DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 have been examined.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Shibata (US20170097055A1).
Claim.1 Shibata discloses a method (see at abstract, the engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state), for controlling a powertrain of an electric vehicle (see at least fig.1, 3, p32, a power transmission mechanism, p44, the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1), wherein the electric vehicle comprises a controller and an actuator controlled by the controller (see at least fig.1-5, p44, the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1), the powertrain comprising: an electric motor (see at least fig.1, p44, a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1), controlled by the controller (see at least fig.1, p48, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like), a shaft, extending along a main axis and configured to selectively drive output components of the powertrain and be rotatably decoupled from said output components (see at least fig.1-5, p44-46, the power transmission mechanism will be described. FIG. 1 schematically shows the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1. Together with the engine 1, the first motor 2 is coupled to a power split mechanism 4, An output shaft (a crankshaft) of the engine 1 is coupled to the carrier 6 that is an example of a first rotary element of the invention. The ring gear 7 that is an example of a third rotary element of the invention is an output element. An output gear 8 as an output member is attached to the ring gear 7. The output gear 8 meshes with a counter driven gear 9. The counter driven gear 9 is attached to a counter shaft 10. A counter drive gear 11 that has a smaller diameter than the counter driven gear 9 is attached to the counter shaft 10), a dog clutch comprising a first set of teeth configured to be drive in rotation around the main axis by the electric motor and a second set of teeth rotatably coupled to the shaft, wherein the actuator is configured to apply an engaging force on the dog clutch to move the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth towards each other along the main axis, so that the dog clutch is operated by the actuator (see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch); from a disengaged configuration, in which the first set of teeth is disengaged from the second set of teeth and spaced apart from the second set of teeth so that the shaft is rotatably decoupled from the electric motor (see at least fig.1-5, 7, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted. The disengaged state is a state in which the relative rotation between the first member and the second member in both of the positive and the reverse rotational direction is permitted); to an engaged configuration, in which the first set of teeth is engaged with the second set of teeth so that the shaft is driven in rotation around the main axis by the electric motor, the (see at least fig.1-5, 7-9, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted, p4, a pocket which a tip of the strut enters and is engaged, p5-6, the strut is projected to the other ring side and engaged with the pocket that is formed in the other ring, p51, the SOWC 17 is controlled to be engaged, torque is not applied to a strut of the SOWC 17) method comprising: when the dog clutch is in the disengaged configuration and the shaft is rotatably decoupled from the output components of the powertrain, applying the engaging force, by the actuator, as the engaging force was applied, detecting, by the controller, a blocking of the dog clutch in an intermediate configuration of the dog clutch, in which the first set of teeth is disengaged from the second set of teeth and in which the first set of teeth is in contact with the second set of teeth, consequently to said detecting of the blocking of the dog clutch in the intermediate configuration, driving in rotation the first set of teeth around the main axis in a first rotation direction, by the electric motor (see at least fig.1-5, 7, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted. The disengaged state is a state in which the relative rotation between the first member and the second member in both of the positive and the reverse rotational direction is permitted), while applying the engaging force so that the first set of teeth tends to drive the shaft in rotation around the main axis in the first direction of rotation by friction of the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth in the intermediate configured of the dog clutch, consequently to said driving in rotation of the first set of teeth and consequently to said driving in rotation of the first set of teeth and consequently to the shaft being brought into rotation around the main axis in the first direction of rotation by friction of the first set of teeth against the second set of teeth (see at least fig.1-5, 7-9, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted, p4, a pocket which a tip of the strut enters and is engaged, p5-6, the strut is projected to the other ring side and engaged with the pocket that is formed in the other ring, p51, the SOWC 17 is controlled to be engaged, torque is not applied to a strut of the SOWC 17), driving in rotation the first set of teeth around the main axis in a second direction of rotation opposite to the first direction of rotation, by the electric motor, while applying the engaging force, so that the first set of teeth tends to slip against the second set of teeth rotating in the first direction of rotation, enabling the dog clutch to reach the engaged configuration due to the engaging force (see at least fig.1-9, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted. The disengaged state is a state in which the relative rotation between the first member and the second member in both of the positive and the reverse rotational direction is permitted. The electronic control unit is configured to apply torque to the one of the first member or the second member by using a motor such that relative rotation in the other one of the positive or the reverse rotational direction is generated between the first member and the second member when the engagement mechanism is switched from the engaged state to the disengaged state, p10-14, The control system includes a selectable one-way clutch, a motor, and an electronic control unit. The selectable one-way clutch includes an engagement mechanism. The engagement mechanism includes a first member and a second member. The second member is configured to rotate relative to the first member. The engagement mechanism is configured to switch between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between the first member and the second member in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted. The disengaged state is a state in which (i) the relative rotation between the first member and the second member in the one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction and (ii) relative rotation between the first member and the second member in the other one of the positive rotational direction and the reverse rotational direction are permitted. The motor is configured to rotate one of the first and second members. The electronic control unit is configured to apply torque to the one of the first member and the second member by using the motor such that the rotation relative in the one of the positive rotational direction and the reverse rotational direction is generated between the first member and the second member when the engagement mechanism is switched from the engaged state to the disengaged state).
