DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits in response to Applicant’s election filed on 09/23/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (Figs. 6-7), claims 1-20 in the reply filed on September 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Additional claims are hereby withdrawn for the reasons listed below.
Claims 13-14 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a downstream end of the first door moves radially outward when the first door moves from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position” is not shown in the elected species of Figs. 6-7. Rather, the limitation is believed to be directed to the nonelected species of Figs. 2-3, which shows in Fig. 3 a downstream end (84) of a first door (76) moving radially outward (up direction) in the deployed position.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “a downstream end of the first door is radially outboard of an upstream end of the first door when the first door is in the first door deployed position” is not shown in the elected species of Figs. 6-7. Rather, the limitation is believed to be directed to the nonelected species of Figs. 2-3, which shows in Fig. 3 a downstream end (84) of a first door (76) being radially outboard (up direction) of an upstream end (82) in the deployed position.
Since the above limitations are not found in the species of Figs. 6-7, claims 13-14 are drawn to a nonelected species, and are also withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are pending and being examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, line 5: “circumferentially about engine housing” is believed to be in error for --circumferentially about the engine housing--
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 in view of Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference).
Regarding independent claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 teaches (in claim 1) a propulsion system for an aircraft (col. 7, l. 25), comprising:
an engine housing (col. 7, l. 26);
an open propulsor rotor outside of the engine housing (col. 7, l. 27);
an engine core within the engine housing and motively coupled to the open propulsor rotor (col. 7, ll. 28-29); and
a thrust diversion system configured with the engine housing, the thrust diversion system comprising a first door configured to move radially from a stowed position to a deployed position (col. 7, ll. 30-33).
However, U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 does not teach the thrust diversion system configured to redirect a gas flow from an interior of the propulsion system to an exterior of the propulsion system.
Chuck teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) a propulsion system for an aircraft (400), comprising:
an engine housing (208);
an open propulsor rotor (col. 4, ll. 38-41: “other examples of the aircraft propulsor may arrange the fan so that the fan is not contained by the nacelle (e.g., in, for example, a turboprop configuration)”) outside of the engine housing (208);
an engine core (236) within the engine housing (208) and motively coupled to the open propulsor rotor (in this case, engine core 236 is motively coupled to fan 202, which may be outside of nacelle 208 as discussed in col. 4, ll. 38-41); and
a thrust diversion system (comprising 132, 410, 412, 414, 416, and 418) configured with the engine housing (208), the thrust diversion system comprising a first door (412 or 414) configured to move radially from a stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to a deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B); and further teaches:
the thrust diversion system configured to redirect a gas flow (240A – Fig. 4A) from an interior (238) of the propulsion system to an exterior (above 208) of the propulsion system (as shown by the bold arrows in Fig. 4B in Fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 by configuring the thrust diversion system to redirect a gas flow from an interior of the propulsion system to an exterior of the propulsion system, in order to deflect the airflow in the interior of the propulsion system such that it is flowing in an opposite direction, thereby providing reverse thrust that may slow the aircraft, as taught by Chuck (col. 6, ll. 6-8 and 13-15).
For dependent claim 7, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 2.
For dependent claim 8, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 3.
For dependent claim 9, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 4.
For dependent claim 10, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 1 (col. 7, ll. 33-35).
For dependent claim 11, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 5.
For dependent claim 12, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 6.
For dependent claim 15, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 9.
For dependent claim 16, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 10.
For dependent claim 17, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 11.
For dependent claim 18, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 1 (col. 7, ll. 41-45).
Regarding independent claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 teaches (in claim 1) a propulsion system for an aircraft (col. 7, l. 25), comprising:
an engine housing (col. 7, l. 26);
an open propulsor rotor outside of the engine housing (col. 7, l. 27);
an engine core within the engine housing and motively coupled to the open propulsor rotor (col. 7, ll. 28-29); and
a thrust diversion system configured with the engine housing, the thrust diversion system comprising a first door configured to move radially from a stowed position to a deployed position (col. 7, ll. 30-33).
However, U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 does not teach that the first door is configured to move radially inward from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position, the first door is configured to move into an internal flowpath of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system.
