DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-110171480 in view of Ijaz et al (U.S. 8,056,928).
Regarding claims 14, and 16-17, CN-110171480 discloses a method of supporting battery pack for a vehicle, comprising: coupling a first support element (4) and second support element (100), respectively, to the battery pack (20) to form a support system (4, 100); forming a frame (1, (2) for the vehicle by connecting two side members (1, 2), at least one cross member (3, 64), the battery pack (20), and the support system (4, 100); and connecting the first support element (4) to the respective cross member (3) via a moveable connection (43); wherein the supporting the battery pack comprises configuring the frame (1, 2) with the first support element (fig. 3 shows the bracket 4 toward a rear end of the frame 1, 2) toward a rear of the frame and the second support element (fig. 2 shows the mounting bracket 100 toward the front of the frame 1, 2) toward a front of the frame; wherein the first and second support elements (4, 100) are situated perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the frame (1, 2)
CN-110171480 discloses the system for supporting the battery pack for vehicle but not an alternative fuel module.
Ijaz teaches the system for supporting an alternative fuel module (14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify CN-110171480 by replacing the battery pack of CN-110171480 with the fuel module as taught by Ijaz to provide a fuel storage system that can utilize a single fuel storage tank, thereby providing a weight reduction over multiple tank systems.
Regarding claim 15, CN-110171480 discloses the system, wherein the second support element (100) is connected to the side members (1, 2) via a connection (200). CN-110171480 does not explicitly disclose the connection (200) is elastic. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to make the connection (200) by steel in order to provide an elastic connection, since it have been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,101 read on the instant application as recited in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2-6, the prior art either alone or in combination fails to disclose teach or suggest a vehicle having a frame, comprising: two side members; an alternative fuel module; and a support system comprises a first support element and a second support element fixedly connected to the alternative fuel module via a respective coupling portion, wherein the second support element comprises the cross member, a pair of lateral elements, and an intermediate member, wherein the lateral elements comprise, respectively, a cantilevered support portion, a flanged portion, and a fixing portion, and wherein the fixing portion is fixed to the side member and supports the flanged portion; wherein the fixing portion comprises a hollow shape and circumferentially extends around the flanged portion.
Regarding claims 7-12, the prior art either alone or in combination fails to disclose teach or suggest a vehicle having a frame, comprising: two side members; an alternative fuel module; and a support system comprises a first support element and a second support element fixedly connected to the alternative fuel module via a respective coupling portion, wherein the second support element comprises the cross member, a pair of lateral elements, and an intermediate member, wherein the lateral elements comprise, respectively, a cantilevered support portion, a flanged portion, and a fixing portion, and wherein the fixing portion is fixed to the side member and supports the flanged portion; wherein the intermediate member comprises a coupling plate and a pair of reinforcing plates.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art either alone or in combination fails to disclose teach or suggest a vehicle having a frame, comprising: two side members; an alternative fuel module; and a support system comprises a first support element and a second support element fixedly connected to the alternative fuel module via a respective coupling portion, wherein the second support element comprises the cross member, a pair of lateral elements, and an intermediate member, wherein the lateral elements comprise, respectively, a cantilevered support portion, a flanged portion, and a fixing portion, and wherein the fixing portion is fixed to the side member and supports the flanged portion; wherein the second support element supports the alternative fuel module and the first support element absorbs torques caused by the frame.
Conclusion
/TOAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614 November 10, 2025