DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 06/27/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 06/27/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/665,394, filed on 06/28/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “prime mover coupled to the first power supply” (claim 2), “further comprising an auxiliary component coupled to a distal end of the articulable member” (claim 4), “work attachment” (claim 5), “tool attachment” (claim 5), “lighting device” (claim 5), “a prime mover coupled to the first power supply” (claim 11) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "432" and "436" have both been used to designate 436 in Fig. 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and an electrically conductive connector coupled the second power supply to the first power supply” should read, “and an electrically conductive connector coupling the second power supply to the first power supply”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoover (US 2023/0264937), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 11, Hoover discloses a work vehicle {10} comprising: a chassis {12}; a first power supply {64}; a prime mover {52} coupled to the first power supply {64: “The batteries 64 are configured to deliver power to the motors 52 to drive the tractive elements 82” [0046]}; a device {602}; a second power supply {608} electrically coupled to the device {602} at a remote portion {16+600 (Fig. 18)} of the work vehicle {10: “the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608)” [0072]}; an articulable member {14}, wherein the remote portion {16+600} of the work vehicle {10} is coupled to the articulable member {14 (Figs. 18-19)}; and an electrically conductive connector {606} coupling the second power supply {608} to the first power supply {64, also known as “the on-board battery of the boom” (via platform 16): “the terminal 606 and the corresponding terminal on the primary platform assembly 16 engage, creating electrical communication between a battery or power storage device on the boom 10 and the electronic components on the robotic secondary platform assembly 600. Accordingly, the robotic arm 602 and associated tools can be powered by the on-board battery of the boom. In other examples, the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608). Accordingly, the electrical communication between the terminals 606 and those on the primary platform assembly 16 can be data terminals” [0072]; “The batteries 64 are configured to power any of the motors, sensors, actuators, electric linear actuators, electrical devices, electrical movers, stepper motors, etc., of the boom 10. The base assembly 12 can include a power circuit including any necessary transformers, resistors, transistors, thermistors, capacitors, etc., to provide appropriate power (e.g., electrical energy with appropriate current and/or appropriate voltage) to any of the motors, electric actuators, sensors, electrical devices, etc., of the boom 10” [0045]}.
Regarding claim 15, Hoover discloses the second power supply {608} is coupled to a distal end of the articulable member {14 (Figs. 18-19)}.
Regarding claim 16, Hoover discloses a work platform {16} coupled to a distal end of the articulable member {14}, wherein the device {602} is coupled to the work platform {16 (Fig. 19)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoover in view of Kumeuchi (WO 2011/058699).
Regarding claim 1, Hoover discloses a system for providing electrical power to a device {602} positioned on a remote portion {16+600 (Fig. 18)} of a work vehicle {10} comprising: the device {602}; a first power supply {64}; a second power supply {608: “the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608)” [0072]} electrically coupled to the device {602} at the remote portion {16+600 (Fig. 18)} of the work vehicle {10}; and an electrically conductive connector {606: “the terminal 606 and the corresponding terminal on the primary platform assembly 16 engage, creating electrical communication between a battery or power storage device on the boom 10 and the electronic components on the robotic secondary platform assembly 600. Accordingly, the robotic arm 602 and associated tools can be powered by the on-board battery of the boom. In other examples, the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608). Accordingly, the electrical communication between the terminals 606 and those on the primary platform assembly 16 can be data terminals, allowing the control panels 214, 216, 218 to interact with and otherwise control certain functions of the robotic arm 602 and associate equipment” [0072]} coupled to the first power supply {64: “the terminal 606 and the corresponding terminal on the primary platform assembly 16 engage, creating electrical communication between a battery or power storage device on the boom 10 and the electronic components on the robotic secondary platform assembly 600. Accordingly, the robotic arm 602 and associated tools can be powered by the on-board battery of the boom” [0072]} and the second power supply {608 (Fig. 18): “the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608). Accordingly, the electrical communication between the terminals 606 and those on the primary platform assembly 16 can be data terminals, allowing the control panels 214, 216, 218 to interact with and otherwise control certain functions of the robotic arm 602 and associate equipment” [0072]}.