Claim.2 Shibata discloses further comprising, as the first set of teeth tends to drive the shaft in rotation around the main axis in the first direction of rotation, detecting, by the controller, a rotation of the shaft around the main axis in the first direction of rotation, and wherein the first set of teeth is driven in rotation around the main axis in the second direction of rotation consequently to said detecting of the rotation of the shaft (see at least fig.1-5, p4-5, The strut is configured to be pressed and projected toward the pocket side by a projecting tooth via a spring, the projecting tooth being inserted in the through opening from a back surface side of the one ring (an opposite side of a surface that faces the other ring). In addition, a selector plate is arranged between the rings in a manner to rotate by a specified angle, the selector plate including a window through which the strut is inserted, The selector plate rotates in a state that an elastic force of the spring presses the strut to the other ring side. Accordingly, the window of the selector plate corresponds to the through opening (that is, the strut) in a rotational direction thereof. In this way, the strut is projected to the other ring side and engaged with the pocket that is formed in the other ring. Meanwhile, the selector plate is rotated by a frictional force that is generated when contacting a front surface of the other ring. In addition, the projecting tooth is retracted in a state that the strut is engaged with the pocket. Accordingly, the strut is, no longer pressed to the pocket side, p32, a power transmission mechanism, p44, the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1).
Claim.3 Shibata discloses wherein the electric vehicle further comprises a speed sensor, configured to provide to the controller data representative of a rotational speed of the shaft around the main axis, and wherein the controller detects a rotation of the shaft around the main axis in the first direction of rotation using said data provided by the speed sensor (see at least fig.1-5, p12, the electronic control unit may be configured to maintain a difference in rotational speed between the first member and the second member at a predetermined target value in a state that the relative rotation in the other one of the positive rotational direction and the reverse rotational direction is generated, p15, the engagement mechanism may include an engagement piece, an actuator, and a sensor. The engagement piece may be supported by one of the first member and the second member. The other one of the first member and the second member may have a recessed section. The recessed section may be configured to fit a tip of the engagement piece and the recessed section is engaged with the engagement piece. The actuator may be configured to operate the engagement piece to an engaged position and a disengaged position. The engaged position may be a position at which the tip of the engagement piece is moved toward the other one of the first member and the second member by the actuator and the tip of the engagement piece is engaged with the recessed section. The disengaged position may be a position at which the tip of the engagement piece is separated from the recessed section by the actuator. The sensor may be configured to detect an operation amount of the actuator. The electronic control unit may be configured to determine that the engagement mechanism is switched to the disengaged state based on the operation amount of the actuator that is detected by the sensor, p61, the operating state or an operation amount of the actuator 31, it is possible to determine the engaged state or the disengaged state on the basis of the detection result. A stroke sensor 32 for performing such detection is provided. This stroke sensor 32 may be an appropriate sensor that has conventionally been known. For example, the stroke sensor 32 may be a type of sensor that detects a stroke by capacitance or electrical resistance that varies by the operation amount of the actuator 31, a type of sensor that detects the stroke optically, or the like. In addition, instead of detecting the stroke, a so-called ON/OFF sensor may output a signal at an advanced end and a retracted end of the actuator 31).
Claim.4 Shibata discloses wherein the controller detects blocking of the dog clutch in its intermediate configuration by analyzing a distance between the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth, along the main axis (see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch).
Claim.5 Shibata discloses further comprising, as the first set of teeth is driven in rotation around the main axis in the second direction of rotation while the engaging force is applied, detecting, by the controller, the dog clutch reaching the engaged configuration (see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch).
