DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“in vehicle access management device configured to manage ….”in claim 1. (Claim 1 discloses the in vehicle management device comprises storage and at least one circuit and a processor).
“an access management unit configured to manage…” in claim 1.The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the access management unit.
“manifest management unit configured to acquire….and store” in claim 3. The manifest management unit is interpreted according to paragraphs 36 and 51 of Applicant’s specification.
“manifest management unit configured to store” in claim 4. The manifest management unit is interpreted according to paragraphs 36 and 51 of Applicant’s specification.
“an access management unit configured to provide…” in claim 5.The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the access management unit.
“in vehicle access management device configured to communicate….”in claim 8. (Claim 8 discloses the in vehicle management device includes device storage and at least one circuit and a processor).
“an access management unit configured to manage…” in claim 8.The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the access management unit.
“a first management unit configured to manage…” recited in claim 8; “the first management unit configured to store…” recited in claim 8. “The first management unit acquires…stores…” recited in claim 9. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the first management unit.
“a communication unit configured to communicate…” recited in claim 8. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the communication unit.
“a second management unit configured to store…” recited in claim 8; “the second management unit is configured to transmit…” recited in claims 8. “The second management unit transmit…” recited in claim 9. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the second management unit.
“a first communication unit configured to communicate…” recited in claim 10. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the first communication unit.
“the third management unit configured to store…” recited in claim 10; “the third management unit is configured to transmit…” recited in claim 10. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the third management unit.
“a second communication unit configured to communicate…” recited in claim 10. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the second communication unit.
“the fourth management unit configured to store…” recited in claim 10; “the fourth management unit is configured to transmit…” recited in claim 10.The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the fourth management unit.
“the first management unit stores…” recited in claim 10. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the first management unit.
“in vehicle access management device configured to communicate ….”in claim 12.
“the access management device to acquire….manage” recite in claim 12. The examiner was unable to find a specific structure, material, or acts corresponding to corresponding to the access management device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The examiner was unable to find specific structure material, or acts corresponds to the elements below, for additional details refer to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection. Regarding claims 1 and 5, the limitations “an access management unit configured to manage” and “the access management unit configured to provide” purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the access management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “an access management unit configured to manage” purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the access management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 8-9, the limitations “a first management unit configured to manage”; “the first management unit configured to store…”; and “the first management unit acquires…stores…” purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the first management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “a communication unit configured to communicate: purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the communication unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claims 8-9, the limitations “a second management unit configured to store…”; “the second management unit is configured to transmit …”; and “the second management unit transmit…” purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the second management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “a first communication unit configured to communicate” purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the first communication unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations “a third management unit configured to store …”; “the third management unit configured to transmit” purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the third management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “a second communication unit configured to communicate …” purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the second communication unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations “a fourth management unit configured to store …”; “the fourth management unit is configured to transmit” purport to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the fourth management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 10, limitation “the first management unit stores…” purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the first management unit can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 12, limitation “in vehicle access management device configured to communicate” purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the in vehicle access management device can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 12, limitation “the access management device to acquire…manage…” purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between an structure/algorithm of the access management device can be found in specification. The specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected to because said claims depend upon claim 1.
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the access management device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the access management device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 limitation “an access management unit configured to manage” and claim 5 limitation “the access management unit configured to provide” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure and acts that performs the function pertaining to the access management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 8 limitation “an access management unit configured to manage” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure and acts that performs the function pertaining to the access management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 8-9 limitations “a first management unit configured to manage”; “the first management unit configured to store…”; and “the first management unit acquires…stores…” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure and acts that performs the function pertaining to the first management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 8 limitation “a communication unit configured to communicate …” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the communication unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 8-9 limitations “a second management unit configured to store…”; “the second management unit is configured to transmit …”; and “the second management unit transmit…” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the second management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 10 limitation “a first communication unit configured to communicate …” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the first communication unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 10 limitations “a third management unit configured to store …”; “the third management unit configured to transmit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the third management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 10 limitation “a second communication unit configured to communicate …” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the second communication unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 10 limitations “a fourth management unit configured to store …”; “the fourth management unit is configured to transmit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the fourth management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 10 limitation “the first management unit stores…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the first management unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 12 limitation “in vehicle access management device configured to communicate” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function pertaining to the in vehicle access management device. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 12 limitation “the access management device to acquire…manage…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure and acts that performs the function pertaining to the access management device. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnah et al US 20220070761 (hereinafter Bonnah) in view of Varghese et al US 20200074067 (hereinafter Varghese).