Hoover further teaches “The batteries 64 are configured to power any of the motors, sensors, actuators, electric linear actuators, electrical devices, electrical movers, stepper motors, etc., of the boom 10” [0045]. However, Hoover does not explicitly disclose an electrically conductive connector configured to facilitate charging of the second power supply from the first power supply.
Kumeuchi teaches a system {“power supply system” [0001]} comprising an electrically conductive connector {47 [0032]} configured to facilitate charging of the second power supply {42} from the first power supply {41: “it is possible to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42. Further, the controller 44 can set a predetermined upper limit value and lower limit value as a threshold value as to whether or not to perform the charging described above, and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 falls below the lower limit value (threshold value) when a voltage is applied to the relay 47, the contact 47a is turned on, the contact of the relay 47 is connected, power is quickly supplied from the main battery 41 to the sub-battery 42 via the DC-DC converter 46, 42 is started to be charged. When the charging progresses and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 reaches the upper limit (threshold), the controller 44 turns off the contact 47 a and shuts off the contact 47a of the relay 47” [0032]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power system, as disclosed by Hoover, to include an electrically conductive connector configured to facilitate charging of the second power supply from the first power supply, as taught by Kumeuchi, in order “to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery” [0032].
Regarding claim 2, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hoover further discloses the work vehicle {10} comprising: a chassis {12}; a prime mover {52} coupled to the first power supply {64: “The batteries 64 are configured to deliver power to the motors 52 to drive the tractive elements 82” [0046]}; a tractive member {82} coupled to the chassis {12}; and an articulable member {14}, wherein the remote portion {16+600 (Fig. 18)} of the work vehicle {10} is coupled to the articulable member {14}.
Regarding claim 3, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 2. Hoover further discloses the first power supply {64} is coupled to the chassis {12 (Fig. 1)} and the second power supply {608} is coupled to the articulable member {14 (Figs. 18-19)}.
Regarding claim 4, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 2. Hoover further discloses an auxiliary component {16+600 (Fig. 18)} coupled to a distal end of the articulable member {14}.
Regarding claim 5, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Hoover further discloses the auxiliary component {16+600 (Fig. 18)} is at least one of a work platform {16, 600}, a work attachment {600, 602}, a tool attachment {602}, or a lighting device {716: “various work light kits can be selected for inclusion onto the platform 702. The work light kits can include lights 716 that are mounted to the rail assembly 310 to help workers in lower light situations” [0075]}.
Regarding claim 6, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 4. Hoover further discloses the second power supply {608} is coupled to the auxiliary component {16+600 (Fig. 18)}.
Regarding claim 7, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hoover further discloses the second power supply {608} provides electrical power to the device {602} for peak electrical loads and the first power supply {64} provides electrical power to the second power supply {608} to charge the second power supply {608} upon a reduction in an electrical charge of the second power supply {608} below a threshold {as modified by Kumeuchi in the claim 1 rejection: “it is possible to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42. Further, the controller 44 can set a predetermined upper limit value and lower limit value as a threshold value as to whether or not to perform the charging described above, and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 falls below the lower limit value (threshold value)” [0032]}.
Regarding claim 8, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hoover further discloses the device {602} is a tool {602: “the robotic arm 602 and associated tools can be powered by the on-board battery of the boom. In other examples, the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608)” [0072]}.
Regarding claim 9, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hoover further discloses the device {602} is electrically coupled to the first power supply {64 (via 16+608)} and the second power supply {608}.
Regarding claim 10, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 1. Hoover further discloses the second power supply {608} is operable when the first power supply {64} is operating or not operating {“the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608)” [0072]}.
Regarding claim 12, Hoover discloses all the aspects of claim 11. Hoover further discloses “The batteries 64 are configured to power any of the motors, sensors, actuators, electric linear actuators, electrical devices, electrical movers, stepper motors, etc., of the boom 10” [0045].
