DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saphier et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0404243 hereinafter referred as Saphier).
Regarding claim 1, a 3D scanning system for scanning a dental object, comprising:
an intraoral 3D scanning device (see paragraph 0006) comprising:
a first projector unit configured to project a first light pattern on the dental object along a projector optical axis, wherein the first light pattern comprises a first type of pattern features in a first hexagonal or triangular lattice (see paragraph 0006 a plurality of projectors; see paragraphs 0009 and 0016 one or more structured light projectors; see paragraphs 0042 projector projects a pattern on an intraoral three-dimensional surface; see paragraph 0152 projector along its own axis; see also paragraphs 0523 and 0782);
a second projector unit configured to project a second light pattern on the dental object, wherein the second light pattern comprises a second type of pattern features in a second hexagonal or triangular lattice (see paragraph 0006 a plurality of projectors; see paragraphs 0009 and 0016 one or more structured light projectors; see paragraphs 0042 projector projects a pattern on an intraoral three-dimensional surface; see paragraph 0152 projector along its own axis; see also paragraphs 0523 and 0782);
one or more cameras, each of the cameras comprising an image sensor for acquiring one or more images (see paragraph 0006 one or more cameras, see paragraph 0508 image sensor acquiring one or more images); and
one or more processors configured to generate a digital three-dimensional representation of the dental object based on triangulation (see paragraphs 0003, 0032, 0041 and 0531 the three-dimensional spot location of each spot is computed by triangulation).
Regarding claim 2, Saphier discloses the numerical aperture of the first and/or second projector units is between 0.0035 and 0.015 (see paragraphs 0524 and 0779).
Regarding claim 3, Saphier discloses the first and/or second projector units comprises an aperture having a predetermined size such that it provides a pupil diameter of between 0.2 mm to 0.7 mm (see paragraph 0783).
Regarding claim 4, Saphier discloses the working distance of the first and second projector units and/or a given camera is between 15 mm and 50 mm (see paragraph 0502).
Regarding claim 8, Saphier discloses the first and/or second pattern comprises a predefined number of fiducial markers (see paragraphs 0017, 0020, 0031, 0530 and 0563).
Regarding claim 9, Saphier discloses the cameras are configured to acquire one or more sets of images, wherein each set of images comprises at least one image from each camera, wherein each image includes at least a portion of the first and second projected patterns (see paragraphs 0532 and 0534).
Regarding claim 10, Saphier discloses the images in a given set of images are acquired simultaneously, wherein each camera contributes with one image to the set of images (see paragraphs 0040 and 0127-0128).
Regarding claim 11, Saphier discloses portion includes at least one of said fiducial markers (see paragraphs 0162, 0031 and 0530-0532).
Regarding claim 12, Saphier discloses the first and/or second patterns comprise at least one fiducial marker for every 100 pattern features (see paragraphs 0009, 0023 and 0530).
Regarding claim 13, Saphier discloses the one or more processors comprise a first processor configured to identify the fiducial markers in the projected pattern, wherein the first processor is configured to identify the fiducial markers using a neural network (see paragraphs 0710 and 0730).
Regarding claim 14, Saphier discloses the first processor is a neural processing unit (NPU) (see paragraphs 0033, 0131, 0174 and 0710).
Regarding claim 15, Saphier discloses the one or more processors are further configured to identify one or more fiducial markers within at least one set of images among the acquired sets of images; solve a correspondence problem related to the identified fiducial markers, wherein the correspondence problem is solved such that points in 3D space are determined based on the identified fiducial markers, wherein said points form a solution to the correspondence problem; and- calibrate the scanning device by adjusting one or more parameters of a mathematical geometry model associated with the scanning device, wherein the adjustment is based on the solution to the correspondence problem (see paragraphs 0028, 0031, 0043, 0163, 0529, 0540 and 0667-0668).
Regarding claim 16, Saphier discloses the one or more parameters of the mathematical geometry model are selected from the group of: position of the camera(s), orientation of the camera(s), intrinsic parameters of the camera(s), and/or combinations thereof (see paragraphs 0667-0668 and 0766).
Regarding claim 17, Saphier discloses the one or more processors are configured to perform the calibration in real-time during scanning of the dental object (see paragraphs 0088, 1001 and 1019).
Regarding claim 18, Saphier discloses the step of calibrating the scanning device comprises the steps of: mathematically projecting one or more camera rays and projector rays together in 3D space, said rays associated with the fiducial markers; and minimizing the distance between the camera rays and a given associated projector ray by dynamically adjusting one or more parameters of the mathematical geometry model (see paragraphs 0020, 0043, 0208, 0529, 0600 and 0609).
Regarding claim 19, Saphier discloses the first and/or second types of pattern features comprise dots (see paragraphs 0523, 0530 and 0644).
Regarding claim 20, Saphier discloses the first and second types of pattern features are different colors (see paragraph 0793).
Regarding claim 21, Saphier discloses the first projector unit comprises a blue laser diode, and wherein the second projector unit comprises a green laser diode (see paragraph 0518).
