DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/23/2025, 01/05/2026, and 07/08/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation recites “an edge ring including a second body configured to be arranged on and electrostatically clamped to the edge ring support during plasma processing” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
In claim 18, line 3, it is suggested that the limitation recites “a baseplate” should be changed to --the baseplate-- to avoid antecedence basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12340989 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences between the two sets of claims are only minor structural variations that are not seen to involve an inventive step when the abilities of person of ordinary skill are taken into consideration. The claim limitations of the U.S Patent No. 12340989 B2 clearly anticipated the claim limitations of the pending application. They are containing the same essential limitations, and they are both capable performed the same function.
Regarding claims 1-14, the limitations of the applicant’s claims are obvious variations of the mapped claims above. The pending claim 1 uses different vernacular than the patented claims 1 and 2 of U.S Patent No. 12340989 B2. And the pending claim 2 is similar to patented claim 3. One of ordinary skilled in the art would recognize that the claims are directed to substantially the same invention, and their structures are the same. The principle differences are that the pending claims are broader in scope than the patented claims. It is generally understood that anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. Alternatively, the elimination of an element and its structure is generally held to be within the skill of the art. They both are containing the same essential limitations, and they are both capable performed the same function. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the claims 1-14 of pending application contains the same structures and capable perform the same function as claims 1-25 of U.S Patent No. 12340989 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimball et al. (U.S Publication No. 20180166312 A1) in view of Kosakai et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200266088 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Kimball discloses (FIGS. 1 and 6 and paragraphs [0014], [0032]-[0034] of the specification), an edge ring support (shown in FIGS. 1 and 6) configured to support an edge ring (116) in a plasma processing chamber (149), the edge ring support comprising: a first body (610); an electrostatic clamping electrode (612) arranged in the first body and configured to receive power from a first conductor (614); and a gas supply line (632) configured to supply a gas to an upper surface of the edge ring support (shown in FIG. 6), wherein the edge ring support is configured to be arranged above a baseplate (114) and radially outside of a substrate (104) in the plasma processing chamber (shown in FIG. 6), and wherein the edge ring support is configured to electrostatically clamp the edge ring during plasma processing (shown in FIGS. 1 and 6).
Kimball does not explicitly disclose a radio frequency (RF) electrode.
However, Kosakai discloses (FIGS. 11 and 16 and paragraphs [0120]-[0128], [0145]-[0149] of the specification) discloses a radio frequency (RF) electrode (71) arranged in a first body (412) and configured to receive power from a second conductor (47) (shown in FIGS. 11 and 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to combine the disclosures of Kimbal and Kosakai in order to provide a radio frequency (RF) electrode configured to receive power from a second conductor.
The modification allows the high-frequency power source applies an RF (radio frequency) current for a bias voltage to the cooling base part (see paragraph [0119] by Kosakai). Moreover, the claimed invention does not produce any unexpected technical effect compared with the prior art.
Regarding Claim 16, Kimball in view of Kosakai discloses the edge ring support of claim 15, wherein: a cavity (650) is defined on the upper surface of the edge ring support (610), and the cavity (650) is configured to receive the gas supplied from the gas supply line (632), (see fig. 6 by Kimball).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimball et al. (U.S Publication No. 20180166312 A1) in view of Kosakai et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200266088 A1), and further in view of Kellogg et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200365378 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Kimball in view of Kosakai discloses the edge ring support of claim 15, except for specifying that wherein the edge ring support comprises a threaded cavity extending from a bottom surface into the first body, and wherein the threaded cavity is configured to receive a threaded rod to provide downward mechanical force on the first body.
However, Kellogg discloses a threaded cavity extending from a bottom surface into the first body (112) (as shown in FIGS. 1-2), and a threaded rod (122), (see paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the disclosures of Kimball in view of Kosakai and Kellogg in order to provide threaded cavity is configured to receive a threaded rod to provide downward mechanical force on the first body. Moreover, the claimed invention does not produce any unexpected technical effect over the prior art.
Claims 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimball et al. (U.S Publication No. 20180166312 A1) in view of Kosakai et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200266088 A1), and further in view of Dhindsa et al. (U.S Publication No. 20140034243 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Kimball in view of Kosakai discloses an edge ring system (100 by Kimball) comprising: the edge ring support of Claim 15 (as described above); a substrate support (108, see FIGS. 1 and 6 by Kimball) configured to support a substrate (104) during plasma processing and including a baseplate (114); an edge ring (116) including a second body configured to be arranged on (610) and electrostatically clamped (via electrode 612) to the edge ring support during plasma processing (as shown in FIG. 6 by Kimball).
Kimball in view of Kosakai does not explicitly disclose a first outer edge ring.
However, Dhindsa discloses a first outer edge ring (418, 420) arranged radially outside of the edge ring (416) and the edge ring support (414) (as shown in FIG. 4 and 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the disclosures of Kimball in view of Kosakai and Dhindsa in order to provide a first outer edge ring arranged radially outside of the edge ring and the edge ring support. Moreover, the claimed invention does not produce any unexpected technical effect over the prior art.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Kimball in view of Kosakai and Dhindsa discloses the edge ring system of claim 18, further comprising a first seal arranged between an inner surface of the first outer edge ring and an outer surface of the baseplate; and the edge ring system of claim 18, further comprising thermal interface material arranged between the edge ring support and an upper surface of the baseplate (The claims which directed to a first seal and thermal interface material, merely constitute a simple addition of conventional components in a plasma processing apparatus. Such modifications would have been readily conceived by a person having ordinary skill in the art, and no unexpected technical effect is produced thereby).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Also, the objections and the double patenting should be overcome in order to place the application in allowance condition.
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 08/05/2026