As to claim 1, Bonnah teaches an in-vehicle access management device configured to manage vehicle data acquired from a plurality of vehicles and communicate with a server configured to provide a service related to the plurality of vehicles based on the vehicle data (Paragraph 32 discloses the system enables efficient access management of application data, web-based data, and/or additional types of electronic data that is managed by OEMs of the vehicles and/or third-parties that are associated with the OEMs of the vehicles. Abstract discloses system and method for processing resource identifier request in a vehicle (Paragraph 121 reveals that the resource identifier is from a device within the vehicle). The system and method include retrieving and analyzing an electronically stored allow list that determines accessibility of the application based on analysis of an allow list. Paragraph 31 discloses a determination may be made on whether the resource identifier[that is associated with a device in the vehicle] is within a preset list of resource identifiers defined by the data plan. The request to the resource identifier may be processed when the resource identifier is within the preset list of resource identifiers defined by the data plan), the in- vehicle access management device comprising:
a storage configured to store (Paragraph 47 reveals the server running may include one or more processor and mass storage device):
a first manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device [applications] (Paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list) and
a second manifest indicating a correspondence between a user and a user privilege for accessing the in-vehicle device by using the application program (Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list); and
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor, the at least one of the circuit and the processor configured to cause the in-vehicle access management device to serve as an access management unit configured (Paragraph 5 discloses the system for processing a resource identifier request in a vehicle that includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor cause the processor to receive an application data access request from at least one of an in-vehicle device and a portable device. Additionally, the access management unit can be App Service Manager and the Data Manager shown in Figure 11 of Vehicle 100) to manage access by the user to the in-vehicle device using the application program based on the first manifest and the second manifest stored in the storage (Paragraph 5 discloses the instructions also cause the processor to retrieve and analyze an electronically stored allow list that is stored and updated based on a wireless data plan that is associated with the vehicle and determine accessibility of the application based on analysis of the allow list. The instructions further cause the processor to assign a router port of at least one router of a telematics communication unit of the vehicle to allow or disallow accessibility of the application based on determined accessibility of the application. Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list. When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list).
Bonnah does not teach, but Varghese teaches a manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device (Paragraph 20 discloses resource permission that defined for a resource (this resource permission is the manifest. Paragraph 19 reveals the resource within a computing device or system may be any state, data, operation, or service in the computing device or system, including any state, data, operation, or service associated with any sub-system or component associated with the computing device or system, that may be accessed by an application or module. For example, for an in-vehicle system, each of the state of the parking brake and the operation to change the parking brake state is a resource in the in-vehicle system). Resource permission specifies a requirement that permission is required for access to resource by an application. The application cannot access the resource unless that application is granted permission to do so. Resource permission include definitions of conditions, constraints, and/or policies on access to the resource by an application or module. The conditions, constraints, and/or policies may specify, for example, when or how the resource may be accessed, and/or restrictions on usage of the resource permission to a certain date range, region, device model).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonnah’s first manifest to further include the in-vehicle devices as taught by Varghese to provide more effective techniques for managing permissions within a system and reduce errors in the approval or denial of permission requests given the complexity of many sub-systems and services (paragraphs 6-7 of Varghese).
As to claim 2, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches wherein the user privilege indicates at least one of the in-vehicle device that is accessible by the user and accessible by the application program, data related to the in-vehicle device accessible by the user, or an operation permitted on the in-vehicle device accessible by the user (Bonnah: paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers (Paragraph 121 reveals that the resource identifiers are from devices within the vehicle) for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list. When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list).
