DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 June 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 13, it is unclear as to how the membrane, which is an electrode per Claim 12, can be positioned between the wafer support and itself. For purposes of examination, Claim 13 is presumed to depend from Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2006/0214593 to Denpoh et al. (“Denpoh”).
With regard to Claims 11-12, Denpoh teaches a wafer processing chamber comprising gas inlets 29, 39 a wafer support 12, and a showerhead 32 which diffuses gas to the substrate (see Abstract; FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0042], [0044]-[0045]). The support 12 also comprises gas supply holes 28 for diffusing gas (see ¶ [0042]). The wafer support 12 and the showerhead 32 serve as electrodes which act on gas introduced in the chamber (see ¶¶ [0039], [0044]-[0050]). Concurrently, each of support 12 and showerhead 32 constitute a type of membrane diffuser comprising a plurality of openings and residing between gas inlets and the wafer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denpoh as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of US 2013/0284097 to Ranish et al., effectively filed 25 April 2012, (“Ranish”).
With regard to Claim 13, Denpoh teaches membrane diffusers in the form of the support 12 and showerhead 32; however since the diffusers are themselves electrodes, the reference does not expressly teach positioning the diffusers between the wafer and electrodes. Ranish is similarly directed to a gas process chamber for semiconductors, and teaches independently controllable and movable gas diffusers 115 residing above the substrate which enable uniform material deposition, process repeatability, and improved efficiency (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-3; ¶¶ [0007], [0022], [0028], [0034], [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated controllable membrane diffusers residing above the substrate and below the upper electrode in the device of Denpoh, as taught by Ranish, in order to obtain the advantages taught by Ranish.
4. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denpoh as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of US 2008/0115728 to Matsuda et al. (“Matsuda”).
With regard to Claims 13-15, Denpoh teaches membrane diffusers in the form of the support 12 and showerhead 32; however since the diffusers are themselves electrodes, the reference does not expressly teach positioning the diffusers between the wafer and electrodes. Matsuda is similarly directed to wafer processing devices, and teaches provision of multiple vertically- and laterally-positionable nozzles 114, 115 for provision of diverse processing gases to a processing chamber (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-2, 5-6; ¶¶ [0024]-[0025]). According to Matsuda, an electronic controller manages nozzle actuation and position to provide a uniform deposition on the wafer surface (see ¶¶ [0009], [0011]-[0012], [0027]-[0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have implemented a plurality of vertically- and laterally-movable and controllable membrane diffuser electrodes in the method of Denpoh, as taught by Matsuda, in order to conduct uniform processing of wafers using a variety of process gasses.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, and 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,394,602 (“‘602”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, with respect to instant Claim 17, Claims 1 and 7 of ‘602 are directed to a method of wafer processing comprising introducing a gaseous material into a process chamber inlet, controlling distribution of gaseous material within the chamber via multiple controllable diffusers by generating controllable forces acting in various directions, and conducting signals between diffusers. With respect to instant Claim 19, Claim 8 of ‘602 is directed to controlling the voltage of the controllable diffusers.
6. Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over either of Claims 1 or 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,394,602 (“‘602”) in view of Denpoh. To the extent that the ‘602 patent does not recite a membrane, Denpoh is noted as teaching a showerhead comprising a plurality of holes through which gas is distributed into a process chamber. It would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed a showerhead as a type of membrane for gas distribution in practicing the method of ‘602 as taught by Denpoh.
7. Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over either of Claims 1 or 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,394,602 (“‘602”) in view of Matsuda. To the extent that the ‘602 patent does not recite multiple distances between generated forces and the gas inlet, Matsuda is noted as teaching a plurality of diffusers with variable lateral and vertical positions to ensure uniform deposition. It would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have practiced the ‘602 methods as claimed by varying diffuser positions to obtain uniform deposition as taught by Matsuda, thereby generating controllable forces at multiple distances from the gas inlet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed. Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is deemed to be Denpoh, Ranish, and Matsuda; however the references do not teach or suggest suspending a second electrode from a first electrode via a conductor.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712