However, Hoover does not explicitly disclose the second power supply is configured to receive electrical current from the first power supply for charging the second power supply in response to an electrical charge of the second power supply falling below a threshold.
Kumeuchi teaches a second power supply {42} configured to receive electrical current from a first power supply {41} for charging the second power supply {42} in response to an electrical charge of the second power supply {42} falling below a threshold {“it is possible to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42. Further, the controller 44 can set a predetermined upper limit value and lower limit value as a threshold value as to whether or not to perform the charging described above, and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 falls below the lower limit value (threshold value) when a voltage is applied to the relay 47, the contact 47a is turned on, the contact of the relay 47 is connected, power is quickly supplied from the main battery 41 to the sub-battery 42 via the DC-DC converter 46, 42 is started to be charged. When the charging progresses and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 reaches the upper limit (threshold), the controller 44 turns off the contact 47 a and shuts off the contact 47a of the relay 47” [0032]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power system, as disclosed by Hoover, such that the second power supply is configured to receive electrical current from the first power supply for charging the second power supply in response to an electrical charge of the second power supply falling below a threshold, as taught by Kumeuchi, in order “to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery” [0032].
Regarding claim 14, Hoover discloses all the aspects of claim 11. Hoover further discloses the device {602} is electrically coupled to the first power supply {64 (via 16+608)}, and wherein the device {602} is electrically coupled to the second power supply {608} to provide power to the device {602} during peak operation {during all operation: “the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608” [0072]}.
However, Hoover does not explicitly disclose the device is electrically coupled to the first power supply to provide power to the device during off-peak operation.
Kumeuchi teaches a second power supply {42} configured to receive electrical current from a first power supply {41} for charging the second power supply {42} in response to an electrical charge of the second power supply {42} falling below a threshold {“it is possible to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42. Further, the controller 44 can set a predetermined upper limit value and lower limit value as a threshold value as to whether or not to perform the charging described above, and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 falls below the lower limit value (threshold value) when a voltage is applied to the relay 47, the contact 47a is turned on, the contact of the relay 47 is connected, power is quickly supplied from the main battery 41 to the sub-battery 42 via the DC-DC converter 46, 42 is started to be charged. When the charging progresses and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 reaches the upper limit (threshold), the controller 44 turns off the contact 47 a and shuts off the contact 47a of the relay 47” [0032]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power system, as disclosed by Hoover, such that the device is electrically coupled to the first power supply to provide power to the device (via the second power supply) during off-peak operation (when the second power supply is above or below the predetermined thresholds), as taught by Kumeuchi, in order “to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery” [0032].
Regarding claim 17, Hoover discloses a work vehicle {10} comprising: a chassis {12}; a tractive element {82}; an articulating boom {14} having a first end {lower end of 14 (Fig. 1)} coupled to the chassis {12}; a platform assembly {16} coupled to the articulating boom {14} at a second end {upper end of 14 (Fig. 1): “The platform assembly 16 can be pivotally coupled to an upper end of the lift assembly 14” [0033]}; a device {602} coupled to the platform assembly {16}; a first power supply {64} coupled to the chassis {12} and configured to power at least the tractive element {82}; and a second power supply {608} coupled to the articulating boom {14} and configured to power the device {602: “Accordingly, the robotic arm 602 and associated tools can be powered by the on-board battery of the boom. In other examples, the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608)” [0072]}, wherein the second power supply {608} is electrically coupled to the first power supply {64} by a first electrically conductive connector {606 (Fig. 18); additionally discloses electric cables snaking from the platform down the boom in Fig. 19, and discussed in Par. [0072]}.
Hoover further teaches “The batteries 64 are configured to power any of the motors, sensors, actuators, electric linear actuators, electrical devices, electrical movers, stepper motors, etc., of the boom 10” [0045]. However, Hoover does not explicitly disclose the first power supply charges the second power supply by the first electrically conductive connector.