Claim.6 Shibata discloses wherein the controller operates the electric motor so that a duration between the detecting of the blocking of the dog clutch in the intermediate configuration and the detecting of the dog clutch reaching the engaged configuration is equal to or under 500 milliseconds (see at least fig.8A-8B, time charts, p70-73, the stroke sensor 32 that the operation (stroke) of the actuator 31 is completed (time t5), the control of the power transmission mechanism is shifted to control that is executed in the disengaged state of the SOWC (time t6)).
Claim.7 Shibata discloses further comprising, consequently to said detecting of the dog clutch reaching the engaged configuration, stopping the rotation of the first set of teeth around the main axis, by the electric motor (see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch).
Claim.8 Shibata discloses wherein the actuator continuously applies the engaging force to the dog clutch between the detection of the blocking of the dog clutch in the intermediate configuration and the detection of the dog clutch reaching the engaged configuration (see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch).
Claim.9 Shibata discloses wherein the controller controls the electric motor so that a duration of the rotation of the first set of teeth around the main axis in the first direction of rotation is equal to or under 250 milliseconds and wherein the controller controls the electric motor so that a duration of the rotation of the first set of teeth around the main axis in the second direction of rotation is equal to or under 250 milliseconds (see at least fig.8A-8B, time charts, p70-73, the stroke sensor 32 that the operation (stroke) of the actuator 31 is completed (time t5), the control of the power transmission mechanism is shifted to control that is executed in the disengaged state of the SOWC (time t6)).
Claim.10 Shibata discloses wherein the controller controls the electric motor so that a maximum torque applied by the electric motor to the first set of teeth during rotation of the first set of teeth in the second direction of rotation is lower than, or equal to, a maximum torque applied by the electric motor to the first set of teeth during rotation of the first set of teeth in the first direction of rotation (see at least fig.1-5, p44-46, the power transmission mechanism will be described. FIG. 1 schematically shows the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1. Together with the engine 1, the first motor 2 is coupled to a power split mechanism 4, An output shaft (a crankshaft) of the engine 1 is coupled to the carrier 6 that is an example of a first rotary element of the invention. The ring gear 7 that is an example of a third rotary element of the invention is an output element. An output gear 8 as an output member is attached to the ring gear 7. The output gear 8 meshes with a counter driven gear 9. The counter driven gear 9 is attached to a counter shaft 10. A counter drive gear 11 that has a smaller diameter than the counter driven gear 9 is attached to the counter shaft 10).
Claim.11 Shibata discloses wherein the second set of teeth is mounted on a carrying structure of the dog clutch, the carrying structure being mounted on splines of the shaft, in a sliding connection along the main axis with the shaft, and wherein the actuator is configured to apply the engaging force on the carrying structure (see at least fig.1-5, p44-46, the power transmission mechanism will be described. FIG. 1 schematically shows the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1. Together with the engine 1, the first motor 2 is coupled to a power split mechanism 4, An output shaft (a crankshaft) of the engine 1 is coupled to the carrier 6 that is an example of a first rotary element of the invention. The ring gear 7 that is an example of a third rotary element of the invention is an output element. An output gear 8 as an output member is attached to the ring gear 7. The output gear 8 meshes with a counter driven gear 9. The counter driven gear 9 is attached to a counter shaft 10. A counter drive gear 11 that has a smaller diameter than the counter driven gear 9 is attached to the counter shaft 10).
Claim.12 Shibata discloses wherein the first set of teeth is mounted on a motor shaft of the powertrain extending along the main axis and configured to be driven in rotation around the main axis by the electric motor (see at least fig.1-5, p44-46, the power transmission mechanism will be described. FIG. 1 schematically shows the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1. Together with the engine 1, the first motor 2 is coupled to a power split mechanism 4, An output shaft (a crankshaft) of the engine 1 is coupled to the carrier 6 that is an example of a first rotary element of the invention. The ring gear 7 that is an example of a third rotary element of the invention is an output element. An output gear 8 as an output member is attached to the ring gear 7. The output gear 8 meshes with a counter driven gear 9. The counter driven gear 9 is attached to a counter shaft 10. A counter drive gear 11 that has a smaller diameter than the counter driven gear 9 is attached to the counter shaft 10).