Chuck teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) a propulsion system for an aircraft (400), comprising:
an engine housing (208);
an open propulsor rotor (col. 4, ll. 38-41: “other examples of the aircraft propulsor may arrange the fan so that the fan is not contained by the nacelle (e.g., in, for example, a turboprop configuration)”) outside of the engine housing (208);
an engine core (236) within the engine housing (208) and motively coupled to the open propulsor rotor (in this case, engine core 236 is motively coupled to fan 202, which may be outside of nacelle 208 as discussed in col. 4, ll. 38-41); and
a thrust diversion system (comprising 132, 410, 412, 414, 416, and 418) configured with the engine housing (208), the thrust diversion system comprising a first door (412 or 414) configured to move radially from a stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to a deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B); and further teaches:
the first door (414) is configured to move radially inward from the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B), the first door (414) is configured to move into an internal flowpath (238) of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system (shown in Fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,338,770 by configuring the first door to move radially inward from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position, the first door being configured to move into an internal flowpath of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system, in order to deflect the airflow in the interior of the propulsion system such that it is flowing in an opposite direction, thereby providing reverse thrust that may slow the aircraft, as taught by Chuck (col. 6, ll. 6-8 and 13-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim requires both “a second door configured to pivot radially outward from a second door stowed position to a second door deployed position” (from claim 4) and “a forward end of the second door moves radially inward as the second door pivots from the second door stowed position to the second door deployed position”. If the entire second door pivots radially outward in the second door deployed position, it would be contradictory for any portion of the second door to also pivot radially inward, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Per Applicant’s disclosure, the second door (shown as ref. no. “76” in Fig. 7) is shown to move only radially outward as the second door pivots form the second door stowed position to the second door deployed position. Therefore, for examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “radially outward” rather than “radially inward”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference).
Regarding claim 1, Chuck teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) a propulsion system for an aircraft (400), comprising:
an engine housing (208);
an open propulsor rotor (col. 4, ll. 38-41: “other examples of the aircraft propulsor may arrange the fan so that the fan is not contained by the nacelle (e.g., in, for example, a turboprop configuration)”) outside of the engine housing (208);
an engine core (236) within the engine housing (208) and motively coupled to the open propulsor rotor (in this case, engine core 236 is motively coupled to fan 202, which may be outside of nacelle 208 as discussed in col. 4, ll. 38-41); and
a thrust diversion system (comprising 132, 410, 412, 414, 416, and 418) configured with the engine housing (208), the thrust diversion system comprising a first door (412 or 414) configured to move radially from a stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to a deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B), and the thrust diversion system configured to redirect a gas flow (240A – Fig. 4A) from an interior (238) of the propulsion system to an exterior (above 208) of the propulsion system (as shown by the bold arrows in Fig. 4B in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 2, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (in this case, it is door 414) is configured to move into an internal flowpath (238) of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system (shown in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 3, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (414) is configured to pivot (via the right end of door 414) radially into the internal flowpath (238) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 4, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 3, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the thrust diversion system further comprises a second door (in this case, it is door 412) configured to pivot (via the right end of door 412) radially outward (up direction) from a second door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to a second door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 4, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein a forward end (left end) of the first door (414) moves radially inward (down direction) as the first door (414) pivots from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B), and a forward end (left end) of the second door (412) moves radially inward (note: this is being interpreted as “radially outward” per the 35 U.S.C. 112 section above) as the second door (412) pivots from the second door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the second door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 7, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein
the first door (in this case, it is door 412) is disposed at an exterior of the engine housing (208); and
the first door (412) is configured to move radially outward (up direction) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 8, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (412) is configured to pivot (via the downstream end of 412) radially outward (up direction) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first door (412) lays against a structure (410) of the engine housing (208) when the first door (412) is in the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 10, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first door (412) is seated in a recess (132) of the engine housing (208) when the first door (412) is in the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 11, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4B) wherein an exterior surface of the first door (412) is angularly offset from an exterior surface of the engine housing (208) by an angle when the first door (412) is in the first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B, door 412 forms an angle with respect to an exterior surface of 208).
Regarding claim 12, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 11, and Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the exterior surface (top surface of 412) of the first door (412) is parallel with the exterior surface (top surface of 208) of the engine housing (208) when the first door (412) is in the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A, door 412 is flush, and thus parallel, with the exterior surface of engine housing 208).