As to claim 3, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the in-vehicle access management device to: serve as a manifest management unit configured to (Bonnah: paragraph 5 discloses the system includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor, and cause the processor for perform instructions. The manifest management unit can be software that is part of the instructions stored in memory. Additionally, the manifest management unit can be the Data Manager shown in Figure 11 of Vehicle 100):
acquire the first manifest corresponding to the application program from the server by communication (Bonnah: paragraph 5 discloses the instructions also cause the processor to retrieve and analyze an electronically stored allow list (thus acquire the first manifest) that is stored. Paragraph 47 reveals the server running may include one or more processor and mass storage device. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store an allow list and the allow list may be configured to include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces), and
store the first manifest in the storage when acquiring the application program from the server by the communication (Bonnah: paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store an allow list and the allow list may be configured to include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces. Paragraph 47 reveals the server running may include one or more processor and mass storage device).
As to claim 4, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the in-vehicle access management device to serve as a manifest management unit (Bonnah: paragraph 5 discloses the system includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor, and cause the processor for perform instructions. The manifest management unit can be software that is part of the instructions stored in memory. Additionally, the manifest management unit can be the Data Manager shown in Figure 11 of Vehicle 100) configured to store, in the storage, the second manifest acquired by communication from the server based on information of the user (Bonnah: paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list).
As to claim 7, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches wherein the first manifest specifies a correspondence between the application program installed in the access management device and an in-vehicle electronic control unit other than the access management device and the program privilege for the application program to access the in- vehicle device (Bonnah: paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 2 reveals an embedded telematic control unit may provide a vehicle with data access through a wireless connection. Paragraph 96 reveals a list of allowable resource identifiers may be downloaded through the telematic control unit through an OTA update. The identifiers may be specific for this vehicle and may be downloaded through vehicle identification information such as a vehicle identification number (VIN). Varghese: paragraph 20 discloses resource permission that is defined for a resource (this resource permission is the manifest). Resource permission specifies a requirement that permission is required for access to resource by an application. Resource permission include definitions of conditions, constraints, and/or policies on access to the resource by an application or module. The conditions, constraints, and/or policies may specify, for example, when or how the resource may be accessed, and/or restrictions on usage of the resource permission to a certain date range, region, device model). Paragraph 19 reveals the resource within a computing device or system may be any state, data, operation, or service in the computing device or system, including any state, data, operation, or service associated with any sub-system or component associated with the computing device or system, that may be accessed by an application or module. For example, for an in-vehicle system, each of the state of the parking brake and the operation to change the parking brake state is a resource in the in-vehicle system).
