Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. US 2016/0117992.
As to claim 1, Park teaches a display device (abstract, ¶12, Figs 1-14), a display panel including a pixel (a pixel array 200, ¶77); a panel driver (item 30a, see ¶77, Fig 9) configured to provide a reference voltage and a data voltage to the pixel (see ¶34);
wherein the pixel emits light with a luminance (a brightness, Fig 2) corresponding to a difference (delta voltage, ¶7-¶8) between the reference voltage and the data voltage (see ¶13, ¶ 77, Figs 2-3), in a first mode (normal mode, Fig 2), the reference voltage has a first voltage level (see at least ¶52), and in a second mode (second mode, Fig 3), the reference voltage has a second voltage level different from the first voltage level (see at least ¶52, Figs 2-3: [0052] when the mode of the display device is changed from the normal mode NM to the power save mode PSM, the power supply voltage ELVDD of the display device may be decreased by the delta voltage DV. When the power supply voltage ELVDD of the display device is decreased by the delta voltage DV, the reference voltage VREF may be decreased by the delta voltage DV. When the reference voltage VREF is decreased by the delta voltage DV, the first gamma power supply voltage VDD_G1 may be decreased by the delta voltage DV, to decrease the data voltage VD. The power supply string point PSP to which the second gamma power supply voltage VDD_G2 is applied may be selected.).
As to claim 2, Park teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a voltage level of a maximum data voltage (highest data voltage VS_1, ¶43) corresponding to a minimum gray level (minimum gamma voltage V0, Fig 1, ¶32) in the second mode (¶33) is different from a voltage level of the maximum data voltage in the first mode (¶43).
As to claim 3, Park teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a voltage level of an analog power supply voltage (ELVDD, ¶50) supplied to an analog circuit of the panel driver in the second mode is different from a voltage level of the analog power supply voltage in the first mode. (See ¶9).
As to claim 4, Park teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the second voltage level of the reference voltage in the second mode is lower than the first voltage level of the reference voltage in the first mode. (See ¶52).
As to claim 5, Park teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein a voltage level of a maximum data voltage (VS_1) corresponding to a minimum gray level (gamma voltage V0, Fig 1, ¶32) in the second mode is lower than a voltage level of the maximum data voltage in the first mode (See ¶43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. US 2021/0118391.
As to claim 6, Park fail to teach the display device of claim 4, wherein a voltage level of an analog power supply voltage supplied to an analog circuit of the panel driver in the second mode is lower than a voltage level of the analog power supply voltage in the first mode.
Ahn teaches the data driver 140 receives the analog driving voltage AVDD of the power supply 120, in the second mode is lower than a voltage level of the analog power supply voltage in the first mode. See ¶58, ¶86, ¶75, Figs 2, and 9-10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to have the data driver 140 receives the analog driving voltage AVDD of the power supply 120, in the second mode is lower than a voltage level of the analog power supply voltage in the first mode, as Ahn teaches, to modify Park. The motivation for doing so would reduce the entire aging process time for the display device. Ahn ¶5.
As to claim 7, Ahn teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the pixel generates a driving current based on the difference between the reference voltage and the data voltage, and emits light based on the driving current. (See Ahn ¶75).
As to claim 8, Ahn teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first mode is a high dynamic range mode, and the second mode is a normal mode (See Ahn ¶89-¶90, Fig 10).
Conclusion
KEVIN M NGUYEN
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 Telephone: (571) 272-7697
Email: kevin.nguyen2@uspto.gov