Regarding claim 15, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein an upstream end (left end) of the first door (412) moves radially outward (up direction) when the first door (412) moves from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 16, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4B) wherein an upstream end (left end) of the first door (412) is radially outboard (up direction) of a downstream end (right end) of the first door (412) when the first door (412) is in the first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 19, Chuck teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) a propulsion system for an aircraft (400), comprising:
an engine housing (208);
an open propulsor rotor (col. 4, ll. 38-41: “other examples of the aircraft propulsor may arrange the fan so that the fan is not contained by the nacelle (e.g., in, for example, a turboprop configuration)”) outside of the engine housing (208);
an engine core (236) within the engine housing (208) and motively coupled to the open propulsor rotor (in this case, engine core 236 is motively coupled to fan 202, which may be outside of nacelle 208 as discussed in col. 4, ll. 38-41); and
a thrust diversion system (comprising 132, 410, 412, 414, 416, and 418) configured with the engine housing (208), the thrust diversion system comprising a first door (414) configured to move radially inward from a first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to a first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B), the first door (414) is configured to move into an internal flowpath (238) of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system (shown in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 20, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (414) is configured to pivot (via the right end of door 414) radially into the internal flowpath (238) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference), and as evidenced by Howarth (US 2017/0321632 A1: IDS reference).
Regarding claim 5, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 4, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the second door (412) is circumferentially aligned with the first door (414) – (in thrust reverser systems, the outer door is typically circumferentially aligned with the inner door, as evidenced by Howarth. See Fig. 4 of Howarth, which shows outer door 48 being circumferentially aligned with inner doors 50).
Regarding claim 17, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (412) is one of a plurality of first doors (col. 6, ll. 59-61: “certain examples of the aircraft propulsor 200 may include a plurality of blocking doors, turning doors, and/or links”) arranged in an array at an exterior of the engine housing (208), the array extending circumferentially about a centerline of the propulsion system (col. 2, ll. 18-20: “In certain examples of the aircraft propulsor, the thrust reverser cascade is disposed circumferentially around the core engine”. Therefore, the array of doors of the thrust reverser cascade would also extend circumferentially about the centerline of the propulsion system, as evidenced by Howarth. See Fig. 4 of Howarth, which shows an array of outer doors 48 extending circumferentially about the centerline of the propulsion system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCaffrey (US 8,943,796 B2), in view of Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference).
Regarding claim 1, McCaffrey teaches (Fig. 1) a propulsion system for an aircraft (10), comprising:
an engine housing (18);
an open propulsor rotor (12) outside of the engine housing (18); and
an engine core (comprising 24, 32, 34, 40, 42, and 48) within the engine housing (18) and motively coupled (via shaft 26) to the open propulsor rotor (12).
However, McCaffrey does not teach a thrust diversion system configured with an engine housing, the thrust diversion system comprising a first door configured to move radially from a stowed position to a deployed position, and the thrust diversion system configured to redirect a gas flow from an interior of the propulsion system to an exterior of the propulsion system.
Chuck teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) a similar propulsion system for an aircraft (400), comprising:
a thrust diversion system (comprising 132, 410, 412, 414, 416, and 418) configured with an engine housing (208), the thrust diversion system comprising a first door (412 or 414) configured to move radially from a stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to a deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B), and the thrust diversion system configured to redirect a gas flow (240A – Fig. 4A) from an interior (238) of the propulsion system to an exterior (above 208) of the propulsion system (as shown by the bold arrows in Fig. 4B in Fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCaffrey by including a thrust diversion system configured with an engine housing, the thrust diversion system comprising a first door configured to move radially from a stowed position to a deployed position, and the thrust diversion system configured to redirect a gas flow from an interior of the propulsion system to an exterior of the propulsion system, in order to deflect the airflow in the interior of the propulsion system such that it is flowing in an opposite direction, thereby providing reverse thrust that may slow the aircraft, as taught by Chuck (col. 6, ll. 6-8 and 13-15).
