DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1, 5-18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to analysis without significantly more. Claims 1, 5-18, and 20 recite(s) an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) stating "a claim to collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis" where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind." Claims 1, 5-18, and 20 describe a mental process that could be done by a mind or using pen and paper by first obtaining data, then spelling out how to analyze this data, and performing an action. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it is "[g]enerally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use." MPEP 2106.04(d)(I). Here, the terms "fuel pump" and "solenoid driver" are merely applying the collecting information, analyzing, and outputting to the pump field of use. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are "[g]enerally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use." MPEP 2106.05(I)(A). Accordingly, the claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. The following is the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
5. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Trenton reference (FR 3106375 A1).
6. Regarding claim 8, the Trenton reference discloses:
an electronic PID Controller [Paragraph 0016] configured to:
receive a value representing a comparison of a pressure control setpoint and actual pressure [Disclosure—Paragraph 0020]; and
output one or more electronic signals to fuel pump solenoid driver to control a pressure generated by a fuel pump [Disclosure—Paragraph 0021].
7. Claim(s) 9, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Joos reference (US Patent Publication No. 2003/0172901).
8. Regarding claim 9, the Joos reference discloses:
a method for electronically controlling [Paragraph 0032] an engine comprising:
i) receiving Inputs "N" [Paragraph 0031—tmot] and pedal position input data [Paragraph 0031] from a throttle pedal (36) or generator controller at an ECU; ii) generating a torque setpoint [Paragraph 0031—torque request] from the Inputs N and pedal position input data
[Paragraph 0031]; iii) generating a fuel mass total [Paragraph 0031—rk] and start of injection (SOI) timing signals based on at least the generated torque setpoint [Paragraph 0035].
9. Regarding claim 12, the Joos reference further discloses:
generating a fuel injection duty cycle by inputting the fuel mass total into a Duty STROKE MODEL process that is stored as electronic instructions in an electronic memory of the engine [Paragraph 0032].
10. Regarding claim 13, the Joos reference further discloses:
controlling the timing and time duration of fuel injection per cycle by one or more fuel injectors using the generated fuel injection duty cycle and two variable values [Paragraph 0032].
11. Regarding claim 15, the Joos reference further discloses:
generating a desired pressure control setpoint [Paragraph 0032—pss2] based on the torque setpoint [Paragraph 0031] and comparing the generated, desired pressure control setpoint [Paragraph 0032] to an actual pressure measured by one or more pressure sensors [Paragraph 0034]. The speed of the engine is implicit from the position of the accelerator pedal (36).
12. Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Adachi reference (US Patent Publication No. 2008/0060617).
13. Regarding claim 17, the Adachi reference discloses:
a method for generating and implementing fuel injection timing and time periods of an engine (FIG. 14) comprising:
i) generating a sequence of electronic signals representing "start" and "end" crank angles for an injection cycle (FIG. 14);
ii) sending the generated signals to an electronic injection [Paragraph 0012], solenoid driver (h) configured to output a set of control signals [Paragraph 0014];
iii) sending the output control signals to one or more fuel injectors to control the injection time period of fuel by the one or more fuel injectors into a combustion chamber of the engine (FIG. 14) [Paragraph 0014].
14. Regarding claim 18, the Adachi reference further discloses:
wherein the injection time period comprises the time associated with a start of the injection of fuel until a time that the injection of fuel stops (FIG. 14).
15. Regarding claim 19, the Adachi reference further discloses:
wherein the fuel comprises a heavy fuel (diesel is heavier than gasoline and therefore, relatively speaking, a heavy fuel).
16. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Shimomura reference (US Patent Publication No. 2020/0232396).
17. Regarding claim 21, the Shimomura reference discloses:
a method for cold starting an engine comprising: receiving signals at an ECU representing a temperature of the engine (1a) [Paragraph 0028]; and selecting one or more time periods, by the ECU, during which one or more glow plugs are turned on by the ECU to heat the combustion chamber or fuel of the engine [Paragraph 0028].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Trenton reference.
20. Regarding claim 1, the Trenton reference discloses:
an electronic control unit (ECU) for monitoring and controlling at least fuel pressures of an engine [Disclosure—Paragraph 0027], the ECU configured to:
generate a desired pressure control setpoint (PCR.sp) based on a speed of the engine and a torque setpoint (TQ.sp) [Disclosure—Paragraph 0029];
compare the generated, desired pressure control setpoint to an actual pressure (PCR) measured by one or more pressure sensors [Disclosure—Paragraph 0031]; and
adjust a pressure being generated by a fuel pump by sending electronic control signals to a fuel pump [Disclosure—Paragraph 0032].
