DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,041,373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,041,373 contains every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Regarding claim 1,
Instant Application
Is met by Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,041,373
A system, comprising: a processor configured to:
A communication system comprising one or more processors configured to perform operations of:
displaying, for a plurality of participants within a video communication session, a video for each of at least a subset of the participants and a user interface (UI), the UI comprising a video effects UI element;
receiving an image from a participant;
converting the image to be one of a plurality of video effects options;
receiving a selection by the participant of the video effects UI element;
receive a first selection of a first video effect for a first video;
in response to receiving the selection, displaying the plurality of video effects options for modifying an appearance of the video corresponding to the participant and/or modifying a visual representation of the participant within the video; receiving a first selection by the participant of a first video effect from the plurality of video effects options for a first video provided to a first participant;
receiving a subselection for customizing at least an amount of the first video effect to be applied to the first video, the amount of the first video effect comprising: an intensity of effect for the first video effect to be applied, and an opacity amount for the first video effect to be applied, wherein the intensity of effect for the first video effect to be applied defines an amount of modification made to a visual representation of a participant;
receive a second selection of a second video effect for a second video;
receiving a second selection by the participant of a second video effect from the plurality of video effects options for a second video provided to a second participant;
apply the first video effect to the first video based on the first selection; and
applying, in real time or substantially real time, the first video effect in the selected amount to the first video; and
apply the second video effect to the second video based on the second selection.
applying, in real time or substantially real time, the second video effect to the second video.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,375,619. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,375,619 contains every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claim(s) of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Regarding claim 1,
Instant Application
Is met by Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,375,619
A system, comprising:
A system, comprising:
a processor configured to:
memory hardware; and one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the memory hardware to:
receive a first selection of a first video effect for a first video;
receive, from a first participant of a video communication session, a first selection of a first video effect of video effect options for a first video provided to a second participant of the video communication session;
receive a second selection of a second video effect for a second video;
receive, from the first participant, a second selection of a second video effect of the video effect options for a second video provided to a third participant of the video communication session;
apply the first video effect to the first video based on the first selection; and
apply the first video effect to the first video based on the first selection; and
apply the second video effect to the second video based on the second selection.
apply the second video effect to the second video based on the second selection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Os et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0070385).
Regarding claim 1, Van Os et al. discloses a system, comprising: a processors configured to: receive a first selection of a first video effect for a first video (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG); receive a second selection of a second video effect for a second video (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG; paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants; paragraphs [0470]-[0476]; the first video is a video communication with only one other participant and the second video is a video communication with more than one other participant); apply the first video effect to the first video based on the first selection (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG); and apply the second video effect to the second video based on the second selection (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG; paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants; paragraphs [0470]-[0476]; the first video is a video communication with only one other participant and the second video is a video communication with more than one other participant).
Regarding claim 3, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including wherein one of a video effect options comprises adding accessories to a visual representation of a first participant within a video of the first participant (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0464] – stickers 1230 may be selected to apply a corresponding sticker to device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to FIGS. 6U-6AD, 8AH-8AK, and 8AR-8AY - in some embodiments, stickers 1230 may be applied to participant image data 1204; paragraph [0465] – Figs. 12T-12AA illustrate a process for applying and modifying stickers in device image data 1201 – device 600 detects selection of glasses sticker 1230-1, and displays glasses sticker 1230-1 in device image data 1201 - device 600 also detects subsequent gestures to move, resize, and position glasses sticker 1230-1 on robot avatar 1222 - these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to FIGS. 6U-6AD, 8AH-8AK, and 8AR-8AY; paragraph [0467] - in Fig. 12AB, robot avatar 1222 and glasses sticker 1230-1 are applied to device image data 1201 and options display region 1206 is displayed - device 600 detects gesture 1232 on user interface 1200 and, in response, switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204, in Fig. 12AC, such that device image data 1201 is displayed in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 - the visual effects (e.g., robot avatar 1222 and glasses sticker 1230-1) are displayed in device image data 1201 positioned in window 1202).
