DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0113393).
a) regarding claim 1:
Sato et al. discloses a temperature sensing circuit (Figure 7), comprising:
a temperature sensor (702); and
a control circuit (703) coupled to the temperature sensor and comprising:
a sampling circuit coupled to the temperature sensor and configured to obtain a first voltage information and a second voltage information from the temperature sensor (paragraph [0046], “In this manner the first and second sample and hold capacitors are charged to the voltages at node 710 when currents I1 and I2 flow through stand 702, respectively.”); and
a computing circuit coupled to the sampling circuit and configured to generate a sensing result corresponding to a difference between the second voltage information and the first voltage information (paragraph [0046], “The first and second sample and hold capacitors can be connected to respective inputs of the differential amplifier, so that the differential amplifier generates analog Vout as a difference between the voltages held by the first and second sample and hold capacitors, respectively. An ADC can be provided that generates a digital equivalent of Vout for subsequent processing by a CPU to yield a digital value for T based on equation (3) above.”).
b) regarding claim 2:
Sato et al. discloses the temperature sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor comprises a diode connected bipolar junction transistor (BJT) (206).
c) regarding claim 3:
Sato et al. discloses the temperature sensing circuit of claim 2, wherein the first voltage information and the second voltage information comprise voltage differences across the diode connected BJT when a first current and a second current are respectively provided to the temperature sensor in different time periods (paragraph [0046]).
d) regarding claim 4:
Sato et al. discloses the temperature sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein a voltage level of the sensing result corresponds to a temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (paragraph [0046]).
e) regarding claim 5:
Sato et al. discloses the temperature sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the computing circuit comprises a voltage subtractor (differential amplifier) configured to generate the sensing result by subtracting the second voltage information from the first voltage information (paragraph [0046]).
f) regarding claim 8:
Sato et al. discloses (Figure 7) a control circuit (703) for controlling a temperature sensor (702), the control circuit comprising:
a sampling circuit coupled to the temperature sensor and configured to obtain a first voltage information and a second voltage information from the temperature sensor (paragraph [0046], “In this manner the first and second sample and hold capacitors are charged to the voltages at node 710 when currents I1 and I2 flow through stand 702, respectively.”); and
a computing circuit coupled to the sampling circuit and configured to generate a sensing result corresponding to a difference between the second voltage information and the first voltage information (paragraph [0046], “The first and second sample and hold capacitors can be connected to respective inputs of the differential amplifier, so that the differential amplifier generates analog Vout as a difference between the voltages held by the first and second sample and hold capacitors, respectively. An ADC can be provided that generates a digital equivalent of Vout for subsequent processing by a CPU to yield a digital value for T based on equation (3) above.”).
g) regarding claim 15:
Sato et al. discloses a method for obtaining temperature information about a circuit (Figure 7), the method comprising:
providing a first current (302) and a second current (304) in different time periods to a temperature sensor (702) associated with the circuit;
obtaining a first voltage information and a second voltage information from the temperature sensor when the first current and second current are respectively provided (paragraph [0046], “In this manner the first and second sample and hold capacitors are charged to the voltages at node 710 when currents I1 and I2 flow through stand 702, respectively.”); and
generating the temperature information based on the first and second voltage information (paragraph [0046], “The first and second sample and hold capacitors can be connected to respective inputs of the differential amplifier, so that the differential amplifier generates analog Vout as a difference between the voltages held by the first and second sample and hold capacitors, respectively. An ADC can be provided that generates a digital equivalent of Vout for subsequent processing by a CPU to yield a digital value for T based on equation (3) above.”).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,416,529 (hereinafter ‘529 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because other because the present claims are a broader recitation of the '529 patent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the teachings of claims 1-20 of the '529 patent as general teachings of a temperature sensor circuit as claimed in the present application. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention in the '529 patent and differ only in terminology.
Conclusion
/PATRICK O NEILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836