Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,346,580. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘580 claims contain all of the same subject matter as currently claimed in this instant application.
Please note that MPEP § 804 states:
“A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03. “
In accordance with MPEP § 804 and §714.03 the examiner will hold any response/amendments to this office action as NON-COMPLIANT without any additional extensions of time that do not contain one of:
An approved Terminal Disclaimer, OR
A Showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims.
In regards to b.) The showing must be made against the claims subject to the rejection (not amended claims), as such the claims as they were originally written and rejected. A showing against amended claims is NOT proper, as the original claims have already been examined (i.e. elected by original presentation, see MPEP §821.03), and presenting all amended claims directed to another patently distinct invention will result in the claims not being entered and being the response designated as nonresponsive. A proper showing or a filing of a terminal disclaimer is required for further consideration of the rejection of the claims. Depending on the claims that have been filed and rejected under NSDP, it may be practically impossible for any arguments and/or evidence to be capable of providing a proper showing that the claims as filed are patentably distinct. In this case, the applicant should file the terminal disclaimer, as it is required for a complete response to this action, and further consideration of the application.
As show below, the filing of a Terminal Disclaimer is not an admission, creates no issues of estoppel, and can be petitioned to be removed once the claims are in condition for allowance and the applicant believes (and can show) the allowable claims are now patentably distinct from the original reference claims.
“The filing of a terminal disclaimer to obviate a rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting is not an admission of the propriety of the rejection. Quad Environmental Technologies Corp. v. Union Sanitary District, 946 F.2d 870, 20 USPQ2d 1392 (Fed. Cir. 1991). In Quad Environmental Technologies, the court indicated that the "filing of a terminal disclaimer simply serves the statutory function of removing the rejection of double patenting, and raises neither a presumption nor estoppel on the merits of the rejection." “(MPEP § 804.02).
“If a terminal disclaimer is filed in an application in which the claims are then canceled or otherwise shown to be patentably distinct from the reference claims, the terminal disclaimer may be withdrawn before issuance of the patent by filing a petition under 37 CFR 1.182 requesting withdrawal of the recorded terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer may not be withdrawn after issuance of the patent. See MPEP § 1490, subsection VIII, for a complete discussion of withdrawal of a terminal disclaimer.” (MPEP § 804.02).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rapoport (US 2017/0149644).
In regards to claims 1, 15, and 20 Rapoport teaches
A computing entity comprising: (Fig. 5, p70 computer system 500 and/or any part of fig. 1)
at least one processor; (fig. 5, p70 processor 504)
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing entity to: (p70-71, instruction can be stored on non-transitory media and executed by processor 504 to perform the process steps)
receive metric data for a metric; (¶47, fig. 3. Step 200 receiving one or more metric records as a report of a metric collector)
identify a metric handling rule that applies to the metric, wherein the identified metric handling rule comprises a handling action of storing metric data for the metric in a specified storage location, (¶48-49, fig. 3 steps 301 and 302 storage metric records are directed to be stored at a set storage location/tier based upon a metrics storage policy (i.e. which defines a rule/rules that applies to the metric)
wherein the identified metric handling rule was created based on a computer-implemented evaluation of past utilization of the metric; (¶24, 54-56 teaches that as users needs change over time (i.e. evaluation of past utilization) that the policy data (i.e. data storage rules) can be updated (i.e. a new rules is created).
handle the received metric data for the metric in accordance with the identified metric handling rule by storing the received metric data in the specified storage location. (¶48-49, fig. 3 steps 301 and 302 storage metric records are directed to be stored at a set storage location/tier based upon a metrics storage policy)
In regards to claims 2 and 16 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computer-implemented evaluation of the past utilization of the metric comprises a prediction of future utilization of metric data for the metric. (¶24, 54-56 teaches that older metric data (write activity information) can be used to downgrade older metric data, as older metric data is likely to be used less than newer metric data. Other rules can be put in place to keep specified metrics in higher tiers for metrics that meet certain conditions, such as being collected on a holiday, or metrics that are actively being used (queried by users).
