0013]). Ahn teaches a battery comprising an electrolyte including a gel electrolyte comprising a liquid electrolyte (i.e electrolyte salt and non-aqueous solvent) and a solid electrolyte comprising a polymer, wherein a polymerizable monomer of the polymer can include methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate or propyl methacrylate ([0053]-[0054], [0098] & [0105]-[0106]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to employ an ethyl methacrylate monomer or a propyl methacrylate monomer for Ryu’s polymer in view of improving mechanical strength and curing effects as taught by Ahn ([0105]).
Claim 1 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2025/0038181 A1) in view of Dong (CN 114497723 A) and Senoo (US 2014/0162134 A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 17, Lee teaches a battery cell comprising a negative electrode plate and a liquid electrolyte, wherein a ratio of a difference between the thickness of the negative electrode plate that is fully charged and a thickness of the negative electrode plate that is uncharged to the thickness of the negative electrode plate that is uncharged, defined by x, is from 68% and 80% (Table 2: Examples 2 & 5; [0235]) but is silent as to the electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte. Dong teaches a battery comprising an electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte, wherein the liquid electrolyte accounts for 5-50 wt% of an initial electrolyte injection amount which is cured to form the solid electrolyte and remaining uncured liquid electrolyte. Accordingly, a ratio of a mass of the solid electrolyte in the electrolyte to a mass of the electrolyte, defined by y, is 50 wt% to 95 wt% (Page 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use an electrolyte comprising a solid electrolyte and a liquid electrolyte with a volume ratio as described above, because the effect of the solidified electrolyte on the deterioration of electrical properties is significantly reduced, and the electrical properties are significantly better than convention electrolyte using fully cured batteries as taught by Dong (Pages 3-4). Senoo teaches a battery comprising an electrolyte including a gel electrolyte comprising a liquid electrolyte (i.e electrolyte salt and non-aqueous solvent) and a solid electrolyte comprising a polymer, wherein a polymerizable monomer of the polymer includes acrylonitrile which can optionally be copolymerized with acrylate monomers ([0042], [0049] & [0053]-[0054]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to employ an acrylonitrile monomer to form Dong’s polymer because polyacrylonitrile has a good gelated state and superior combustion-retarding properties while increasing viscosity of the electrolyte solution and inhibiting liquid leakage as taught by Senoo ([0053] & [0055]-[0056]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 & 13-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment to claim 1 has prompted a new ground of rejection of rejection in view of the newly cited Senoo and Ahn references. As presently claimed, the subject matter of claims 1-11, 13-16 & 18-19 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Iwashima, Ryu and Senoo; the subject matter of claims 1-11, 13-16, 18-19 & 21-22 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Iwashima, Ryu and Ahn; and the subject matter of claims 1 & 17 is found to be obvious over Lee, Dong and Senoo. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-11, 13-19 & 21-22 stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727