Regarding claim 4, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that the processor is further configured to: detect a hand of a first participant in front of an applied video effect (Van Os et al.: Figs. 14D-14F; paragraphs [0513] and [0514] – as representation of hand 1425 moves closer to representation of subject 1422, device 600 determines that the spatial position of representation of hand 1425 moves into the dynamic portion of avatar hair – as a result, device 600 displays additional avatar hair 1421-2 positioned in front of representation of hand 1425 – similarly, Fig. 14F shows representation of hand 1425 positioned even closer towards representation of subject 1422 and a greater amount of hair displayed in front of representation of hand 1425); and 31adjust the applied video effect such that the hand appears over the applied video effect (Van Os et al.: Figs. 14D-14F; paragraphs [0513] and [0514] – as representation of hand 1425 moves closer to representation of subject 1422, device 600 determines that the spatial position of representation of hand 1425 moves into the dynamic portion of avatar hair – as a result, device 600 displays additional avatar hair 1421-2 positioned in front of representation of hand 1425 – similarly, Fig. 14F shows representation of hand 1425 positioned even closer towards representation of subject 1422 and a greater amount of hair displayed in front of representation of hand 1425).
Regarding claim 5, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including wherein a first participant can select video effects to be applied to all future video communication sessions or to be applied to all future recurring video communication sessions in a recurring series of video communication sessions (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG; once the new avatar is saved, it can be selected to be applied in all future video communication sessions – the claim does not require it to be automatically applied in all future communication sessions).
Regarding claim 6, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including wherein the processor is configured to receive a selection from a first participant for video effects to be applied to all future video communication sessions that include the first participant, a second participant, and a third participant (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG; once the new avatar is saved, it can be selected to be applied in all future video communication sessions – the claim does not require it to be automatically applied in all future communication sessions).
Regarding claim 7, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including wherein a video effect option comprises added video effect options beyond a default set of video effect options (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG).
Regarding claim 9, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 7 including wherein one or more of the added video effect options have been submitted by a first participant (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG).
Regarding claim 10, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including wherein one or more of video effect options comprises applying a color or hue filter to a video of a first participant (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0432] - in Fig. 10U, device 600 detects input 1047 on edit affordance 1012 - in FIG. 10V, device 600 replaces the displayed edit option display region 1014 with image edit menu 1048 including various image edit affordances 1050 - Figs. 10V-10Y show a process for editing media item 1028 to apply a vivid color filter by selecting filter affordance 1050-1, and then selecting vivid filter option 1052 - the vivid color filter applies changes to both the background 1036 in media item 1028 as well as the applied visual effects (e.g., the hair on avatar 1037) - in some embodiments, the filter changes an appearance of the avatar and the representation of the field of view of the one or more cameras in a similar manner to increase the similarity between the avatar and the representation of the field of view of the one or more cameras (e.g., applying a comic book filter, a sketch drawing filter, a black and white filter, a greyscale filter, or the like) - in some embodiments, the avatar has a cartoon-like appearance that does not match with the real world that is in the field of view of the one or more cameras, by applying a filter that changes both the appearance of the avatar and the representation of the field of view of the one or more cameras, the appearance of the avatar is unified with the rest of the representation of the field of view of the one or more cameras - in some embodiments, the filter is a filter that reduces a realism of the representation of the field of view of the one or more cameras (e.g., a sketch filter or a comic book filter) - in some embodiments the filter is a filter that reduces a 3D effect (e.g., flattens) both the appearance of the avatar and the appearance of the representation of the field of view of the one or more cameras).
Regarding claim 11, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including wherein multiple video effects of video effects options can be displayed within a video communication session across a plurality of videos corresponding to participants (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants – Figs. 12AF-12AP illustrate various methods for applying visual effects in such an embodiment; as can be seen from Fig. 12AP – multiple participants can have effects applied in their videos – for example, sunglasses, cowboy hat, an avatar).
