DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4-5,8-9,12-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassbring US 20250184500 in view of Hur US 20200107008.
Regarding claim 1, Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
An apparatus comprising: at least one processor [119]; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor [119], cause the apparatus at least to:
defining a display overlay information message comprising metadata for enabling two or more display overlays to be coded in pictures in one or more layers within a bitstream (i.e. S704 overlay image frames determined with IDs. Overlays are toggleable) [69-70; fig. 2,7]; and
signaling, in or along the bitstream, the display overlay information message to a receiver (i.e. metadata added to header of the image which contains the overlay information) [75; fig. 7].
Hassbring do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein, responsive to an alpha component not being present for a display overlay, the metadata of the display overlay information message enables pixel values of regions of a target display picture represented by the display overlay to replace existing pixel values in the target display picture formed from one or more lower-order display overlays;
However, in the same field of endeavor Hur discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein, responsive to an alpha component not being present for a display overlay, the metadata of the display overlay information message enables pixel values of regions of a target display picture represented by the display overlay to replace existing pixel values in the target display picture formed from one or more lower-order display overlays (i.e. alpha_composition_flag indicates that overlay has an alpha channel. When overlay media does not include the alpha plane, alpha blending may be applied. The order in which the overlays are drawn may be specified to consider the case of overlapping of overlays The position and size information may include x-axis point position information (or position information of a left point), y-axis point position information (or position information of an upper point), width information, and height information. This would mean that the important overlay go on top) [394,402,422,488; fig. 37a; table 12];
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Hassbring with Hur to have responsive to an alpha component not being present for a display overlay, the metadata of the display overlay information message enables pixel values of regions of a target display picture represented by the display overlay to replace existing pixel values in the target display picture formed from one or more lower-order display overlays.
It would be advantageous because "[0315] When packing is performed as described above, the number of decoders of the receiver can be reduced, and the proximity of memory references at the time of rendering can have an advantage in performance. It may also be configured to adjust the size of the sub-textures that the texture atlas may include, depending on the capabilities of the receiver. In addition, a guard band may be formed between sub-textures in order to prevent negative factors that may occur during mapping and texture compression. Here, the guard band may empty some surrounding pixels and specify the number of surrounding empty pixels when packing each overlay media.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Hassbring with Hur to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: signaling first syntax elements to determine which of pictures, subpictures, or constituent rectangles are used for coding the two or more display overlays (i.e. metadata can signal size, ID, and position) [75].
Regarding claim 5, Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: defining second syntax elements for identifying a location of each display overlay component in the bitstream and an intended display order of the each display overlay in a target display picture; and signaling, in or along the bitstream, the second syntax elements to the receiver (i.e. metadata can signal size, ID, and position. Metadata is signaled in bitstream) [19,75].
Regarding claim 8, Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the two or more display overlays coded in separate layers comprise different frame rates (i.e. For example, it may be advantageous to encode the plurality of image frames into several video streams, encoding of the plurality of image frames into the first plurality of encoded image frames differs from the encoding of the plurality of image frames into the second plurality of encoded image frames in at least one of: encoding quality, frame rate, GOP structure, codec, or resolution.) [95].
Claim 9 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1 and further below.
Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
using the two or more decoded display overlays for forming a target display picture by overlaying the two or more decoded display overlays (i.e. fig. 1 shows an image formed using the decoded display overlays) [65; fig. 1].
Claim 12 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 4.
Claim 13 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 4.
Claim 14 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 5.
Claim 18 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 8.
Claim 19 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1 and further below.
Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
using the two or more decoded display overlays for forming a target display picture by overlaying the two or more decoded display overlays (i.e. fig. 1 shows an image formed using the decoded display overlays) [65; fig. 1].
Claim(s) 2,3 6,10,11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassbring and Hur in view of Subramonian US 20160073155.
Regarding claim 2, Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more overlays are displayed in front of one or more overlays (i.e. position data would indicate where on the image the overlay will appear) [7].
Hassbring and Hur do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein one or more higher order display overlays are displayed in front of one or more lower order display overlays
However, in the same field of endeavor Subramonian discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein one or more higher order display overlays are displayed in front of one or more lower order display overlays (i.e. alpha value used to blend overlay into background) [47]
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Hassbring and Hur with Subramonian to have one or more higher order display overlays are displayed in front of one or more lower order display overlays.
It would be advantageous because “in some implementations, the channel state (or other information) may indicate that a different compression format may advantageously be used.” [40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Hassbring and Hur with Subramonian to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Hassbring and Hur do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein when an alpha component is present for a display overlay, the alpha component is applied to a higher order display overlay pixel values, with an existing target display picture as the background, to form new pixel values in a target display picture.
However, in the same field of endeavor Subramonian discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein when an alpha component is present for a display overlay, the alpha component is applied to a higher order display overlay pixel values, with an existing target display picture as the background, to form new pixel values in a target display picture (i.e. alpha used in blending multiple overlaid pixel elements) [47,193].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Hassbring and Hur with Subramonian wherein when an alpha component is present for a display overlay, the alpha component is applied to a higher order display overlay pixel values, with an existing target display picture as the background, to form new pixel values in a target display picture.
It would be advantageous because “in some implementations, the channel state (or other information) may indicate that a different compression format may advantageously be used.” [40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Hassbring and Hur with Subramonian to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Hassbring meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: signaling, in or along the bitstream, position of the each display overlay in a target display picture (i.e. metadata can signal size, ID, and position. Metadata is signaled in bitstream) [19,75].
Claim 10 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 3.
Claim 15 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassbring, Hur in view of Hannuksela US 10123027.
Regarding claim 7, Hassbring disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: signaling, in or along the bitstream, a size of the at least one display overlay in a target display picture (i.e. metadata can signal size, ID, and position. Metadata is signaled in bitstream) [19,75].
Hassbring and Hur do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: signaling, in or along the bitstream, a resampling ratio for at least one display overlay, wherein the resampling ratio is used by the receiver to derive a size of the at least one display overlay in a target display picture.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hannuksela discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
signaling, in or along the bitstream, a resampling ratio for at least one display overlay, wherein the resampling ratio is used by the receiver to derive a size of the at least one display overlay in a target display picture (i.e. downsampling ratio used.) [29:1-38].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Hassbring, Hur with Hannuksela to signal, in or along the bitstream, a resampling ratio for at least one display overlay, wherein the resampling ratio is used by the receiver to derive a size of the at least one display overlay in a target display picture.
It would be advantageous because sampling the video can be used to provide less data when less is needed and more data when able.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Hassbring, Hur with Hannuksela to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Claim 16 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 7.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassbring, Hur and Hannuksela in view of Hur US 20190379876.
Regarding claim 17, Hassbring and Hur and Hannuksela do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the size of the at least one display overlay is determined or derived based on one of the following: a picture height and width; a subpicture height and width; or a constituent rectangle height and width
However, in the same field of endeavor Hur discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the size of the at least one display overlay is determined or derived based on one of the following: a picture height and width; a subpicture height and width; or a constituent rectangle height and width (i.e. width and height of field indicate overlay size) [269].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Hassbring, Hur and Hannuksela with Hur wherein the size of the at least one display overlay is determined or derived based on one of the following: a picture height and width; a subpicture height and width; or a constituent rectangle height and width.
It would be advantageous because "[0015] According to the present invention, an overlay may be efficiently provided to the 360 video, and user viewpoint based auxiliary information may be efficiently displayed.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Hassbring, Hur and Hannuksela with Hur to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426