Regarding claim 2, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein the first door is configured to move into an internal flowpath of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (in this case, it is door 414) is configured to move into an internal flowpath (238) of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system (shown in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 3, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, except for wherein the first door is configured to pivot radially into the internal flowpath from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (414) is configured to pivot (via the right end of door 414) radially into the internal flowpath (238) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 4, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 3, except for wherein the thrust diversion system further comprises a second door configured to pivot radially outward from a second door stowed position to a second door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the thrust diversion system further comprises a second door (in this case, it is door 412) configured to pivot (via the right end of door 412) radially outward (up direction) from a second door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to a second door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 4, except for wherein a forward end of the first door moves radially inward as the first door pivots from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position, and a forward end of the second door moves radially inward as the second door pivots from the second door stowed position to the second door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein a forward end (left end) of the first door (414) moves radially inward (down direction) as the first door (414) pivots from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B), and a forward end (left end) of the second door (412) moves radially inward (note: this is being interpreted as “radially outward” per the 35 U.S.C. 112 section above) as the second door (412) pivots from the second door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the second door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 7, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein
the first door is disposed at an exterior of the engine housing; and
the first door is configured to move radially outward from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein
the first door (in this case, it is door 412) is disposed at an exterior of the engine housing (208); and
the first door (412) is configured to move radially outward (up direction) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 8, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein the first door is configured to pivot radially outward from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (412) is configured to pivot (via the downstream end of 412) radially outward (up direction) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein the first door lays against a structure of the engine housing when the first door is in the first door stowed position.
Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first door (412) lays against a structure (410) of the engine housing (208) when the first door (412) is in the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 10, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein the first door is seated in a recess of the engine housing when the first door is in the first door stowed position.
Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the first door (412) is seated in a recess (132) of the engine housing (208) when the first door (412) is in the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 11, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein an exterior surface of the first door is angularly offset from an exterior surface of the engine housing by an angle when the first door is in the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4B) wherein an exterior surface of the first door (412) is angularly offset from an exterior surface of the engine housing (208) by an angle when the first door (412) is in the first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B, door 412 forms an angle with respect to an exterior surface of 208).
Regarding claim 12, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 11, except for wherein the exterior surface of the first door is parallel with the exterior surface of the engine housing when the first door is in the first door stowed position.
Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4A) wherein the exterior surface (top surface of 412) of the first door (412) is parallel with the exterior surface (top surface of 208) of the engine housing (208) when the first door (412) is in the first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A, door 412 is flush, and thus parallel, with the exterior surface of engine housing 208).
Regarding claim 15, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein an upstream end of the first door moves radially outward when the first door moves from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein an upstream end (left end) of the first door (412) moves radially outward (up direction) when the first door (412) moves from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 16, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein an upstream end of the first door is radially outboard of a downstream end of the first door when the first door is in the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Fig. 4B) wherein an upstream end (left end) of the first door (412) is radially outboard (up direction) of a downstream end (right end) of the first door (412) when the first door (412) is in the first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 19, McCaffrey teaches (Fig. 1) a propulsion system for an aircraft (10), comprising:
an engine housing (18);
an open propulsor rotor (12) outside of the engine housing (18); and
an engine core (comprising 24, 32, 34, 40, 42, and 48) within the engine housing (18) and motively coupled (via shaft 26) to the open propulsor rotor (12).
However, McCaffrey does not teach a thrust diversion system configured with the engine housing, the thrust diversion system comprising a first door configured to move radially inward from a first door stowed position to a first door deployed position, the first door is configured to move into an internal flowpath of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system.
Chuck teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) a similar propulsion system for an aircraft (400), comprising:
a thrust diversion system (comprising 132, 410, 412, 414, 416, and 418) configured with an engine housing (208), the thrust diversion system comprising a first door (414) configured to move radially inward from a first door stowed position (as shown in Fig. 4A) to a first door deployed position (as shown in Fig. 4B), the first door (414) is configured to move into an internal flowpath (238) of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system (shown in Fig. 4B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCaffrey by including a thrust diversion system configured with the engine housing, the thrust diversion system comprising a first door configured to move radially inward from a first door stowed position to a first door deployed position, the first door is configured to move into an internal flowpath of the propulsion system during operation of the thrust diversion system, in order to deflect the airflow in the interior of the propulsion system such that it is flowing in an opposite direction, thereby providing reverse thrust that may slow the aircraft, as taught by Chuck (col. 6, ll. 6-8 and 13-15).