Regarding claim 15, Van Os et al. discloses a method, comprising: receiving a first selection of a first video effect for a first video (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG); receiving a second selection of a second video effect for a second video (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG; paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants; paragraphs [0470]-[0476]; the first video is a video communication with only one other participant and the second video is a video communication with more than one other participant); applying the first video effect to the first video based on the first selection (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG); and applying the second video effect to the second video based on the second selection (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG; paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants; paragraphs [0470]-[0476]; the first video is a video communication with only one other participant and the second video is a video communication with more than one other participant).
Regarding claim 16, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 15 including wherein a first participant can select video effects to be applied to all future video communication sessions or to be applied to all future recurring video communication sessions in a recurring series of video communication sessions (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG; once the new avatar is saved, it can be selected to be applied in all future video communication sessions – the claim does not require it to be automatically applied in all future communication sessions).
Regarding claim 17, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 15 including wherein a first participant can select video effects to be applied to all future video communication sessions that include the first participant, a second participant, and a third participant (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG; once the new avatar is saved, it can be selected to be applied in all future video communication sessions – the claim does not require it to be automatically applied in all future communication sessions).
Regarding claim 18, Van Os et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving a first selection of a first video effect for a first video (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG); receiving a second selection of a second video effect for a second video (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG; paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants; paragraphs [0470]-[0476]; the first video is a video communication with only one other participant and the second video is a video communication with more than one other participant); applying the first video effect to the first video based on the first selection (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG); and applying the second video effect to the second video based on the second selection (Figs. 12A-12AP; paragraph [0456] – in Fig. 12D, device 600 detects input 1213 on effects affordance 1208; paragraph [0457] – in Fig. 12E, in response to detecting input 1213, device 600 enables visual effects mode – device 600 switches the displayed locations of device image data 1201 and participant image data 1204 by displaying participant image data 1204 in window 1202, which is optionally moved to another location in user interface 1200 – device 600 also highlights effects affordance 1208 and expands options display region 1206 to include visual effects option affordances 1214 – visual effects option affordances 1214 are similar to visual effects option affordances 624, 824, and 1024 discussed above, and are displayed when effects affordance 1208 is enabled; paragraph [0458] – in Fig. 12F, device 600 detects input 1215 on avatar effects affordance 1214-1 – in Fig. 12G, in response, device 600 displays avatar options menu 1216, which includes a scrollable listing of selectable avatar options 1218 – avatar options menu 1216 is similar to avatar option menus 628 and 828, and avatar options 1218 are similar to avatar options 630 and 830; paragraph [0459] - avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar to the subject's face in device image data 1201 in a manner similar to that described above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG - in some embodiments, avatar options 1218 may be selected to apply a corresponding avatar in a similar manner to the participant displayed in participant image data 1204; paragraph [0460] - in Fig. 12G, because null avatar option 1218-1 is selected (e.g., positioned within selection region 1219), no avatar is displayed on the user's face in device image data 1201; paragraph [0461] – Figs. 12H-12P illustrate a process for selecting, and switching between, various avatar options to display corresponding avatars on the user's face in device image data 1201 - for example, device 600 receives a selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and displays robot avatar 1222 on the user's face in device image data 1201, while maintaining display of other objects (e.g., the user's body and background 1226) in device image data 1201 - device 600 modifies the appearance of robot avatar 1222 based on detected changes in the user's face using camera 602 - device 600 then receives a selection of alien avatar option 1218-3 and transitions the displayed avatar to alien avatar 1223 - device receives a subsequent selection of robot avatar option 1218-2 and again transitions the displayed avatar to robot avatar 1222 - in some embodiments, a user can select to remove (or forego displaying) an avatar in device image data 1201 by selecting null avatar option 1218-0 -these processes are discussed in greater detail above with respect to Figs. 6G-6Q, 6BD-6BE, 6BK-6BN, and 8F-8AG; paragraph [0469] – the foregoing description for displaying visual effects in a live video communication session also applies to a live video communication session having three or more participants; paragraphs [0470]-[0476]; the first video is a video communication with only one other participant and the second video is a video communication with more than one other participant).