As to claim 8, Bonnah teaches an access management system (Figure 3 discloses a system. Paragraph 32 discloses the system enables efficient access management of application data, web-based data, and/or additional types of electronic data that is managed by OEMs of the vehicles and/or third-parties that are associated with the OEMs of the vehicles. Abstract discloses system and method for processing resource identifier request in a vehicle (Paragraph 121 reveals that the resource identifier is from a device within the vehicle)) comprising:
a server configured to manage vehicle data acquired from a plurality of vehicles and provide a service related to the plurality of vehicles based on the vehicle data (Figure 3, reference number 308 discloses endpoint resolver server that has a service platform. Paragraph 63 discloses the endpoint resolver server may act like a conduit for storing information regarding user accounts as well as accessible resource identifiers associated with those accounts. Paragraph 62 reveals the service platform of the endpoint resolver server may include an account database. The database may include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users. Furthermore, the database may include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. Paragraph 32 and Figure 2 indicate that data from plurality of vehicles occurs); and
an in-vehicle access management device configured to communicate with the server (Figure 3 reveals router application 302 that is in communication with the endpoint resolver server, see paragraph 64), wherein
the in-vehicle access management device (Figure 3 discloses router application 302 and Figure 4 shows schematic of the router application 302) includes:
a device storage configured to store (Figure 4, reference number 402 Memory. Paragraph 74 reveals the router application include memory):
a first manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device [applications] (Paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list) and
a second manifest indicating a correspondence between a user and a user privilege for accessing the in-vehicle device by using the application program (Paragraph 66 discloses the whitelist/second manifest is stored in the router application or on the service platform. Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list); and
at least one of (i) a first circuit and (ii) a first processor with a first memory storing first computer program code executable by the first processor, the at least one of the first circuit and the first processor configured to cause the in-vehicle access management device (Paragraph 5 discloses the system for processing a resource identifier request in a vehicle that includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor cause the processor to receive an application data access request from at least one of an in-vehicle device and a portable device) to serve as:
an access management unit configured to manage access by the user to the in-vehicle device using the application program based on the first manifest and the second manifest stored in the device storage (Paragraph 5 discloses the instructions also cause the processor to retrieve and analyze an electronically stored allow list that is stored and updated based on a wireless data plan that is associated with the vehicle and determine accessibility of the application based on analysis of the allow list. The instructions further cause the processor to assign a router port of at least one router of a telematics communication unit of the vehicle to allow or disallow accessibility of the application based on determined accessibility of the application. Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list. When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list); and
a first management unit configured to manage storage of data received from the server (Paragraph 5 discloses the system includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor, and cause the processor for perform instructions. The first management unit can be software that is part of the instructions stored in memory. Additionally, the first management unit can be App Service Manager and the Data Manager shown in Figure 11 of Vehicle 100, see paragraphs 132 and 145. Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests (recall paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database that contains the preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest),
the server (Figure 3, reference number 308 discloses endpoint resolver server that has a service platform) includes:
a server storage (Paragraph 47 discloses the server include a mass storage device) ; and
at least one of (i) a second circuit and (ii) a second processor with a second memory storing second computer program code executable by the second processor, the at least one of the second circuit and the second processor configured to cause the server to serve as (Paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The communication unit and the management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory):
a communication unit configured to communicate with the plurality of vehicles (Figure 3, reference number 316 “Service Platform”; paragraph 61 discloses the endpoint resolver server may include a host service platform. This platform may include one or more servers that are co-located and/or geographically distributed. The service platform may support a programming interface through which other computing devices and/or software modules (e.g., application programs or portions thereof) may obtain information, post information, access information, initiate or receive commands, and/or communicate with. Figure 3 also reveals the service platform of the endpoint resolver server is in communication with the vehicle. Paragraph 31 reveals the router application and/or service endpoint resolver in communication with a telematics control unit of the vehicle. Paragraph 52 discloses the plurality of vehicles include telematic control unit that communicates with the other servers via network); and
a second management unit configured to store (Paragraph 47 discloses the server include a mass storage device) the first manifest and the second manifest in the server storage (Paragraph 66 discloses the whitelist/second manifest is stored in the router application or on the service platform of the server. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list),
the second management unit (Paragraph 47 discloses the server include a mass storage device. Paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory) is configured to transmit the first manifest and the second manifest stored in the server storage from communication unit to the plurality of vehicles (Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests (recall paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database that contains the preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list) , and
the first management unit is configured to store the first manifest and the second manifest acquired from the server by communication in the device storage (Paragraph 87 reveals the whitelist is stored in the router application/first management unit of the vehicle. Paragraph 139 discloses the allow list is stored upon the data manager. Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests).