In regards to claims 3 and 17 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computing entity comprises a metrics producer. (¶47, figs. 1 and 3. Step 200 receiving one or more metric records as a report of a metric collector computer 104 (metric producer) or directly from the clients (metric producers)
In regards to claims 4 and 18 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computing entity comprises a metrics management platform. (figs. 1 and 3, at least storage controller computer 106)
In regards to claims 5 and 19 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computing entity comprises a multi-tier storage architecture, and wherein the specified storage location comprises a specified tier of the multi-tier storage architecture. (¶48-49, fig. 3 steps 301 and 302 storage metric records are directed to be stored at a set storage location/tier of a multi-tiered system based upon a metrics storage policy)
In regards to claim 6 Rapoport teaches
wherein a default storage location for metric data comprises a first tier of the multi-tier storage architecture, and wherein the specified tier of the multi-tier storage architecture comprises a second tier of the multi-tier storage architecture that differs from the first tier. (¶48-49, fig. 3 steps 301 and 302 storage metric records are directed to be stored at a set storage location/tier of a multi-tiered system based upon a metrics storage policy, by default each initial metric record can be stored in storage tier 1)
In regards to claim 7 Rapoport teaches
wherein the first tier comprises a hot tier of the multi- tier storage architecture and the second tier comprises a cold tier of the multi-tier storage architecture. (¶48-49, teaches that older records (i.e. colder) can be moved to lower storage tiers (i.e. colder storage tiers)
In regards to claim 8 Rapoport teaches
wherein the identified metric handling rule further comprises a handling action of sampling metric data for the metric according to a given sampling rate. (¶64, metrics can be queried periodically and/or for metrics within a specified time limit (i.e. a given sampling rate)
In regards to claim 9 Rapoport teaches
wherein the identified metric handling rule further comprises a handling action of compressing metric data for the metric. (¶25 teaches that a policy and metrics determines when aggregation operation or consolidation operations occur for one or more metrics. (i.e. compressing metric data))
In regards to claim 10 Rapoport teaches
wherein the identified metric handling rule further comprises a handling action of conditionally storing metric data for the metric based on a comparison to previously-stored metric data for the metric. (¶44 teaches that when metric data hasn’t changed, just the number of reporting periods the data has remained the same needs to be recorded)
In regards to claim 11 Rapoport teaches
wherein the identified metric handling rule comprises a metric handling rule for a set of multiple metrics that encompasses the metric. (¶58 teaches than an alert (metric handling rule) can be based off multiple metrics)
In regards to claim 12 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computer-implemented evaluation of the past utilization of the metric comprises a computer-implemented evaluation of past read activity for the metric. (¶24, 54-56 teaches that older metric data (write activity information) can be used to downgrade older metric data, as older metric data is likely to be used less than newer metric data. Other rules can be put in place to keep specified metrics in higher tiers for metrics that meet certain conditions, such as being collected on a holiday, or metrics that are actively being used (i.e. evaluation of past read activity).
In regards to claim 13 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computer-implemented evaluation of the past utilization of the metric comprises a computer-implemented evaluation of past write activity for the metric. (¶24, 54-56 teaches that older metric data (write activity information) can be used to downgrade older metric data, as older metric data is likely to be used less than newer metric data. Other rules can be put in place to keep specified metrics in higher tiers for metrics that meet certain conditions, such as being collected on a holiday, or metrics that are actively being used (i.e. evaluation of past read activity).
In regards to claim 14 Rapoport teaches
wherein the computer-implemented evaluation of the past utilization of the metric comprises a computer-implemented evaluation of past query activity for the metric. (¶24, 54-56 teaches that older metric data (write activity information) can be used to downgrade older metric data, as older metric data is likely to be used less than newer metric data. Other rules can be put in place to keep specified metrics in higher tiers for metrics that meet certain conditions, such as being collected on a holiday, or metrics that are actively being used (i.e. past query activity).
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 18/178,313. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON W BLUST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132