Regarding claim 19, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 18 including wherein a first participant can select video effects to be applied to all future video communication sessions or to be applied to all future recurring video communication sessions in a recurring series of video communication sessions (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG; once the new avatar is saved, it can be selected to be applied in all future video communication sessions – the claim does not require it to be automatically applied in all future communication sessions).
Regarding claim 20, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 18 including wherein a first participant can select video effects to be applied to all future video communication sessions that include the first participant, a second participant, and a third participant (Van Os et al.: paragraph [0335] – Figs. 8AD-8AF show an embodiment in which a new customized avatar can be created and added to avatar options menu 828 – in response to detecting a selection of new avatar affordance 813, device 600 displays avatar editing user interface 808 having a representation of a default avatar with no selected avatar feature options, as shown in Fig. 8AE – device 600 can modify the default avatar based on user selection of the avatar feature options and save the avatar as a new avatar that is selectable from the avatar options menu 828 - in Fig. 8AF, device 600 detects selection of a cancel affordance and, therefore, foregoes saving the modified avatar in avatar options menu 828, as shown in Fig. 8AG; once the new avatar is saved, it can be selected to be applied in all future video communication sessions – the claim does not require it to be automatically applied in all future communication sessions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Os et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0070385) in view of Langholz et al. (U.S. Patent 9,391,934).
Regarding claim 2, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein one of a video effect options comprises inserting a border around a perimeter of a video corresponding to a first participant.
Referring to the Langholz et al. reference, Langholz et al. discloses a communication system wherein one of a video effect options comprises inserting a border around a perimeter of a video corresponding to a first participant (col. 7, lines 9-22 – the multimedia manager 106 may also provide options for adding effects to captured multimedia content items – for example, in one or more embodiments, the multimedia manager 106 may provide a variety of effects that may be added to captured multimedia content items such as, but not limited to: color effects (i.e., black and white, sepia, color, etc.), overlay effects (i.e., add a border, add a caption, etc.), sharpness and contrast effects, facial recognition and tagging effects, or any other effects suitable for multimedia content items).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had the option of inserting a frame and/or border around the perimeter of the video corresponding to the participant as one of the plurality of video effects as disclosed by Langholz et al. in the system disclosed by Van Os et al. in order to provide the participant with more options to customize their video.
Claims 8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Os et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0070385) in view of Danker (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0184171).
Regarding claim 8, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claims 1 and 7, but fails to disclose wherein one or more of the added video effect options have been generated by a third party.
Referring to the Danker et al. reference, Danker et al. discloses a communication system wherein one or more of the added video effect options have been generated by a third party (paragraph [0037]; paragraph [0100] – upon identifying that a media effect is about to be or has been applied to the video communication, the media effect server may transmit a request to a social networking server, a third-party information source, or another source capable of supplying context information; media effects are customized by external sources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had at least a subset of the video effects options having been generated by a third party as disclosed by Danker et al. in the system disclosed by Van Os et al. in order to provide the participant with a wider variety of options to customize their video.
Regarding claim 12, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the processor is further configured: determine, based on settings for a video communication session, that video effects are permitted for use within the video communication session.
