DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/24/2025.
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 08/01/2025 has been considered (see form-1449, MPEP 609).
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/24/2025 are accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/353396. Although the conflicting are not patentably distinct from each other because since the claims of the Patent No. 12/353396 contains every element of the claims of the instant application, and as such, anticipate the claims of the instant application 19/247600. (See table below).
Instant Application claim 1
Patent No. 12,353396 claim 11
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a computer system to perform operations comprising:
retrieving a plurality of log events, each log event associated with a respective computing transaction;
receiving an indication of a type of compression;
labeling each of the plurality of log events based on the indicated type of compression;
compressing the plurality of log events based on the labels; and
storing the compressed log events on a distributed ledger, wherein the storage comprises
bibliographic information respective of the computing transactions associated with
the events.
A non-transitory, computer readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a computer system to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a data application, a plurality of revisions to a file; determining whether each of the plurality of revisions comprises a trivial revision based on respective metadata of each of the plurality of revisions; determining a type of compression as relevancy according to one or more relationships between the plurality of revisions; compressing a changelog respective of the file based on a relevancy of each of the revisions; receiving, from a user device, a request identifying the file; retrieving, based on metadata of the file, at least one revision associated with the file based on the changelog; and presenting, on a display of the user device, the at least one retrieved revision; wherein the determination of whether each of the plurality of revisions comprises the trivial revision comprises: determining, via fuzzy logic, a trivial score for each revision of the plurality of revisions by generating a plurality of versions of a compressed file based on differing weights for individual revisions and determining an amount of compression for each of the versions; comparing the determined trivial score to a relevancy threshold; and in response to the determined trivial score being less than the relevancy threshold, determining that the respective event comprises the trivial event.
Claims 11-15 of Patent No. 12/353396 satisfies all the elements of claims 21-28 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Instant Application claim 29
Patent No. 12,353396 claim 1
A computer-implemented method comprising:
retrieving, by a computing device, a plurality of log events, each log event associated
with a file recorded on a main chain of a distributed ledger;
receiving, by the computing device, an indication of a type of compression;
labeling, by the computing device, each of the plurality of log events based on the
indicated type of compression;
compressing, by the computing device, the plurality of log events based on the labels; and
storing, by the computing device, the compressed log events on a side chain of the
distributed ledger, wherein the storage comprises bibliographic information
respective of the file.
A computer-implemented method for compressing data respective of a file, the method comprising: receiving, from a data application by a computing system, a plurality of events, each event representative of a respective revision to the file by a user, wherein each event is associated with metadata indicative of a lineage of computing transactions that altered the file; determining, by the computing system, whether each of the plurality of events comprises a trivial event based on respective metadata of each of the plurality of events; determining, by the computing system, a type of compression as relevancy according to one or more relationships between the plurality of events; and compressing, by the computing system, data respective of the plurality of events based on relevancy; wherein the determination of whether each of the plurality of events comprises the trivial event comprises: determining, via fuzzy logic, a trivial score for each event of the plurality of events by generating a plurality of versions of a compressed file based on differing weights for individual events and determining an amount of compression for each of the versions; comparing the determined trivial score to a relevancy threshold; and in response to the determined trivial score being less than the relevancy threshold, determining that the respective event comprises the trivial event.
Claims 1-10 of Patent No. 12/353396 satisfies all the elements of claims 29-37 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Instant Application claim 38
Patent No. 12,353396 claim 16
A computer-implemented method comprising:
retrieving, by a computing device, a plurality of log events, each log event associated
with computing transactions respective of data recorded on a main chain of a
distributed ledger;
receiving, by the computing device, an indication of a type of compression, wherein the
type of compression comprises relevancy-based compression or redundancy-based
compression;
labeling, by the computing device, each of the plurality of log events based on the
indicated type of compression;
compressing, by the computing device, the plurality of log events based on the labels; and
storing, by the computing device, the compressed log events on a side chain of the
distributed ledger.
A system for compressing data respective of a file, the system comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium stored thereon instructions that are executable by the processor to cause the system to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a data application, a plurality of events, each event representative of a revision to file; determining, via fuzzy logic, a trivial score for an event of the plurality of events by: determining a trivial score for each event of the plurality of events by generating a plurality of versions of a compressed file based on differing weights for individual events and determining an amount of compression for each of the versions; comparing the determined trivial score to a relevancy threshold; in response to the determined trivial score being less than the relevancy threshold, determining that the respective event comprises the trivial event; determining a type of compression as relevancy according to one or more relationships between the plurality of events; and compressing data respective of the plurality of events based on relevancy.
Claims 1-10 of Patent No. 12/353396 satisfies all the elements of claims 38-40 of the instant application, and as such, anticipates the claims of instant application.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thayer et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0412751, hereinafter Thayer), in view of Miller et al. (US Patent 9,589,038, hereinafter Miller).
