DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1, 10-11 and 20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or newly added. Thus claims 1-20 remain pending and have been examined in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagahama (JP 2008-278585 A, a machine translation is attached and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Nagahama discloses a control device of a vehicle, the control device comprising: an air conditioner (see at least [0025] – air conditioner 62 that heats and cools the interior of the vehicle); and a controller circuit configured to operate, based on a predetermined discharge condition being satisfied, the air conditioner to discharge a battery of the vehicle such that a state of charge (SoC) of the battery is reduced to a target SoC (see at least Fig. 4, [0051-0054] – The current control processing means of the discharge control processing means performs current control processing to set the current supplied to the air conditioner 62 and heater 63, i.e., the discharge current, to a constant value Ib2 and perform current control. Consequently, the battery voltage Vb decreases in a quadratic curve (a parabola whose slope decreases over time) and reaches 4.0 [V] at timing t4, while the remaining battery capacity (SOC) decreases in a linear curve (a straight line) and reaches 80 [%] at timing t4.).
Regarding claim 8, Nagahama discloses wherein the predetermined discharge condition comprises: receiving a signal indicating selection of a discharge mode, and wherein the target SoC is between 60% and 80% (see at least Fig. 4, [0051-0054] – The current control processing means of the discharge control processing means performs current control processing to set the current supplied to the air conditioner 62 and heater 63, i.e., the discharge current, to a constant value Ib2 and perform current control. Consequently, the battery voltage Vb decreases in a quadratic curve (a parabola whose slope decreases over time) and reaches 4.0 [V] at timing t4, while the remaining battery capacity (SOC) decreases in a linear curve (a straight line) and reaches 80 [%] at timing t4.).
Regarding claim 9, Nagahama discloses wherein the predetermined discharge condition comprises detecting that the SoC of the battery exceeds a full SoC during vehicle charging or within a specified period of time after the vehicle charging (see at least Fig. 4, [0051-0054] – The current control processing means of the discharge control processing means performs current control processing to set the current supplied to the air conditioner 62 and heater 63, i.e., the discharge current, to a constant value Ib2 and perform current control. Consequently, the battery voltage Vb decreases in a quadratic curve (a parabola whose slope decreases over time) and reaches 4.0 [V] at timing t4, while the remaining battery capacity (SOC) decreases in a linear curve (a straight line) and reaches 80 [%] at timing t4… Thus, in this embodiment, the battery SOC is maintained at 100% only during the departure time period from timing t2 to timing t3, and before timing t1 and after timing t4, so that the battery SOC is maintained at 80%, the deterioration of the battery 43's durability can be suppressed.).
Regarding claims 11 and 18-19, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claims 1 and 8-9, respectively, and it has been determined that claims 11 and 18-19 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claims 1 and 8-9; therefore, claims 11 and 18-19 are also rejected over the same rationale as in claims 1 and 8-9.
Regarding claim 20, Nagahama discloses a vehicle comprising: an air conditioner (see at least [0025] – air conditioner 62 that heats and cools the interior of the vehicle); a battery (see at least [0025] – battery 43); a sensor configured to detect at least one of a temperature associated with the battery or an external temperature (see at least [0021] – battery temperature sensor 54); a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the vehicle to (see at least [0016, 0020, 0031-0032, 0036, 0048, 0052] – vehicle control device 50): operate, based on a predetermined discharge condition being satisfied, the air conditioner to discharge the battery such that a state of charge (SoC) of the battery is reduced to a target SoC (see at least Fig. 4, [0051-0054] – The current control processing means of the discharge control processing means performs current control processing to set the current supplied to the air conditioner 62 and heater 63, i.e., the discharge current, to a constant value Ib2 and perform current control. Consequently, the battery voltage Vb decreases in a quadratic curve (a parabola whose slope decreases over time) and reaches 4.0 [V] at timing t4, while the remaining battery capacity (SOC) decreases in a linear curve (a straight line) and reaches 80 [%] at timing t4.), wherein the predetermined discharge condition comprises at least one of (BRI requires only one of the following): receiving a signal indicating selection of a discharge mode, or detecting that the SoC of the battery exceeds a full SoC during vehicle charging or within a specified period of time after the vehicle charging (see at least Fig. 4, [0051-0054] – The current control processing means of the discharge control processing means performs current control processing to set the current supplied to the air conditioner 62 and heater 63, i.e., the discharge current, to a constant value Ib2 and perform current control. Consequently, the battery voltage Vb decreases in a quadratic curve (a parabola whose slope decreases over time) and reaches 4.0 [V] at timing t4, while the remaining battery capacity (SOC) decreases in a linear curve (a straight line) and reaches 80 [%] at timing t4… Thus, in this embodiment, the battery SOC is maintained at 100% only during the departure time period from timing t2 to timing t3, and before timing t1 and after timing t4, so that the battery SOC is maintained at 80%, the deterioration of the battery 43's durability can be suppressed.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Kume (US 2024/0017736 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by performing one of: setting, based on an external temperature being greater than a reference temperature, a first target internal temperature for the air conditioner, wherein the first target internal temperature is less than the reference temperature; or setting, based on the external temperature being less than the reference temperature, a second target internal temperature for the air conditioner, wherein the second target internal temperature is greater than the reference temperature.