Referring to the Danker et al. reference, Danker et al. discloses a communication system comprising a processor configured to: determine, based on settings for a video communication session, that video effects are permitted for use within the video communication session (paragraph [0114] - alternatively, or in addition, media effects may be automatically suggested for acceptance or denial - for example, a prompt to apply a media effect may be automatically presented, and the user may determine whether to accept or deny the media effect; paragraph [0115] - alternatively or in addition, a media effect may be applied when certain conditions as reported by one or more context sources (as described in connection with block 606) are met - for example, if a fitness sensor reports that a user has recently participated in a workout, the system may treat the meeting of this condition as an implicit instruction to apply a media effect - in this case, the user might be shown with bulging animated muscles and/or animated sweat, or an audio effect might play to indicate a cheering crowd when the user enters the video communication; paragraph [0116] - at block 606, the system may identify a context associated with the media effect, the video stream, and/or participants in the video stream (or their client devices) - the context may represent meta-information about the media effect, video-stream, etc. that describes an environment in which the video stream is taking place, a level or degree of engagement with the video stream or a participant in the video stream, attributes or characteristics of the participants or viewers, recognized objects or people in the video stream, or other information about the circumstances in which the video stream or participants in/viewers of the video stream exist; paragraph [0117] The context identified at block 606 may relate to the user to whom the media effect identified at block 604 is to be applied - alternatively or in addition, the context identified at block 606 may pertain to one or more participants in the video stream or viewers of the video stream that are not the same as the user to whom the media effect identified at block 604 is to be applied - in other words, the system may receive an instruction to apply a media effect to User A and may retrieve context information relating to a distinct User B and/or User C - the information about the other user(s) may be used to alter the media effect to be applied to User A; paragraph [0118] - in some contexts, users may be permitted to apply and/or modify media effects of other users - more specifically, a first user may select a media effect that is applied to a second user - for instance, a personal trainer may run a video-based personal training class - during the class, the personal trainer may be permitted to apply media effects to their students (e.g., extra-large muscles for a participant that is performing exceptionally well); paragraph [0119] - in embodiments where alternate-user effect application is enabled, each user may be permitted to define how and when media effects may be applied to them - for example, a user may identify which media effects may be applied to them, under what circumstances the media effects may be applied, who may apply the media effects (e.g., only friends, only a specified group of friends, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined based on the settings whether the one or more video effects should be abled or disabled as disclosed by Danker et al. in the system disclosed by Van Os et al. in order to provide customized video effects.
Regarding claim 13, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the processor is further configured to: determine, based on settings for a video communication session, that one or more of video effect options are to be disabled within the video communication session; and remove the one or more video effect options from selection by a first participant.
Referring to the Danker et al. reference, Danker et al. discloses a communication system comprising a processor configured to: determine, based on settings for a video communication session, that one or more of video effect options are to be disabled within the video communication session; and remove the one or more video effect options from selection by a first participant (paragraph [0114] - alternatively, or in addition, media effects may be automatically suggested for acceptance or denial - for example, a prompt to apply a media effect may be automatically presented, and the user may determine whether to accept or deny the media effect; paragraph [0115] - alternatively or in addition, a media effect may be applied when certain conditions as reported by one or more context sources (as described in connection with block 606) are met - for example, if a fitness sensor reports that a user has recently participated in a workout, the system may treat the meeting of this condition as an implicit instruction to apply a media effect - in this case, the user might be shown with bulging animated muscles and/or animated sweat, or an audio effect might play to indicate a cheering crowd when the user enters the video communication; paragraph [0116] - at block 606, the system may identify a context associated with the media effect, the video stream, and/or participants in the video stream (or their client devices) - the context may represent meta-information about the media effect, video-stream, etc. that describes an environment in which the video stream is taking place, a level or degree of engagement with the video stream or a participant in the video stream, attributes or characteristics of the participants or viewers, recognized objects or people in the video stream, or other information about the circumstances in which the video stream or participants in/viewers of the video stream exist; paragraph [0117] The context identified at block 606 may relate to the user to whom the media effect identified at block 604 is to be applied - alternatively or in addition, the context identified at block 606 may pertain to one or more participants in the video stream or viewers of the video stream that are not the same as the user to whom the media effect identified at block 604 is to be applied - in other words, the system may receive an instruction to apply a media effect to User A and may retrieve context information relating to a distinct User B and/or User C - the information about the other user(s) may be used to alter the media effect to be applied to User A; paragraph [0118] - in some contexts, users may be permitted to apply and/or modify media effects of other users - more specifically, a first user may select a media effect that is applied to a second user - for instance, a personal trainer may run a video-based personal training class - during the class, the personal trainer may be permitted to apply media effects to their students (e.g., extra-large muscles for a participant that is performing exceptionally well); paragraph [0119] - in embodiments where alternate-user effect application is enabled, each user may be permitted to define how and when media effects may be applied to them - for example, a user may identify which media effects may be applied to them, under what circumstances the media effects may be applied, who may apply the media effects (e.g., only friends, only a specified group of friends, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined based on the settings whether the one or more video effects should be abled or disabled as disclosed by Danker et al. in the system disclosed by Van Os et al. in order to provide customized video effects.