The Treton reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Treton reference fails to disclose a solenoid driver. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use a solenoid driver with a fuel pump for the purpose of applying force.
21. Regarding claim 2, the Trenton reference fails to disclose:
wherein the engine comprises an inwardly opposed piston engine and wherein the engine is configured to operate using both gaseous or liquid fuel. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use an opposed piston engine for a dual fuel application for the purpose for versality in fuel. For one example, please see US Patent Publication No. 2022/0349336 [Paragraph 0002].
22. Regarding claim 3, the Trenton reference further discloses:
wherein the fuel comprises one of diesel, biodiesel, JP- 8 or F-24 (NATO equivalent) or Fisher-Tropsch fuels (Title).
23. Regarding claim 4, the Trenton reference fails to disclose:
wherein the ECU comprises an electronic PID Controller. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to use ECUs that include electronic PID controllers for the purpose of improving computational ability.
24. Regarding claim 5, the Trenton reference fails to disclose:
(i) the one or more pressure sensors (3), one or more fuel tank level sensors, one or more tank temperature sensors, one or more crank position sensors, wherein the ECU is further configured to ensure control and optimal performance of the engine [Paragraph 0041] and (ii) one or more input/outputs (I/O) and corresponding communication lines for exchanging electronic signals between the ECU and the engine. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to communication between the ECU and an engine using input/outputs (I/O) and corresponding communication lines.
25. Regarding claim 7, the Trenton reference fails to disclose:
generating timing and pulse width command and control signals for a fuel injector based on an engine speed and RPM. This examiner takes Official Notice that generating timing and pulse width command and control signals for a fuel injector based on an engine speed and RPM is well known for the purpose of controlling injection. See US Patent 2008/0035118 [Paragraph 0072] for one example.
26. Regarding claim 20, the Trenton reference fails to disclose:
wherein the ECU is further configured to: receive signals representing a temperature of the engine; and select a time period during which one or more glow plugs are turned on to heat the combustion chamber or fuel of the engine. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to take the temperature of the engine and to select a time period during which a glow plug is turned on to heat the temperature of the engine. The Shimomura reference teaches in [Paragraph 0038] receiving signals representing a temperature of the engine (1a); and select a time period during which one or more glow plugs are turned on to heat the combustion chamber or fuel the engine [Paragraph 0038]. Accordingly, this claims is obvious in the light of the combination of the Trenton reference and Shimomura reference as they are both directed to engine injection systems.
27. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Trenton reference in view of the Moonjelly reference (US Patent Publication No. 2014/0251272).
28. Regarding claim 6, the Trenton reference fails to disclose:
wherein the ECU comprises at least one electronic memory for storing (i) a calibration look-up table that includes setpoint data and engine speed, (ii) data used to generate control and command signals to control (a) a quantity of fuel total to be injected into the engine, (b) fuel pressures (PCR) and (c) injection times and duration for SOI main, pilot, and post injections.
The Moonjelly reference teaches it is conventional in the art of the fuel rails to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0002-0003] a calibration look-up table that includes setpoint data and engine speed data used to generate control and command signals to control (a) total of fuel total to be injected into the engine, (b) fuel pressures (PCR) and (c) injection times and duration for SOI main, pilot, and post injections [Paragraph 0002-0003]. Such configurations/structures would allow controlling of emissions [Paragraph 0002].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the Trenton reference, such that the device further includes wherein the ECU comprises at least one electronic memory for storing (i) a calibration look-up table that includes setpoint data and engine speed, (ii) data used to generate control and command signals to control (a) a quantity of fuel total to be injected into the engine, (b) fuel pressures (PCR) and (c) injection times and duration for SOI main, pilot, and post injections, as clearly suggested and taught by the Moonjelly reference, in order to allow controlling of emission [Paragraph 0002].
29. Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Joos reference.
30. Regarding claim 10, the Joos reference fails to disclose:
wherein the inputs N comprise engine speed or fuel pressure. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to use engine speed as an input into a controller for the purpose of engine control. For one example, please see US Patent Publication No. 2018/0072304 [Paragraph 0041] as one example.
31. Regarding claim 16, the Joos reference fails to disclose:
adjusting the pressure being generated by a fuel pump by sending electronic control signals to a fuel pump, solenoid driver. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of engine control to adjust the pressure being generated by a fuel pump by sending electronic control signals to a fuel pump. For one example, please see us French reference FR 3106375 [Disclosure—Paragraph 0032].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747