Kume, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by performing one of: setting, based on an external temperature being greater than a reference temperature, a first target internal temperature for the air conditioner, wherein the first target internal temperature is less than the reference temperature; or setting, based on the external temperature being less than the reference temperature, a second target internal temperature for the air conditioner, wherein the second target internal temperature is greater than the reference temperature (see at least [0046-0047, 0140] - The air conditioning ECU 15 controls the air conditioner 151 such that a room temperature measured by a room temperature sensor matches a target temperature. The target temperature may be automatically set using a predetermined table that indicates the target temperature corresponding to an outside temperature. The outside temperature may be obtained by an outside temperature sensor. The conditioned air is air whose temperature is adjusted according to the target temperature. The air conditioner 151 is configured to perform cooling and heating.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Kume into the invention of Nagahama with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing a user to set the desired target temperature or providing an automatic way of setting the temperature based on the a predetermined table corresponding to an outside temperature to operate the heating or cooling in a corresponding way during various modes (Kume – [0046-0047, 0140]). This would improve comfort for the passengers in the vehicle, and integrating this feature would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 2, and it has been determined that claim 12 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 2; therefore, claim 12 is also rejected over the same rationale as in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Matsumoto (JP 2009-196404 A, a machine translation was attached to the Office action dated 6/18/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 3, Nagahama discloses wherein the air conditioner comprises a heater, a cooler (see at least [0025] – air conditioner 62 that heats and cools the interior of the vehicle).
Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the air conditioner comprises a fan, and wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by performing one of: operate the cooler based on a target internal temperature for the air conditioner being set to be less than a reference temperature; or operate the heater based on the target internal temperature being set to be greater than the reference temperature.
Matsumoto, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the air conditioner comprises a heater, a cooler, and a fan (see at least Fig. 7, [0046, 0067] - The air conditioning unit 7 includes a compressor 71, a cooling unit 72 consisting of a condenser, etc., a separation unit 73, an expansion valve 74, an evaporator 75, cold air blower fan 76, and a hot air fan 77… performs cooling or heating (Examiner note: see paragraph [0050] of the specification, the air conditioner includes typical components that may be implemented as both a cooler and a heater), and wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by performing one of: operate the cooler based on a target internal temperature for the air conditioner being set to be less than a reference temperature (see at least [0063, 0069-0073, 0089-0090] – When the air conditioning system 7 is controlled by the air conditioning control device 85 so that the interior temperature of the hybrid vehicle 1 reaches the set temperature, the interior temperature, which was lower or higher than the set temperature, will converge to the set temperature after a predetermined period of time has elapsed. (i.e., cooling to decrease the temperature to the set temperature)); or operate the heater based on the target internal temperature being set to be greater than the reference temperature (see at least [0063, 0069-0073, 0089-0090] – When the air conditioning system 7 is controlled by the air conditioning control device 85 so that the interior temperature of the hybrid vehicle 1 reaches the set temperature, the interior temperature, which was lower or higher than the set temperature, will converge to the set temperature after a predetermined period of time has elapsed. (i.e., heating to increase the temperature to the set temperature)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Matsumoto into the invention of Nagahama with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of maintaining the indoor temperature of the vehicle at the desired temperature (Nagahama – [0034]), thereby improving comfort in the passenger compartment of the vehicle. Integrating this feature would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 3, and it has been determined that claim 13 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 1; therefore, claim 13 is also rejected over the same rationale as in claim 1.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Isshi (JP 2012-91772 A, a machine translation is attached and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 4, Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by operating at least one of the cooler or the heater at maximum blower capacity.
Isshi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by operating at least one of the cooler or the heater at maximum blower capacity (see at least [0136, 0157-0158] - More specifically, in this embodiment, the blower motor voltage is set to a high voltage near its maximum value (approximately 12V) in the extremely low temperature range (maximum cooling range) and extremely high temperature range (maximum heating range) of the TAO, and the airflow of the blower 32 is controlled to be near its maximum airflow. Furthermore, as TAO rises from the extremely low temperature range to the intermediate temperature range, the blower motor voltage is reduced in accordance with the rise in TAO, thereby reducing the airflow rate of the blower 32.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Isshi into the invention of Nagahama with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing maximum heating in extremely low temperature ranges of the outside air until the temperature rises from the extremely low temperature range to an intermediate temperature range. This would more rapidly deliver the heat necessary during extremely low temperatures.
Regarding claim 5, Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the controller circuit is configured to control the air conditioner by controlling the fan to operate in an outside air mode, in which outside air is drawn into the vehicle.
Isshi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the controller circuit is configured to control the air conditioner by controlling the fan to operate in an outside air mode, in which outside air is drawn into the vehicle (see at least [0078-0082, 0141] - An external air mode in which external air is introduced into the casing 31 by fully closing the internal air inlet and fully opening the external air inlet… Downstream of the airflow from the internal/external air switching box, a blower 32 is positioned to direct the air drawn in through the internal/external air switching box towards the vehicle interior.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Isshi into the invention of Nagahama with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of being able to continuously adjust the ratio of internal air and external air introduced based on the temperature range and desired cooling performance (Isshi – [0080, 0141]).