Bonnah does not teach, but Varghese teaches a manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device (Paragraph 20 discloses resource permission that defined for a resource (this resource permission is the manifest. Paragraph 19 reveals the resource within a computing device or system may be any state, data, operation, or service in the computing device or system, including any state, data, operation, or service associated with any sub-system or component associated with the computing device or system, that may be accessed by an application or module. For example, for an in-vehicle system, each of the state of the parking brake and the operation to change the parking brake state is a resource in the in-vehicle system). Resource permission specifies a requirement that permission is required for access to resource by an application. The application cannot access the resource unless that application is granted permission to do so. Resource permission include definitions of conditions, constraints, and/or policies on access to the resource by an application or module. The conditions, constraints, and/or policies may specify, for example, when or how the resource may be accessed, and/or restrictions on usage of the resource permission to a certain date range, region, device model).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonnah’s first manifest to further include the in-vehicle devices as taught by Varghese to provide more effective techniques for managing permissions within a system and reduce errors in the approval or denial of permission requests given the complexity of many sub-systems and services (Paragraphs 6-7 of Varghese).
As to claim 9, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches wherein the second management unit transmits the first manifest that corresponds the application program and is stored in the server storage to at least one of the plurality of vehicles when transmitting the application program from the communication unit to the at least one of the plurality of vehicles (Bonnah: paragraph 119 reveals the whitelist is stored in the service endpoint resolver server. Paragraph 139 discloses the allow list is stored upon the data manager. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list. Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests and application data), and
when acquiring the application program from the server by communication, the first management unit acquires the first manifest corresponding to the application program from the server by the communication and stores the first manifest in the device storage (Bonnah: Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests and application data. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store an allow list and the allow list may be configured to include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces. Paragraph 47 reveals the server running may include one or more processor and mass storage device).
As to claim 10, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches wherein the at least one of the second circuit and the second processor is further configured to cause the server to serve as (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server includes one or more processors and memory. Figure 3 and paragraphs 59 and 140 reveal the system includes endpoint resolver server and an endpoint server):
a management server (Figure 3 and paragraph 61 reveal the endpoint resolver server includes host service platform) ; and
a service server (Figure 3 reveal the endpoint server includes third party service service),
the second management unit includes a third management unit and a fourth management unit (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The management units of the system can be software instructions stored in memory),
the server storage includes a first server storage and a second server storage (Paragraph 47 discloses the server includes mass storage device and portable storage medium drive),
the management server (Figure 3 and paragraph 61 reveal the endpoint resolver server includes host service platform) includes:
a first communication unit configured to communicate with the plurality of vehicles as the communication unit (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The communication unit and the management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory. Paragraph 61 discloses the endpoint resolver server may include a host service platform and this platform may include one or more servers that are co-located and/or geographically distributed. The service platform may support a programming interface through which other computing devices and/or software modules (e.g., application programs or portions thereof) may obtain information, post information, access information, initiate or receive commands, and/or communicate with. Figure 3 also reveals the service platform of the endpoint resolver server is in communication with the vehicle. Paragraph 31 reveals the router application and/or service endpoint resolver in communication with a telematics control unit of the vehicle. Paragraph 52 discloses the plurality of vehicles include telematic control unit that communicates with the other servers via network);
the first server storage that is the server storage and stores the first manifest (Paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list); and
the third management unit(Paragraph 5 discloses the system includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor, and cause the processor for perform instructions. The third management unit can be software that is part of the instructions stored in memory. configured to store the first manifest in the first server storage (Paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list),
the service server includes:
a second communication unit configured to communicate with the plurality of vehicles as the communication unit (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The communication unit and the management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory. Paragraph 61 discloses the endpoint resolver server may include a host service platform and this platform may include one or more servers that are co-located and/or geographically distributed. The service platform may support a programming interface through which other computing devices and/or software modules (e.g., application programs or portions thereof) may obtain information, post information, access information, initiate or receive commands, and/or communicate with. Figure 3 also reveals the service platform of the endpoint resolver server is in communication with the vehicle. Paragraph 31 reveals the router application and/or service endpoint resolver in communication with a telematics control unit of the vehicle. Paragraph 52 discloses the plurality of vehicles include telematic control unit that communicates with the other servers via network);
