DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application:
“In some embodiments, a method (of manufacturing an integrated circuit) includes: doping portions of a substrate resulting in active regions (ARs) that extend in a first direction, the ARs including alpha and beta ones of the ARs, the doping portions including: for a given length of the substrate in the first direction, differently doping the alpha and beta ARs correspondingly to have first and second heights relative to a perpendicular second direction, the second height being smaller than the first height such that areas of the beta ARs being smaller than areas of the alpha ARs for the given length; forming components of transistors (transistor components) in corresponding areas of corresponding ones of the alpha and beta ARs; depositing gate lines extending in the first direction and being over corresponding ones of the transistor components; removing portions of the gate lines resulting in corresponding gate segments; relative to the first direction, top and bottom boundaries of transistor regions being at least proximal correspondingly to ends of the one or more gate segments; gate lengths of corresponding first ones of the transistors in the alpha ARs being larger than gate lengths of corresponding second ones of the transistors in the beta ARs; forming metallization segments coupled to corresponding ones of the transistor components,” was not described in the prior-filed applications and is therefore new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) regarding claim 2:
In claim 2, lines 6-7 the limitation, “the first clocked inverter being comprised of corresponding ones of the second transistors,” is a duplicate of the limitation in lines 12-13 of claim 1.
b) regarding claim 11:
In claim 11, line 14 the Examiner suggests deleting “and second” before “and second inverters”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
a) regarding claim 15:
The limitations, “A method of manufacturing an integrated circuit, the method comprising: doping portions of a substrate resulting in active regions (ARs) that extend in a first direction, the ARs including alpha and beta ones of the ARs, the doping portions including: for a given length of the substrate in the first direction, differently doping the alpha and beta ARs correspondingly to have first and second heights relative to a perpendicular second direction, the second height being smaller than the first height such that areas of the beta ARs being smaller than areas of the alpha ARs for the given length; forming components of transistors (transistor components) in corresponding areas of corresponding ones of the alpha and beta ARs; depositing gate lines extending in the first direction and being over corresponding ones of the transistor components; removing portions of the gate lines resulting in corresponding gate segments; relative to the first direction, top and bottom boundaries of transistor regions being at least proximal correspondingly to ends of the one or more gate segments; gate lengths of corresponding first ones of the transistors in the alpha ARs being larger than gate lengths of corresponding second ones of the transistors in the beta ARs; forming metallization segments coupled to corresponding ones of the transistor components,” fail to comply with the written description requirement. Other than merely reciting the claim limitations the specification provides no explanation for any of the steps claimed as part of the method of manufacturing an integrated circuit. For example, what is the process for “depositing gate lines” and “removing portions of the gate lines”? The application provides no explanation and therefore fails to comply with the written description requirement.
b) regarding claims 16-20:
The claims are rejected based on their dependence on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0058681).
a) regarding claim 1:
Lai et al. discloses an integrated circuit (Figures 6A and 6B) comprising:
active regions including wide active regions (632) and narrow active regions (634) extending in a first direction;
transistors including components formed in the active regions (paragraph [0016]);
gate widths of corresponding first ones (HA) of the transistors in the wide active regions being larger than gate widths of corresponding second ones (HB) of the transistors in the narrow active regions (paragraph [0019]);
a first latch (P3) including a first inverter (618) and a first clocked inverter (620) coupled together in parallel;
the first inverter (618) being comprised of corresponding ones of the first transistors (HA); and
the first clocked inverter (620) being comprised of corresponding ones of the second transistors (HB).
b) regarding claim 2:
Lai et al. discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, further comprising:
a second latch (P5) including a second inverter (626) and a second clocked inverter (628) coupled together in parallel;
the second inverter (626) being comprised of corresponding ones of the first transistors (HA); and
the first clocked inverter (620) being comprised of corresponding ones of the second transistors (HB); and
wherein:
the second inverter (626) is comprised of corresponding ones of the first transistors (HA);
the second clocked inverter (628) is comprised of corresponding ones of the second transistors (HB); and
the first latch (P3) and the second latch (P5) are arranged correspondingly as a master latch and as slave latch representing a master-slave latch arrangement (paragraph [0028]).
c) regarding claim 3:
Lai et al. discloses the integrated circuit of claim 2, further comprising:
a transmission gate (P4) coupled between the first latch (P3) and the second latch (P5); and
wherein:
the transmission gate (P4) is comprised of corresponding ones of the first transistors (HA).
d) regarding claim 4:
Lai et al. discloses the integrated circuit of claim 2, further comprising:
an output driver (P6) coupled to an output of the second latch (P5); and
wherein:
the output driver (P6) is comprised of corresponding ones of the first transistors (HA).
e) regarding claim 5:
Lai et al. disclose the integrated circuit of claim 2, further comprising:
a multiplexer (P1) coupled to an input of the first latch (P3); and
wherein:
the multiplexer (P1) is comprised of corresponding ones of the first transistors (HA).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,003,242 (hereinafter ‘242 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are a broader recitation of the ‘242 patent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the teachings of claims 1-18 of the '242 patent as general teachings of a latch as claimed in the present application. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention in the '242 patent and differ only in terminology.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,388,428 (hereinafter ‘428 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are a broader recitation of the ‘428 patent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the teachings of claims 1-18 of the '428 patent as general teachings of a latch as claimed in the present application. The instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention in the '428 patent and differ only in terminology.
Conclusion
/PATRICK O NEILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836