Regarding claim 20, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, except for wherein the first door is configured to pivot radially into the internal flowpath from the first door stowed position to the first door deployed position.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (414) is configured to pivot (via the right end of door 414) radially into the internal flowpath (238) from the first door stowed position (Fig. 4A) to the first door deployed position (Fig. 4B).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCaffrey (US 8,943,796 B2), in view of Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference), and as evidenced by Howarth (US 2017/0321632 A1: IDS reference).
Regarding claim 5, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 4, except for wherein the second door is circumferentially aligned with the first door.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the second door (412) is circumferentially aligned with the first door (414) – (in thrust reverser systems, the outer door is typically circumferentially aligned with the inner door, as evidenced by Howarth. See Fig. 4 of Howarth, which shows outer door 48 being circumferentially aligned with inner doors 50).
Regarding claim 17, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck as discussed so far, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for wherein the first door is one of a plurality of first doors arranged in an array at an exterior of the engine housing, the array extending circumferentially about a centerline of the propulsion system.
Chuck further teaches (Figs. 4A-4B) wherein the first door (412) is one of a plurality of first doors (col. 6, ll. 59-61: “certain examples of the aircraft propulsor 200 may include a plurality of blocking doors, turning doors, and/or links”) arranged in an array at an exterior of the engine housing (208), the array extending circumferentially about a centerline of the propulsion system (col. 2, ll. 18-20: “In certain examples of the aircraft propulsor, the thrust reverser cascade is disposed circumferentially around the core engine”. Therefore, the array of doors of the thrust reverser cascade would also extend circumferentially about the centerline of the propulsion system, as evidenced by Howarth. See Fig. 4 of Howarth, which shows an array of outer doors 48 extending circumferentially about the centerline of the propulsion system).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference), in view of Sibbach (US 2022/0252008 A1: IDS reference).
Regarding claim 18, Chuck teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for an open guide vane array arranged with the open propulsor rotor upstream of the thrust diversion system;
the open guide vane array comprising a plurality of guide vanes arranged circumferentially about engine housing.
Sibbach teaches (Figs. 1-2) a similar propulsion system (10) comprising an open propulsor rotor (20 – Fig. 1) outside of an engine housing (77 – Fig. 1) and a thrust diversion system (75d – Fig. 2); and
an open guide vane array (30) arranged with the open propulsor rotor (20) upstream (to the left) of the thrust diversion system (75d); the open guide vane array (30) comprising a plurality of guide vanes (31) arranged circumferentially about engine housing (77).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chuck by including an open guide vane array arranged with the open propulsor rotor upstream of the thrust diversion system; the open guide vane array comprising a plurality of guide vanes arranged circumferentially about engine housing, in order to provide an increased level of induced efficiency, as taught by Sibbach (¶ [0038], ll. 1-5).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCaffrey (US 8,943,796 B2), in view of Chuck (US 10,724,475 B2: IDS reference), and in further view of Sibbach (US 2022/0252008 A1: IDS reference).
Regarding claim 18, McCaffrey, in view of Chuck, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, except for an open guide vane array arranged with the open propulsor rotor upstream of the thrust diversion system;
the open guide vane array comprising a plurality of guide vanes arranged circumferentially about engine housing.
Sibbach teaches (Figs. 1-2) a similar propulsion system (10) comprising an open propulsor rotor (20 – Fig. 1) outside of an engine housing (77 – Fig. 1) and a thrust diversion system (75d – Fig. 2); and
an open guide vane array (30) arranged with the open propulsor rotor (20) upstream (to the left) of the thrust diversion system (75d); the open guide vane array (30) comprising a plurality of guide vanes (31) arranged circumferentially about engine housing (77).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCaffrey, in view of Chuck, by including an open guide vane array arranged with the open propulsor rotor upstream of the thrust diversion system; the open guide vane array comprising a plurality of guide vanes arranged circumferentially about engine housing, in order to provide an increased level of induced efficiency, as taught by Sibbach (¶ [0038], ll. 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: see attached form PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
/HENRY NG/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741