Regarding claim 14, Van Os et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that the processor is further configured to: determine, based on device settings of a client device of a first participant displaying a user interface (UI), that one or more of video effect options are to be disabled within a video communication session; and remove the one or more of the video effect options from the video effect options within the UI but not UIs of other participants.
Referring to the Danker et al. reference, Danker et al. discloses a communication system comprising a processor configured to: determine, based on device settings of a client device of a first participant displaying a user interface (UI), that one or more of video effect options are to be disabled within a video communication session; and remove the one or more of the video effect options from the video effect options within the UI but not UIs of other participants (paragraph [0114] - alternatively, or in addition, media effects may be automatically suggested for acceptance or denial - for example, a prompt to apply a media effect may be automatically presented, and the user may determine whether to accept or deny the media effect; paragraph [0115] - alternatively or in addition, a media effect may be applied when certain conditions as reported by one or more context sources (as described in connection with block 606) are met - for example, if a fitness sensor reports that a user has recently participated in a workout, the system may treat the meeting of this condition as an implicit instruction to apply a media effect - in this case, the user might be shown with bulging animated muscles and/or animated sweat, or an audio effect might play to indicate a cheering crowd when the user enters the video communication; paragraph [0116] - at block 606, the system may identify a context associated with the media effect, the video stream, and/or participants in the video stream (or their client devices) - the context may represent meta-information about the media effect, video-stream, etc. that describes an environment in which the video stream is taking place, a level or degree of engagement with the video stream or a participant in the video stream, attributes or characteristics of the participants or viewers, recognized objects or people in the video stream, or other information about the circumstances in which the video stream or participants in/viewers of the video stream exist; paragraph [0117] The context identified at block 606 may relate to the user to whom the media effect identified at block 604 is to be applied - alternatively or in addition, the context identified at block 606 may pertain to one or more participants in the video stream or viewers of the video stream that are not the same as the user to whom the media effect identified at block 604 is to be applied - in other words, the system may receive an instruction to apply a media effect to User A and may retrieve context information relating to a distinct User B and/or User C - the information about the other user(s) may be used to alter the media effect to be applied to User A; paragraph [0118] - in some contexts, users may be permitted to apply and/or modify media effects of other users - more specifically, a first user may select a media effect that is applied to a second user - for instance, a personal trainer may run a video-based personal training class - during the class, the personal trainer may be permitted to apply media effects to their students (e.g., extra-large muscles for a participant that is performing exceptionally well); paragraph [0119] - in embodiments where alternate-user effect application is enabled, each user may be permitted to define how and when media effects may be applied to them - for example, a user may identify which media effects may be applied to them, under what circumstances the media effects may be applied, who may apply the media effects (e.g., only friends, only a specified group of friends, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had determined based on the settings whether the one or more video effects should be abled or disabled as disclosed by Danker et al. in the system disclosed by Van Os et al. in order to provide customized video effects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anvaripour et al. (U.S. Patent 11,169,675) discloses a communication system comprising one or more processors configured to perform the operations of: receiving an image from a participant (Figs. 2, 4, 6, and 7; col. 6, lines 41-43 – a media overlay may include audio and visual content and visual effects, as well as augmented reality overlays; col. 6, line 62 – col. 7, line 3 - in one example embodiment, the annotation system 206 provides a user-based publication platform that enables users to select a geolocation on a map, and upload content associated with the selected geolocation – the user may also specify circumstances under which a particular media overlay should be offered to others – the annotation system 206 generates a media overlay that includes the uploaded content and associates the uploaded content with the selected geolocation); and converting the image to be one of a plurality of video effects options (Figs. 2, 4, 6, and 7; col. 6, lines 41-43 – a media overlay may include audio and visual content and visual effects, as well as augmented reality overlays; col. 6, line 62 – col. 7, line 3 - in one example embodiment, the annotation system 206 provides a user-based publication platform that enables users to select a geolocation on a map, and upload content associated with the selected geolocation – the user may also specify circumstances under which a particular media overlay should be offered to others – the annotation system 206 generates a media overlay that includes the uploaded content and associates the uploaded content with the selected geolocation; col. 7, lines 4-16 – such user-based publication platforms may also enable particular system tools to user accounts for creation and/or management of lenses created by a user and made available within the system for the creator or other accounts selected by the creator’s account).