the second server storage that is the server storage and configured to store the second manifest in the server storage (Bonnah: paragraph 66 discloses the whitelist/second manifest is stored in the router application or on the service platform of the server); and
the fourth management unit (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory) configured to store the second manifest in the second server storage (Bonnah: paragraph 66 discloses the whitelist/second manifest is stored in the router application or on the service platform of the server),
the third management unit (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory) is configured to transmit the first manifest stored in the first server storage from the first communication unit to the plurality of vehicles (Bonnah: Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests and application data. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store an allow list and the allow list may be configured to include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces. Paragraph 47 reveals the server running may include one or more processor and mass storage device),
the fourth management unit (Bonnah: paragraph 47 discloses the server include one or more processors and memory. The memory store instructions and data for execution by the processor. The memory store the executable code when in operation performs a number of processes. The management unit of the system can be software instructions stored in memory) is configured to transmit the second manifest stored in the second server storage from the second communication unit to the plurality of vehicles (Bonnah: Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests and application data. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store an allow list and the allow list may be configured to include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces. Paragraph 47 reveals the server running may include one or more processor and mass storage device), and
the first management unit (Bonnah: paragraph 5 discloses the system includes a memory storing instructions when executed by a processor, and cause the processor for perform instructions. The first management unit can be software that is part of the instructions stored in memory. Additionally, the first management unit can be App Service Manager and the Data Manager shown in Figure 11 of Vehicle 100) stores the first manifest acquired by communication from the management server in the device storage, and stores the second manifest acquired by the communication from the service server in the device storage (Bonnah: Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests (recall paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database that contains the preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest).
As to claim 11, Bonnah teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an access management program mounted on an in-vehicle access management device configured to manage vehicle data acquired from a plurality of vehicles and cause a computer to communicate with a server that provides a service related to the plurality of vehicles based on the vehicle data (Paragraph 6 discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a computer, which includes a processor perform a method that includes receiving an application data access request from at least one of an in-vehicle device and a portable device. The instructions further include retrieving and analyzing an electronically stored allow list that is stored and updated based on a wireless data plan that is associated with the vehicle and determining accessibility of the application based on analysis of the allow list. The method further includes assigning a router port of at least one router of a telematics communication unit of the vehicle to allow or disallow accessibility of the application based on determined accessibility of the application), the access management program causing a computer to (Paragraph 6):
store a first manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device [applications] (Paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list) and
a second manifest indicating a correspondence between a user and a user privilege for accessing the in-vehicle device by using the application program (Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list); and
manage access by the user to the in-vehicle device using the application program based on the first manifest and the second manifest stored in the storage (Paragraph 5 discloses the instructions also cause the processor to retrieve and analyze an electronically stored allow list that is stored and updated based on a wireless data plan that is associated with the vehicle and determine accessibility of the application based on analysis of the allow list. The instructions further cause the processor to assign a router port of at least one router of a telematics communication unit of the vehicle to allow or disallow accessibility of the application based on determined accessibility of the application. Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list. When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list).
Bonnah does not teach, but Varghese teaches a manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device (Paragraph 20 discloses resource permission that defined for a resource (this resource permission is the manifest. Paragraph 19 reveals the resource within a computing device or system may be any state, data, operation, or service in the computing device or system, including any state, data, operation, or service associated with any sub-system or component associated with the computing device or system, that may be accessed by an application or module. For example, for an in-vehicle system, each of the state of the parking brake and the operation to change the parking brake state is a resource in the in-vehicle system). Resource permission specifies a requirement that permission is required for access to resource by an application. The application cannot access the resource unless that application is granted permission to do so. Resource permission include definitions of conditions, constraints, and/or policies on access to the resource by an application or module. The conditions, constraints, and/or policies may specify, for example, when or how the resource may be accessed, and/or restrictions on usage of the resource permission to a certain date range, region, device model).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonnah’s first manifest to further include the in-vehicle devices as taught by Varghese to provide more effective techniques for managing permissions within a system and reduce errors in the approval or denial of permission requests given the complexity of many sub-systems and services (Paragraphs 6-7 of Varghese).