21. (New) A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a computer system to perform operations comprising:
retrieving a plurality of log events, each log event associated with a respective computing transaction (Thayer, e.g., [0046-0052], “...the event log generating component can include or be associated with one or more operations, such as processes, applications, services (e.g., application, network), or login procedures, which are executed or can be executed by the agent device... store the generated event log(s) with an identifier associated with the agent device onto a distributed ledger (e.g., a blockchain) collectively maintained and stored by each of the agent device and any one or more other agent device(s) within the network or neighborhood of the agent... event logs to extract therefrom one or more event logs that are relevant to the detected suspect event...” and [0062-0063], [0088], “...each agent device can independently receive transactions and store a copy of the distributed ledger including the transactions, in a corresponding memory, a transaction can only be added to the distributed ledger when a consensus to add the transaction, as defined by the consensus ruleset...”);
receiving an indication of a type of compression (Thayer, e.g., [0052-0053], “...the event dataset generating component can “compress” any combination of the parsed relevant event log(s) associated with the detected suspect event by parsing it based on a determined relevance thereof to the detected suspect event...” and [0081)];
storing the compressed log events on a distributed ledger, wherein the storage comprises bibliographic information respective of the computing transactions associated with the events (Thayer, e.g., [0058-0059], “...agent device can generate and communicate an acknowledgement message to another agent device based on a receipt of an event dataset from the other agent device... data associated with the detected suspect event, the second set of generated event logs...” and further see [0063-0064], [0072], “...stored electronic information to facilitate the determination that an associated suspect event ...”).
To further clarify the features of “ labeling each of the plurality of log events based on the indicated type of compression; compressing the plurality of log events based on the labels”
However Miller, in an analogous art, discloses “labeling each of the plurality of log events based on the indicated type of compression” (Miller, e.g., [col. 10, lines 24-67], “... compressing, normalizing, subsampling, statistically sampling, image reconstruction... types of event categories may also be specified and each event may be associated with one or more of the categories, allowing multiple categorizations of events...categorized as error events. The event categories may be transactional, informational, functional or a combination of these and/or other such category types. Events may be further categorized by event aggregations, event combinations, event category operations, event namespaces, event meta-categories (categories of categories) and/or other such event categorization types” and [col. 15, lines 34-39], “... categorized based on one or more event categories (or event types)...”), “compressing the plurality of log events based on the labels” (Miller, e.g., [col. 10, lines 32-67], “... transaction service may specify one or more categories associated with the events...a transaction relating to a user purchase may be in a different event category than a transaction relating to a user creating an account...adding a corresponding new set of device attributes may be a different event category...”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Miller and Thayer to reconfiguring the data gathering service each time the provider may wish to gather different data, or focus data gathering on a certain attribute subset or perform other types of analysis (Miller, e.g., [col 1, lines 5-38]).
As per as claim 22, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein: storing the compressed log events on the distributed ledger comprises:
storing the compressed plurality of log events on a side chain of the distributed ledger (Thayer, e.g., [0019], [0046], [0059-0060], “...the event logs can still be stored in the distributed ledger maintained and stored by each other agent device(s)...”); and
in response to a threshold value for the storage, appending a subset of the plurality of log events to a main chain of the distributed ledger (Miller, e.g., [col. 14, lines 19-25], “... containing a limited amount of data for a particular row, column and/or other such region...” and (Thayer, e.g., [0020], [0047]).
As per as claim 23, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein:
the indicated type of compression comprises a redundancy type, and
the labeling comprises, for each log event of the plurality of log events:
retrieving a category of data associated with the log event (Miller, e.g., fig. 8, associating with texts descriptions [col. 15, lines 10-39], “... retrieve and/or process the transaction data from the downstream service... data retrieved from system logs, data stored as a result of previous commands...”) and (Thayer, e.g., [0046-0052], “...the event log generating component can include or be associated with one or more operations, such as processes, applications, services (e.g., application, network), or login procedures, which are executed or can be executed by the agent device... store the generated event log(s) with an identifier associated with the agent device onto a distributed ledger (e.g., a blockchain) collectively maintained and stored by each of the agent device and any one or more other agent device(s) within the network or neighborhood of the agent... event logs to extract therefrom one or more event logs that are relevant to the detected suspect event...” and [0062-0063], [0088], “...each agent device can independently receive transactions and store a copy of the distributed ledger including the transactions, in a corresponding memory, a transaction can only be added to the distributed ledger when a consensus to add the transaction, as defined by the consensus ruleset...”);
determining at least one other log event that shares the retrieved category (Miller, e.g., fig. 8, associating with texts descriptions [col. 15, lines 10-39], “...data retrieved from system logs... the transaction data and/or the resulting event data may be categorized based on one or more event categories (or event types) to aid in storing...”); and
appending, to metadata of the log event and at least one other log event, an
indication of the shared category (Miller, e.g., fig. 8, associating with texts descriptions [col. 15, lines 10-39], “...data retrieved from system logs... the transaction data and/or the resulting event data may be categorized based on one or more event categories (or event types) to aid in storing...”) and ([col. 17,lines [60-67], “... accessing and retrieving data, which may include any combination and number of data servers, databases, data storage devices and data storage media, in any standard, distribute...”).
