DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,5-7,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin.
As to claim 1, Andersson discloses An engine, comprising an engine body, a fuel injection system, and a piston, a cylinder disposed in the engine body, the piston disposed in the cylinder, a combustion chamber disposed between the piston and an inner wall of the cylinder (12), the fuel injection system connected with the combustion chamber and configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber (Col 1, line 45-50).
Andersson does not expressly disclose wherein in an operating cycle of the engine, total energy generated from combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber is Q1, exhaust heat of the combustion chamber is Q2, and heat emitted outward from the combustion chamber is Q3, 35%≤Q2:Q1≤45%, and Q3:Q1≤20%.
Abedin discloses wherein in an operating cycle of a typical engine, total energy generated from combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber is Q1, exhaust heat of the combustion chamber is Q2, and heat emitted outward from the combustion chamber is Q3, 35%≤Q2:Q1≤45%, and Q3:Q1≤20% (Page 23, Paragraph 2; note Q2/Q1 is merely the percentage heat energy of Q2 as represented in the reference, and the same rationale for Q3).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the system of Andersson would encompass wherein in an operating cycle of the engine, total energy generated from combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber is Q1, exhaust heat of the combustion chamber is Q2, and heat emitted outward from the combustion chamber is Q3, 35%≤Q2:Q1≤45%, and Q3:Q1≤20% using the teachings of Abedin as it is a standard internal combustion engine and would lose heat in the same way.
As to claim 2, Andersson discloses comprising an exhaust system (16, Fig 3) and an exhaust utilization apparatus (14,6,4,20), the exhaust system being in communication with inside of the combustion chamber, and the exhaust utilization apparatus connected with an exhaust pipe (Fig 3).
As to claim 5, Andersson discloses the exhaust utilization apparatus comprises an exhaust gas recirculation module (30); and the exhaust gas recirculation module comprises a gas return branch pipe and an exhaust gas cooler (7); the exhaust gas cooler is disposed on the gas return branch pipe; a first end of the gas return branch pipe is connected with the exhaust system; and a second end of the gas return branch pipe is connected with an intake system of the engine (Fig 3).
As to claim 6, Andersson discloses the exhaust utilization apparatus comprises a Rankine circulation module; the Rankine circulation module comprises a circulation pipeline, a heat exchanger, an expander, a condenser, and a pump body; the heat exchanger, the expander, the condenser, and the pump body are connected through the circulation pipeline; and the heat exchanger has a first heat exchange channel and a second heat exchange channel; the first heat exchange channel is in communication with the exhaust system; and the second heat exchange channel is in communication with the circulation pipeline (Fig 3).
As to claim 7, Andersson discloses the exhaust utilization apparatus comprises at least one of a thermoelectric power generation module, a refrigeration and air conditioning module, or a waste heat for heating module (6,4).
As to claim 20, Andersson discloses A vehicle, comprising a vehicle body and an engine disposed on the vehicle body (Abs), wherein: the engine comprises an engine body, a fuel injection system, and a piston, a cylinder is disposed in the engine body, the piston is disposed in the cylinder, a combustion chamber is disposed between the piston and an inner wall of the cylinder, and the fuel injection system is connected with the combustion chamber and configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber, and in an operating cycle of the engine, total energy generated from combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber is Q1, exhaust heat of the combustion chamber is Q2, and heat emitted outward from the combustion chamber is Q3, 35%≤Q2:Q1≤45%, and Q3:Q1≤20% (As cited and rejected in Claim 1 above in view of Abedin).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin as applied to Claim 2 above and further in view of US Patent 4958497 to Kawamura.
As to claim 3, Andersson discloses the exhaust utilization apparatus comprises a turbocharging module (14, Claim 6), but does not go into detail about its construction.
Kawamura discloses a the turbocharging module comprises a turbine, a rotating shaft, and a compressor wheel; the turbine and the compressor wheel are connected with the rotating shaft; the turbine is located in the exhaust system; and the compressor wheel is located in an intake system that runs a generator (Abs).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Andersson to include the turbocharging module comprises a turbine, a rotating shaft, and a compressor wheel; the turbine and the compressor wheel are connected with the rotating shaft; the turbine is located in the exhaust system; and the compressor wheel is located in an intake system that runs a generator using the teachings of Kawamura so as to effectively power the compressor for intake air while allowing versatility in its running speed through use of a motor generator.
As to claim 4, Andersson discloses the exhaust utilization apparatus comprises a generator; and a rotor of the generator is connected with the turbine (Kawamura: Abs).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of CN113431696 to Wang (supplied by applicant).
As to claim 8, Andersson does not expressly disclose comprising a heat preservation apparatus, the heat preservation apparatus disposed in the engine body, and the heat preservation apparatus configured to perform heat preservation on the combustion chamber which is taught by Wang (Abs).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Anderson to include a heat preservation apparatus, the heat preservation apparatus disposed in the engine body, and the heat preservation apparatus configured to perform heat preservation on the combustion chamber using the teachings of Wang so as to reduce heat loss to the surrounding area which goes unutilized and to provide it to combustion power and usable exhaust power while still meeting the required limits of the overall system, increasing productive power and efficiency.
As to claim 9, Andersson as modified by Wang discloses the heat preservation apparatus comprises a heat preservation structure, a thermal insulation chamber is disposed in the heat preservation structure, and the heat preservation structure is disposed on an outer side of the cylinder and around the cylinder (Wang: Abs).