Sartori Odizzio et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0075523) discloses a video system comprising one or more processors configured to perform the operations of: receiving a selection by the participant of a video effect from the plurality of video effects (Figs. 8A-8I, 9H, and 11A-11C); receiving a subselection for customizing at least the amount of the video effect to be applied, the amount of the video effect comprising: an intensity of effect for the video effect to be applied, and an opacity amount for the video effect to be applied, wherein the intensity of effect for the video effect to be applied defines an amount of modification made to a visual representation of a participant (Figs. 8A-8I, 9H, and 11C; paragraph [0055] – a color dots filter generally operates as a mask filter and serves to apply light and/or dark dots over the base image – such a filter can be used to complement a glitter filter or effect – parameters for a color dot filter can include shape (i.e., shape of the dot distribution), color, type (i.e., type of coloring used), an intensity multiplier (i.e., controlling the intensity of each color dot), spread (i.e., how large the coverage area is), and opacity; paragraph [0064] – effects can be configured as virtual products by setting values for one or more of the following general attributes: shape, color, finish, and coverage – finish can define the texture and/or level of reflectivity of an applied effect - for example a virtual lip gloss product may include an effect with a glossy finish while a virtual powder product may include an effect with a matte finish - coverage defines the amount of product that is applied for a given input - for example, coverage can be categorized at three levels low, medium and high and can be adjust based on the type of product (e.g., sheer, medium, full, etc.) - further, in some embodiments, this coverage parameter may define a range of outputs that are dependent on a user input to apply the product - for example, in the case of a pressure sensitive touch screen display, the pressure at which the user applies the product may impact how much product is applied for any given input - consider a virtual lipstick product - configuration of the coverage parameter may define, for example, the opacity of an applied mask filter. This value can then be modified based on a detected pressure input); and wherein different video effects, different intensities of effect, and different opacity amounts are applied to the video corresponding to the participant across the plurality of participants (Figs. 8A-8I, 9H, and 11C; paragraph [0055] – a color dots filter generally operates as a mask filter and serves to apply light and/or dark dots over the base image – such a filter can be used to complement a glitter filter or effect – parameters for a color dot filter can include shape (i.e., shape of the dot distribution), color, type (i.e., type of coloring used), an intensity multiplier (i.e., controlling the intensity of each color dot), spread (i.e., how large the coverage area is), and opacity; paragraph [0064] – effects can be configured as virtual products by setting values for one or more of the following general attributes: shape, color, finish, and coverage – finish can define the texture and/or level of reflectivity of an applied effect - for example a virtual lip gloss product may include an effect with a glossy finish while a virtual powder product may include an effect with a matte finish - coverage defines the amount of product that is applied for a given input - for example, coverage can be categorized at three levels low, medium and high and can be adjust based on the type of product (e.g., sheer, medium, full, etc.) - further, in some embodiments, this coverage parameter may define a range of outputs that are dependent on a user input to apply the product - for example, in the case of a pressure sensitive touch screen display, the pressure at which the user applies the product may impact how much product is applied for any given input - consider a virtual lipstick product - configuration of the coverage parameter may define, for example, the opacity of an applied mask filter. This value can then be modified based on a detected pressure input); and applying the selected video effect in the selected amount to the video corresponding to the participant (Figs. 8A-8I, 9H, and 11C).
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
June 13, 2026