As to claim 12, Bonnah teaches an access management method by an access management system (Paragraph 32 discloses the system and method that enable efficient access management of application data, web-based data, and/or additional types of electronic data that is managed by OEMs of the vehicles and/or third-parties that are associated with the OEMs of the vehicles. Abstract discloses system and method for processing resource identifier request in a vehicle (Paragraph 121 reveals that the resource identifier is from a device within the vehicle). The system and method include retrieving and analyzing an electronically stored allow list that determines accessibility of the application based on analysis of an allow list. Paragraph 31 discloses a determination may be made on whether the resource identifier[that is associated with a device in the vehicle] is within a preset list of resource identifiers defined by the data plan. The request to the resource identifier may be processed when the resource identifier is within the preset list of resource identifiers defined by the data plan) comprising:
a server configured to manage vehicle data acquired from a plurality of vehicles and provide a service related to the plurality of vehicles based on the vehicle data (Figure 3, reference number 308 discloses endpoint resolver server that has a service platform. Paragraph 63 discloses the endpoint resolver server may act like a conduit for storing information regarding user accounts as well as accessible resource identifiers associated with those accounts. Paragraph 62 reveals the service platform of the endpoint resolver server may include an account database. The database may include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users. Furthermore, the database may include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. Paragraph 32 and Figure 2 indicate that data from plurality of vehicles occurs); and
an in-vehicle access management device configured to communicate with the server (Figure 3 reveals router application 302 that is in communication with the endpoint resolver server, see paragraph 64),
wherein the method causing the server (Paragraph 47 discloses the server include a mass storage device) to store a first manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device [applications] (Paragraph 132 discloses the allow list include a list of application names, associated IP addresses, and associated permissions to allow access to one or more vehicle applications, applets, application interfaces, portable applications, application web interfaces, and the like. The allow list is the first manifest. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list) and a second manifest indicating a correspondence between a user and a user privilege for accessing the in-vehicle device by using the application program (Paragraph 66 discloses the whitelist/second manifest is stored in the router application or on the service platform. Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list. Paragraph 87 reveals the whitelist is stored in the router application/first management unit of the vehicle. Paragraph 139 discloses the allow list is stored upon the data manager. Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests. Paragraph 66 discloses the whitelist/second manifest is stored in the router application or on the service platform of the server. Paragraph 132 reveals the storage device may store the allow list); and
transmit the stored first manifest and the stored second manifest to the plurality of vehicles (Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests (recall paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database that contains the preset list is also known as a white list (this preset list is the second manifest). Paragraph 52 discloses the plurality of vehicles include telematic control unit that communicates with the other servers via network), and
the method causing the access management device to acquire and store the first manifest and the second manifest from the server by communication (Paragraph 63 discloses the endpoint resolver server may act like a conduit for storing information regarding user accounts as well as accessible resource identifiers associated with those accounts. Paragraph 62 reveals the service platform of the endpoint resolver server may include an account database. The database may include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users. Furthermore, the database may include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. Paragraph 32 and Figure 2 indicate that data from plurality of vehicles occurs. Paragraph 87 reveals the whitelist is stored in the router application/first management unit of the vehicle. Paragraph 139 discloses the allow list is stored upon the data manager. Paragraph 99 discloses the communication between the vehicle's TCU may go through the network to receive and transmit data to and from the endpoint server. This data can include the manifests), and
manage access by the user to the in-vehicle device using the application program based on the stored first manifest and the stored second manifest (Paragraph 5 discloses the instructions also cause the processor to retrieve and analyze an electronically stored allow list that is stored and updated based on a wireless data plan that is associated with the vehicle and determine accessibility of the application based on analysis of the allow list. The instructions further cause the processor to assign a router port of at least one router of a telematics communication unit of the vehicle to allow or disallow accessibility of the application based on determined accessibility of the application. Paragraph 62 discloses the service platform of the endpoint resolver server include an account database. The account database include information regarding data plans of active/inactive users, The database include a preset list of resource identifiers for each user or account holder. The preset list is also known as a white list. When a request is made to the endpoint resolver server, the database on the service platform may be accessed. The server may check whether an account exists. If a resource identifier is received, and the requesting party has an account with data access, the resource identifier is checked against the preset list. Access may be permitted when the resource identifier is within the list).