Regarding claim 6, Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by operating at least one of the cooler or the heater in a wind mode at a maximum power consumption level of the air conditioner.
Isshi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by operating at least one of the cooler or the heater in a wind mode at a maximum power consumption level of the air conditioner (see at least [0098-0099, 0136, 0157-0158] – vents fully opened… More specifically, in this embodiment, the blower motor voltage is set to a high voltage near its maximum value (approximately 12V) in the extremely low temperature range (maximum cooling range) and extremely high temperature range (maximum heating range) of the TAO, and the airflow of the blower 32 is controlled to be near its maximum airflow. Furthermore, as TAO rises from the extremely low temperature range to the intermediate temperature range, the blower motor voltage is reduced in accordance with the rise in TAO, thereby reducing the airflow rate of the blower 32… If the remaining charge state of capacity (SOC) of the battery 81 is equal to or greater than the predetermined first reference stop charge state KSOC1 (80% in this embodiment), the upper limit IVOmax_SOC is set to 10000 rpm.).
The motivation to combine Nagahama and Isshi is the same as in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claims 14-16, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claims 4-6, respectively, and it has been determined that claims 14-16 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claims 4-6; therefore, claims 14-16 are also rejected over the same rationale as in claims 4-6.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Jung (US 2016/0263965 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Nagahama discloses wherein the air conditioner comprises a heater and a cooler (see at least [0025] – air conditioner 62 that heats and cools the interior of the vehicle), and wherein the controller circuit is configured to operate the air conditioner by: setting a target temperature for a cabin area of the vehicle; and controlling at least one of the cooler or the heater such that an air temperature of the cabin area reaches the target temperature (see at least [0034] - the air conditioner 62 is operated by power supplied from the battery 43, maintaining the indoor temperature tr at a predetermined temperature, 25°C).
Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the cabin is a rear cabin.
Jung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the cabin is a rear cabin (see at least [0046] - In a three-zone-type air conditioning system, a driver seat path 12, a front passenger seat zone path 14 and a rear seat path 16 are formed within an air conditioner case 10. Temperature doors 20, 22 and 24 are installed in the driver seat path 12, the front passenger seat zone path 14 and the rear seat path 16, respectively. The temperatures of an air supplied to a driver seat zone, a front passenger seat zone and a rear seat zone are independently controlled by independently controlling the temperature doors 20, 22 and 24. This makes it possible to independently cool and heat the driver seat zone, the front passenger seat zone and the rear seat zone.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Jung into the invention of Nagahama with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of being able to independently cool and heat a driver seat zone, a passenger seat zone, and a rear seat zone of a vehicle (Jung – [0002]). Providing the capability of heating one of the front zones or the rear zone would improve overall comfort within the vehicle for all passengers. Additionally, modifying Nagahama’s invention to heat or cool a front cabin zone, a rear cabin zone, or both would yield predictable results, since either way the desired function of discharging the battery to a target level would still be achieved.
Regarding claim 17, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 7, and it has been determined that claim 17 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 7; therefore, claim 17 is also rejected over the same rationale as in claim 7.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahama in view of Hose (US 2014/0025243 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Nagahama discloses wherein the controller circuit is further configured to; monitor, while the air conditioner is operating, whether the SoC of the battery has reached the target SoC; continue operating the air conditioner, based on the SoC of the battery not having reached the target SoC, until the SoC of the battery reaches the target SoC; stop the operating of the air conditioner based on the SoC of the battery reaching the target SoC (see at least Fig. 4, [0051-0054] – The current control processing means of the discharge control processing means performs current control processing to set the current supplied to the air conditioner 62 and heater 63, i.e., the discharge current, to a constant value Ib2 and perform current control. Consequently, the battery voltage Vb decreases in a quadratic curve (a parabola whose slope decreases over time) and reaches 4.0 [V] at timing t4, while the remaining battery capacity (SOC) decreases in a linear curve (a straight line) and reaches 80 [%] at timing t4… Thus, in this embodiment, the battery SOC is maintained at 100% only during the departure time period from timing t2 to timing t3, and before timing t1 and after timing t4, so that the battery SOC is maintained at 80%, the deterioration of the battery 43's durability can be suppressed.).
Nagahama does not appear to explicitly disclose based on the SoC of the battery reaching the target SoC, power off the vehicle.
Hose, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the controller circuit is further configured to, based on the SoC of the battery reaching the target SoC, power off the vehicle (see at least Figs. 2-3, [0037-0039] - As illustrated in FIG. 3, when the SOC decreases and reaches the standard lower-limit value SOC1 (t1), the vehicle control unit 35 turns off the contactor 22 and then turns off the ignition switch 39 (IGOFF) to stop the engine 2 (t2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Hose into the invention of Nagahama with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is prevent over discharging the battery, thereby preventing degradation of the battery while improving startability of the engine (Hose – [0003, 0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN R MCCLEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669