Kumeuchi teaches a first power supply {41} charges a second power supply {42} by a first electrically conductive connector {47: “it is possible to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42. Further, the controller 44 can set a predetermined upper limit value and lower limit value as a threshold value as to whether or not to perform the charging described above, and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 falls below the lower limit value (threshold value) when a voltage is applied to the relay 47, the contact 47a is turned on, the contact of the relay 47 is connected, power is quickly supplied from the main battery 41 to the sub-battery 42 via the DC-DC converter 46, 42 is started to be charged. When the charging progresses and the remaining battery level of the sub-battery 42 reaches the upper limit (threshold), the controller 44 turns off the contact 47 a and shuts off the contact 47a of the relay 47” [0032]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power system, as disclosed by Hoover, such that the first power supply charges the second power supply by the first electrically conductive connector, as taught by Kumeuchi, in order “to decide whether to charge the sub-battery 42 from the main battery 41 according to the remaining battery level of the sub-battery” [0032].
Regarding claim 19, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Hoover discloses a second electrically conductive connector {interface between 602 and 608 (Fig. 18) that allows 608 to power 602 as described in Par. [0072]} electrically coupling the second power supply {608} to the device {602}.
Hoover does not explicitly disclose the second electrically conductive connector having a higher voltage rating than the first electrically conductive connector.
However, Hoover further teaches “The batteries 64 are configured to power any of the motors, sensors, actuators, electric linear actuators, electrical devices, electrical movers, stepper motors, etc., of the boom 10. The base assembly 12 can include a power circuit including any necessary transformers, resistors, transistors, thermistors, capacitors, etc., to provide appropriate power (e.g., electrical energy with appropriate current and/or appropriate voltage) to any of the motors, electric actuators, sensors, electrical devices, etc., of the boom 10” [0045].
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the second electrically conductive connector having a higher voltage rating than the first electrically conductive connector, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, such as the proper voltage rating to use for each connector, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One of routine skill in the art would choose the proper voltage rating for each electrical connector, and since powering an industrial robotic tool {such as 602} in real time is highly likely to require more power than sending energy to power three control panels {such as 214, 216, and 218} of a lift platform {such as 16}, it would have been highly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to give second electrically conductive connector of Hoover a higher voltage rating than the first electrically conductive connector.
Regarding claim 20, Hoover and Kumeuchi disclose all the aspects of claim 17. Hoover further discloses the second power supply {608} is configured to provide electrical power to the device {602} independent of an operating state of the first power supply {64: “In other examples, the robotic secondary platform assemblies are supplied with their own on-board power source (e.g., a battery 608)” [0072]}.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoover.
Regarding claim 13, Hoover discloses all the aspects of claim 11. Hoover discloses {Figs. 18-19} a second electrically conductive connector {interface between 602 and 608 that allows 608 to power 602 as described in Par. [0072]} coupled from the second power supply {608} to the device {602}.
Hoover does not explicitly disclose the second electrically conductive connector having a higher voltage rating than the first electrically conductive connector.
However, Hoover further teaches “The batteries 64 are configured to power any of the motors, sensors, actuators, electric linear actuators, electrical devices, electrical movers, stepper motors, etc., of the boom 10. The base assembly 12 can include a power circuit including any necessary transformers, resistors, transistors, thermistors, capacitors, etc., to provide appropriate power (e.g., electrical energy with appropriate current and/or appropriate voltage) to any of the motors, electric actuators, sensors, electrical devices, etc., of the boom 10” [0045].
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the second electrically conductive connector having a higher voltage rating than the first electrically conductive connector, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, such as the proper voltage rating to use for each connector, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One of routine skill in the art would choose the proper voltage rating for each electrical connector, and since powering an industrial robotic tool {such as 602} in real time is highly likely to require more power than sending energy to power three control panels {such as 214, 216, and 218} of a lift platform {such as 16}, it would have been highly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to give second electrically conductive connector of Hoover a higher voltage rating than the first electrically conductive connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record, either alone or in obvious combination discloses the work vehicle of claim 17, wherein the second power supply is configured to removably couple with a third power supply external to the work vehicle to electrically charge the second power supply.
Conclusion
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614