Bonnah does not teach, but Varghese teaches a manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device (Paragraph 20 discloses resource permission that defined for a resource (this resource permission is the manifest. Paragraph 19 reveals the resource within a computing device or system may be any state, data, operation, or service in the computing device or system, including any state, data, operation, or service associated with any sub-system or component associated with the computing device or system, that may be accessed by an application or module. For example, for an in-vehicle system, each of the state of the parking brake and the operation to change the parking brake state is a resource in the in-vehicle system). Resource permission specifies a requirement that permission is required for access to resource by an application. The application cannot access the resource unless that application is granted permission to do so. Resource permission include definitions of conditions, constraints, and/or policies on access to the resource by an application or module. The conditions, constraints, and/or policies may specify, for example, when or how the resource may be accessed, and/or restrictions on usage of the resource permission to a certain date range, region, device model).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonnah’s first manifest to further include the in-vehicle devices as taught by Varghese to provide more effective techniques for managing permissions within a system and reduce errors in the approval or denial of permission requests given the complexity of many sub-systems and services (paragraphs 6-7 of Varghese).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnah et al US 20220070761 (hereinafter Bonnah), in view of Varghese et al US 20200074067 (hereinafter Varghese), in further view of Matsuda et al US 20090031418 (hereinafter Matsuda).
As to claim 5, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese teaches all the limitations disclosed in claim 1 above. The combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese does not teach, but Matsuda teaches wherein the access management unit is further configured to provide a first application programming interface that requires an access privilege to the in-vehicle device and a second application programming interface that does not require the access privilege to the in-vehicle device when accessing the in-vehicle device (Matsuda: paragraph 102 discloses the concept of access control functions include API for controlling various in-vehicle devices mounted on the vehicle system. Paragraph 144 further discloses an access permission judging means that functions to judge if the application has a use access permission to execute the various APIs/in-vehicle API based on information of the granted access permissions. Paragraph 148 also discloses the various vehicle system resources can be monitored/controlled using various APIs/in vehicle APIs)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bonnah’s first manifest in view of further including the in-vehicle devices as taught by Varghese with Matsuda’s teachings of access control functions that include various APIs to provide improved method for controlling access to a resource while providing access control with easy maintenance and good cost performance (paragraph 15 of Matsuda).
As to claim 6, the combination of Bonnah in view of Varghese and Matsuda teaches wherein when the user accesses the in-vehicle device requiring the access privilege by using the application program, the access management unit acquires a validity period of the access privilege by communication from the server, and permits the user to access the in-vehicle device requiring the access privilege by using the application program during the acquired validity period (Varghese: paragraph 19 reveals the resource within a computing device or system may be any state, data, operation, or service in the computing device or system, including any state, data, operation, or service associated with any sub-system or component associated with the computing device or system, that may be accessed by an application or module. Resource permission specifies a requirement that permission is required for access to resource by an application. The application cannot access the resource unless that application is granted permission to do so. Resource permission include definitions of conditions, constraints, and/or policies on access to the resource by an application or module. The conditions, constraints, and/or policies may specify, for example, when or how the resource may be accessed, and/or restrictions on usage of the resource permission to a certain date range (thus validity period), region, device model). Motivation similar to motivation presented in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Tschache et al US 20210398364 (hereinafter Tschache).
Tschache teaches a first manifest indicating a correspondence between an application program and a program privilege for accessing an in-vehicle device (Paragraphs 6-7 and 35-36, Figure 1B, step 120); and a second manifest (Paragraph 54 and Figure 1B, step 140), as recited in claims 1, 8, 11, and 12.
/F.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2437
/MENG LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437