Regarding claim 22, Saphier discloses a 3D scanning system for scanning a dental object, comprising: an intraoral 3D scanning device comprising: a projector unit configured to project a light pattern on the dental object, wherein the light pattern comprises a first type of pattern features in a first hexagonal or triangular lattice and a second type of pattern features in a second hexagonal or triangular lattice (see paragraph 0006 a plurality of projectors; see paragraphs 0009 and 0016 one or more structured light projectors; see paragraphs 0042 projector projects a pattern on an intraoral three-dimensional surface; see paragraph 0152 projector along its own axis; see also paragraphs 0523 and 0782); and- one or more cameras, each of the cameras comprising an image sensor for acquiring one or more images of the dental object illuminated by the first and second light patterns (see paragraph 0006 one or more cameras, see paragraph 0508 image sensor acquiring one or more images; figures 1 and 2A-2B); and one or more processors configured to generate a digital three-dimensional representation of the dental object based on the one or more images using triangulation (see paragraphs 0003, 0032, 0041 and 0531 the three-dimensional spot location of each spot is computed by triangulation).
Claims 23-25 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claims 19-21 respectively above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saphier et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0404243) in view of Hesch et al. (US PG PUB 2015/0185054 hereinafter referred as Hesch).
Regarding claim 5, although Saphier discloses the limitation of claim 1, Saphier fails to specifically disclose the first and/or second projector units are configured for sequentially turning the light source on and off at a predetermined frequency, wherein the light source is on for a predetermined time period.
In the same field of endeavor Hesch discloses the first and/or second projector units are configured for sequentially turning the light source on and off at a predetermined frequency, wherein the light source is on for a predetermined time period (see paragraph 0035 configuring IR flash to provide light source in specific duty cycle; see paragraph 0044 cameras matching IR flash; control the projector pulse synch; see paragraph 0037 IR flash and projector; see paragraph 0070 the camera operates at a frequency of 30Hz; see also figure 6).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Hesch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saphier by configuring the projector and turning the light source on and off at a predetermined frequency in order to synchronize data received from multiple sensors, to associate the timestamp with received data, and associating data received from multiple sensors into data structure based on timestamp of the data.
Regarding claim 6, Hesch discloses the time period is between 4 milliseconds (ms) and 8 milliseconds (ms), and wherein the frequency is between 25 Hz and 35 Hz, (see paragraph 0070). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 7, Hesch discloses the image sensor(s) is/are a rolling shutter image sensor (see paragraph 0030 and 0051). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in claim 5 above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 11-15 and 18-23 of copending Application No. 18/851465 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons stated below.
Regarding claim 1, the copending application claim 1 recites a 3D scanning system for scanning a dental object, comprising: an intraoral 3D scanning device comprising: at least one projector unit configured to project a static light pattern on the dental object along a projector optical axis, wherein the static light pattern comprises more than 3000 pattern features; one or more cameras, such as two or more cameras having at least partly overlapping fields of view along different camera optical axes and along the projector optical axis, each of said camera optical axes defining an angle of at least 3 degrees with the projector optical axis, each of the cameras comprising an image sensor for acquiring one or more images; and one or more processors configured to generate a digital three-dimensional representation of the dental object based on triangulation.
Regarding claim 2, the copending application claim 2 recites the feature of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the copending application claim 3 recites the feature of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, the copending application claim 4 recites the feature of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the copending application claim 5 recites the feature of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the copending application claim 6 recites the feature of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, the copending application claim 7 recites the feature of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the copending application claim 11 recites the feature of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, the copending application claim 12 recites the feature of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the copending application claim 13 recites the feature of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the copending application claim 14 recites the feature of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the copending application claim 15 recites the feature of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the copending application claim 18 recites the feature of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, the copending application claim 19 recites the feature of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, the copending application claim 20 recites the feature of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, the copending application claim 21 recites the feature of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the copending application claim 22 recites the feature of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, the copending application claim 23 recites the feature of claim 18.
Regarding claim 22, the copending application claim 1 recites a 3D scanning system for scanning a dental object, comprising: an intraoral 3D scanning device comprising: at least one projector unit configured to project a static light pattern on the dental object along a projector optical axis, wherein the static light pattern comprises more than 3000 pattern features; one or more cameras, such as two or more cameras having at least partly overlapping fields of view along different camera optical axes and along the projector optical axis, each of said camera optical axes defining an angle of at least 3 degrees with the projector optical axis, each of the cameras comprising an image sensor for acquiring one or more images; and one or more processors configured to generate a digital three-dimensional representation of the dental object based on triangulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 19-21 and 23-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16 of copending Application No. 18851465 in view of Saphier et al. (US PG PUB 2020/0404243.
Regarding claims 19 and 23, although the copending application claim 16 recites the fiducial markers are selected from the group of: dots, triangles, rectangles, squares, pentagons, hexagons, and/or combinations thereof, the applcaition filas to specifically recite the first and/or second types of pattern features comprise dots.
In the same field of endeavor Saphier discloses the first and/or second types of pattern features comprise dots (see paragraphs 0523, 0530 and 0644).
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Saphier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending application by specifically reciting the features of the first and/or second types of pattern features comprise dots in order to determine which portions of the projected pattern can be tracked across the images and to compare the series of images.
Regarding claims 20 and 24, Saphier discloses the first and second types of pattern features are different colors (see paragraph 0793). The motivation is discussed in the rejection of claims 19 and 23.
Regarding claims 21 and 25, Saphier discloses the first projector unit comprises a blue laser diode, and wherein the second projector unit comprises a green laser diode (see paragraph 0518). The motivation is discussed in the rejection of claims 19 and 23.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/HELEN SHIBRU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484 January 9, 2026