As to claim 10, Andersson as modified by Wang discloses the heat preservation apparatus comprises a thermal insulation coating, the thermal insulation coating is disposed on the inner wall of the cylinder, or is disposed on an outer side of the cylinder and around the cylinder, or is disposed on an end of the piston (Wang: Abs).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 10519854 to Lineton.
As to claim 12, Andersson does not expressly disclose the engine body comprises a cylinder liner; the cylinder liner is disposed in the cylinder; an outer wall of the cylinder liner is attached to the inner wall of the cylinder; and the piston is located in the cylinder liner which is disclosed by Lineton in conjunction with a thermal barrier (Col 1, line 20-32, Col 2 Line 30-33, Col 3, line 11-32).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Andersson to include the engine body comprises a cylinder liner; the cylinder liner is disposed in the cylinder; an outer wall of the cylinder liner is attached to the inner wall of the cylinder; and the piston is located in the cylinder liner in conjunction with a thermal barrier using the teachings of Lineton so as to avoid heat loss through the cylinder and to provide more power to the system increasing overall efficiency.
As to claim 13, Andersson as modified by Lineton discloses a heat preservation apparatus, the heat preservation apparatus disposed on the engine body, configured to perform heat preservation on the combustion chamber, and comprising a thermal insulation coating, and the thermal insulation coating disposed between the inner wall of the cylinder and the cylinder liner, or disposed on an inner wall of the cylinder liner (Lineton: Col 1, line 20-32, Col 2 Line 30-33, Col 3, line 11-32).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Publication 20190226419 to Zhou.
As to claim 15, Andersson does not expressly disclose after a temperature in the combustion chamber reaches a threshold, the fuel injection system is configured to inject the fuel into the combustion chamber for the fuel to be heated and combust in the combustion chamber; and when the temperature in the combustion chamber is greater than or equal to the threshold, the temperature in the combustion chamber reaches a spontaneous combustion temperature of the fuel during a compression stroke which is taught by Zhou (Zhou Claim 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Andersson to include preheating the engine using spark ignition combustion mode during a cold start period then after a temperature in the combustion chamber reaches a threshold, the fuel injection system is configured to inject the fuel into the combustion chamber for the fuel to be heated and combust in the combustion chamber; and when the temperature in the combustion chamber is greater than or equal to the threshold, the temperature in the combustion chamber reaches a spontaneous combustion temperature of the fuel during a compression stroke using the teachings of Zhou so as to affirm that the chamber is hot enough for combustion to efficiently take place increasing overall combustion energy during cold start periods and preventing efficiency loss and engine stall.
As to claim 16, Andersson as modified by Zhou discloses a heating apparatus (Zhou : spark, Claim1), configured to heat the combustion chamber for the temperature in the combustion chamber to reach the threshold, wherein the heating apparatus comprises: a spark plug, configured to ignite the fuel to heat the combustion chamber; or an electric heating unit, configured to electrically heat the combustion chamber (Zhou : Claim1).
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Publication 20080202101 to Driscoll.
As to claim 17, Andersson does not expressly disclose aspects of the exhaust cleaning system and does not expressly disclose wherein an excess air coefficient of the engine is greater than or equal to 1 (ie. Where the engine is run Lean of stoichiometry).
Driscoll discloses an engine will run lean to conserve fuel and use exhaust systems to clean the pollutants out of the exhaust which operate on a lean running approach (Par 0021).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Andersson to run lean to conserve fuel as is commonly known in the art and to address pollutants with exhaust catalysts that utilize the lean running approach, using the teachings of Driscoll so as to increase overall engine fuel economy while not reducing overall power output.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10378390 to Andersson in view of “Energy balance of internal combustion engines using alternative fuels” to Abedin as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Publication 20190226419 to Zhou.
As to claim 18, Andersson discloses the engine comprises an engine body, a fuel injection system, and a piston, a cylinder is disposed in the engine body, the piston is disposed in the cylinder, a combustion chamber is disposed between the piston and an inner wall of the cylinder, and the fuel injection system is connected with the combustion chamber, and in an operating cycle of the engine, total energy generated from combustion of fuel in the combustion chamber is Q1, exhaust heat of the combustion chamber is Q2, and heat emitted outward from the combustion chamber is Q3, 35%≤Q2:Q1≤45%, and Q3:Q1≤20%; (as cited and rejected Claim 1 above) and the method comprises: obtaining a temperature value characterizing a temperature in the combustion chamber; and controlling, based on a rule, the fuel injection system to inject the fuel into the combustion chamber when the engine is in a compression stroke, the fuel in the combustion chamber is heated and combusting, and an input parameter of the rule comprising the temperature value (as cited and rejected Claim 15,16 above in view of Zhou Claim 1).
As to claim 19, Andersson as modified by Zhou discloses wherein the engine has a first operating state and a second operating state, and the method comprises: increasing the temperature in the combustion chamber of the engine to a threshold during the first operating state, the temperature in the combustion chamber reaching a spontaneous combustion temperature of the fuel during the compression stroke when the temperature in the combustion chamber is greater than or equal to the threshold; and injecting the fuel into the combustion chamber during the second operating state, for the fuel to be heated and combust in the combustion chamber (Zhou Claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11,14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746