Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Subspecies IB (Figs. 1-13 and 17-30, and claims 9-19) in the reply filed on September 18th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 18th, 2026.
Claim 16 is also being withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subspecies, as “a nonrotatable cover, and wherein the generator is coupled with the cover” is only present within SubSpecies IA, i.e. Figs. 14-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Patmore (US 2019/0125602).
Regarding Claim 9, Patmore discloses an occupant support comprising:
a frame (32-36);
casters supporting the frame (58, 60, 62, 64);
a battery (94 and/or 102) ;
an electromachine (72 and 98, see para. [0042] “dynamo”) operable as either a motor or a generator (see para. [0042]);
a drive wheel (66) connected to the motor in a driving/driven relationship (see para. [0029]); and
a controller (82) adapted to execute controller executable instructions thereby regulating energy transfer between the electromachine and the battery as a function of battery charge (through energy management module 600, see para. [0128]).
Regarding Claim 10, Patmore discloses wherein if the battery charge exceeds a first threshold the controller regulates energy transfer to be from the battery to the electromachine (any threshold level where the battery 94 and/or 102 are able to provide power to the occupant support).
Regarding Claim 13, Patmore discloses wherein if the controller perceives that the occupant is decelerating or is proceeding down an incline, the controller regulates energy transfer to be from the electromachine to the battery (see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 14, Patmore discloses wherein the regulation of energy transfer is also a function of one or more of:
A) the speed at which the occupant support is moving or at which one of the caster wheels is rotating or at which the drive wheel is rotating (see Fig. 9),
B) acceleration or deceleration of the occupant support (see Fig. 5),
C) angle of inclination of the stretcher relative to the geographic horizon (see Fig. 6),
D) direction of movement of the stretcher (see Fig. 9), and
E) direction of force exerted on handles which a user uses to maneuver the occupant support (see Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patmore (US 2019/0125602) in view of Furman (US 2016/0331614)).
Regarding Claim 11, Patmore fails to disclose wherein if the battery charge is between the first threshold and a second threshold lower than the first threshold, the controller regulates energy transfer to be from the battery to the electromachine such that the energy transfer diminishes with diminishing battery charge. Furman teaches wherein if a battery charge is between a first threshold (see chart in para. [0124])) and a second threshold (see “fully drained state” and chart in para. [0124]) lower than the first threshold, the controller regulates energy transfer to be from the battery to the apparatus 20 such that the energy transfer diminishes with diminishing battery charge (see functionality diminishing with diminishing charge in chart in para. [0124])). Patmore and Furman are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. occupant supports. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the controller regulation of Patmore with the diminishing energy transfer and battery charge thresholds of Furman. The motivation would have been to conserve energy before the battery on the occupant support reaches its fully drained state.
Regarding Claim 12, Patmore as modified teaches wherein the second threshold is at approximately zero battery charge (Furman: see para. [0124], i.e. “fully drained state”).
Claim(s) 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patmore (US 2019/0125602) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 15, Patmore discloses an occupant support, comprising:
a frame (32);
a deck section (38) supported by the frame and configured to support an occupant, the deck section further configured to adjust an occupant to multiple positions (see Fig. 1);
configured to elevate the deck section relative to the frame (see para. [0020]) and Fig. 1);
a battery (94 and/or 102);
a control system (82)configured to control charging the battery and including overcharge- prevention circuitry, the control system further configured to operate features of said occupant support; and
at least one caster (58, 60, 62, 64, 66) comprising a wheel and a fork (63); and
a generator (72 and 98, see para. [0042] “dynamo”) coupled with the wheel and configured to generate electricity, the electricity being provided from the generator to the battery to charge the battery.
Patmore fails to explicitly disclose at least one lift cylinder configured to elevate the deck section relative to the frame. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known within the art to provide at least one lift cylinder to elevate a deck section relative to the frame. The motivation would have been to conserve energy before the battery on the occupant support reaches its fully drained state. The motivation to provide at least one lift cylinder would be to provide partial or full assistance in raising the deck section to a desired height, thus enabling caregivers to provide assistance more comfortably and/or allowing a patient to lie on the bed at a desired height.
Regarding Claim 17, Patmore discloses wherein the wheel comprises a drive wheel (66) configured to propel said occupant support along a floor via power from the battery (see para. [0029]).
Regarding Claim 18, Patmore discloses at least one of a piezoelectric generator (see para. [0044]) to convert mechanical strain to electrical energy, a photoelectric generator to convert light to electrical energy (see para. [0045]), and a turbine to convert movement of a spring to electrical energy (see para. [0113]).
Regarding Claim 19, Patmore discloses wherein the control system regulates the charging of the battery and at least one of a speed at which said occupant support is moving (see Fig. 9), a speed at which the wheel is moving (see Fig. 9), an acceleration or a deceleration of said occupant support (see Fig. 5), an angle of inclination of said occupant support (see Fig. 6), a direction of movement (see Fig. 9) of said occupant support, and a direction of force exerted on handles of said occupant support (see Fig. 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619