As per as claim 24, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the compressing comprises combining log events with the indication of the shared category into a single combined log entry (Miller, e.g., fig. 8, associating with texts descriptions [col. 15, lines 10-39], “...data retrieved from system logs... the transaction data and/or the resulting event data may be categorized based on one or more event categories (or event types) to aid in storing...”) and ([col. 17,lines [60-67], “... accessing and retrieving data, which may include any combination and number of data servers, databases, data storage devices and data storage media, in any standard, distribute...”).
As per as claim 25, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein:
the computing transaction comprises storage of a file on a main chain of the distributed ledger (Thayer, e.g., [0019], [0046], [0059-0060], “...the event logs can still be stored in the distributed ledger maintained and stored by each other agent device(s)...”);
the log events comprise revisions to the file (Thayer, e.g., [0075-0076], “...updates (e.g., software or firmware revisions) can be communicated to the gateway agent device...”); and
storing the log events on the distributed ledger comprises storing the log events on a side chain of the distributed ledger (Thayer, e.g., [0019], [0046], [0059-0060], “...the event logs can still be stored in the distributed ledger maintained and stored by each other agent device(s)...”).
As per as claim 26, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein storing the compressed log events on the distributed ledger comprises hashing the compressed log events with an existing block of a side chain of the distributed ledger to add the compressed log events to a new block on the side chain (Miller, e.g., [col. 13, lines 1-19], “... repository of name-value pairs based on an indexing of the name-value pair, or based on indexing first the name and then the value, or based on indexing first the value and then the name, or based on a hash of the name-value pair, or based on a hash of first the name and then the value, or based on a hash of first the value and then the name, or based on a GUID, or based on a lookup table...”).
As per as claim 27, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the distributed ledger comprises a main chain maintained on a plurality of main chain nodes and a side chain maintained on a plurality of side chain nodes, wherein the main chain nodes are different from the side chain nodes (Thayer, e.g., [0059-0060], “...collective maintenance and storage of a distributed ledger, such as a blockchain, so long as a plurality of agent devices, like agent device 310, is in the network or neighborhood of the agent device 310. In accordance with some embodiments, a distributed ledger can be collectively maintained by a network (e.g., a distributed ledger network) of nodes, such as a plurality of agent devices having a corresponding distributed ledger node component 360. In accordance with some embodiments, the operation of “storing” any piece or type of electronic data (e.g., event logs, analytical output data, templates, behavioral rules, identifiers, connectivity configurations, neighborhood maps, event datasets) by an agent device...”).
As per as claim 28, the combination of Miller and Thayer disclose:
(New) The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein:
receiving a log event of the plurality of log events comprises:
receiving, from a user device, an update associated with the computing
transaction (Thayer, e.g., [0042-046], “...determine whether the neighborhood (i.e., the one or more other agent devices that agent device 310 can directly communicate with) has changed, so that the associated connectivity configuration or neighborhood map can be dynamically updated to account for changes in the neighborhood of the agent device...” and [0075]); and
generating the log event based on the update (Thayer, e.g., [0042-0046] and [0075]); and
labeling the log event of the plurality of log events comprises:
appending metadata to the update log event, the metadata indicative of a property of the update (Thayer, e.g., [0042-0046] and [0075]); and
adding a label to the metadata based on the indicated type of compression (Miller, e.g., [col. 10, lines 24-67], “... compressing, normalizing, subsampling, statistically sampling, image reconstruction... types of event categories may also be specified and each event may be associated with one or more of the categories, allowing multiple categorizations of events...categorized as error events. The event categories may be transactional, informational, functional or a combination of these and/or other such category types. Events may be further categorized by event aggregations, event combinations, event category operations, event namespaces, event meta-categories (categories of categories) and/or other such event categorization types” and [col. 15, lines 34-39], “... categorized based on one or more event categories (or event types)...”).
Claims 29-37 are essentially the same as claims 21-28 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a method rather a non transitory computer readable medium, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 21-28.
Claims 38-40 are essentially the same as claims 21-28 except that they set forth the claimed invention as a method rather a non transitory computer readable medium, respectively and correspondingly, therefore is rejected under the same reasons set forth in rejections of claims 21-28.
Additional Art Considered
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicants’ disclosure.
The following patents and papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicants’ invention with respect to collaborative work often includes multiple parties working on the same document from different computers or work stations and tracking the changes made to this shared document relies on the underlying document software, and may be native to the computer making the relevant changes. Documents for collaborative work may also be stored in the cloud, and may be tethered to a particular distributed ledger for security.
a. Guereca-Pinuelas et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0264940, hereinafter Pinuelas); “Notifying Entities Of Relevant Events Removing Private Information” discloses “notifying entities of relevant events notifying entities of relevant events removing private information. A privacy infrastructure can apply data privacy operations to user information prior to, during, or after any of signal ingestion, event detection, or event notification. An entity defines a rule formula that is triggered when one or more detected events match the rule formula including defining one or more event types and one or more locations types. One or more events are detected. User information is detected in one of the events”.
Pinuelas also teaches event categories, event location, a computed event truth, a computed event severity, event impact [0056], [0112].
Pinuelas further types/categories events [0125], [0135].
Conclusion
/TUAN A PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163