Claim.13 Shibata discloses wherein the powertrain further comprises an output clutch configured to be operated between: a disengaged configuration, in which the shaft is configured to be rotatably decoupled from the output components of the powertrain, and an engaged configuration, in which the shaft is configured to drive the output components of the powertrain (see at least fig.1-5, p44-46, the power transmission mechanism will be described. FIG. 1 schematically shows the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1. Together with the engine 1, the first motor 2 is coupled to a power split mechanism 4, An output shaft (a crankshaft) of the engine 1 is coupled to the carrier 6 that is an example of a first rotary element of the invention. The ring gear 7 that is an example of a third rotary element of the invention is an output element. An output gear 8 as an output member is attached to the ring gear 7. The output gear 8 meshes with a counter driven gear 9. The counter driven gear 9 is attached to a counter shaft 10. A counter drive gear 11 that has a smaller diameter than the counter driven gear 9 is attached to the counter shaft 10).
Claim.14 Shibata discloses wherein, when the dog clutch is in the disengaged configuration and the shaft is rotatably decoupled from the output components of the powertrain, the shaft is free to rotate around the main axis (see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch).
Claim.15 Shibata discloses an electric vehicle (see at least fig.1, p44, a power transmission mechanism in a hybrid vehicle is a subject. First, an example of the power transmission mechanism) comprising a controller, actuator controlled by the controller and a powertrain, the powertrain comprising: an electric motor, controlled by the controller, a shaft, extending along a mina axis and configured to selectively drive output components of the powertrain and be rotatably decoupled from said output components (see at least fig.1, 3, p32, a power transmission mechanism, p44, the power transmission mechanism in the hybrid vehicle of two-motor of the multiple shaft-type. The power transmission mechanism includes: an engine (Eng) 1 that, as a drive power source, is an example of an internal combustion engine of the invention; a first motor (MG1) 2 that is an example of a motor of the invention and has an electrical power generating function; and a second motor (MG2) 3 that has an electrical power generating function. The first motor 2 mainly executes control of a speed of the engine. 1 and cranking of the engine 1), a dog clutch comprising a first set of teeth configured to be driven in rotation around the main axis by the electric motor and a second set of teeth rotatably coupled to the shaft, wherein the actuator is configured to apply an engaging force on the dog clutch to move the first set of teeth and the second set of teeth towards each other along the main axis, so that the dog clutch is operated by the actuator(see at least fig.1-5, 47-48, one-way clutch (hereinafter described as an SOWC) 17 is provided between the sun gear 5, to which the first motor 2 is coupled, and a casing 16 that is an example of a fixed section of the invention. This SOWC 17 is a clutch that is configured to enable relative rotation in either a positive direction or a negative direction and, to prevent torque transmission in a disengaged state. This SOWC 17 is also a clutch that is configured to restrict (or inhibit) relative rotation in one of the positive direction and, the negative direction to transmit torque in a direction of the relative rotation and enable relative rotation in an opposite direction to the direction of the relative rotation to prevent the torque transmission in an engaged state, The first motor 2 and the second motor 3 are connected to an unillustrated controller unit such as an electrical storage device and an inverter and are electrically connected to each other to enable electrical power transfer therebetween. In addition, an electronic control unit (ECU) 18 is provided to control these electrical storage device and controller unit, the SOWC 17, or the like. This electronic control unit 18 is constructed of a microcomputer as a main body. This electronic control unit 18 is configured to receive detection signals indicative of a vehicle speed, an accelerator operation amount, an engine speed, estimated output torque, a rotational speed and torque of each of the motors 2, 3, an operating state of the SOWC 17, p62, SOWC 17 is a so-called dog clutch); from a disengaged configured, in which the first set of the teeth is disengaged from the second set of teeth and spaced apart from the second set of teeth so that the shaft is rotatably decoupled from the electric motor (see at least fig.1-5, 7, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted. The disengaged state is a state in which the relative rotation between the first member and the second member in both of the positive and the reverse rotational direction is permitted); to an engaged configuration, in which the first set of teeth is engaged with the second set of teeth so that the shaft is driven in rotation around the main axis by the electric motor, and wherein the electric vehicle is configured to perform the method of claim 1 (see at least fig.1-5, 7-9, abstract, The engagement mechanism is configured to be switched between an engaged state and a disengaged state. The engaged state is a state in which relative rotation between a first and a second members in one of a positive rotational direction and a reverse rotational direction is restricted, p4, a pocket which a tip of the strut enters and is engaged, p5-6, the strut is projected to the other ring side and engaged with the pocket that is formed in the other ring, p51, the SOWC 17 is controlled to be engaged, torque is not applied to a strut of the SOWC 17).
Conclusion
Related References
The relevant art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Koga (US12000441B2) teaches vehicle clutch control method and vehicle clutch control device.
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664